Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Teen Justin Carter Jailed In Texas After Making Sarcastic Threat In Facebook Comment

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 16,644 Mod ✭✭✭✭Manic Moran

Joke sarcastically about blowing something up at the airport, and see what happens.

You announce in the US that you're going to go shoot up a school, and damned right someone is going to look at you sideways. What if, in the slight possibility, you weren't joking, and were actually a disturbed individual?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 206 ✭✭JonSnuuu

Only in Texas would a judge convict someone of something so stupid. By adding "LOL JK" at the end he made it fairly clear he was joking. By those standards they should be rounding up all stand up comics who make vague threats in their jokes.

Canadian woman is a true example of a Keyboard warrior out of control. Crazy :rolleyes:

Can't believe he could be facing 8 years in prison:eek::eek::eek::eek:

What if, in the slight possibility, you weren't joking, and were actually a disturbed individual?

So it's best to just jail the poor lad? Just to be on the safe side?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 955 ✭✭✭Scruffles

JonSnuuu wrote: »
    So it's best to just jail the poor lad? Just to be on the safe side?
    jail him for a day or so perhaps,so it woud knock some sense of consequence into him,whilst they also do a pysch check and a background check to see if he really was joking,just because someone writes lol jk it doesnt mean they actualy are, there was a guy on four chan who got busted by fellow channers for planning to blow up his school,and it turned out in his case he was going to.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,310 ✭✭✭✭Grandeeod

She's Canadian.

Enough said.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,753 ✭✭✭Vito Corleone

You announce in the US that you're going to go shoot up a school, and damned right someone is going to look at you sideways. What if, in the slight possibility, you weren't joking, and were actually a disturbed individual?

Ridiculous response. It was obviously meant as a joke, he stated that in his post. He's been in jail since March, poor lad is suicidal. I've heard more disturbing comments on this site lol. Typical over the top bullshit from the USA.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,316 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

Scruffles wrote: »
    there was a guy on four chan who got busted by fellow channers for planning to blow up his school,and it turned out in his case he was going to.
    https://encyclopediadramatica.se/Trey_Burba
    Trey Burba is a 15-year-old gun enthusiast from Pflugerville, TX and /b/tard, and like most /b/tards, he is total underage b&. This one-hit wonder was best known for failing to kill dozens of his fellow students at PHS on September 11th, 2007. He was arrested shortly after announcing his plans to 4chan's /b/.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,251 ✭✭✭Andrewf20

This vs the Westboro baptist church. Seems a compete joke to me - a potential 8 years behind bars.

"...alerted police after Internet research revealed Carter, who was 18 at the time of the incident, lived near an elementary school."

As does, perhaps 70-80% of the population.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,798 ✭✭✭✭DrumSteve

Grandeeod wrote: »
    She's Canadian.

Enough said.

Hmmm, ive spent a lot of time in Canada and have found pretty much every Canadian ive met to be pretty sound.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,398 ✭✭✭StinkyMunkey

That's way OTT, I can understand people's feeling were running high after the school shootings. But that is sending a kid to jail for making a joke in bad taste.

And who doesn't live near a school.....

You can run around shooting people is Texas for so called self defence, but you cant make a joke in bad taste? FFS he wasn't even trolling, just responding to someone in jest (however bad taste it was).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,085 ✭✭✭meoklmrk91

By all means pull him in and ask him some questions, investigate him, find out if he was serious. But seriously the idea that he is facing 8 years in prison over a something he said as a joke is ridiculous. Poor kid, I really feel for him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,299 ✭✭✭✭MadsL

You can run around shooting people is Texas for so called self defence,

No. No, you can't. You can however plead justifiable homicide if you do happen to find yourself defending yourself against an attacker. Oddly enough, just like you can in Ireland.

Texas isn't some alternate universe.

Grandeeod wrote: »
    She's Canadian.

Enough said.

Damn those Canadians, always..... doing...... uh...

Wait, what do you have against Canadians?

Sacramento wrote: »
    Damn those Canadians, always..... doing...... uh...

Wait, what do you have against Canadians?

