Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Unemployment or sh!t job ?

• 01-07-2013 12:48am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 2,563 ✭✭✭

I'd take unemployment and the dole over a sh!t job anytime.

My rationale ? I've despised every job I've ever had, they've mostly been in call centres or offices and don't suit my psychological and emotional nature, don't get me wrong, I have a huge work ethic and would take anything that involved a degree of autonomy, a decent wedge, being out and about all day etc, if I was offered a job as a Train Driver or long distance HGV Driver job I'd bite the hand off that was offering it to me tomorrow or if I was offered the chance to become an Electrician or Plumber I'd do it, autonomy, knowing what lied ahead of you every day, not being at people's whims, decent pay etc.

I've spent the large part of the time unemployed learning Spanish and following all the things that I'm into online such as politics, current affairs, sports etc, I'd consider it a greater waste of my life being sat in some call centre or office regurgitating the same old sh!te down the phone to customers, being at the whim of every Joe Soap's bad humour or gripe and being miserable among a load of people politickers, workheads and backstabbers or having to suck up the 'centre of the universe' corporate B.S of the employer.

I just think there's a certain type of individual who's better off being employed in any capacity as they are probably blind to the prospects and life enhancing possibilities of unemployment and are more suited to being in any sort of duff job. Bands like The Clash, Sex Pistols or Dexy Midnight Runners would never have materialised without the dolite, squatting scene of the 70's / 80's.

Recent psychological research have also proposed that being stuck in a low paid, unenjoyable, high stress job with little or no prospects is far more damaging to emotional and mental health than being unemployed for long periods, and research showed that the long term unemployed were no more worse off in terms of being susceptible to depression than those in work.

Unemplyment or Sh!t job 136 votes

Unemployment
    0% 0 votes
    Sh!t job
    100% 136 votes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,294 ✭✭✭✭MadYaker

Well you seem to be doing a good job of convincing yourself anyway. I've never had a job I really hated so I don't really know if id choose a **** job over being unemployed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,390 ✭✭✭IM0

learning spanish lol yeah thatll come in real handy what with spain booming an all

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 650 ✭✭✭Gordon Gecko

Glad so much of the tax paid by hard working people are supporting bone idle t*ssers to pursue their hobbies like learning Spanish and listening to music...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,563 ✭✭✭dd972

Glad so much of the tax paid by hard working people are supporting bone idle t*ssers to pursue their hobbies like learning Spanish and listening to music...

the username says it all, you guys have done a grand job of managing the world :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,678 ✭✭✭jjbrien

Well there is also an issue of being on the dole can make you depressed. Ok a bad job is a bad job but if you getting paid more than been on the dole you are able to have a better life outside of work. The irish attitude towards social welfare makes people think that if your on the dole your no good, which in the age of no jobs needs to change a little. Id always take a job over welfare any day but only if id get more money out of the job than welfare.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 650 ✭✭✭Gordon Gecko

dd972 wrote: »
    the username says it all, you guys have done a grand job of managing the world :rolleyes:

^ Operative word

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,725 ✭✭✭charlemont

This just won't have a happy ending.

But I agree with the jist of what your saying O.P..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,390 ✭✭✭IM0

god youre so crap, 0.5 out of ten :rolleyes:

and that being kind

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,592 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

If you'd like a job as a HGV driver why haven't you gained a licence?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 744 ✭✭✭dpofloinn

So in summary you are far too good to work in entry level jobs and reckon you should be allowed to do as you please at the expense of the state

Here's an idea for you why not use this leisure time to learn a skill or trade so you dont have work in a supposed sh11ty job

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 483 ✭✭marialouise

I'm in a sh*t job, and it pays juuuuuuust a little bit more than the dole. I don't get full dole so in different circumstances I would be getting more from dole than my current job. Some friends of mine are on 188 and doing job bridge or casual work/dole, and are living life and earning the same as me when I'm not exactly enjoying life on a day to day basis (in comparison to them). Absolutely no incentive for them to go get a job, and if I was eligible for 188 I would definitely reconsider my position....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,563 ✭✭✭dd972

IM0 wrote: »
    learning spanish lol yeah thatll come in real handy what with spain booming an all

yeh,

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Hispanosphere

• Closed Accounts Posts: 66 ✭✭hsianloon

All I hear is someone trying to justify being a parasite with a fee paragraphs.

