Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

City Life

• 02-07-2013 10:56pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭

I'm a country boy, if no one has noticed. I love visiting cities, but I would never spend more than a few days in one. I love the quietness, the wide open spaces, the country life too much.

In the future, it's probable that everyone will live in cities, and us culchies will be forgotten dinosaur relics.

So, good folk of the cities, can you give some pointers to us culchies for surviving city life when we are finally displaced from our natural habitat?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88 ✭✭mcwinning

I'm kind of the same as you, don't like big cities. Wouldn't want to live out in the sticks, but small cities/big towns are perfect.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,646 ✭✭✭✭Sauve

Mind the train tracks.

It's a bit like a bog hole but ya can't jump it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,444 ✭✭✭✭Skid X

Nah, I've seen enough apocalypse movies and TV Shows to know that we will all soon be forced to abandon the cities and attempt to continue civilisation on Farms.

Then I will realise that your man on the Farmers Journal ad was correct to say 'You cannot afford to miss it', albeit far too late :(.

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 26,403 Mod ✭✭✭✭Peregrine

Don't eat/touch yellow snow
    Don't trust signposts, scumbags turn them a lot
    If you're on an empty bus, don't go upstairs and sit at the back

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,207 ✭✭✭jaffacakesyum

If you see gum on the street, don't pick it up, it's not candy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

Nimrod 7 wrote: »

All that happens in the country too.

Except we don't have double Decker buses.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 919 ✭✭✭Joe prim

Do not purchase bridges,large buildings or other architectural features from random strangers who approach you offering you a "bargain"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,491 ✭✭✭looking_around

don't get in peoples way :P ...everyone is in a rush

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,438 ✭✭✭✭El Guapo!

1. Leave your banjo in the sticks. It's not welcome here.

2. Smell that?........yep, that's life without the constant smell of cow shít.

3. Remember, it's ok to eat something other than bacon and cabbage everyday.

4. No it's not acceptable to bring a date to supermacs.

5. It's tea. Not tae.

6. Leave your cousin alone. That's not what we do here.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,567 ✭✭✭Red Pepper

I love the countryside too. Lived in Port Moresby once. Vile place. Closer to home, Dublin has all the city negatives without being a very nice city especially recently. Vancouver or Toronto or Melbourne prob best.

Joe prim wrote: »
    Do not purchase bridges,large buildings or other architectural features from random strangers who approach you offering you a "bargain"

Are you telling me I paid too much for the Spire?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,822 ✭✭✭Mickey H

Nimrod 7 wrote: »

It was harmless fun your honour. We were on the way home from the pub.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,605 ✭✭✭OakeyDokey

I'm a country girl and love cities :D I'd like to move to a bigger city if I could. There's something about the lights and general bustling around that attracts me. I'd stare out the window and watch the city move!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,465 ✭✭✭✭cantdecide

El Guapo! wrote: »

See those big shiny things buzzing around the sky Mr. Sophistimocated? Shur get on one every so often you'll never know what you'll find!!

OakeyDokey wrote: »
    I'm a country girl and love cities :D I'd like to move to a bigger city if I could. There's something about the lights and general bustling around that attracts me. I'd stare out the window and watch the city move!
    I love that too, but there's only so much time you can spend looking at lights. I can see three countries from my front window, not many city people can do that.:)

5. It's tea. Not tae.

I'm from the country, not the Amazon rainforest.:pac:

Lived in the country. Lived in the city. Liked both for different reasons and I wouldn't hesitate to move between each again. The best situation is living just outside a large city in the schticks. Best of both worlds. I know I wouldn't buy a place that was in a city or somewhere beyond an ass's roar from from civilisation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,296 ✭✭✭Geomy

Maybe the countryside from late spring untill the end of October, then off to the city for the winter then back to the country again :-)

Remember that wellies aren't suitable city attire.

Ditto tweed caps.

Ditto anything else in tweed.

Never refer to the city as 'The Parish'. You'd out yourself immediately.

Bear in mind that to exist peacefully in a city it's not only desirable but often necessary for your personal safety to treat your neighbour as a complete stranger. This involves pretending not to recognise them, even if you see them every day, twice a day.

