Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Toilet training gone mad??

• 13-07-2013 3:45pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 72 ✭✭

I'm not a parent myself, so maybe I was just a bit surprised, but yesterday while walking through a very busy place (with lots of facilities around), I saw a woman take out a potty in the middle of the street for her child to use. The child was probably only 2 years old at most! I felt so sorry for him, there was so many people around and I just thought it was a bit degrading or something. Is this normally what people do when they toilet train children, I have never seen it before!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,596 ✭✭✭✭o1s1n
    Master of the Universe

Yes, that is exactly how children are toilet trained. Did your mother never do that with you?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,231 ✭✭✭BNMC

The middle of the street?

That's just downright dangerous.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,299 ✭✭✭✭MadsL

He's being trained for when he grows up and goes on the lash in Ireland, the street is the place to piss, right?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,346 ✭✭✭✭homerjay2005

o1s1n wrote: »
    Yes, that is exactly how children are toilet trained. Did your mother never do that with you?

dont know what you were subject to when you were growing up, but f*ck no, it isnt exactly how children are toilet trained.

they do it in private where children dont feel uneasy or uncomfortable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,180 ✭✭✭EyeSight

it's as bad as the mothers who think just because their kid is in training, they have the right to walk in off the street and use the shops toilet.

I worked in a shop(that sold clothes and had no customer toilets) and the amount of times i got yelled at for saying no was amazing. Firstly we didn't have insurance for it and secondly i didn't wanna clean up a kids piss

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,080 ✭✭✭✭Micky Dolenz

Would you rather the kid sh!te on the street?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,145 ✭✭✭LETHAL LADY

EyeSight wrote: »
    it's as bad as the mothers who think just because their kid is in training, they have the right to walk in off the street and use the shops toilet.

I worked in a shop(that sold clothes and had no customer toilets) and the amount of times i got yelled at for saying no was amazing. Firstly we didn't have insurance for it and secondly i didn't wanna clean up a kids piss

I'd say ye were very busy with that attitude.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,166 ✭✭✭Fr_Dougal

If you had children you'd understand.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,231 ✭✭✭BNMC

I think o1s1n was joking..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,605 ✭✭✭gctest50

What next after they wanting to use staff toilets ? Come in and make tea in the workers cups or something ?
    LizT wrote: »
    No. People are animals and they would probably be wrecked.

My friend worked in Boots and they had a baby changing room, the key was available on request. One day someone went in to clean it and found a sh1t in the sink

If the shop wants to have toilets for public use, then they need to have proper ones :

- covered by a cleaning routine ( who is going to do this ? where will you store the cleaning chemicals ? )
    - insurance company all happy with the setup

- chance it will end up as an excuse / attraction for unwanted shoplifters etc - this alone may turn customers away

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,933 ✭✭✭holystungun9

BNMC wrote: »
    The middle of the street?

That's just downright dangerous.

Future junkie alert!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 286 ✭✭fathead82

When a small child says they have to go,it means they have probably already started.Theres no point letting them go in their nappy when in public & in the potty at home,they will never get the hang of it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,596 ✭✭✭✭o1s1n
    Master of the Universe

dont know what you were subject to when you were growing up, but f*ck no, it isnt exactly how children are toilet trained.

they do it in private where children dont feel uneasy or uncomfortable.

Holy crap, I know sometimes it's hard to detect sarcasm on the internet, but this surely takes the biscuit :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,754 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

anamara86 wrote: »
    I'm not a parent myself, so...

At this point, this being AH, you lost all credibility.

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

we were. We were on the busiest street in the city centre, very near many shops with customer toilets. I would have gotten in trouble for letting a stranger and their kids walk through the stockroom(which was not child friendly) and use our staff toilet. It's not my responsibility to look after other peoples kids needs

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 484 ✭✭guppy

Fr_Dougal wrote: »
    If you had children you'd understand.

