Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Ryanair food

• 15-07-2013 9:33pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,505 ✭✭✭

serious question 8 of us going tomorrow to ibiza but bringing 60 sasuages and rashers with us?

can we take them with us in are handheld luggage?? ran out space

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,606 ✭✭✭schemingbohemia

but1er wrote: »
    serious question 8 of us going tomorrow to ibiza but bringing 60 sasuages and rashers with us?

They have food in spain you know?
    You'll have no problems with security or ryanair but healthwise them not being refrigerated for that long would be taking a risk.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,754 ✭✭✭oldyouth

60 divided by 8 = 7.5. There's going to be trouble in Ibiza if one gets short changed. My advice is to bring 80 Barry's tea bags (10 each) and get the sausages and rashers out there

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,505 ✭✭✭but1er

oldyouth wrote: »
    60 divided by 8 = 7.5. There's going to be trouble in Ibiza if one gets short changed. My advice is to bring 80 Barry's tea bags (10 each) and get the sausages and rashers out there

there all vaccumed packed and in ice bags

cant beat superquinn sasuages hungover in ibiza

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 404 ✭✭dukedalton

Funniest thread I've seen for a while!

dukedalton wrote: »
    Funniest thread I've seen for a while!

I'm really trying not to give an After Hours answer but it's not easy :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 35,514 ✭✭✭✭efb

lads im not even joken im deadly serious

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 404 ✭✭dukedalton

lads im not even joken im deadly serious

AFAIK you're not allowed bring meat or poultry in to the country, so if you're stopped it will be confiscated.

:cool:
    AFAIK you're not allowed bring meat or poultry in to the country, so if you're stopped it will be confiscated.

vaccum packed sasuages in an ice box :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,567 ✭✭✭✭Fratton Fred

You can't get decent Guinness there either, although 8x10 cans x 7 days is 560 cans, that might just blow your baggage allowance

Don't forget you GAA jerseys lads!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,755 ✭✭✭degsie

Lads, wait until you get there and then you can hide your sausage ;)

the answer is No.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,184 ✭✭✭✭Lapin

The butter in Spain is rank too OP.

Better pack a pound of Kerrygold each to keep ye going for the week.

I take it that one of the 8 travelling is a Mammy to cook them all up for you?

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 21,692 Mod ✭✭✭✭helimachoptor

I brought 3 lbs of sausages back from Crete via Frankfurt ( no pun intended) I asked one of the terminal cafes could I stick them in the freezer while we killed time

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,728 ✭✭✭dilallio

Forget Ibiza

Bundoran FTW

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,208 ✭✭✭keithclancy

Nah, as long as the origin is EU and its for personal use its always fine.

Sure they even sell them in the Airport.

http://europa.eu/travel/shop/
    Meat, dairy and other animal products
    There are no general restrictions on carrying any of these products if you are travelling within the EU since all EU countries have to respect strict common veterinary standards. The same applies if you are travelling from Andorra, Liechtenstein, Norway, San Marino or Switzerland. However, some restrictions may apply under specific circumstances, such as localised animal disease outbreaks.

No need to conceal sausages/rashers on your person :D

Vacuum packed rashers and sausages are fine for extended periods of time (days) I know some people send them in the post to Singapore for example and noone has died yet.

I'll be in Tipp tomorrow so might bring back some Superquinn Sausages with me .... mmmmm ....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,569 ✭✭✭✭ProudDUB

there all vaccumed packed and in ice bags

cant beat superquinn sasuages hungover in ibiza

If by ice bag, you mean real ice, that won't work. That will break the liquids rule.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,208 ✭✭✭keithclancy

ProudDUB wrote: »
    If by ice bag, you mean real ice, that won't work. That will break the liquids rule.

Not if you make it through fast enough. :D

Doesn't matter if the ice is frozen solid or melting, it's still a liquid. If it doesn't meet the liquid restrictions requirements, it won't pass the inspection at security.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,374 ✭✭✭Eponymous

Doesn't matter if the ice is frozen solid or melting, it's still a liquid. If it doesn't meet the liquid restrictions requirements, it won't pass the inspection at security.
    Ice is a solid!

But unless the OP has some means of keeping the ice frozen (and thus remaining in a solid state), then he's out of luck!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,755 ✭✭✭degsie

Unbelievable!

xgmknl.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 725 ✭✭✭Funfair

degsie wrote: »
    Unbelievable!

nd51jq.jpg

Ha ha !! Excellent

Eponymous wrote: »
    Ice is a solid!

But unless the OP has some means of keeping the ice frozen (and thus remaining in a solid state), then he's out of luck!

