Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Advice on looking at car

• 13-07-2013 2:07pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 97 ✭✭

Well lads going swapping my car for a bora. Nct is out though :/ .. It's a 00 vw bora 110bhp. I know to look out for fly wheel by pushing in clutch and leaving it out and listen for any noise. And to just make sure windows are working and lights. Anything else to look out for? Going up Monday, lowered 40 mil on springs , rs6 alloys. Says she's clean. He's a young fella like myself that wouldn't know a lot. What ye think? Any tips? Thanks :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,237 ✭✭✭✭djimi

If you dont know a lot then bring a mechanic or mechanically minded friend with you to take a look.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,363 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

Does it coo?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,737 ✭✭✭MidlandsM

bazz26 wrote: »
    Does it coo?

be god it does lad, and she's lower than a snakes bollix...........

now, there's a myriad of things to check on a bora......and a modified bora.....

I'd check for the following personally....

suspension, I'd want no knocks/creeks what so ever on a drive. I'd also like no rubbing on the arches

I'd like to see a sump guard.......and if there's none, I'd like to check the sump.

check the cv joints

I'd like to see a dry engine, no oil leaks and even power delivery, right thru the rev range

check all the panel gaps, and paintwork.

check all electrical, incl the central locking

..all of the above, just for starters

• Closed Accounts Posts: 97 ✭✭tmboy95

Laaaad she's lowered 80 mil I swear shes not cut. Only 90bhp on book but she's remapped to 150bhp! Baaaap baaap ha ah na lad it's standard enough only rs6 alloys lowered 40 mil on springs and roof spoiler. Not remapped either thank god and low enough mileage !
    Like I'd have a idea of some stuff to look out for I've bought and sold few cars with help of a friend before but this time I won't be bringing knowledgeable friend, il step up to the mark myself :)
    Only lowered 40 so be hoping she wouldn't rub. I just must find out when timing belt was done last and crack like that. Thanks lads keep the tips coming :)

Also there's 149k on it and timing belt was done at 140k

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,272 ✭✭✭✭Max Power1

tmboy95 wrote: »
    Also there's 149k on it and timing belt was done at 140k

Arent the intervals 60k miles?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,865 ✭✭✭✭MuppetCheck

Max Power1 wrote: »
    Arent the intervals 60k miles?

Or 4 years. Many people let them go though.

Ya well I think that's after it's changed the first time. I don't know is the first change longer?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,728 ✭✭✭George Dalton

1.9TDI "red-eye" 110bhp (supposedly)
    Lowered
    RS6 wheels
    Owned by a young lad

To be honest I would be absolutely amazed if it turned out to be anything other than a total bucket of scrap.

He has it only a short bit. Can't get insured in it and he sounds genuine enough. If its a bucket of scrap a person would surely know by driving and having a good look at it.
    I know where you're coming from though, wouldn't be mad to buy something too done up or remapped.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,728 ✭✭✭George Dalton

You would be amazed what people will miss when looking at a car only to discover when it is too late.

The amount of bad examples of these we have had through our door has to be seen to be believed. I'd say maybe only 1 in 10 of them is a good one.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,771 ✭✭✭michael999999

He has it only a short bit. Can't get insured in it and he sounds genuine enough. If its a bucket of scrap a person would surely know by driving and having a good look at it.
    I know where you're coming from though, wouldn't be mad to buy something too done up or remapped.

Hhmmmm if he only has it a short time, and he's using the excuse he can't get insurance. Id be worried that there is serious problem with the car.

Surely he would have priced insurance before buying it!

I know the feeling that way too but thankfully nothing too bad! Could be driving away after buying car and say "oh sh*t we never checked this or that". As it will be me on my own il give it a serious going over.

I know what you're saying alright bout him not having it long. People make mistakes? I don't know like il see too when I call cause his main reason he wants to swap is he wants to get Insured straight away.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,737 ✭✭✭MidlandsM

to be honest, is it worth the journey? is there a link to it on DD?

Well I see it as a day out anyway sher. No there isn't . Ah it will be experience anyway on my own learning bits here and there :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,520 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

What car are you looking at swapping?

G6 corolla for 110bhp bora. Providing its sound now if its any bit not to my liking il be taking my corolla home with me :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,520 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

G6 corolla for 110bhp bora. Providing its sound now if its any bit not to my liking il be taking my corolla home with me :)

Would have thought a g6 would be just as tough to insure. Id be wary.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,934 ✭✭✭Renegade Mechanic

*****He has it only a short bit*****

Right there. Thats usually a flag raised,for me anyway.

No g6 cheaper , I'm on full and bora is 350 dearer to insure.

Didn't swap anyway boyos, car was slightly dodge looking and lights staying on and flashing on the dash and another small thing or two. Thanks for all the advice anyway lads :)