Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

International Track Grand Prix Saturday 6th July @Sundrive

• 03-07-2013 4:30pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 7,150 ✭✭✭

this is gonna be a great race day with a mix of international elite track riders and local elite/'working on getting towards elite' riders! first time in 50years since Ireland has hosted a track meet like this

info here:
    http://cyclingireland.ie/Home/News/Top-Internationals-race-in-Sundrive-this-Saturday.aspx

This weekend will see top Nations compete against Ireland’s best at the Sundrive Outdoor Track Cycling Velodrome in Dublin in the pursuit of qualification points for the World Championships next year. This is the first time in over 50 years that Ireland has held a track competition that has been recognised as an international event by the UCI (World Cycling Governing Body).
    While Ireland does not have an indoor velodrome, Sundrive Velodrome has been instrumental in the development of Ireland’s top track cyclists including Martyn Irvine, Caroline Ryan and Eoin Mullen. Ryan and Mullen will line out against strong squads from Great Britain, Holland, Belgium, New Zealand and Canada this Saturday. A recent restructuring of the International Track Cycling Calendar means that points achieved in regional UCI events will count towards qualification in World Events.

list of events and timetable here: http://trackcycling.ie/index.php?option=com_content&view=article&id=710:international-track-grand-prix-update&catid=1:latest-news&Itemid=50

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,450 ✭✭✭Harrybelafonte

I'll let the Cycling Ireland Press Release explain it:

http://www.trackcycling.ie/index.php?option=com_content&view=article&id=714:cycling-ireland-press-release&catid=1:latest-news&Itemid=50

Get your camping chair, rug, whatever sorted and spend an day in the sun, entertained by the sweat of your brethern.

Sorry about the double up there. Ill blame the phone for this one.

• Administrators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 78,393 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Beasty

Sorry about the double up there. Ill blame the phone for this one.
    I blame the fact you were making sure you were at the track on time for sign-on this evening while kumate_champ07 was pratting about on the internet ...:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,150 ✭✭✭kumate_champ07

Beasty wrote: »
    I blame the fact you were making sure you were at the track on time for sign-on this evening while kumate_champ07 was pratting about on the internet ...:)
    ha, I got distracted chatting with a team mate on facebook about saturday then realised I had to be on the track in 45mins! still got there in time for the warm up. plan for the future is to mayve do a turbo warm up before I make the 5min journey to the track on my bike

Bumping this once more. I'm heading over in a few hours to help set it up before having my ass handed to me at it tomorrow.

A lot of time, effort and money has been put into the event so I think the guys would appreciate any support they can get.

Plus, it's an opportunity for those who clamoured for an indoor velodrome on the back of Martyn Irvine's World Champs win to prove there's an interest here in track cycling.

Of course you'll get a chance to see World Champ pursuiter Andy Tennant, sprinters like Martin Osman and a lot of other elite athletes fight it out. Entertainment all around.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22 Vino Veritas

I hear that a lot of our own top track riders, including world and national champions have withdrawn from the startlist ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,460 ✭✭✭lennymc

I hear that a lot of our own top track riders, including world and national champions have withdrawn from the startlist ?

source?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,538 ✭✭✭nak

Anyone who wants to do masters this year can't race as it's a UCI event.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 282 ✭✭dedocdude

yes this is true - real shame

Yes, a few cannot ride this event as it will disqualify them from the Masters, which is a shame, but the event is still going to be huge and Eoin Mullen and Caroline Ryan will be still be taking part.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 87 ✭✭rosscollins 1988

Woah! The track looks amazing when set up like this. The standard of organisation and preparation seems second to none. Thanks to all involved for their hard work.

Should be some craic tomorrow.

• Administrators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 78,393 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Beasty

Woah! The track looks amazing when set up like this. The standard of organisation and preparation seems second to none. Thanks to all involved for their hard work.

