Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The 'Fast Lane' does exist, you're all wrong

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,237 ✭✭✭✭djimi

If they said overtaking or outside lane nobody would know what they were talking about.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,272 ✭✭✭✭Atomic Pineapple

I love the excuse that it was a typo! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,313 ✭✭✭Mycroft H

"Jaysus PJ, so it's not called a fast lane after all...."

hqdefault.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,381 ✭✭✭mb1725

Obviously an Eagles fan.......

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,607 ✭✭✭toastedpickles

As d'ubelievables said

Ah sure jaysis you can't be doin' dat! you can be goin callin them fast lanes and middle lanes when they're not called that at all lads!

Sure tis in de buuk!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,060 ✭✭✭Kenny Logins

I thought that was a parody account.

This was mildly amusing too -

jQ7Fuub.png

Angry Tweeting them during a beach party in Killiney.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,733 ✭✭✭✭corktina

fast lane is actually the left hand one

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,329 ✭✭✭✭Cienciano

If the motors forum just autocorrected "fast lane" to "right lane" and "road tax" to "motor tax" it would save a lot of hassle

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,883 ✭✭✭pa990

Cienciano wrote: »
    .... "road tax" to "motor tax"

you mean "Road Fund Licence"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,381 ✭✭✭mb1725

If the motors forum just autocorrected "fast lane" to "right lane" and "road tax" to "motor tax" it would save a lot of hassle

Jehovah! Jehaova! Jehovah !! :D

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,991 ✭✭✭mathepac

pa990 wrote: »
    you mean "Road Fund Licence"
    not unless you're a Brit.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,543 ✭✭✭Conmaicne Mara

I thought that was a parody account.

This was mildly amusing too -

jQ7Fuub.png

Angry Tweeting them during a beach party in Killiney.

Christ, no one's policing Twitter, it'll be anarchy :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,718 ✭✭✭Matt Simis

The Council's LED orange warning signs at the side of the road routinely say "Fast Lane" too. Perhaps the RSA are incorrect, given that 2/3's of the bodies in charge of our roads call it a Fast Lane and its also how its used.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,828 ✭✭✭stimpson

Matt Simis wrote: »
    The Council's LED orange warning signs at the side of the road routinely say "Fast Lane" too. Perhaps the RSA are incorrect, given that 2/3's of the bodies in charge of our roads call it a Fast Lane and its also how its used.

I saw one on the M50 last week that said lane 1 was closed. I haven't a clue which lane it was.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6 Mr Ferb

There are 3 lanes. Slow, Medium & Fast. You are entitled to drive in the fast lane AT the speed limit and anyone tail gating or flashing is in the wrong

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,060 ✭✭✭Kenny Logins

Mr Ferb wrote: »
    There are 3 lanes. Slow, Medium & Fast. You are entitled to drive in the fast lane AT the speed limit and anyone tail gating or flashing is in the wrong

Gay, is that you?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 426 ✭✭Shane Fitz

.........Awe sheeeeeeet!!

You gone n poked the bear!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,069 ✭✭✭✭CiniO

I see pretty often on those temporary digital displays by the roadside something like
    "Road works - temporary speed limit of 40 kphr"
    or other forms "kph", "kmph" "km/hr" "k/hr" "kms/h"

I don't think I've ever seen the only correct version: "km/h"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,009 ✭✭✭OldmanMondeo

Put the fishing rod away, nobodies biting...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,694 ✭✭✭BMJD

CiniO wrote: »
    I see pretty often on those temporary digital displays by the roadside something like
    "Road works - temporary speed limit of 40 kphr"
    or other forms "kph", "kmph" "km/hr" "k/hr" "kms/h"

I don't think I've ever seen the only correct version: "km/h"

as long as you don't see this, I wouldn't be getting too worried

zombie_1290011c.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 145 ✭✭KM88

How about the LED sign on the M9 north of Carlow that for months couldn't be read. Now they've recharged the batteries and the sign says:

"Warning ..."
    "..."
    "Road liable to flooding..."
    "..."
    "after heavy rain"

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,620 ✭✭✭✭dr.fuzzenstein

Put the fishing rod away, nobodies biting...

I think we all know he's not being entirely serious...:pac:

That is official RSA policy, that is. It's page 23 of the guide to sa-fe-ty in a mechanically prrropelled vaaahicle. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,009 ✭✭✭OldmanMondeo

I think we all know he's not being entirely serious...:pac:

I know, you should only move when you're within 3 foot of your junction.