Celine Dion?

http://www.alternet.org/news-amp-politics/teenager-jailed-facebook-terrorist-threat-now-suicide-watch

The nineteen-year-old jailed for making a "terrorist threat" after posting an obviously sarcastic comment on Facebook is now reportedly on suicide watch in jail, where he has been held on $500,000 bond since February. Texas gamer Justin Carter was arrested after for a remark he made during a Facebook debate about the videogame "League Legends." "omeone had said something to the effect of 'Oh you're insane, you're crazy, you're messed up in the head,’" Carter's dad Jack told ABC affiliate KVUE, "To which [Justin] replied 'Oh yeah, I'm real messed up in the head, I'm going to go shoot up a school full of kids and eat their still, beating hearts,’ and the next two lines were 'lol and jk' [all sic]."

It's an unbelievably stupid thing to say but definitely a joke.. And League of Legends is hardly Duty of Duty or a game which could be associated with "a killing simulator" which is how the prosecutors with probably try and describe the game.

http://media.pcgamer.com/files/2013/03/League-of-Legends1.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,029 ✭✭✭shedweller

And to think how many fecked up people are walking the streets and they're not being jailed!
    Back when i was younger i used to say nonsense like that with my mates. It was just something we did in our late teens / early twenties. There was only texting around then so there was little or no chance of it ballooning out of proportion. And rightly so because, as offensive as some people think it is, it makes no difference to the world.

As i said above; why not jail the people that are actually doing bad things. At this rate i can see a growing underground movement of people communicating verbally to each other, to each others faces!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,695 ✭✭✭December2012

It's a sick thing to joke about.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

Paranoid beyond belief, obviously everyone hates them and the horrid influence they've had across the world. Nobody has the ball's to stand up them though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 909 ✭✭✭camel jockey

By adding "LOL JK" at the end he made it fairly clear he was joking.

So 'LOL JK' makes it okay to say anything I want now? What if I said 'F**k you, ni**er.' or 'F**k you, cr***er.' Would that be okay as long as I add in the 'LOL JK'?

He needs to learn to accept responsibility for his actions. 'LOL JK' is not a get out of jail free card.

Paranoid beyond belief, obviously everyone hates them and the horrid influence they've had across the world. Nobody has the ball's to stand up them though.

Who's this now? Muslims?

So 'LOL JK' makes it okay to say anything I want now? What if I said 'F**k you, ni**er.' or 'F**k you, cr***er.' Would that be okay as long as I add in the 'LOL JK'?

He needs to learn to accept responsibility for his actions. 'LOL JK' is not a get out of jail free card.

By your logic you just said those two words and LOL JK doesn't excuse you from that.

OMG you horrible person! JAIL HIM! :eek:

By your logic you just said those two words and LOL JK doesn't excuse you from that.

OMG you horrible person! JAIL HIM! :eek:

Did I say it? Or did I say 'what if I said'? By quoting or indeed reading my post have you also said it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,068 ✭✭✭Specialun

"Im going to shoot this fcuking site down"

****sits down awaiting gardai***

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,089 ✭✭✭keelanj69

Did I say it? Or did I say 'what if I said'? By quoting or indeed reading my post have you also said it?

Isnt that the same argument as him saying 'didn't I say lol jk after it?'.

What if I said your a piece of ****?
    You're a piece of ****, lol jk omg.

Edit: this is a jk, btw lol.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

Who's this now? Muslims?

Why did they fly those planes into the WTC? Why did those young and educated men with families feel that they had to do that?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 212 ✭✭theUbiq

It's a sick thing to joke about.

What's sick is how easily you can a buy guns in Amerika... jailing this guy is also totally over the top. Sure, he made a joke in very poor taste but it was just a joke. Really, we are talking about Amerika so why be surprised by such nonsense. It is the greatest failed nation ever and run by a bunch of sick fascists.

Why did they fly those planes into the WTC? Why did those young and educated men with families feel that they had to do that?

Because the yanks are assholes?

Who's this now? Muslims?

Americans.