Should be some craic tomorrow.
    I'm claiming the "level" half of the 50m long Dublin City Council banner - Harry did the "other" half:p

.... and I fully expect you guys to get your asses kicked tomorrow :)

Ill just be happy if the banner is still there tomorrow

If someone has the time table they might post if for those wishing to spectate, though I think all finals are after lunch.

There's a spectators section with chairs etc set up, so no excuses

Order of events here

Racing starts at 10 and is expected to continue until around 6. The two points races are before the 30 minute lunch break

List of riders here

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,907 ✭✭✭pprendeville

Just out here now up on the grass bank watching with my daughter who's eating all the grapes. Absolutely beautiful day although a bit of a breeze for the ridersFirst time here in Sundrive. Didnt realise it was so close to where I live. Think I'll have to give this track riding a lash in the future.

Ian Inglis one of the 1st riders up. The guy was v strong in Newry last week.

All the big Newry boys here including overall winner Derek Cunningham. Guy he was up against just got a flat tyre or mechanical. Think he was Sundrive and very fast.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3 rvink

Was the guy who had the mechanical wearing black? and has he had a re-race?

Black gear alright and a rear disc wheel. Had to leave early but was enjoying it.

Thanks - maybe the rider was from New Zealand?

rvink wrote: »
    Thanks - maybe the rider was from New Zealand?

Sundrive. Front puncture. Redid it.

Thanks - do you have the names of fastest 4 in the IP?

Eoin Mullen broke the stadium record for flying 200m with 10.91

also I think the Irish stadium record for 4km was broken, tho Martyn Irvine hasnt done it at the track in 2 years now I think

Sprint finals are on very soon, followed by mens scratch
    and then the keirin at 4.30ish, 3 groups for the men with 6 riders in each. 1st and 2nd place qualify for semi finals, unplaced riders get a second chance with 1st place in the other race joining previous 1st and 2nd in the semis.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 133 ✭✭strokeslover

Great day, brilliant to see all the elite athletes, really hope we get more events like this

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,099 ✭✭✭morana

was great alright. Ryan Mullen broke MI's record by 10s they said...Michale Vink ,Andy tennant, Roy Efting looked class acts

Hugo Brennan also broke Eoin Mullen's Junior record for Sundrive.

That's not really clear, he broke the Junior Narional record for the Flying 200. 12.3 seconds to Eoins 12.4 (AFAIK), and on his 18th birthday too, so that may be broken again.

I'm sorry, but I can't remember any of the other results tbh. Ryan Mullen won the Pursuit and nshattered Mr Irvine's record by maybe 10 seconds. Andy Tenant may have miscalculated on the first round, I'm not sure but his second run was much faster. He of course looked awesome on the bike. Ryan Mullen the same, very professional. All calm.

The sprinting on the day was the best I've seen. Track stands, awesome power and all who made it into the finals were impressive. They really were. A lot of big lads there. Eoin Mullen impressed us all as usual as both he and Hugo Bart easily broke 12 second 200s (Hugo managed to do half of his on the blue too).

The points race was total torture. I personally now have minus 80 UCI points I believe. After being lapped once or maybe twice. Javan Nulty really impressed in this, or so I'm told, my head was down for all of it. Though I've never come so close to being slammed into the fence there before and some touched off it.

The ladies points and scratch looked just as painful. Caroline Ryan impressing as usual, but didn't walk away with it either. Watching her pursuit, it was pure beauty. Position and pedalling and just pure steady.

The scratch was even worse for speed. I personally pulled out of this after fifteen or twenty laps as we the Keirin straight after. There was a bad crash in this which I managed to just avoid. Would have been pretty lame to be taken out while also being lapped. It was pretty bad but the main injured party was walking around ok, but sore, after.