Its okay, Irish people are used to being robbed...there was the British...now its their own people. Proud Irish tradition going on here...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 159 ✭✭shy_boy

kneemos wrote: »

Its not that easy to just gain a HGV licence....u dont just take a theory test and waahheeyy im a pro lorry driver...

hsianloon wrote: »
    All I hear is someone trying to justify being a parasite with a fee paragraphs.

Its okay, Irish people are used to being robbed...there was the British...now its their own people. Proud Irish tradition going on here...

Would you put me in that category im irish and have been unemployed since i fin college in may this year... Im just sayin thetes lots of different types people out der unemployed

shy_boy wrote: »
    Would you put me in that category im irish and have been unemployed since i fin college in may this year... Im just sayin thetes lots of different types people out der unemployed

Was referring to OP. Look at him validate himself with random research shows nonsense.

But since you asked yes there are many types.

The ones who refuse to try,think they're too good for any, unwilling to improve themselves

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,660 ✭✭✭COYVB

Never been unemployed. From the age of 12 I had a succession of sh1t jobs while in school, followed by summer full time in sh1t jobs, followed by a full time desk job when I was done college, followed by the job of my dreams. I genuinely wouldn't know what to do with myself if I was unemployed. Even long weekends and holidays have me fairly bored if I'm not doing something productive. The act of doing nothing genuinely wrecks my head

That's a pretty big area for him to be able to be unemployed while speaking the language

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

I make the best of whatever job I find myself in. If you perceive a job to be sh1t it's never going to anything else. Might not work for everyone but works for me.

Was referring to OP. Look at him validate himself with random research shows nonsense.

But since you asked yes there are many types.

The ones who refuse to try,think they're too good for any, unwilling to improve themselves

Yes i know what u mean but OP is reffering to ****e job or dole money... For example if i was to go get an internship now i would work 30 hours at least for the week for 50euro extra on my dole money at the minute... Wat would u do if ye were a lazy b###ards

You don't exactly improve your employment chances sitting on the dole. Do a crap job, do your best and get a reference for the next. Some people will say oh, employers don't want people who had to do something else other than their main profession.

I doubt they'd look favourably on someone who has a few years of doing nothing. They're not going to buy into the I was contemplating my future for a year answers...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,221 ✭✭✭A_Sober_Paddy

I make the best of whatever job I find myself in. If you perceive a job to be sh1t it's never going to anything else. Might not work for everyone but works for me.

My job would actually be perceived as quiet a good job, but I've grown to absolutely hate it to be honest...so much so it may be driving me back to college(just putting off the real world for a bit longer)...the annoying thing is, if I'd only went back to college while on the dole I'd have got it covered I believe:o

What are you working at that you hate so much?

You don't exactly improve your employment chances sitting on the dole. Do a crap job, do your best and get a reference for the next. Some people will say oh, employers don't want people who had to do something else other than their main profession.

I doubt they'd look favourably on someone who has a few years of doing nothing. They're not going to buy into the I was contemplating my future for a year answers...

Fair point there

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,221 ✭✭✭A_Sober_Paddy

What are you working at that you hate so much?

Retail management...I've worked in retail before and never had this level of hatred for it, think its just the specific company i work for, which has a high level of staff turnover all over a sudden

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 311 ✭✭theglobe

COYVB wrote: »
    Never been unemployed. From the age of 12 I had a succession of sh1t jobs while in school, followed by summer full time in sh1t jobs, followed by a full time desk job when I was done college, followed by the job of my dreams. I genuinely wouldn't know what to do with myself if I was unemployed. Even long weekends and holidays have me fairly bored if I'm not doing something productive. The act of doing nothing genuinely wrecks my head

People like you are hilarious. Absolute cogs in the wheel for their whole lives. Smart but in all the wrong ways. Bored at the weekend too. You tick every box.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 919 ✭✭✭Joe prim

Its not that easy to just gain a HGV licence....u dont just take a theory test and waahheeyy im a pro lorry driver...

