Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Any suggestions on how to entertain a French teenager

• 08-07-2013 2:44pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,597 ✭✭✭

I know its After Hours but keep it clean please!

I have a 15 year old French boy coming to stay with my family for 2 weeks starting on Wednesday and am trying to think of some fun things that we can do with him. I have 15yr and 18yr old sons but they just want to play playstation and get drunk really so they are not much inspiration!

From his fb page he is into rock music (gnr, ACDC etc) and comic books, much like my own 15yr old.

I have a very limited budget but would like to make his trip to Ireland memorable. We will be based in Monaghan but can head to other places not too far off and mostly at weekends as I am in college during the week but may be able to get out a bit early and mitch a day or 2.

I just hate the thoughts of him going home hating Ireland coz he had a crap time here so any help will be gratefully received!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

Mime.

The French love mime.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,006 ✭✭✭✭callaway92

French teenager you say
    French Boy

ah

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,089 ✭✭✭keelanj69

Can't help you with the French sorry.

If you'd have taken a Spanish teenager I'd have the world of stuff for ya.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,829 ✭✭✭Nemeses

Frog n snails

French love food like that.

• Moderators, Music Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,734 Mod ✭✭✭✭Boom_Bap

Teach im how to make a cup of daycent tea and a crisp sandwich.
    You've changed his life (for the good) forever.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 22,360 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dravokivich

There's a Monaghan forum here, which might be of use.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,376 ✭✭✭Anyone

Play them the complete series's of "Allo Allo"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,299 ✭✭✭paulmclaughlin

Show him your tits.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,094 ✭✭✭wretcheddomain

Nemeses wrote: »
    Frog n snails

French love food like that.

Why do French people eat snails?

They don't like fast food.

:cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,339 ✭✭✭Artful_Badger

He's gonna end up playing the PS and getting drunk anyway. If you want him to have a good time, buy some decent games and a few slabs of cans.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,409 ✭✭✭✭endacl

In fairness OP. He's a teenage lad. Play station and cans all the way. They could replay the infamous Thierry Henry incident on FIFA. Maybe spring for a few pizzas to jazz things up a bit?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,407 ✭✭✭lkionm

Honestly he will have a better time playing playstation and getting drunk and getting the shift than he will being dragged places.

Buy them a game and an extra remote so the 3 of them can play together. Buy them battlefield/Fifa/Call of duty with internet connection and you will be sorted.

Then you can flick your bean in peace knowing you have done a good job

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,407 ✭✭✭lkionm

Show him your tits.

Yeah, if you are good looking and have nice boobies accidentally show him some boobage.

One for the **** bank for life.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

Bantry Bay

Why do French people eat snails?

They don't like fast food.

:cool:

Insert drum roll

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,147 ✭✭✭PizzamanIRL

You're going to make him hate Ireland. You should have been prepared before you agreed to take him. That's why I didn't take a Spanish student because we would have had to entertain him for 3 weeks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,798 ✭✭✭goose2005

repeat everything he says in a high -pitched voice, French people love that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

Send him to the bog to foot turf.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,007 ✭✭✭Phill Ewinn

Highland games. Glenarm castle, Antrim

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,717 ✭✭✭✭Larbre34

You don't need to worry. On this topic The Inbetweeners are very informative.

He will quickly find his way into the bed of all the local hot girls, with whom the local lads have failed to progress at all in the fun department, then he will crash a party or two and get drunk, and proceed to urinate on the roses or something.

By the time he has all that done, itll be time for him to go home!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,597 ✭✭✭Witchie

He was kinda foisted on us. We have french friends who come here every summer for a few weeks and they love the place. They both are English teachers and have sent students over to us before but usually they are over 18 so bringing them to the pub is always great fun. They are coming over too and I just feel sorry for the wee lad spending 2 weeks with his teacher!

I am not flashing me ginormous boobies at him. My sons would never forgive me and I would have terrorised him for life!

He will spend most of the time playing PS with my sons and watching movies am sure but would just like to take him to do a few things while he is here.

Someone suggested a Fleadh but I don't hate the kid so wouldn't torture him like that! (Ok he might enjoy it but to me it would be torture).

So far am thinking we will go to Dublin on one of the Saturday's and go on the Viking Splash tour so that he gets to learn a little about Dublin and then go to Forbidden Planet (him and my youngest are comic book fiends) and Temple Bar.

Then thinking the following weekend to take him to Enniskillen to the Marble Arch Caves and a boat trip on the Erne.

Might also take a wee spin up to some stunning beaches in Donegal and they can do some body boarding or just bury each other in the sand.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,969 ✭✭✭laoch na mona

take him to join the RA

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,088 ✭✭✭SpaceTime

It depends on his interests!

When I was in France in the same situation, it got pretty dull being stuck in a very small village for 3 weeks!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,887 ✭✭✭Mariasofia

Send him out to find some local young wan to play hide the baguette with:).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,399 ✭✭✭KamiKazeKitten

Witchie wrote: »
    Might also take a wee spin up to some stunning beaches in Donegal and they can do some body boarding or just bury each other in the sand.

Surfing lessons! I had a German exchange over a few years back, she went mad for the surfing.

Can I come on the viking splash tour with ye?

I've always wanted to do that :o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,857 ✭✭✭professore

A daughter of neighbours of ours had a French girl over on exchange. They made every effort to let her experience every aspect of irish life, the daughter took her everywhere with her and tried to get her involved in the craic.