Then sharply jerk the steering wheel and dive into your exit Stuka style. Remember: Only Speed Kills, everything else is fair game.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,499 ✭✭✭✭Alun

stimpson wrote: »
    I saw one on the M50 last week that said lane 1 was closed. I haven't a clue which lane it was.
    The leftmost one. I thought everyone knew that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,883 ✭✭✭pa990

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,016 ✭✭✭✭vibe666

talking of wronguns (well, 50%) did anyone else notice the updated RoTR showing the clock method for roundabouts (with pictures and everything)? :eek:

can't help but wonder (with a warm fiuzzy feeling inside) if this thread might have had something to do with them updating it? :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,565 ✭✭✭✭Tallon

vibe666 wrote: »
    talking of wronguns (well, 50%) did anyone else notice the updated RoTR showing the clock method for roundabouts (with pictures and everything)? :eek:

can't help but wonder (with a warm fiuzzy feeling inside) if this thread might have had something to do with them updating it? :)

That's a dead link!

Also, any link to this 'change'?

Tallon wrote: »
    That's a dead link!

Also, any link to this 'change'?
    weird, it's working for me? try this: http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2056163797&page=48

here's the ROTR, it's all on page 129 to 131: http://www.rulesoftheroad.ie/rules-of-the-road-eng.pdf
    Golden Rule
    This ‘golden rule’ should help motorists to drive safely at any roundabout regardless of the number of exits:
    Think of the roundabout as a clock.
    If taking any exit from the 6 o’clock to the 12 o’clock position, motorists should generally approach in the left-hand lane.
    If taking any exit between the 12 o’clock to the 6 o’clock positions, motorists should generally approach in the right-hand lane.
    If there are road markings showing you what lane you should be in, follow those directions. Traffic conditions might sometimes mean you have to take a different approach but, in the main, the ‘golden rule’ will help you to drive safely on almost any roundabout.

It really bugs me that the ROTR had to be dumbed down to cater for idiots who were too stupid to be able to count the number of exists on a roundabout and act accordingly...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,565 ✭✭✭✭Tallon

vibe666 wrote: »
    weird, it's working for me? try this: http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2056163797&page=48

here's the ROTR, it's all on page 129 to 131: http://www.rulesoftheroad.ie/rules-of-the-road-eng.pdf
    It's working now, It wasn't on mobile last night, but I know people were having issues with boards last night :)

djimi wrote: »
    It really bugs me that the ROTR had to be dumbed down to cater for idiots who were too stupid to be able to count the number of exists on a roundabout and act accordingly...
    EVERYTHING has to be dumbed down for idiots these days.

i was on a long haul flight a few years ago and they handed out the meal with the cup for tea/coffee and whatnot, and it had the little tiny yoke of milk/creamer inside the cup, and on the bottom edge of the lid, it said "to use, open and pour in tea or coffee". seriously, who the f**k is responsible for putting that there and more importantly, who is the reason it was required in the first place? :eek:

I agree, plus it makes no sense in some situations.

Take a bog-standard 4-exit roundabout with exits at 12, 3, 6 and 9 o'clock. In this case, both 'systems' result in the same behaviour, which is fine. But move, say, the 12 o'clock exit ever so slightly, say to 1 o'clock, and all of a sudden the rules change and you're supposed to use the right hand lane to use it if approaching from 6 o'clock ??? What nonsense.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,332 ✭✭✭tatli_lokma

Possibly it is also to account for learners who's first language is not english? I also wonder is it to keep in line with how roundabouts are explained in other countries, therefore leading to some level of consistency (although I do doubt that such a consideration would even occur to the RTA)?

But the second exit might be after 12 O'Clock, so you're in the right hand lane.
    That's why we had the entire thread and it was finally settled that exit counting is wrong and the clock method is right.

Alun wrote: »

Take a bog-standard 4-exit roundabout with exits at 12, 3, 6 and 9 o'clock. In this case, both 'systems' result in the same behaviour, which is fine. But move, say, the 12 o'clock exit ever so slightly, say to 1 o'clock, and all of a sudden the rules change and you're supposed to use the right hand lane to use it if approaching from 6 o'clock ??? What nonsense.

Yes, that's the correct method, exits after 12 O'Clock, right hand lane.
    Seemples!
    (We all know this is heading for a trainwreck)

What if they're all after 12 o clock :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,175 ✭✭✭hoodwinked

there is a small roundabout near where i live,

if you come on at the 2 lane 6 o'clock there is another entrance (no exit) to the roundabout at 10 o'clock and and exit at 11 o'clock 1 o'clock and 3 o'clock,

so they have in the left lane a straight arrow (for the 1 o'clock exit) and a left arrow (for the 11 o'clock exit) and in the right lane a right arrow only (for the 3 o'clock exit) 3 arrows 3 exits i thought it would be fairly easy to understand

this confuses the hell out of everyone as they think the 'entrance only' lane is the left arrow (even though there is no exit this way its a one way street) and the 11 o'clock exit is the straight ahead! :mad: so they take the right lane and due to the close proximity of the exits veer into the left lane almost hitting other traffic who assumed they were going right.

here is an image of it: (the entrence at 6 o'clock is the one im refering to, its the opposite of the exit before it)

262965.png

Yes, that's the correct method, exits after 12 O'Clock, right hand lane.
    Seemples!
    (We all know this is heading for a trainwreck)
    Look, I know the application of the rule is simple, but what I'm saying is that it makes no sense. Just because the exit is ever so slightly past 12 o'clock doesn't make it a significantly different situation, and shouldn't necessitate a different approach to negotiating it.