I think you have to murder a certain number of prostitutes within a year of getting your provisional as well, although i could be reading the wrong leaflet.

theglobe wrote: »
    People like you are hilarious. Absolute cogs in the wheel for their whole lives. Smart but in all the wrong ways. Bored at the weekend too. You tick every box.

Nah, just got a savage job that's incredibly enjoyable

I quit my job not so long ago. It was the company rather than the job that got to me. I'd hated it for the last 12 months but up until recently, for financial reasons, I just had to grin and bear it. Then my circumstances changed so I quit.

Now I am happier and my mental health has improved considerably. I'm starting to get bored though especially since the rain came back so gonna start looking for something else.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 147 ✭✭Speisekarte

That's a pretty big area for him to be able to be unemployed while speaking the language

I don't think the OP is learning Spanish to acquire a job. Seems to me the OP is doing it as a hobby and the learning a new language is a commendable achievement.

I think there's a cream you can get to cure that droneitis.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 909 ✭✭✭camel jockey

I don't think the OP is learning Spanish to acquire a job. Seems to me the OP is doing it as a hobby and the learning a new language is a commendable achievement.

Why? It sounds like he will never work, so I doubt he will ever travel to Spain or any other Spanish speaking country.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,346 ✭✭✭✭homerjay2005

cant see how anybody would be happy to live on €188 a week and just waste their life away, id do any job as a short term fix until something better came up.

peoples definitions of a s*it job also bug me,working in a call center or a pub is a s*it job for many, but for me they are two of the best environments you can work in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,468 ✭✭✭CruelCoin

My rationale ? I've despised every job I've ever had, they've mostly been in call centres or offices and don't suit my psychological and emotional nature

**** job. Should be obvious.

Then again, you're such a misunderstood special little flower.

The rest of what you posted is mumbo-jumbo. There is no valid excuse to mooch off the rest of us on the basis that "work doesn't suit the way my mind works".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,641 ✭✭✭Teyla Emmagan

A good kick up the arse is what you need OP.

OP do whatever is best for you, you only live once.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,751 ✭✭✭✭For Forks Sake

Retail management...I've worked in retail before and never had this level of hatred for it, think its just the specific company i work for, which has a high level of staff turnover all over a sudden

Lidl/Aldi by any chance? I know so many people went into their mgt programmes attracted by the salary and the Audi and leave within 6 months because they can't hack it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,480 ✭✭✭wexie

OP do whatever is best for you, you only live once.

Absolutely...

Just don't do it off the backs of those of us who can be bothered working :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,162 ✭✭✭giant_midget

OP - Don't dream about it...work for it..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 909 ✭✭✭camel jockey

OP - Don't dream about it...work for it..

Why shouldn't he be handed it on a plate? After all, working is clearly beneath him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 790 ✭✭✭nucker

With the economy in a bad state, I would take up a sh*t job, its better to have some reference

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,801 ✭✭✭Ruudi_Mentari

All i wanted was my abilities harnessed and me sent on my merry way

but now i want vengeance, on on a system that broke my heart n let me down. Tried to give it to me in the ass....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,958 ✭✭✭delthedriver

My rationale ? I've despised every job I've ever had, they've mostly been in call centres or offices and don't suit my psychological and emotional nature, don't get me wrong, I have a huge work ethic and would take anything that involved a degree of autonomy, a decent wedge, being out and about all day etc, if I was offered a job as a Train Driver or long distance HGV Driver job I'd bite the hand off that was offering it to me tomorrow or if I was offered the chance to become an Electrician or Plumber I'd do it, autonomy, knowing what lied ahead of you every day, not being at people's whims, decent pay etc.

I've spent the large part of the time unemployed learning Spanish and following all the things that I'm into online such as politics, current affairs, sports etc, I'd consider it a greater waste of my life being sat in some call centre or office regurgitating the same old sh!te down the phone to customers, being at the whim of every Joe Soap's bad humour or gripe and being miserable among a load of people politickers, workheads and backstabbers or having to suck up the 'centre of the universe' corporate B.S of the employer.

I just think there's a certain type of individual who's better off being employed in any capacity as they are probably blind to the prospects and life enhancing possibilities of unemployment and are more suited to being in any sort of duff job. Bands like The Clash, Sex Pistols or Dexy Midnight Runners would never have materialised without the dolite, squatting scene of the 70's / 80's.

Recent psychological research have also proposed that being stuck in a low paid, unenjoyable, high stress job with little or no prospects is far more damaging to emotional and mental health than being unemployed for long periods, and research showed that the long term unemployed were no more worse off in terms of being susceptible to depression than those in work.

To be fair I think the Op is considering what options are available rather than becoming unemployed.
    Call centres are crap jobs, low pay, low morale, no career opportunities , which can have sever effects on one's self esteem and ultimately lead to Depressiom.
    The Op is correct to explore other opportunities, rather than get into a rut. Unemployment is not an alternative to gainful worthwhile employment where the op can improve his self esteem and outlook on life.
    Go get the job which you enjoy suits your personality, and gives an opportunity to use your brain and personal skills. Enjoy your job and enjoy your life.
    Sadly too many Employers have been convinced by the bean counters that sweat shops, sorry call centres are the way to go. Even worse the Psychopaths running the call centres actually believe the bean counters.!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,236 ✭✭✭lau1247

To me this is a first world problem OP and consider yourself lucky to some extent compare to others, imagine no dole support system in place. You will either take that job you describe as sh*t or die.

Just because you couldn't hack it in a job should not be an excuse, the onus is on you to work hard to change your circumstance even if that mean bearing it down for a while because if you are indeed that worthy, it should be you that is hiring people to bear it down for you instead.

I also hate the phrase about depression and mental health being throw about so loosely for every little things. Everyone wants a cushy job and enormous pay but welcome to the real world but we have to play with the cards we are all dealt with, may it be good or bad.

West Dublin, ☀️ 7.83kWp ⚡5.66 kWp South West, ⚡2.18 kWp North East

• Closed Accounts Posts: 102 ✭✭EdCastle

Why work any facking job playing a schmuck to some top JOe when you could be earning your own mulla?

To much emphasis in this country on being a downtrodden clod a the end of a boot..........'the gaps in my CV, the neccessary experience' .....kiss my ring piece! more like the gaping hole in the middle of your head.

Rise up and make something of your life. You don't ever have to have a job.

Work for yourself!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,674 ✭✭✭Faith+1

kneemos wrote: »

The money's sh*te anyway, minimum wage to drive an Artic/Rigid? Fcuk that I'd rather sweep a floor in McDonalds.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,236 ✭✭✭lau1247

EdCastle wrote: »
    Why work any facking job playing a schmuck to some top JOe when you could be earning your own mulla?

To much emphasis in this country on being a downtrodden clod a the end of a boot..........'the gaps in my CV, the neccessary experience' .....kiss my ring piece! more like the gaping hole in the middle of your head.

Rise up and make something of your life. You don't ever have to have a job.

Work for yourself!

In order to work for one self, you need capital to start. You get capital from working. As I said in my previous post, bear it down for a while in a job (even if it is not an ideal job) cos staying on the dole is unlikely to help achieve that goal any faster

West Dublin, ☀️ 7.83kWp ⚡5.66 kWp South West, ⚡2.18 kWp North East

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,027 ✭✭✭St.Spodo

Whenever we talk about depression in this country, no one ever mentions the sense of burdening responsibility people have to conform to the capitalist system and do a job they hate which makes their life depressing. Good for you, OP; you only have one life so there's no point in not trying to enjoy it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 102 ✭✭EdCastle

lau1247 wrote: »
    In order to work for one self, you need capital to start.

More of the the BS....more of the excuses, more of the down trodden trodding on the downtrodden.

You got to have this, you got to have that.......I can't do it, i'm a brainless schmuck wrapped in cotten wool who only knows how to do one thing because that's all they taught me at school.........how to memorise, repeat, rinse and all over again.

Give me a job dear sir because I don't have the ability to do it myself, waaaahwahwah!

We're not talking about starting up Microsoft here, get on with it!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 288 ✭✭daddyorchips

After a long time being unemployed I would clean toilets for below minimum wage so literaly a **** job