Make up (including solids such as eyeshadow) is all treated as liquids. Am pretty sure that ice will be too, whether it is solid or frozen. It has the potential to become a liquid, and that is what they care about. Unless the OP is planning on traveling with a battery powered cooler, or a sealed styrofoam cooler to keep the ice 100% frozen at all times, it will be some stage of watery meltage = it being a liquid.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,161 ✭✭✭frag420

Lapin wrote: »

Fook Ibiza, who's taking the horses to France??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,374 ✭✭✭Eponymous

Make up (including solids such as eyeshadow) is all treated as liquids. Am pretty sure that ice will be too, whether it is solid or frozen. It has the potential to become a liquid, and that is what they care about. Unless the OP is planning on traveling with a battery powered cooler, or a sealed styrofoam cooler to keep the ice 100% frozen at all times, it will be some stage of watery meltage = it being a liquid.
    I know it would be treated as a liquid by security, my post was mostly tongue-in-cheek, but I was merely asserting the fact that ice is a solid, nothing more! :)

Airport security cannae change the laws of physics!

Eponymous wrote: »
    I know it would be treated as a liquid by security, my post was mostly tongue-in-cheek, but I was merely asserting the fact that ice is a solid, nothing more! :)

Airport security cannae change the laws of physics!

As I barely passed lower level science in my Junior Cert, I wouldn't dream of arguing with someone as to what does and does not constitute a solid. But if airport security choose to treat something as a liquid, whether it is or not, there's not much the paying punter can do. If they don't like it, they can always go and buy their own private airport, and make up their own rules. I plan on doing just that when I win the lotto. ;)

The lads travelled out today and are probably now on the lash. Hopefully the sausages got through for the cure tomorrow or else the holiday is ruined. Might as well come home then.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 988 ✭✭✭1shot16

You can't get decent Guinness there either, although 8x10 cans x 7 days is 560 cans, that might just blow your baggage allowance

A can a day more like 560 cans a day between the 8 of ye!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,748 ✭✭✭ASOT

I personally know the op, il find out how they got on haha

ASOT wrote: »
    I personally know the op, il find out how they got on haha

If there's no update by midday, I think we need to phone the Irish Consulate out there and arrange for emergency assistance to be provided. Can't have those lads surviving on full English Breakfasts available on every corner in Ibiza for €2.50 :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,264 ✭✭✭✭jester77

Just make sure you find out where all the Oirish bars are before you leave, you wouldn't want to end up in one of them foreign bars while there

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,748 ✭✭✭ASOT

oldyouth wrote: »
    If there's no update by midday, I think we need to phone the Irish Consulate out there and arrange for emergency assistance to be provided. Can't have those lads surviving on full English Breakfasts available on every corner in Ibiza for €2.50 :P

Haha they managed to get them all through not a bother and will "mill" them today.

Sure there's a lovely place around the corner from them that does a fairly unreal breakfast but they haven't been to Ibiza before so it's understandable. I wouldn't be in any state to cook anyways haha

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,301 ✭✭✭Gatica

Make up (including solids such as eyeshadow) is all treated as liquids.

Actually it's not. Powders like eyeshadow or pressed-powder compact are not treated as gels. Only gels like lipstick, lipgloss or mascara are, unless it's one of those gel eyeshadows.

Hope the lads enjoyed their homey breakfast abroad!

you all having fun on here slagging me off

sasuages and rashers arrived and have been eaten! stomach aint great running low on solpadine send some over please here till tuesday fed x them!

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators Posts: 6,739 Mod ✭✭✭✭Sheep Shagger

Lapin wrote: »

You can buy Kerrygold in Spain/Portugal now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,127 ✭✭✭✭kerry4sam

This just brightened up my afternoon, Thanks! :)

/It really doesn't take much!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,407 ✭✭✭✭endacl

They snuck across the border when they took the horse to France.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,180 ✭✭✭hfallada

OP dont forget the hurleys and the factor 50 so your not a lobster for the week

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,180 ✭✭✭hfallada

You can buy Kerrygold pretty much anywhere in the world. Its the most popular butter in Germany. You can buy it frozen in the middle east

OP, are you back from hols yet? Tell us all about how you got on with the fry up

We all returned unharmed and the fry was amazing,every morning until I got very drunk and gave the sasuges and rashers away to Irish workers at 6 in the morning after 4 days! That was the end of that

Brought rashers in my handheld suitcase sasuges in the suitcase

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,503 ✭✭✭adamski8

Ahhhh closure

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,184 ✭✭✭✭Lapin

We all returned unharmed and the fry was amazing,every morning until I got very drunk and gave the sasuges and rashers away to Irish workers at 6 in the morning after 4 days! That was the end of that

I'm having difficulty with that bit. ;)

IM off on my travells again pm Saturday this time to London... Yes sasuages have returned!!