Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

ROAD RAAAAAGE

• 13-07-2013 10:05am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 206 ✭✭

As a newly qualified driver (in my mid 20s but never got around to it until now) I had my first road rage experience yesterday.

Driving through my town last night around 8PM, I came up to a roundabout and was the only person at the roundabout but there was a big fancy BMW flying up the road at the opposite side but still a good bit away from the roundabout. Anyway I pulled out and was making my way around when the BMW started blaring it's horn.

I was on the roundabout at this stage, passing the exit he would be coming onto the roundabout at and he was leaning out his window effing and blinding that I cut him off. Now seeing as I'm a new driver (literally passed the test 2 days ago) I didn't want a confrontation and even though I was 90% sure I was in the right I apologised as I drove by just to calm the guy down.

Anyway I thought that was it but he kept following me and driving really fast and close behind me, making me speed to avoid him hitting me. Was quite worrying, then he pulled up along side me and started gesturing that I pull over. I was really quite scared at this point that he might hurt me if I pulled over so I just kept driving.

Then he overtakes me and brakes hard, forcing me to stop then he hops out of his car in the middle of the road and starts screaming at me saying how I was "a dangerous driver", (The irony was nearly too much for me). Anyway continues to shout at me and takes my licence plate number and looks at my insurance disc.

The guy was in his late 50's I'd say and his wife was sitting in the car laughing away which pissed me off, so when he finally let me go I lowered the window as I passed his car while he was getting back in and shouted out "Hopefully your wife will find you attractive enough after that to have sex with you tonight, you CLEARLY need it" and drove off feeling great.:D

Still though, never got his licence plate number and feel like I should have reported him to the guards as he's clearly not the safest driver!

So do you have any good road rage stories you can share?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,166 ✭✭✭Fr_Dougal

Have you considered taking a few more lessons?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,576 ✭✭✭Skill Magill

JonSnuuu wrote: »
    shouted out "Hopefully your wife will find you attractive enough after that to have sex with you tonight, you CLEARLY need it" and drove off feeling great.:D
    There's a certain farmyard aroma off that one

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

I lowered the window as I passed his car while he was getting back in and shouted out "Hopefully your wife will find you attractive enough after that to have sex with you tonight, you CLEARLY need it"
    This is what you thought of an hour later and wished you had said, yeah?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,708 ✭✭✭✭Mr. CooL ICE

A few things don't add up OP. Are you sure this happened? Really, really sure?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,934 ✭✭✭Renegade Mechanic

I believe the OP there are some deadly pr*cks out there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 191 ✭✭Camrat

Congratulation on passing your test and having your first road rage fight. I would probably report him anyway, Car make, model and colour as much info as possible. Maybe you will see this guy again and catch his reg. You did right, always stay in your car, try not to agonise them. Don't make eye contact, apologize and move on.

I was at a set of lights, seen a friend walking by, so i beeped to say hello and catch his attention to see if he wanted a lift.
    I didn't realise but the car in front though i was beeping at them and drove through a red light. The garda stopped the car 20 foot after the lights. She just stared at me while i drove past. (If looks could kill)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 162 ✭✭iMac_Hunt

Anyway I thought that was it but he kept following me and driving really fast and close behind me, making me speed to avoid him hitting me.

I would've slammed on my brakes at this point!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,339 ✭✭✭Artful_Badger

I would have gotten into his car when he got out, locked the doors and had it off with his wife.

LOL, I haven't heard that saying since I was 10.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 208 ✭✭cypressg

As a newly qualified driver (in my mid 20s but never got around to it until now) I had my first road rage experience yesterday.

Driving through my town last night around 8PM, I came up to a roundabout and was the only person at the roundabout but there was a big fancy BMW flying up the road at the opposite side but still a good bit away from the roundabout. Anyway I pulled out and was making my way around when the BMW started blaring it's horn.

I was on the roundabout at this stage, passing the exit he would be coming onto the roundabout at and he was leaning out his window effing and blinding that I cut him off. Now seeing as I'm a new driver (literally passed the test 2 days ago) I didn't want a confrontation and even though I was 90% sure I was in the right I apologised as I drove by just to calm the guy down.

Anyway I thought that was it but he kept following me and driving really fast and close behind me, making me speed to avoid him hitting me. Was quite worrying, then he pulled up along side me and started gesturing that I pull over. I was really quite scared at this point that he might hurt me if I pulled over so I just kept driving.

Then he overtakes me and brakes hard, forcing me to stop then he hops out of his car in the middle of the road and starts screaming at me saying how I was "a dangerous driver", (The irony was nearly too much for me). Anyway continues to shout at me and takes my licence plate number and looks at my insurance disc.