Candie wrote: »
    Remember that wellies aren't suitable city attire.

Ditto tweed caps.

Ditto anything else in tweed.

Never refer to the city as 'The Parish'. You'd out yourself immediately.

Bear in mind that to exist peacefully in a city it's not only desirable but often necessary for your personal safety to treat your neighbour as a complete stranger. This involves pretending not to recognise them, even if you see them every day, twice a day.
    When I'm in a city I say 'Howya' and doff my cap to everyone I meet. Usually get a smile back too.:) Maybe city people should become more like country people. We hate each other but we wouldn't give anyone the nose of not saying hello to them.:p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,438 ✭✭✭✭El Guapo!

I'm from the country, not the Amazon rainforest.:pac:

Tom-ay-to

Tom-ah-to

:p

When I'm in a city I say 'Howya' and doff my cap to everyone I meet. Usually get a smile back too.:) Maybe city people should become more like country people. We hate each other but we wouldn't give anyone the nose of not saying hello to them.:p

I actually know all my neighbours, to the extent that I wind up doing the shopping for all the older ones when they're sick.

I've never said 'howya' though, that's a bridge too far :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,910 ✭✭✭OneArt

People in the country tend to be friendlier than in the city. Though that's mainly because they haven't seen another person in weeks.

The city has more disease, violence and robberies. But it also has more shops, bars and fun things.

City > country.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,558 ✭✭✭seven_eleven

1. Life in the city is pretty much the same as in any medium sized Irish town, except.
    2. If Its dublin, its fairly similar except the dubliners have this superiority complex and think they're better than everybody else, when in reality they're just as thick as any fool from outside the city.

1. Life in the city is pretty much the same as in any medium sized Irish town, except.
    2. If Its dublin, its fairly similar except the dubliners have this superiority complex and think they're better than everybody else, when in reality they're just as thick as any fool from outside the city.
    I've actually found Dubs to be pretty sound for the most part.

Wannabe Dubs, now that's a whole other story.:( In general though, as a culchie, I've always felt welcome in Dublin.

Don't give people the exaggerated wink and say "how ya gooooan".

ALL of them?? You get around!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,854 ✭✭✭Sinfonia

OneArt wrote: »
    People in the country tend to be friendlier than in the city. Though that's mainly because they haven't seen another person in weeks.

The city has more disease, violence and robberies. But it also has more shops, bars and fun things.

City > country.

Dylan Moran on the country and city:
    "You’re never going to go. Why would you go? It’s a disgusting place. It’s always wet even when it’s dry. There’s nothing there. Farmers aren’t really people, you know this. They’re just necessary, we need somebody to kill cows.[...]Then you get these articles about how unhealthy life is in the city. You know; mobile phone tumours - far more likely in the city; Well you know what, so is everything else! Including sex, coffee and conversation."

Candie wrote: »
    ALL of them?? You get around!

Not all of them. Try not to take offense, just a large portion of the AH crowd do. Most dubliners are fine.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,464 ✭✭✭Celly Smunt

Maybe you just have an inferiority complex?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,281 ✭✭✭donegal_road

I live in a rural place. There is a forest half a mile from my house that extends into NI for miles. I regularly see deer on the road, I go shore fishing and boat fishing, and we get a lot of tourists this time of year who are all in awe of where I live. The local pubs in the nearby town are friendly, you could strike up a conversation with pretty much anyone.
    I also spend a lot of time in Toronto, I lived in the city centre for a while and I go back every year. I love city life there. Being Irish is a great way of meeting people etc. same as many cities.

What I find is city people tend to tell me how lucky I am living in rural Ireland, away from the rat race.
    People back home in Ireland tell me how lucky I am to have the choice to relocate to a city, and the whole 'theres more for you over there than here'.

ps. I lived in Dublin for a few years, and Cork too

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,316 ✭✭✭darlett

Wannabe Dubs, now that's a whole other story.:(

Whats a Wannabe Dub? :confused: Is it as simple as someone not from Dublin wanting to live in Dublin?

Maybe you just have an inferiority complex?