I have two. I toilet trained both at just over two years old without ever making them sit on a potty in public. I made short journeys at first, then to places I knew had a toilet, then normality.
    I always made sure they'd gone before leaving the house and drinks were limited.
    It's not that big a deal, but you do need to put the kids first for a few weeks, even if that means curtailing outings. That's what most responsible parents do.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,496 ✭✭✭Boombastic

I'm not a parent myself, so maybe I was just a bit surprised, but yesterday while walking through a very busy place (with lots of facilities around), I saw a woman take out a potty in the middle of the street for her child to use. The child was probably only 2 years old at most! I felt so sorry for him, there was so many people around and I just thought it was a bit degrading or something. Is this normally what people do when they toilet train children, I have never seen it before!

There was a thread here a while ago about a junkie scuttering over the side of a building on o'connell st. in the middle of the day, and he didn't have a potty with him.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,666 ✭✭✭Rosy Posy

They were probably practicing elimination communication- the latest in hippie toilet training. http://www.diaperfreebaby.org/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,695 ✭✭✭December2012

Portable potties are much less distressing / embarrassing for a child than having an accident. Some kids need a bit more time. As long as the parent disposed of the waste hygienically I don't see a problem.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 909 ✭✭✭camel jockey

maybe this could work for people out walking their dogs too?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,318 ✭✭✭✭Menas

Two year olds do not feel uncomfortable with their bodies so no problem there.
    They will give you about 5 seconds notice of 'needing to go' so you need to be ready to act fast.
    When toilet training you need to be consistent and encourage your child along the way.

Fair play to the mother imo. She is showing her kid that it is ok to go to the loo and ok to ask to go. Better than the kid been afaid or embarassed to ask and then wandering around with wet pants..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,044 ✭✭✭gcgirl

Years ago when I was a teenager I actually had a massive nose bleed it was unreal wouldn't stop bleed ended up in a shop and the owner had no problem in letting me use her toilet even though I got blood everywhere she was pretty concerned she even gave me a lift home you never forget stuff like that

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,124 ✭✭✭wolfpawnat

I have recently trained my son. When there are other facilities nearby I would never get my son to do his business in public. I have had to find a quiet area with him twice but they were remote to say he could not use a bathroom. I have seen children wet themselves because parents have not brought them to the bathroom, and that is far more damaging than whipping out a potty. Awkward, but far less humiliating that urine covered clothes!

guppy wrote: »
    I have two. I toilet trained both at just over two years old without ever making them sit on a potty in public. I made short journeys at first, then to places I knew had a toilet, then normality.
    I always made sure they'd gone before leaving the house and drinks were limited.
    It's not that big a deal, but you do need to put the kids first for a few weeks, even if that means curtailing outings. That's what most responsible parents do.

I think that all sounds sensible, but in very hot weather you can't really restrict drinks surely? This might just have been a one off situation, and if the choice is a wet kid or a potty, I'd probably go for the potty if I had a kid.

gcgirl wrote: »
    Years ago when I was a teenager I actually had a massive nose bleed it was unreal wouldn't stop bleed ended up in a shop and the owner had no problem in letting me use her toilet even though I got blood everywhere she was pretty concerned she even gave me a lift home you never forget stuff like that

cool story.....:rolleyes:

Obviously if a child was bleeding we would help out. Needing to pee when there are many establishments extremely nearby with public toilets is different. There were many times people on the street would collapse and the staff there would go out of their way to help. Again that is different from needing to pee.

As a poster above said, it's not that difficult to toilet train if you put your kids lives first for a while. Plan your routes, know where toilets exist and limit liquids

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,347 ✭✭✭No Pants

So now you have a child and a potty full of piss/****e/both in the middle of the street. What happened next? Did she just pack it up and continue on?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,370 ✭✭✭✭GreeBo

Portable potties are much less distressing / embarrassing for a child than having an accident. Some kids need a bit more time. As long as the parent disposed of the waste hygienically I don't see a problem.

and how do you reckon they do that?
    "Excuse me, can I borrow your bin to pour out my childs sh1te"?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 484 ✭✭guppy

Candie wrote: »
    I think that all sounds sensible, but in very hot weather you can't really restrict drinks surely? This might just have been a one off situation, and if the choice is a wet kid or a potty, I'd probably go for the potty if I had a kid.