Isn't that the point of free speech though.. I should be able to say anything I want and in this case, when it's blatantly just a stupid bad joke that sounds like a threat bit really isn't, common sense should prevail.

People talk about China's internet but the UK and US are getting just as bad.

Back in school, how many of us would have said things like this? Now, if a friend recorded it, you'd get 10 years in jail.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,225 ✭✭✭snausages

I think the main problem is that the punishment being meted out is totally disproportionate to his actions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,472 ✭✭✭✭Grayson

By that logic we should take every joke seriously. We should assume that englishmen, irishmen and scotsmen always go drinking together.

I should also assume that you are a racist. Not because of your post, but because of your username.

I'm off to report you for incitement.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,060 ✭✭✭Kenny Logins

'F**k you, ni**er.' or 'F**k you, cr***er.'

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 7,943 Mod ✭✭✭✭Yakult

LOL jk

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,749 ✭✭✭Smiles35

Alright, getting charged with something is one thing. A half a million dollar bail being put up is very wrong and is somthing someone should be held accountable for.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,386 ✭✭✭Killer Wench

Joke sarcastically about blowing something up at the airport, and see what happens.

Totally agree. This is from a Slate article discussing the lessons learned since Columbine. This quote supports the above:

"This leads us to the second, and perhaps most important, lesson learned from Columbine: what the FBI calls "leakage." Gunfire in the classroom is the final stage of a long-simmering attack. The Secret Service found that 81 percent of shooters had explicitly revealed their intentions. Most told two people. Some told more. Kids are bad at secrets. The grander the plot, the more likely to sprout leaks.

The dramatic change post-Columbine is now we believe the leaks. Many potentially deadly plots have been foiled since Columbine because of leakage. In 2001, a pair of Colorado middle-schoolers procured a Columbine-like arsenal: TEC-9, shotgun, rifles, and propane bombs. They recruited gunmen to cover more exits. One of them told at least seven people that he planned to "redo Columbine." He bragged to four girls that they would be the first to die. The girls went straight to the police. Since Columbine, kids take threats seriously."

• Closed Accounts Posts: 358 ✭✭Weevil

Totally agree. This is from a Slate article discussing the lessons learned since Columbine. This quote supports the above:

"This leads us to the second, and perhaps most important, lesson learned from Columbine: what the FBI calls "leakage." Gunfire in the classroom is the final stage of a long-simmering attack. The Secret Service found that 81 percent of shooters had explicitly revealed their intentions. Most told two people. Some told more. Kids are bad at secrets. The grander the plot, the more likely to sprout leaks.

The dramatic change post-Columbine is now we believe the leaks. Many potentially deadly plots have been foiled since Columbine because of leakage. In 2001, a pair of Colorado middle-schoolers procured a Columbine-like arsenal: TEC-9, shotgun, rifles, and propane bombs. They recruited gunmen to cover more exits. One of them told at least seven people that he planned to "redo Columbine." He bragged to four girls that they would be the first to die. The girls went straight to the police. Since Columbine, kids take threats seriously."

He didn't "announce" his intentions to shoot up a school, he responded to a comment with ironic exaggeration ( did you miss the 'Oh, yeah.... ). Also, the suggestion of leakage is beyond stupid. It's not like he fumed under his breath in the wash-room. He posted it on a public forum.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,464 ✭✭✭Celly Smunt

Specialun wrote: »
    "Im going to shoot this fcuking site down"

****sits down awaiting gardai***
    Jesus!,you better make sure you have your car taxed because the guards will be down to you in september.

Nah,fair play to the guards in fairness.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,386 ✭✭✭Killer Wench

Weevil wrote: »
    He didn't "announce" his intentions to shoot up a school, he responded to a comment with ironic exaggeration ( did you miss the 'Oh, yeah.... ). Also, the suggestion of leakage is beyond stupid. It's not like he fumed under his breath in the wash-room. He posted it on a public forum.

