Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Cheap fuel in Dunshaughlin

• 30-06-2013 11:52am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,808 ✭✭✭

More suited to bargain alerts but incase you motorists aren't aware Campus in Dunshaughlin have 139.9 for diesel and 149.9 for petrol ontil Wednesday evening. Just said I'd give yous a heads up if you're going by that way.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,985 ✭✭✭✭dgt

rizzee wrote: »
    More suited to bargain alerts but incase you motorists aren't aware Campus in Dunshaughlin have 139.9 for diesel and 149.9 for petrol ontil Wednesday evening. Just said I'd give yous a heads up if you're going by that way.

I'll have a look later and see :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,272 ✭✭✭✭Max Power1

Cheap fuel nearish to the border counties hmm?>

Max Power1 wrote: »

Ah sure my yoke runs on almost anything. My concern would be short measuring...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 226 ✭✭oregano

Dunshaughlin near Louth, is it? I know that Campus, and it's also a Spar. I doubt very much that what you're implying should even be allowed on boards.ie

oregano wrote: »
    Dunshaughlin near Louth, is it? I know that Campus, and it's also a Spar. I doubt very much that what you're implying should even be allowed on boards.ie
    50kms as per google maps

Why should it not be allowed?

The old rule applies, if something seems too good to be true, it probably is!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 226 ✭✭oregano

60 Kms from my house to Louth. I wouldn't see me as being nearish to a border county but I guess this is a small island so ill give you that.

Regardless, this is a Spar, that has been in business for donkeys. At 139 for diesel there is still profit to the retailer. So why do you want to imply there's some law breaking? Do you know the shop at all or are you just finger pointing?

The old rule applies, if something seems too good to be true, it probably is!
    oregano wrote: »
    . So why do you want to imply there's some law breaking?

Where am I implying that?

In saying that, I wouldnt let any fuel that cost so much less than it does everywhere else anywhere near a modern diesel engine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,004 ✭✭✭ironclaw

Cheap fuel and an 'offer' that has a time limit. That screams of someone attempting to offload a huge amount of cheap fuel in a very short time. If it was genuine, and obviously assuming innocent until proven otherwise, why the time limit?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,223 ✭✭✭Nissan doctor

I wouldn't take the chance on the possibility of 2k plus repairs on a modern diesel for the sake of saving 20c or something on a fill up.

It may be a genuine offer but those who know the extent of the poor quality diesel in this country and who see its effects time and time again will always be weary.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1 CampusSS Dunshaughlin

Hello all,

I operate the Campus Service Station in Dunshaughlin that is the subject of this discussion, I was advised of this item earlier in the afternoon by a customer.

I am quite surprised by the comments being posted here without any foundation or knowledge of my business, or the fuel offer that we are currently running. It is extremely unfair and very damaging to a business to have such insinuations cast by nameless people on a public forum.

I have operated this Campus Oil Station since it was built in April 2004, the site is company owned by Campus and all fuels are supplied directly by Campus Oil Ltd, a fully Irish owned company. All our fuel is delivered during business hours by either Campus Oil Rigids or Portway Logistics Artics, and it is all drawn directly from the joint fuel terminal in Dublin Port, this terminal supplies essentially the majority of stations within Leinster.

Our pumps are independently calibrated every year in January, every drop of our fuel is fully traceable back to the source via Schedule 4 documentation, coupled with our Veeder Root (fuel tank gauge system), a secondary guage system for each storage tank. In effect it is completely and utterly impossible for any fuel to be added to our tanks other than from our parent company. If such a thing was attempted it would be notified to Campus practically immediately. Furthermore, we are of course fully compliant with our Monthly ROM1 return direct to the Revenue Commissioners, this return accounts for every litre delivered and its source, matched against every litre sold. Again any discrepancy would be immediately apparent.

Finally, regarding the frankly disgraceful suggestion that we are engaging dumping some sort of spurious quality product to the public; this is a fuel promotion, underwritten by a fuel company, the reason for the promotion is to thank our customers directly for their patience during very disruptive civil works that have been ongoing on the site since mid february, we were forced to operate a one way system and it was very inconvenient for our customers to enter and exit the site. We wanted to thank them, and of course hopefully win back any customer that we may have lost during the works. Its a marketing tactic, not a subterfuge. The very obvious reason for putting a time limit on the promotion is simply that, it is a promotion, we have chosen to run it for the busiest 5 days of our week, Friday-Wednesday, and sorry Mr Oregano but I'm afraid we are not making any profit off this unfortunately :)

I apologise if I offend anyone with our response, but I run a very professional long estabished business and such conjecture is not fair or justified. Should anyone ever have a concern about a fuel station I'd suggest you just ask them, we would be only too happy to show our systems to anyone with a concern. Like the motorists with cars damaged by illegal fuels, the genuine industry is also damaged by the fuel cowboys.

Best regards,
    Philip.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,817 ✭✭✭Tea drinker

A cut price time limited offer is supsicous now? It's like some people never heard of marketting. If it were near me I'd be over in a shot.
    Good luck with it Campus!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,223 ✭✭✭Nissan doctor

@campus, Fair play for posting and fair play for defending and explaining the price/reasons etc.

Nobody has any issues with a genuine company doing genuinely good work.

Having said that, leaving aside direct allegations being made about your station, being in the business, surely you can appreciate peoples concern given the scale of the poor quality diesel issue in this country?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,313 ✭✭✭✭Sam Kade

rizzee wrote: »

Cheap fuel doesn't exist anymore, change title to cheaper fuel;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,808 ✭✭✭rizzee

Maybe I shouldn't have put this up ha... @Campus, sorry if people were mislead I was only posting to spread the word about the cheap fuel ( I do be in multiple times a week) I did not mean for the discussion to turn against you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,088 ✭✭✭✭_Kaiser_

Just to throw in that I used to be in Dunshaughlin every week (sometimes more than that) and used this station on many occasions without any problems.

Good luck with the promotion.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,694 ✭✭✭BMJD

the pic in the first post clearly shows that the reduced price is due to building works, did anyone even bother looking at it??:confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,452 ✭✭✭Ronnie Beck

Building works were queit extensive and it was awkward getting in and out for a while particularly with a van and trailer. This promotion makes complete sense. Bought countless litres of diesel and petrol there over the years and never any problems. The best of the cheaper stations in the area. I'll be back there on wednesday for a fill :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,875 ✭✭✭✭MugMugs

Hello all,

I operate the Campus Service Station in Dunshaughlin that is the subject of this discussion, I was advised of this item earlier in the afternoon by a customer.

Best regards,
    Philip.
    Hi Philip,

Fair play to you for posting this here and defending your position.

Don't take exception to what is being said though. It's an unfortunate problem that we as consumers have to tolerate rogue traders selling sub standard products for a quick buck which ultimately causes us massive losses with engine re-builds and the retailer nothing.

Once again, you've set the record straight and fair dues and I'll be sure to support you with a tank in the next day or so. :)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,794 ✭✭✭Jesus.

Near the border Counties means absolutely diddly squat as its nowhere near the actual border. You might as well say Dublin City is near the border.

Are you feeling alright Max?

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators Posts: 17,852 Mod ✭✭✭✭Henry Ford III

I wouldn't buy this fuel at any price.

It's too far away to make any positive difference :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,339 ✭✭✭congo_90

is this in meath?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,452 ✭✭✭Ronnie Beck

congo_90 wrote: »
    is this in meath?

Spot the blow in :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,339 ✭✭✭congo_90

Spot the blow in :D

:pac: you'll have to excuse me. I'm a little slow today after a 14hour shift and drinking all night.
    :o

Cheers to the owner coming on to put us all straight. I've been at the receiving end of sub standard fuels in the past too often and I can't let my guard down, can't be blamed for being suspicious

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,875 ✭✭✭✭MugMugs

Jesus. wrote: »
    Near the border Counties means absolutely diddly squat as its nowhere near the actual border. You might as well say Dublin City is near the border.

It has a lot to do with it actually.

It's called Contagion and it is wholly reasonable to exercise caution within proximity to the bordering counties.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,012 ✭✭✭✭Cuddlesworth

When a forecourt in the heart of the capital was screwing its customers on Petrol, it helps to be overly suspicious regarding fuel here.

Although the details of your fuel system are interesting. Would that be common practice in all the large brands(applegreen, shell, statoil)?

• Registered Users, Subscribers, Registered Users 2 Posts: 47,351 ✭✭✭✭Zaph

CampusSS Dunshaughlin, as you are posting on behalf of a company I have to ask you to refrain from posting any further until you have obtained a verified rep account from the guys in the office. They can be contacted at reps@boards.ie

Please note that further posts without having first obtained a verified rep account will result in a siteban.

Are you feeling alright?

Remember all the instances of underfilling/overcharging? And also of washed fuel sold on forecourts?

You'll forgive then the suspicion with which I and others greet these kind of "offers". Usually there is more to it, especially with time sensitive cheap fuel.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,562 ✭✭✭✭Sunnyisland

My daughter lives out in ratoath,Another border village :rolleyes:;) will drop over to dunshaughlin today to top up,its only 15 mins from there.thanks op...:oSeems I missed it :o

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,794 ✭✭✭Jesus.

realies wrote: »
    My daughter lives out in ratoath,Another border village :rolleyes:;)

Aye, there's a bloke I know down in Portlaoise who's right on the border too.......................:rolleyes:

I think we have established that 2 posts of rolleyes automatically makes you right. FACHT.
    Shure didnt ya die for my sins aswell :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,817 ✭✭✭Tea drinker

Shure didnt ya die for my sins aswell :P

ah ha ha I see Jesus has thanked you for that post

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,520 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

Offer is well over at this stage.