I'm quite confident I dont ;)

darlett wrote: »
    Whats a Wannabe Dub? :confused: Is it as simple as someone not from Dublin wanting to live in Dublin?
    Na, it's someone from the country who wants to forget where they came from, and become more Dub than the Dubs themselves. You know the type.
    Real Dublin people aren't like that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,316 ✭✭✭darlett

Na, it's someone from the country who wants to forget where they came from, and become more Dub than the Dubs themselves. You know the type.

Ah right, just like the bloody Normans then ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,188 ✭✭✭wil

Real Dublin people aren't like that.
    So real Dubs want to be themselves.:confused:

If you are used to life down the farm, you'll want to take regular trips to CopperFacedJacks or perhaps the Barge on a Tuesday. Be warned previous innoculation against liver fluke or inhibited ostertagio are no good to you here.

Also real Dubs exhibit a healthy orange complexion. Pastiness seems to have gone out of fashion.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 817 ✭✭✭audman

I'm a country boy, if no one has noticed. I love visiting cities, but I would never spend more than a few days in one. I love the quietness, the wide open spaces, the country life too much.

In the future, it's probable that everyone will live in cities, and us culchies will be forgotten dinosaur relics.

So, good folk of the cities, can you give some pointers to us culchies for surviving city life when we are finally displaced from our natural habitat?

As a 'country to city mover' myself I can tell you it's all relatively easy. Just do what you do, when you do and how ever you do. If ya think about it all ya have to do is look at it realistically really. It'll all fall in to place after a while. It's said that the shy fox never explored the field that the adventurous worm was king of. Best of luck OP you'll be grand :)

Oh and listen to the sing 'Big City Life' by 'Mattafix' if you get the chance :) It helped me, really soothing with regards moving in to the 'big bad city'.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,425 ✭✭✭Festy

cantdecide wrote: »
    Don't give people the exaggerated wink and say "how ya gooooan".

Are ya well ? cause you're looking well ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,188 ✭✭✭wil

Tom-ay-to

Tom-ah-to

:p
    <Google translate >

Po-tay-to

Po-tah-to

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,459 ✭✭✭Chucken

Im curious! Why cant you sit at the back of the bus? :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

Chucken wrote: »
    you could be sold into slavery

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,814 ✭✭✭harry Bailey esq

Chucken wrote: »

curiosity killed the cat,avoid the back seat.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 650 ✭✭✭Gordon Gecko

"City life? ****ty life!"
    - Johnny Vegas

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 516 ✭✭✭wuzziwig

I've actually found Dubs to be pretty sound for the most part.

Wannabe Dubs, now that's a whole other story.:( In general though, as a culchie, I've always felt welcome in Dublin.

Me too. Especially on the 8th of December.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 516 ✭✭✭wuzziwig

I live in the sticks and quite enjoy it. I lived in London for a while and quite enjoyed that too. I prefer the country though. I'm a country girl at heart. I love the openness, the freshness, the running around naked without being arrested . . . .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,030 ✭✭✭Minderbinder

5. It's tea. Not tae.

And it's boooooook. Not book.

Do you say coooooook, looooooook, rooooooook and hooooook as well?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,117 ✭✭✭Rasheed

wuzziwig wrote: »
    Me too. Especially on the 8th of December.

And Croke park days. Just had one bad experience when we went to Croke park. We parked along Charles street, I think it was called, off the North Circular, and this young fella came up. 'I'll keep an eye on your car for €20.' No thanks said himself and on we went. Next we were settled in our seats and our reg number flashed up on the big screens asking the owner to please go to the nearest steward. I ate himself, calling him every name under the sun for parking in an illegal place. Anyway I found a guard and got the story. The little pup only keyed the two doors on the driver side. A guard seen him though and had him arrested.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,023 ✭✭✭Dostoevsky

There's at least as much, if not more, in-breeding in an average working-class Dublin community as there is in the most nether region of Cavan or Fermanagh. Anybody who is in denial of that is not living in working (or, rather, non-working) class Dublin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,313 ✭✭✭✭Sam Kade

Dubs have bleeding arses :eek:
    Op if you are really from the country you do not call yourself a culchie as that is a name dreamed up by dubs to justify their miserable existence in their little concrete jungle :rolleyes: