Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Words escape me.

• 05-07-2013 12:10pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,533 ✭✭✭

We all know Constance Markievicz was a woman, right? And that she didn't die in 1916, yeah?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,464 ✭✭✭Celly Smunt

A woman yes,died in 1916 no.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 245 ✭✭Think_then_talk

A sure she was one of the Lads.
    "Don’t trust to your ‘feminine charm’ and your capacity for getting on the soft side of men, but take up your responsibilities and be prepared to go your own way depending for safety on your own courage, your own truth and your own common sense, and not on the problematic chivalry of the men you may meet on the way…."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,485 ✭✭✭Thrill

Wiki told me she died in 1927.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,332 ✭✭✭Guill

So.. You had to look her up on Wiki yet yet words escape you about his ignorance of her....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,485 ✭✭✭Thrill

Guill wrote: »
    So.. You had to look her up on Wiki yet yet words escape you about his ignorance of her....

And where did I accuse anyone of ignorance?

I never heard of her until yesterday.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,533 ✭✭✭iceage

I didn't have to check Wiki... ^ he did. Apology accepted.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,464 ✭✭✭Celly Smunt

Your man nodding in the background just clarify's how many sheep there are in protest movements who'll believe anything out of some peoples mouths.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,465 ✭✭✭Sir Humphrey Appleby

Who is the publicity seeking muppet anyway, sounds like he was taught irish history by Nigel Farrage:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,332 ✭✭✭Guill

Thrill wrote: »
    And where did I accuse anyone of ignorance?

I never heard of her until yesterday.

Apologies, misread OP's name. :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,254 ✭✭✭overshoot

saw it on the news, it was on of those things; did he just say he? and that she died in the rising... ah he couldnt be that moronic playing the patriot card and clearly be clueless

saw this morning tho that the shouted something along the lines of "run away ya british feckers like in 1916" when they were still trying to run the auction... yep, the massive military success that was 1916 :rolleyes:
    edit:They missed a chance with the Castlebar races!

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 26,403 Mod ✭✭✭✭Peregrine

I lost all hope in these populist patriot 'English scum out' and 'Kill the gubbermint' politicians/public figures when I heard that.

Countess Constance Markievicz not Constant Markievicz

Her life not his life

She didn't die in 1916, no. She died in her home beside her family in 1927.

Also the Brits never ran away in 1916

Ben of house Gilroy standing beside him nodding at everything he says, both confident in what they're saying..that's hilarious.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

How embarrassing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,900 ✭✭✭General General

Guy looks like his dream to be a lead singer in a band didn't work out, nor did the career as a DJ... I love his speaking style, it's a real let-me-clear-things-up-for-you-style.

Your man nodding in the background just clarify's how many sheep there are in protest movements who'll believe anything out of some peoples mouths.

Sheep?

Oh no sir!

That's Freeman on the land, Ben of House Gilroy. Leader of the political party Direct Democracy Ireland. He came fourth in the Meath-East by-election.

Worrying, very worrying.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

Who is this D'Arcy guy? Is he associated with Gilroy?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,840 ✭✭✭intellectual dosser

Must be plant by the other side.....its amazing how one fool can rip up the entire argument of one side.

Did he used to be on Fair City by any chance?
    Or childrens TV in the 80s?

He looks vaguely familiar for some reason.

He was a developer. Owes AIB €14.7m

Early in the year he claimed or 'discovered' (said his supporters) that AIB was apparently operating without a license.

http://www.facebook.com/RevolutionIreland/posts/311382892298104
    http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2056889473

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

They're only playing to their target audience, people who don't worry about such things as historical fact and rational thought.

Nobody could be as ignorant, idiotic and hypocritical as them.

Could they?

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 10,581 Mod ✭✭✭✭Robbo

Taxi driver turned property developer. I'm sure if he'd been around in the 1600s, he'd have been into selling tulip bulbs.

Him and Gilroy would run in the same pseudo-lawyer circles; pretending to have defeated "De Banks" by causing them minor inconvenience, selling false hope to people in dire straits, making bad sitations worse, making up law to suit their ends and so on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,070 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

Fcuking cringe

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,102 ✭✭✭RossFixxxed

Will you guys actually sit down and learn some history, and not from bloody wiki. Jesus wept.

Constanceance Markovitch was a man, who had a sex change in 1900. HE died in 1916 when a UFO crashed into the GPO where he was holding a beard competition. He came back as a Zombie until 1927 when De Valera finally took out his brain, and he died with his family at his side saying 'braaaaaaaaaaainnnns'.

Is not that hard to figure out is it?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,225 ✭✭✭Yitzhak Rabin

Direct Democracy Ireland, the gift that keeps on giving!!

These leftie groups that keep springing up are frikkin hilarious.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,438 ✭✭✭✭El Guapo!

Ben "the gimp" Gilroy has a very punchable face.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,824 ✭✭✭vitani

Saw that on the news yesterday evening. Real 'did he really just say that?' moment.

I love how RTE chose to air it anyway though. Either they knew it would go viral, or they just wanted to show the protesters up.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 965 ✭✭✭Doctor Strange

DDI are a very, very right wing group pretending to be lefties. Read the election material earlier in the year when Gilroy was running up here, there's a stink of GOP-esque policy about them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,472 ✭✭✭✭Grayson

fcuking morons.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,526 ✭✭✭✭Darkglasses

Split myself laughing at that on the news yesterday. I think RTE saw the funny side too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,444 ✭✭✭✭Skid X

Split myself laughing at that on the news yesterday. I think RTE saw the funny side too.

I hope so, I'd like to think someone in RTE knew exactly what they were doing by running that particular part of his rant.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,295 ✭✭✭✭Duggy747

The confidence in him as he says it makes it all the better :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,628 ✭✭✭Femme_Fatale

Lol, what a pair of pathetic morons! :D
    DDI are a very, very right wing group pretending to be lefties. Read the election material earlier in the year when Gilroy was running up here, there's a stink of GOP-esque policy about them.
    Yeh in fairness, not everything anti establishment is "leftie". A former developer is hardly a leftie.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,299 ✭✭✭✭MadsL

Ahhhhh, but were the Brits on dere Oats when dey ran. Were dey? Eh? Eh?

Nimrod 7 wrote: »
    Sheep?

Oh no sir!

That's Freeman on the land, Ben of House Gilroy. Leader of the political party Direct Democracy Ireland. He came fourth in the Meath-East by-election.

Worrying, very worrying.

He looks like Amy Winehouse father

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 110 ✭✭heartseeker

yeah almost as hilarious as inda and the boys.Thank god for endas tardiness in getting to the bottom of that Anglo crisis ....5 years later and Noonans really putting up the fear to the bankers by threatening them that he might go looking for other tapes lol his knowledge of history is exemplary though.no better historian I reckon.....he'l soon consign himself to it and can rest assured he got tough on those that gambled taxpayers lives away.hero of the free state....the man that mixes ends up with a woman 100 years from now could be forgiven for mixing it up ....although the truth is Mary Kenny the Indo journo will prob get more of a mention a century on from now for all the good he's done us lmao joke of a "man" :D

For anyone who hasn't seen this in Cool Vids & Pics & Links:
    efb wrote: »