A child won't dehydrate, even in this weather, without a drink for an hour! I kept outings short or else went where I knew there would be facilities.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,925 ✭✭✭✭anncoates

I'd try and find somewhere more private for the kid, personally.

That said, no matter what you do with kids, you'll get people hand wringing on here

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,778 ✭✭✭✭Kold

In Shanghai I watched a mother hold her kid over a bin on a subway platform to take a sh1t.

guppy wrote: »
    A child won't dehydrate, even in this weather, without a drink for an hour! I kept outings short or else went where I knew there would be facilities.

I wasn't criticising you :). I was just thinking it must be harder to restrict fluids in hot weather, thereby making trips a bit riskier.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,695 ✭✭✭December2012

GreeBo wrote: »
    and how do you reckon they do that?
    "Excuse me, can I borrow your bin to pour out my childs sh1te"?

Portable potties are used with little bags, similar to nappy bags, that can be tied up, just like a nappy bag and disposed of the proper way. Ie kept by the parent until they get home, or put in an appropriate public bin.

Just like dog poop should be.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,788 ✭✭✭✭krudler

It's not a shops responsibility to provide toilets for people, used to get asked the same all the time when I worked in retail, there was a McDonalds right beside us with customer bathrooms yet people still wandered into us and got huffy when we wouldnt let them use our staff one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 72 ✭✭anamara86

This was a very public place with lots of people around and LOTS of restaurants/public toilets & facilities - that's why it was so surprising! Surely it would have made more sense to bring the child in there than pull out a potty with so many people around

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,754 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

This was a very public place with lots of people around and LOTS of restaurants/public toilets & facilities - that's why it was so surprising! Surely it would have made more sense to bring the child in there than pull out a potty with so many people around

Did the child seem to be bothered?

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,059 ✭✭✭WilyCoyote

C'mon there. A bit more please. What did she do with the potty? I smell an urban myth

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 980 ✭✭✭Freddy Smelly

o1s1n wrote: »

i bet OP still wears nappies... only they are adult sized now :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,175 ✭✭✭hoodwinked

when we were training our daughter we were told to set aside 4 days where you could stay at home, and to not bother with a potty, get her used to the toilet. we did and it worked,

once or twice we've been out and she's needed to go badly we tell her to hold it for a minute, and just head to the nearest available public bathroom, its not that hard to do, even with a toddler,
    some people will make excuses to do anything to be honest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,641 ✭✭✭Teyla Emmagan

All my friends seem to be toilet training their kids at the moment so I've become totally used to the portable potty being produced just about anywhere. Little kids have no shame about their bodies or its natural function. And if you restrict them by saying 'no you can't go now' they just end up wetting themselves and you never get them out of nappies. You have little to be worrying about if the sight of a toddler peeing upsets you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,641 ✭✭✭bgrizzley

Kold wrote: »
    In Shanghai I watched a mother hold her kid over a bin on a subway platform to take a sh1t.

excellent, now that is being a responsible parent and citizen !!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,257 ✭✭✭Love2love

I seen a woman carry a big fisher-price potty around Funderland last year. I thought it was strange alright. I don't see the need myself. I potty trained my two without the need to carry one around. As someone already said, I stayed at home for 3 /4 days and after that would make sure I'm near enough to a toilet when I'm out and about for a couple of weeks.

And I disagree with whoever said that kids don't have hang up about going, I worked in a crèche and most kids would go behind a chair or something to go when they had nappies on.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 72 ✭✭anamara86

Love2love wrote: »
    I seen a woman carry a big fisher-price potty around Funderland last year. I thought it was strange alright. I don't see the need myself. I potty trained my two without the need to carry one around. As someone already said, I stayed at home for 3 /4 days and after that would make sure I'm near enough to a toilet when I'm out and about for a couple of weeks.

And I disagree with whoever said that kids don't have hang up about going, I worked in a crèche and most kids would go behind a chair or something to go when they had nappies on.

Completely agree with you, my three nephews were the same - It wouldn't have been so strange if there weren't loads of toilets around, or if it was in a kind of quiet place where they had no other option...