The guy was in his late 50's I'd say and his wife was sitting in the car laughing away which pissed me off, so when he finally let me go I lowered the window as I passed his car while he was getting back in and shouted out "Hopefully your wife will find you attractive enough after that to have sex with you tonight, you CLEARLY need it" and drove off feeling great.:D

Still though, never got his licence plate number and feel like I should have reported him to the guards as he's clearly not the safest driver!

So do you have any good road rage stories you can share?
    Why didn't you indicate?Or even point in the direction you wanted to go,at the very least you need to give people a hint which direction you intend to travel when on a roundabout to prevent incidents like this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 388 ✭✭Rob32

I've had a couple of experiences like that, alot of them seem to happen on roundabouts for some reason, most recent was I was already on the roundabout taking the second exit (so going straight) and a car at the first exit seemed to be under the impression he had right of way, he came along never yielded so had to jam on and almost hit me, then began beeping and shouting. He couldn't even claim he thought I was taking the first exit if he had hit me as its an off ramp from the M1 and it's one way.

To clarify the M1 exit would be where the first exit would be from the roundabout the the one I took is the first one you can take off the roundabout from the direction I came, hence why I called the road he was on the first and the one I took the second exits.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 206 ✭✭JonSnuuu

cypressg wrote: »
    Why didn't you indicate?Or even point in the direction you wanted to go,at the very least you need to give people a hint which direction you intend to travel when on a roundabout to prevent incidents like this.

I was indicating.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,371 ✭✭✭Obliq

How do you know he didn't indicate? Plus, it's quite clear from the story that BMW man was an ars*hole, "flying" it, and could probably see OP coming up just as well as OP saw him. You're meant to actually look right, aren't you?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,706 ✭✭✭120_Minutes

If the OP is telling the truth, indicated correctly and was in the correct lanes and was on the roundabout before the BMW got to it, then he's completely in the right, and the BMW driver is just a c**t.

theres an old joke that you need two licences for a bmw, a drivers licence and an asshole licence.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,679 ✭✭✭hidinginthebush

I know you're a new driver op, but you have to learn to let these things go. If you act out and do something reactionary when someone's acting the gobshite there's the very real risk of doing serious harm to someone. Not worth losing your life over some blood pressure case on a power trip.

If the OP is telling the truth, indicated correctly and was in the correct lanes and was on the roundabout before the BMW got to it, then he's completely in the right, and the BMW driver is just a c**t.

theres an old joke that you need two licences for a bmw, a drivers licence and an asshole licence.
    Here's another old joke,if you're on a roundabout and you're getting beeped at it's because you haven't indicated.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 155 ✭✭b_mac

iMac_Hunt wrote: »
    I would've slammed on my brakes at this point!

Always wondered about actually doing that and the other car crashing into the back of you. Is it your fault then for slamming on the brakes for no necessary reason?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,162 ✭✭✭AK333

I had a numptie shouting at me at a roundabout recently.

I was in the right lane, going right around the roundabout (passing 2 exits) but in actual fact staying on the same road I was originally on - not a traditional roundabout with main road going straight and other roads at right angles - this roundabout is a main road, with a half circle roundabout to the left of it - so you go all around the roundabout, but stay on the same road. Think clock, enter roundabout at 6, pass exit at 8 and 10 and exit at 12.

Anyway, male numptie in left lane, no indicator, passes exit 1 and 2 - i'm in right hand lane, he's in left, and then he has to brake cos we are exiting at same exit, and because I'm in the correct lane, I exit first and then he shouts at me. WTF.

What a d*ck, part of me wanted to stop in the road and f*ck him out of it and point out the rules of the road - just in case he is reading this, if you are going all around the roundabout, even if its not a traditional roundabout and passing exits on the left, GET IN THE RIGHT LANE NUMPTIE

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,003 ✭✭✭Busted Flat.

Don't indicate, tell them nothing, let them guess.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,162 ✭✭✭AK333

b_mac wrote: »
    Always wondered about actually doing that and the other car crashing into the back of you. Is it your fault then for slamming on the brakes for no necessary reason?

Nope, if a car crashes into the back of yours, its their fault. They should leave enough distance between your car and theirs to be able to stop in an emergency - of course, if they have dashcam, then you have some explaining to do :rolleyes:

I'm open to correction but as far as I know the other driver would be in the wrong as you're meant to keep a safe distance between you and the car in front of you in the event that the car in front has to suddenly brake.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 155 ✭✭b_mac

AK333 wrote: »
    Nope, if a car crashes into the back of yours, its their fault. They should leave enough distance between your car and theirs to be able to stop in an emergency - of course, if they have dashcam, then you have some explaining to do :rolleyes:

yeah haha.. the imaginary child, you seen running across the road, would have you commited if the car behind you had one of them :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,793 ✭✭✭coolisin

But gaurd a poor family of ducks was crossing the road right in front of my car and I didn't want to squish it, if big mean man in his bmw hanging out a window behind was paying attention he'd of notice the little duckies.