She basically looked bored all the time. When she went for a return visit, she was only allowed to hang around the house and sent to bed at 8 PM, and her "buddy" ignored her for 2 weeks. So she got a sh1t impression of France and French people.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,184 ✭✭✭✭Lapin

If he's here on a cultural exchange, introduce him to the Irish way of life.

Sky TV
    Trip to Old Trafford
    Buckfast
    Snack Box

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 980 ✭✭✭Freddy Smelly

sell him as a pet french boy. hopefully he is house trained

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,925 ✭✭✭✭anncoates

I have 15yr and 18yr old sons but they just want to play playstation and get drunk really so they are not much inspiration!

This is probably what the lad wants to do as well instead of being dragged around on cultural tours and whatnot. :)

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 2,159 Mod ✭✭✭✭Oink

He's gonna end up playing the PS and getting drunk anyway. If you want him to have a good time, buy some decent games and a few slabs of cans.

eh - no, not necessarily. Underage drinking is not quite as widespread as you seem to think in Europe. Not yet anyway. Give it time.

Good luck with that OP (You're in the wrong forum if you expect serious answers though).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 200 ✭✭Citycap

Show him videos of Monaghan's All Ireland successes. That will cover about 5 minutes. Then introduce him to your neighbour's daughter. Cest la vie

• Closed Accounts Posts: 505 ✭✭✭Koptain Liverpool

My family had a French teenager when I was younger. During the week I think he'll be happy enough to hang about with your 2 sons and their friends a lot of the time. I'm sure he's into computer games also.
    And maybe organize some activities for them to do together one or two evenings (eg bowling in Castleblaney, cinema etc).
    Have a BBQ one or two evenings and maybe your sons could invite their friends.
    At the weekends take him and your sons for one or two daytrips (Giants causeway, Newgrange etc).
    Maybe let your sons and him head to Dublin on the bus one of the days to do some sightseeing, visit music and comic chops etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 106 ✭✭Burkey0

Don't pray to God to get rid of him and certainly don't bring him to Crazy Golf during a thunderstorm, your guilt and grief after the inevitable happens will begin to break you (and at least one biddy will "know what you're up to")

Burkey0 wrote: »
    Don't pray to God to get rid of him and certainly don't bring him to Crazy Golf during a thunderstorm, your guilt and grief after the inevitable happens will begin to break you (and at least one biddy will "know what you're up to")

I hope you are Iranian and this is a bad google translation of what you wanted to say.

Bowling in Castleblayney! Mon Dieu Dis is crazee

How about playing disguises as in this clip

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZelPcA2Dz2c

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,597 ✭✭✭Witchie

Yeah we will do blayney bowl, possibly take them paintballing too.

Had thought about going surfing and camping in Donegal buy my 15yr old says he hates camping now. Jaysus!

keelanj69 wrote: »
    I hope you are Iranian and this is a bad google translation of what you wanted to say.

I hope you're Ghanaian and Irish/British sitcoms never made it round your way

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,088 ✭✭✭OU812

Should have got a French girl. The 18 year old would have kept her amused for the whole trip.

Seriously though, teach him how to make a white flag and run away from things.

No, absolutely seriously. Haven't a clue.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,184 ✭✭✭shane9689

i did an exchange before in school, 4 years ago since i did it..but i think the thing he enjoyed the most was just hanging out with me and my friends....making new friends and having the laugh is all you really want to do at that age, he got to know more about irishness hanging with us than he would have standing on a rock looking at a field

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

I hope you're both Martians with tentacles coming out of your foreheads.

Bring him to a pub in Cavan. Nail a Euro coin to the floor, sit back and watch the locals trying to scoop it up without anyone knowing.

I dont know what to google to find out what that is so I can't even pretend to know what that was about. :(

Monaghan you say... does this French boy like riding hippos? Half-serious question

I dont know what to google to find out what that is so I can't even pretend to know what that was about. :(

You're alright blud, it's from Father Ben

Another suggestion.

French love women! Sent them to a disco / nightclub / place to meet ladies

That will keep them busy.

Just remember to give them protection - Safety First!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,969 ✭✭✭✭alchemist33

He was kinda foisted on us. We have french friends who come here every summer for a few weeks and they love the place. They both are English teachers and have sent students over to us before but usually they are over 18 so bringing them to the pub is always great fun. They are coming over too and I just feel sorry for the wee lad spending 2 weeks with his teacher!

I am not flashing me ginormous boobies at him. My sons would never forgive me and I would have terrorised him for life!

He will spend most of the time playing PS with my sons and watching movies am sure but would just like to take him to do a few things while he is here.

Someone suggested a Fleadh but I don't hate the kid so wouldn't torture him like that! (Ok he might enjoy it but to me it would be torture).

So far am thinking we will go to Dublin on one of the Saturday's and go on the Viking Splash tour so that he gets to learn a little about Dublin and then go to Forbidden Planet (him and my youngest are comic book fiends) and Temple Bar.

Then thinking the following weekend to take him to Enniskillen to the Marble Arch Caves and a boat trip on the Erne.

Sounds like you're on top of it (except for underestimating the power of boobies!)

Isn't there some sort of rally experience place in Monaghan? Failing that, look for more adrenaline; maybe go-karting or quad-biking or paintball?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,041 ✭✭✭who the fug

Bantry Bay

Can't see that working very well

And here the French navy cut and run because of the wind , here a french company caused the worst accident in the states history , here the french fished out the the sea urchins.

Sucker punch him while wearing your Nazi uniform. He will do whatever the hell you want him to do after that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,678 ✭✭✭I Heart Internet

You can find everything you need to know in this episode of The Inbetweeners:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7bnSW2a_H80