Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Today I did something to my car (volume 2)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,221 ✭✭✭pablo128

shietpilot wrote: »
    Check your tyre pressures
    35 psi all round, as per the sticker in the door jam. Ah its probably in my head. I'll get around to changing it sometime.

I changed the pads in the missus's Yaris last night. I think I got my moneys worth out of them.
    https://us.v-cdn.net/6034073/uploads/attachments/215805/386329.jpg

The eagle eyed among you might have noticed a new CV joint. She was doing a uturn outside her mothers a few weeks ago when the CV joint went without warning leaving her stuck in the middle of the road with no drive. To cut a long story short, I had to get 3 extension leads, 40m in total and plug it into her neighbours house to cut the inner bit off the shaft with an angle grinder. Great fun.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,115 ✭✭✭job seeker

To whom, it may concern. Copy and paste job from my progress thread!

Okay, first off, I was sick of the lack of interior lighting. So I added a Fancy pants bright purple light! Get your groove on! :p
    WP_20160322_001_zpsdelojb5v.jpg?t=1463614270
    cc86a268-23cd-4683-a59f-71e60a40a58f_zpstwcuiaw7.jpg?t=1463614529

I added a "Hoonigan" sticker! No Hoots Given! :pac:
    WP_20160516_001_zpsmf9ahbew.jpg?t=1463614601

I then added A square plate, really transforms the front imo!
    WP_20160518_002_zpsgbk4b5mw.jpg?t=1463614664

Now, onto the rear... ;) (Only done today!)
    WP_20160519_004_zpsdhtgeicg.jpg?t=1463614735

Sanded down and primed ready for paint tomorrow morning...!
    WP_20160519_006_zpsr0a7fcxi.jpg?t=1463614890

Stay tuned, more to come... ;)

• Registered Users Posts: 6,845 ✭✭✭Noccy_Mondy

Have you one headlight polished or what?

:pac: Naw, just one new headlight on the driver side..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,881 ✭✭✭shietpilot

job seeker wrote: »
    I then added A square plate, really transforms the front imo!
    WP_20160518_002_zpsgbk4b5mw.jpg?t=1463614664

With that reg plate it looks like a bunny

bugs-1030.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 9,662 ✭✭✭Voodoomelon

Quick service last night, 90 minutes, in and out.

1_zpspi5qe5sp.jpg~original

2_zpsdfhqztfp.jpg~original

3_zpstd7if8b0.jpg~original

4_zpsp56dfhtw.jpg~original

5_zpscmzqx7hi.jpg~original

6_zpsgmy0mxaq.jpg~original

7_zpsd8afuvlx.jpg~original

8_zpskergjpbz.jpg~original

9_zpslqcbu6q9.jpg~original

10_zpspgkilwhh.jpg~original

11_zpse6p3njoq.jpg~original

12_zpsiiikvp4e.jpg~original

Resetting the service intervals:

13_zpsovs5hrp3.jpg~original

• Registered Users Posts: 1,763 ✭✭✭Muckie

Fitted steels wheels from an Opel Combo onto the "red rocket".

Yaris1_zpszybrhb78.jpg

They look better than the factory Yaris wheels, nice and clean.

• Moderators Posts: 3,554 ✭✭✭Wise Old Elf

Sigh. I'm not sure if I should put this here or the hall of shame thread!!
    I posted ages ago with pictures of my back wiper motor, full of gunk. I cleaned it up, greased it up and put it back in, but no luck. I had (obviously) checked the fuses and relays at this stage.
    I picked up a new motor off a scrap dealer a while ago, not a peep out of it either. Couldn't figure it out. Down in my father in law's house today, borrowed his multimeter to check the voltage to the motor. Nothing.
    So it turned out (I presume) that I had blown a fuse trying to get the old motor going again, and didn't think to check again with the new motor :o

Anyway, fuse replaced, and after about 2 years, my back wiper works again!!

I also ordered one of those oil extraction pumps off amazon, delivered this week, so changed the oil the cheat's way! The reason I bought it is that the sump plug is rounded to fook, having difficulty removing it. I have a replacement, so I'll get someone to remove it for me at some stage.