Seriously though OP it sounds like the angry man doesn't know how to use a roundabout, if you were on it first then you had the right of way.

And everyone telling him to indicate, how often does that bmw driver use his indicators? I'd imagine rarely.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,874 ✭✭✭rolliepoley

What would of been nice at this moment ( Was quite worrying, then he pulled up along side me and started gesturing that I pull over) was something comming head on and you just point and then SPLATT!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,706 ✭✭✭120_Minutes

Here's another old joke,if you're on a roundabout and you're getting beeped at it's because you haven't indicated.

Thats why I said if. OP has not yet said if he indicated, or was in the correct lane.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,464 ✭✭✭Celly Smunt

Ah tailgaters,they're the one reason why I have my window washers spraying up into the air.Nothing gets a tailgater off your arse like a load of water on their windscreen.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,825 ✭✭✭Timmyctc

Thats a terrible joke. I barely laughed. 2/10

Nope, a dog ran out out in front of you. It was a pity the driver was too close behind to see the situation unfold and was unable to react. A real pity.

Ah tailgaters,they're the one reason why I have my window washers spraying up into the air.Nothing gets a tailgater off your arse like a load of water on their windscreen.

Im actually gonna run into the garage and do that right now. I live in an ignorant part of the country so i suspect my washer,bottle wont make the journey back.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,818 ✭✭✭nerraw1111

A friend of mine had a very similar incident last night and the description she gave is almost identical to the one you gave, same car, the description of the woman in the passenger seat laughing.

They started harassing them for no reason too, pulled up beside her, yelling etc.

Report it to the Gardai. My friend was of the view that they were both drunk.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,519 ✭✭✭Oafley Jones

theres an old joke that you need two licences for a bmwAudi, a drivers licence and an asshole licence.

Updated the joke.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,514 ✭✭✭TheChizler

Nope, a dog ran out out in front of you. It was a pity the driver was too close behind to see the situation unfold and was unable to react. A real pity.

That excuse also protects the occupants of your own car from injury when you're then shunted into oncoming traffic, :rolleyes:.

Seriously, it's one stupid thing for them to be up your backside, but an entirely different class of stupid for you to intentionally cause an accident.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,825 ✭✭✭Timmyctc

TheChizler wrote: »
    That excuse also protects the occupants of your own car from injury when you're then shunted into oncoming traffic, :rolleyes:.

Seriously, it's one stupid thing for them to be up your backside, but an entirely different class of stupid for you to intentionally cause an accident.

But what about the claaaaimmm. Ye'd be laughing. Wear a neckbrace in public to really milk it.

It is indeed. So how about scaring the sh*t out of them instead? :D Pulse the brakes hard and fast. It doesnt actually slow you down any but the car jerks very violently noseward. Release the brakes enough that they have no effect but still illuminate the rear lights. I guarantee you theyll see the cars movement and the continued illumination of the brake lights will make for a tail gater that falls back rather rapidly!

Timmyctc wrote: »
    But what about the claaaaimmm. Ye'd be laughing. Wear a neckbrace in public to really milk it.

Lol no. I just couldnt bring myself to do something like that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,438 ✭✭✭TwoShedsJackson

Anyway I thought that was it but he kept following me and driving really fast and close behind me, making me speed to avoid him hitting me.

That's where you went wrong, never let a driver behind you 'force' you to do a particular speed. It's the one thing you can control in the situation.

It is indeed. So how about scaring the sh*t out of them instead? :D Pulse the brakes hard and fast. It doesnt actually slow you down any but the car jerks very violently noseward. Release the brakes enough that they have no effect but still illuminate the rear lights. I guarantee you theyll see the cars movement and the continued illumination of the brake lights will make for a tail gater that falls back rather rapidly!

I used to think that was a fair compromise but realized that it could cause the driver to skid or overcompensate and swerve and take out their own innocent occupants and/or some other car. Their own fault but doing unexpected things on the roads is a bad idea!

Best just to slow down naturally in that situation and let them overtake, removes you from the equation hopefully.

I used to think that was a fair compromise but realized that it could cause the driver to skid or overcompensate and swerve and take out their own innocent occupants and/or some other car. Their own fault but doing unexpected things on the roads is a bad idea!

Best just to slow down naturally in that situation and let them overtake, removes you from the equation hopefully.

Yeah, cant really argue wity you there.
    But the windscreen washer trick is staying.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 442 ✭✭Arpa

When someone forces you off the road then gets out of the car to confront you...that's what the accelerator is for.

I had an experience in my first year of driving where I was waiting for a BMW X5 to reverse out of a space and was indicating left to take his space. I had given him ample room to reverse and adjust his vehicle to be paralell with the traffic. However he didn't think he had enough room...and indicated such...fair enough...so I reversed a bit more to give him about 15 metres. For him it still wasn't enough. He got pis*ed off and hopped out of his car. I was in a small hatchback of an older year than his X5 with an L sign on the windscreen so I think he may have felt superior to get out and wanted to intimidate a learner driver. So he jumped out and walked back to me...indicated to roll down my window whilst looking furious. I cracked my window a little as he spouted all sorts of crap. I told him he had enough space to reverse and that he didn't know the size of his vehicle. He then stuck up his middle finger in the crack of my window which was great because it was the smallest middle finger I have ever seen and was actually comical. The problem is I actually started laughing at the sight of it, thinking to myself that if that's the size of his middle finger then...extrapolating the rest, I deemed his c*ck must have been tiny too, therefore he was driving this huge SUV. I couldn't contain my laughter as his middle finger was wedged in the inch gap of my window. This obviously irritated him more and he walked away...not forgetting to spit on my windscreen as he did so. That was it for me. So I revved my engine, keeping it in neutral suggesting I might floor him and he almost sprinted back to his car.

Everything was caught on CCTV as it was outside a Spar. I reported him. He got done, because he had left his vehicle and threatened me.

I was 18 years old and was quite nervous about driving after that. After a lot more experience I now don't fear these intimadting feckers. Don't get out of the car. The vehicle is your ace card. When they see you are a new driver they will try this crap. Be chilled on the road, but don't be intimidated by anybody particularly if they have a bigger vehicle. If someone leaves their vehicle to confront you...then...and it's probably not the legal thing to do..but scare the sh*t out of them by revving your engine and pointing your car at them. They are attempting to abuse you and I don't care if the judge sees it differently but I will protect myself using whatever available method.

If anybody thinks this is a drastic stance and is dangerous...I don't care. If you leave your car to come attack me over what is only a conflict of two people trying to reach a destination then I will use what is at my disposal to fight you. Stay in your car everybody and chill the f*ck out. We're only driving from a to b...you're not more important than anybody else on the road, you're not Sebastian Vettel, you are merely another driver so don't be a c*nt.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,371 ✭✭✭Obliq

Trouble with your suggestion around here in the west, on bendy roads with few straight stretches is that it encourages the eejit behind to overtake on a dangerous spot cos you're going "too slowly". I like to tap the brake lights repeatedly but keep going my usual speed, so they can't overtake dangerously, but can't trust me not to brake hard either ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,782 ✭✭✭dmc17

AK333 wrote: »

If idiot behind had a dash cam he'd probably have some explaining to do too.

Obliq wrote: »
    Trouble with your suggestion around here in the west, on bendy roads with few straight stretches is that it encourages the eejit behind to overtake on a dangerous spot cos you're going "too slowly". I like to tap the brake lights repeatedly but keep going my usual speed, so they can't overtake dangerously, but can't trust me not to brake hard either ;)
    Yeah it won't always work, I suppose on bendy roads you're going to be constantly braking anyway so it doesn't come as a surprise, and you're going relatively slow anyway so in the event of an accident damage is limited hopefully.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,563 ✭✭✭dd972

Is the OP that blonde Welsh bint with the exaggerated singing accent?

I have an image of you crawling along at 20 mph with a filthy windscreen and spraying water all over the shop,do you really think that a few drops of water on a windscreen will deter anyone from anything?:eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭McDermotX

You were obviously right, but in his mind you dissed him................right in front of his woman.

He cannot let that pass.

Celly Smunt you glorious b*stard! That was an enjoyable trip to say the least! Two people. One clearly hadnt cleaned his windscreen in some time and the big smear was seen even my me. Problem solved! Then I nearly emptied the bottle on just one thicko. The sheer inconvenience of him turning on his wipers every ten seconds, bearing more and more of his teeth as the minutes passed was hilarious. 40mph (we were in a long line of trafic. Someone clearly had a vendetta against society) is an ideal speed for someone a around five feet back. He was waving his hands and everything. I mean how desperately challenged does one have to be to not figure moving out of the way of the water will let you avoid it? I nearly crashed I laughed so hard. Thank you Celly, I dare say i needed that.

Time to start bottling my p*ss.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,238 ✭✭✭humbert

Pity you didn't get the number plate. That was insane behaviour and if his wife wasn't shocked by it I'd be inclined to believe it wasn't the first time.

I have a hurley and/or a sand wedge in the car for that type of behaviour.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,689 ✭✭✭Karl Stein

Yep. Came to blows with a guy at the side of a road. I'm not proud of it. He hit me first though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,067 ✭✭✭✭fryup

Folks,

DO NOT GET OUT OF YOUR CAR to confront or reason with someone when their blood is up, its dangerous ..for one thing you don't know what they're carrying (knife, screwdriver)

just let them have their rant and drive away no need to risk injury or worse