And some school shooters leaked their intention publicly to other students. I can easily imagine students laughing off the comments of their friends, thinking that their friend wasn't serious and wasn't the type to commit the act. With so many school shootings, people have to think 'what if he really isn't joking'.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,753 ✭✭✭Vito Corleone

And some school shooters leaked their intention publicly to other students. I can easily imagine students laughing off the comments of their friends, thinking that their friend wasn't serious and wasn't the type to commit the act. With so many school shootings, people have to think 'what if he really isn't joking'.

By all means investigate it, go to his house, search his room and then give him a slap on the wrist if needs be. But to keep him in prison for 5 months after finding out he's clearly joking? There's no way you can say that's a rational action.

Again, he didn't 'leak', he posted the comment.....in a public forum. He has been jailed, and faces a criminal charge, for doing no more than is done by millions of teenagers every day; being a smart-arse.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,628 ✭✭✭Femme_Fatale

Christ, there are people actually defending the staggeringly draconian measures taken on this kid. It was a comment. A comment! He is a teenager. It wasn't even an unprovoked trolling comment - it was a response to someone who said he was messed up in the head. And he quickly added a disclaimer that he was joking (which was obvious anyway). His response may have been OTT to some, but it was a widely used tactic - sarcasm and exaggeration as a rebuttal. He didn't mean what he said - and it doesn't signify that he thinks killing kids is a laugh.
    And there are people pretending not to be able to see this? :confused:

I take issue sometimes with the free speech argument, because free speech doesn't exist; if it did, we'd be able to publish/broadcast anything at all without consequence, and we never have been. Plus people saying unprovoked dickish things on Facebook are objectionable, whether we can ignore them or not.
    But prison for a Facebook reply not referring to anyone personally, and clarification that it was a joke...?! This is insane stuff!

And as someone else said, why aren't those Phelps psychos, who have said and done infinitely worse, in jail so?

Baffling.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,094 ✭✭✭wretcheddomain

America is the land of the free - free to jail you at will that is.

theUbiq wrote: »
    What's sick is how easily you can a buy guns in Amerika... jailing this guy is also totally over the top. Sure, he made a joke in very poor taste but it was just a joke. Really, we are talking about Amerika so why be surprised by such nonsense. It is the greatest failed nation ever and run by a bunch of sick fascists.
    theUbiq wrote: »
    Because the yanks are assholes?

This. Apparantly you can say this kind of stuff on AH because the charter does not include xenophobia.

Saying the "Irish are assholes" on AH will get me a ban. No free speech is fundamental to the charter.

Nice job.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,225 ✭✭✭snausages

He's apparently nude in isolation currently on suicide watch. Whatever the idiocy of the original remark it does not appear to me that 'justice' has been done.

There's an online petition to release the young man here:
    http://www.change.org/petitions/release-my-son-justin-carter-in-jail-for-a-facebook-comment

Sign it, even if it's just to stop the word 'terroristic' being used to charge a person with a crime.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,083 ✭✭✭Grumpypants

This is why the police should do their job and investigate the comments. Not put someone who is no threat to anyone in a jail where he is constantly beaten to such an extent he needs to be placed in solitary confinement which in itself is a form of torture with a bail amount that is up to 5 times that of people accused of murder.

It is as dumb as someone saying one day I'd like a Ferrari, their mate saying where would you get the money for that? and they then reply joking that they would have to rob a bank. And actually getting arrested for attempted bank robbery.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,919 ✭✭✭✭Gummy Panda

MadsL wrote: »
    This. Apparantly you can say this kind of stuff on AH because the charter does not include xenophobia.

Saying the "Irish are assholes" on AH will get me a ban. No free speech is fundamental to the charter.

Nice job.

report the posts. If you don't like the nodding take it to feedback.

simples

report the posts. If you don't like the nodding take it to feedback.

simples

Yep, it's been discussed. Apparently Americans are "not a race" so therefore you can call them names on AH.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,681 ✭✭✭bodice ripper

MadsL wrote: »
    Yep, it's been discussed. Apparently Americans are "not a race" so therefore you can call them names on AH.

You'll note Nigerians are though. Just sayin.

Funnily enough I know someone born in Zambia. She's white.