Tidied up the fathers JD with new bonnet stickers, a reg plate and window decal. Made quite the improvement! (Mirror is off because I'm trying to find new screws to hold it tight)

2rp5ik8.png

108e78o.png

msipzk.png

2drdwus.png

o8a2he.png

20qx25x.png

el7l2g.png

• Registered Users Posts: 8,720 ✭✭✭Hal1

One of my first experiences of driving was in a tractor with my cousin taking in the silage, down in whest cark bai.

Hal1 wrote: »
    One of my first experiences of driving was in a tractor with my cousin taking in the silage, down in whest cark bai.

Ah they're fairly easy to get the hang of. The one above has 24 different speeds!

I have cat W on my license so I could still drive one away :P.

Jaysus lads, the culchies are taking over motors :pac:

Well now I'm only half culchie in fairness :P.

shietpilot wrote:
    Jaysus lads, the culchies are taking over motors

Who's the one with the culchie reg? ;)

I'm no reg snob hah :D

shietpilot wrote:
    I'm no reg snob hah

Suppose I'd be classed as a cluchie, grew up on a farm. Don't have a culchie accent, dress or act like one though. If I tell anyone I'm from a farm, they have trouble believing it!

The JD is looking well now! They are some work horse! :cool:

Update time!

So sprayed the bumper yesterday and fitted it today!

Also just making a template for positioning the number plate!
    WP_20160522_001_zps4r2svbcw.jpg?t=1463871141

Before (Day)
    WP_20151201_005_zpsmayyygzk.jpg?t=1463871488

Before (night)
    e520edfb-1231-4525-8a77-4c1bfcd6c9c3_zpskskxarsu.jpg?t=1463871898

After (Day)
    WP_20160522_006_zpsvnkw8qav.jpg?t=1463871636

After (night)
    WP_20160522_007_zpsi90lbpqe.jpg?t=1463872309

That's better!

So, I'm going to do the lower half of the bumper in the next few weeks, but it's going in the right direction.. :) Plenty more tricks up the oul sleeve.. ;)

• Registered Users Posts: 3,789 ✭✭✭rizzee

Good job on that. A set of LEDs really make a difference on a car imo

rizzee wrote: »
    Good job on that. A set of LEDs really make a difference on a car imo

Cheers dude! Ya, happy enough with how it turned out.. L.E.Ds were 1.50 off eBay..

job seeker wrote: »
    Cheers dude! Ya, happy enough with how it turned out.. L.E.Ds were 1.50 off eBay..

I was also happy paying 1.50 for registration plate LED bulbs until I went through like 5 sets in a couple of months :D

• Moderators Posts: 12,369 ✭✭✭✭Black_Knight

shietpilot wrote: »
    I was also happy paying 1.50 for registration plate LED bulbs until I went through like 5 sets in a couple of months :D

Yeah. Ive a set, but they keep overheating I think. Pretty much the opposite of what you'd expect from LEDs. I've a replacement set in the glovebox, but sure there's a grand stretch in the evenings now, who'd notice. :D

I spent like €40 on OSRAM LED bulbs for sidelights and registration plate, 5 year warranty too :p

I've almost gone the opposite route, have held off on LED numberplate lights as they're nearly always way too bright. If there were softer white ones, i'd consider them but its impossible to know until you buy.

These boys will be perfect for you then. They don't light up the whole road behind you like most LED bulbs :)

https://www.amazon.co.uk/gp/product/B007OYVKUO/ref=oh_aui_detailpage_o00_s00?ie=UTF8&psc=1

Boring stuff today, new wipers and bonnet emblem. I had picked up a new emblem from eBay, it blew off the car after a single 70km trip, they gave me a full refund. Went with OEM in the end, same as the wipers as i've had terrible luck with wipers of all brands over the years.

20160523_155355_zpsyuhfykj9.jpg~original

20160523_155403_zpsmipx1v0q.jpg~original

20160523_155525_zps7dwbur6n.jpg~original

Old emblem:

20160523_182910_zpsmwbl9thi.jpg~original

New, all one piece:

20160523_183023_zps2ld7hlxg.jpg~original

20160523_183101_zpsx9nocjrf.jpg~original

You're very much like myself Voodoo in terms of wiperblades! I went through many sets of Bosch wiperblades and they all turned rubbish in a matter of weeks. In the end I started to buy OEM wiperblades and brake components and I could never look back to the troubles!

• Registered Users Posts: 19,854 ✭✭✭✭MetzgerMeister

There's a lot to be said for going OEM. Buy cheap, buy two or three times!