The Keirin were something to behold. I got off my bike after the scratch and had to go straight over to the pen. One or two lads did the same and faired well. I did not fair so well, but I got off happy and sat down. Then I was called up again as due to numbers I made it along with everyone else to the semi-finals. I faired better in this one as there wasn't really a kick, sat down and about 10 seconds and was called again for the minor final. I really didn't fair well in this one lol.

Anyway, it was an amazing day to watch and ride. The track cycling commission should be very proud of how successful the day was for both the riders and those watching. The weather on the day was perfect (if not a little draining for the riders but plenty of water was on hand from the organisers, another indication of the forethought put into this) and tbh it may have been the best day I've ever had at the track, and I've had a lot of good days there, no matter about my own performance. And going by what I heard, the international riders were also happy with the proceedings of the day.

The negative: considering the day, the size of the event and how many people clamour about watching track and how we should have an indoor velodrome, I was pretty disappointed to see how little spectators there were. As usual it was mostly made up of fellow trackies and their families. Maybe, I'm naieve and road spectators are made up of the same, but ill be referencing this thread the next time people begin clamouring for an indoor again. As some said yesterday. Watching the racing in Sundrive is better than in an indoor because you're actually inside the track and can watch the race closely all the way around, whereas in an indoor you're on the outside and trying to see what happens on the far side.

Anyway, my apologies for the negativity at the end of all the positivity, maybe I should put this paragraph first, but as far as I'm concerned this is further evidence that you have to look after your own interests.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 282 ✭✭dedocdude

Holy sh1t that's some time from Ryan Mullen.

dedocdude wrote: »
    Holy sh1t that's some time from Ryan Mullen.

Yes, we were all blown away by it. It'll be interesting to see if Martyn will decide to defend it, but a very, very impressive time.

http://t.co/n13G4lrNZM

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,460 ✭✭✭lennymc

good write up Harry!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,538 ✭✭✭nak

Sundrive is also better for spectators due to the fact that it's free to watch unlike the races at indoor velodromes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,099 ✭✭✭morana

and its great you can talk to the riders as well.

I was mesmerized by tennant incredible on the bike. Mullen still went faster in the final. He said he would take a medal in the europeans. I just laughed when he said it. but he will prob break the Irish record if you think its probably 5-10 secs quicker indoors but we will see.

I enjoyed it and the track commission did a great job in organising it. Chapeau

should be at least 10 seconds quicker indoors for 4km tt

I was mesmerised by Tennant's bike in fairness.

Olympic Omnium is this weekend for those who want to watch some more, or even better join in if you have accreditation.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 202 ✭✭RockWerchter

Is the Omnium over the two days?

2 days, full Olympic distances

How long does that make the scratch and points races?

Yes, details aren't up yet, but memory is

Flying 250, points, elimination day 1
    Scratch, kilo, pursuit on day 2

How long does that make the scratch and points races?

Found last year's:

http://www.trackcycling.ie/index.php?option=com_content&view=article&id=663:men-a-womens-olympic-omnium-cship&catid=1:latest-news&Itemid=50

Points was only 50 yesterday, god help us

The most appealing thing on that list is Lunch...but with the weather the way it is it would be a shame not to do it.

Some very strong pursuiters there last year.

See you there, have been meaning to get use out of my pursuit bars anyway.

The start gates will be out too and you'll get to use them in the kilo as well if you want.

I believe closing date for the Omnium entreiss is today.

Full results for last Sarurday up now:

http://www.stickybottle.com/track/full-results-of-ireland-international-track-gp-uci-ranked-event-at-sundrive-rd/

So, a load of us have UCI points, right?

Yep - your names should be appearing on the UCI website in the next week or two.

EDIT - results are already up

Beasty wrote: »
    Yep - your names should be appearing on the UCI website in the next week or two.

EDIT - results are already up

Whoop. I could be wrong but it looks like I have more UCI points for the Points Race than Theo Bos. (I realise its bit his area of expertise, but still)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,301 ✭✭✭dave_o_brien

The UCI got my age wrong. By 2 years. WTF?!