Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

new rules for cyclists

• 18-07-2013 4:43pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,026 ✭✭✭

http://www.dttas.ie/pressRelease.aspx?Id=815

welcome to our world!
    The Department has already held preliminary discussions with Gardaí and the RSA on this issue, and will now hold further discussions to determine which penalties will have fixed charge notices applied to them. The final list of offences has not yet been determined, but these are likely to include:

• Going through a red light;
    • Cycling on a footpath;
    • Failure to yield right of way at a ‘Yield’ sign.

No decision has been taken on the fines but they are likely to be €50 or higher – lower than equivalent motoring fines, but sufficiently high to act as a deterrent. The measure will free up Gardaí for other policing duties and free up court time.

The target for the introduction of fixed charge notices, as set out in the Road Safety Strategy, is the second quarter of 2014. However, they will be introduced at an earlier stage if possible, in conjunction with An Garda Síochána.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,733 ✭✭✭✭corktina

useless without enforcement

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,267 ✭✭✭visual

Step in right dirrection

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,313 ✭✭✭Mycroft H

Can we get fines for those motorists that overtake cyclists in a dangerous manner too?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 655 ✭✭✭HurtLocker

Can't see it being enforced outside of Dublin tbh.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 23,243 Mod ✭✭✭✭godtabh

corktina wrote: »
    useless without enforcement

Just like with drivers

• Closed Accounts Posts: 655 ✭✭✭HurtLocker

BX 19 wrote: »
    Can we get fines for those motorists that overtake cyclists in a dangerous manner too?

You mean "driving without reasonable consideration"?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,089 ✭✭✭henryporter

Guess they will be enforced as much as:

"If you are overtaking, turning right or passing pedestrians, cyclists, horse riders or other road users or parked vehicles, make sure it is safe to do so.
    Always check in your mirror for any vehicles coming up on your right or overtaking from behind, and don’t forget to check your blind spots.
    Give a clear signal to warn traffic in good time of your intentions and proceed."

and

"Taking care with cyclists
    If you are at a junction where there is an advanced stop line for cyclists, you should allow cyclists to move off ahead of you.
    When turning left, all drivers, especially drivers of heavy goods vehicles, must watch out for cyclists and motorcyclists going ahead or turning.

On left turns, watch out for cyclists and mopeds close to the kerb in front of you or coming up on your left. Do not overtake a cyclist as you approach a junction if you are turning left; the cyclist might be continuing straight ahead.
    You should give extra space when overtaking a cyclist, as they may need to avoid uneven road surfaces and obstacles. This is particularly important on wet or windy days."

Driver and cyclist btw

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,313 ✭✭✭Mycroft H

HurtLocker wrote: »
    You mean "driving without reasonable consideration"?

No, mandatory enforced minimum passing distances....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,974 ✭✭✭Chris_Heilong

Look, we all know the rules about cyclists here, this tread is so we can say "about time something was done" ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,381 ✭✭✭mb1725

€50 fine for cycling on the footpath? There's enough of that going on to pay off the IMF early! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,423 ✭✭✭Merrion

There always was such a fine - just now it is "on the spot" rather than a lengthly legal process.

All complete nonsense without license plates for bikes as a cyclist does have to carry any form or ID.
    Also - jay walking and parking on the pavement are illegal - who'd a thunk it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,410 ✭✭✭✭endacl

This again.... ;)

OK.

As a driver, yay! :D

As a cyclist, boo! :mad:

As a boardsie who has seen this sh1te dribbling on for pages and pages and pages of 'Oh yeah! Well, your face...' many many many times before, I'd have to say......

...... meh. Don't be a dick when you're out on the road.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,069 ✭✭✭✭CiniO

I'd add fines for pedestrians crossing roads on red light.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,815 ✭✭✭✭Anan1

Merrion wrote: »
    All complete nonsense without license plates for bikes as a cyclist does have to carry any form or ID.
    How is a license plate relevant to charging someone with any of the three proposed offences?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,969 ✭✭✭my my my

my advice, give the cyclist a very wide berth, i reckon half of them are drunk(no offence)

expect the unexpecte-hic

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,974 ✭✭✭Chris_Heilong

CiniO wrote: »
    I'd add fines for pedestrians crossing roads on red light.

No, there are no rules for pedestrians, Jay walking is not illegal in Ireland.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,578 ✭✭✭monkeysnapper

I'm a bicyclelist and I have to say they annoy the hell out of me. Last Monday I was on my way back from work at 10pm and there was a person cycling through a wood, dark t shirt and jeans, outside the town, if it wasn't for the reflectors on the peddles the moron would be mince meat. I'd love to see fines for no lights.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,069 ✭✭✭✭CiniO

Jay walking isn't but crossing the road on a red light for pedestrians is illegal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,786 ✭✭✭slimjimmc

There are loads of rules for pedestrians in SI 182/1997

Jay walking is illegal if done within the zig-zag marked zone of a pedestrian crossing, or against a red pedestrian lamp.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,134 ✭✭✭gubbie

Merrion wrote: »
    There always was such a fine - just now it is "on the spot" rather than a lengthly legal process.

Also - jay walking and parking on the pavement are illegal - who'd a thunk it?

And parking in bike lanes could get you 2 penalty points! Who knew.

I wonder what will be done about kids - they're the only cyclists I don't scowl at for giving us a bad name when they're cycling on a pavement. You can't really give a kid a €50 fine.

Also what about pedestrianised areas? Not just say like Grafton Street but say Oliver Plunkett St in Cork which is pedestrianised during the busy times and a one way road every other time.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,992 ✭✭✭✭gurramok

How would they identify the rule breakers? Cyclists don't carry ID!

And you know how some cycle lanes are ambiguous when they come to footpaths, how do they determine when you're cycling on a footpath?! (that white line fades!)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,964 ✭✭✭Kopparberg Strawberry and Lime

look at it another way lads,

motorists giving out so much that now cyclists are liable to fines for breaking lights because of motorist complaints. (which i agree with, they shouldnt break lights , i've nearly killed a few of the bastards cos of this)

but what will they do now ?

they will stop at the lights but in the middle of the road which they are allowed to do which will mean cars will be going very slowly because of the cyclists in front in the driving lane slowing us down.

so who knows!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,316 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

No, mandatory enforced minimum passing distances....
    Careful now; the gubberment may impose distance limit from the kerb for this... for the cyclist.
    The Department has already held preliminary discussions with Gardaí and the RSA on this issue, and will now hold further discussions to determine which penalties will have fixed charge notices applied to them. The final list of offences has not yet been determined, but these are likely to include:

Going through a red light;
    I can see a couple of Gardai being left at certain junctions in the city centre to impose on-the-spot fines on cyclists breaking the red lights :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,945 ✭✭✭Grandpa Hassan

the_syco wrote: »
    I can see a couple of Gardai being left at certain junctions in the city centre to impose on-the-spot fines on cyclists breaking the red lights :)

Hopefully they'll take the opportunity to nail the motorists doing the same :)

Top of Dawson Street would be a good start

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,833 ✭✭✭✭ThisRegard

there was a person cycling through a wood, dark t shirt and jeans, outside the town,

I'd be more concerned about what the hell a car would be doing in a wood to put the cyclist at risk than the fact there's a cyclist in a wood wearing dark clothes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,260 ✭✭✭Viper_JB

ThisRegard wrote: »
    I'd be more concerned about what the hell a car would be doing in a wood to put the cyclist at risk than the fact there's a cyclist in a wood wearing dark clothes.

Hunting cyclists?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,578 ✭✭✭monkeysnapper

ThisRegard wrote: »

Sorry i see your point. It's a main road that goes through trees on both sides of the road . Hope that clears that up