Anyway, on many signs the way the roundabout is depicted doesn't match up with the reality on the ground, so which has priority?

Look, I know the application of the rule is simple, but what I'm saying is that it makes no sense. Just because the exit is ever so slightly past 12 o'clock doesn't make it a significantly different situation, and shouldn't necessitate a different approach to negotiating it.

Anyway, on many signs the way the roundabout is depicted doesn't match up with the reality on the ground, so which has priority?

Well, the signs and roadmarkings obviously take priority.
    The rule is if there's no roadmarkings, to me it makes perfect sense, if the exit is past 12, you're taking a right and need to be in the right hand lane.
    This being Ireland though, everyone will make up their own rules in their own head and drive according to them, regardless of anything, which is why a lot of people still approach a roundabout in the left lane, indicate left and then traverse the entire roundabout and take the last exit.:pac:

I don't mean the road lane markings or any other signs indicating which lane to be in for particular exits, these clearly take priority. What I mean is the big sign with the 'picture' of the roundabout with the exits depicted on it sometimes shows an 'idealized' representation of what is actually there, such that roundabouts with exits that are just past the magic 12 o'clock shown as being at 12 o'clock and vice versa.

But according to ROTR lane which you need to take, doesn't depend on exit number but on direction you are taking.
    So exit 2 might be at 10 o'clock as well as 2 o'clock, and different rules will apply, even though it's at all times exit no. 2

Little Ted wrote: »
    I also wonder is it to keep in line with how roundabouts are explained in other countries, therefore leading to some level of consistency (although I do doubt that such a consideration would even occur to the RTA)?

AFAIK roundabouts work differently in other countries.

But according to ROTR lane which you need to take, doesn't depend on exit number but on direction you are taking.
    So exit 2 might be at 10 o'clock as well as 2 o'clock, and different rules will apply, even though it's at all times exit no. 2

Thats my point. Generations of people (myself included as little as ten years ago) learned to count the exits to know which lane to be in. Nowadays with its dumbed down system, the consequence is that you have two different groups of people who are/were thought two different things about how to drive roundabouts. Is it any wonder we make such a pigs ear of them in this country?

AFAIK roundabouts work differently in other countries.

They drive around them anti-clockwise for a start :pac:

Thats my point. Generations of people (myself included as little as ten years ago) learned to count the exits to know which lane to be in. Nowadays with its dumbed down system, the consequence is that you have two different groups of people who are/were thought two different things about how to drive roundabouts. Is it any wonder we make such a pigs ear of them in this country?

Nevermind that my local roundabout is marked left lane left turn only, straight ahead and back where you came is right lane
    Eejits with no excuse like traffic in the way still drive the left lane for the straight ahead exit and try causing a crash

They drive around them anti-clockwise for a start :pac:

:):)

Heh that's one thing.

But f.e. in Poland you are not allowed to exit roundabout from inside lane.
    So if you are turning left (corresponding to turning right in Ireland so f.e. taking 3rd exit), then you take the inside lane, drive around the roundabout, and after passing the last exit before the one you are taking, you are meant to change lane to outside lane (giving way to vehicles already on that lane) and exit roundabout on your exit from outside lane.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,687 ✭✭✭✭jack presley

You'd miss the condescending tone of the replies though wouldn't you?

bluewolf wrote: »
    Nevermind that my local roundabout is marked left lane left turn only, straight ahead and back where you came is right lane
    Eejits with no excuse like traffic in the way still drive the left lane for the straight ahead exit and try causing a crash

You should be pleased that it's actually marked properly, and never mind people failing to use it.

Look at this roundabout.
    There's no way straight ahead (so you can either turn left - 9 o'clock, turn right 3 o'clock, or do uturn by taking 6 o'clock exit.) No exit at 12 o'clock.

And for some reason, both lanes leading to roundabout are marked for vehicles going straight.
    Which lane should you use then?

https://maps.google.com/maps?q=galway&hl=en&ll=53.285929,-8.978131&spn=0.001292,0.003484&sll=35.101934,-95.712891&sspn=56.6137,114.169922&t=h&hnear=Galway,+County+Galway,+Ireland&z=19&layer=c&cbll=53.285831,-8.978419&panoid=E1Ajcxly3j8inZ-yodqOzg&cbp=12,240.36,,0,6.51