Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Burritos !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 30,993 Mod ✭✭✭✭Insect Overlord

Condescending? From the poster who replied 'Hi Mags' :rolleyes:

Is it possible that this poster has an alternative view to yours and thinks that one product is vastly superior to the other, I agree by the way.
    Hilarious how anything vaguely pro Badass or negative towards Boojum is shouted down here. :p

Hmmm...
    Kyanite wrote: »
    Nice preschool you guys are runnin'.

The limerick burrito wars are over, indeed. I hope this post wasn't "needlessly aggressive", mods. HahhAhh. My time here on the boards.ie... concluded.

Nope! McLove clearly had it right this time around.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,747 ✭✭✭Swiper the fox

Hmmm...

Nope! McLove clearly had it right this time around.

Kyanites dig was probably at the very overzealous modding on this forum.
    The idea that somebody would reply ‘hi Mags’ and then play the condescending card is hilarious though.
    As a mod yourself have you any opinion on that type of reply?

Boojum is yummy, Mags is a disgraceful human being and she can't make a burrito to save her life.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 15,249 Mod ✭✭✭✭FutureGuy

Boojum is yummy, Mags is a disgraceful human being and she can't make a burrito to save her life.

Did she finally do something to annoy you Swiper?

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators, Regional West Moderators Posts: 16,724 Mod ✭✭✭✭yop

mod note: to all the wanna be mods, please continue and the day off will become a lot longer.
    As for sending PMs to me equating to the intelligence of a 5 year old, it will result in a full time holiday.
    Time to grow up now and post like mature people.
    The choice is yours.

FutureGuy wrote: »
    Did she finally do something to annoy you Swiper?

No, but saying any different isn’t very well received around here,

Can I just put on record that I wasn’t the one who sent that PM to yop, on today’s evidence it might appear that I was

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators, Regional West Moderators Posts: 16,724 Mod ✭✭✭✭yop

No, but saying any different isn’t very well received around here,

Can I just put on record that I wasn’t the one who sent that PM to yop, on today’s evidence it might appear that I was

And the record will show your incorrect. Hence my post. Continue digging please.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 30,993 Mod ✭✭✭✭Insect Overlord

yop wrote: »
    And the record will show your incorrect. Hence my post. Continue digging please.

Not that I'm a big fan of Swiper the fox, but you're not making yourself look great in here today. All of this could have been done by PM and the rest of us could have kept on talking about burritos.

It was. But just want to ensure the other posters who followed the same path understand also that back seat modding and then pming the mod isn't ideal.

The posts were reported to the mods, the actions are been carried out.

yop wrote: »

My God, the PM that I sent you 'equated to the intelligence of a 5 year old'????
    I just can't believe that it was an 'infraction', and I genuinely can't get over that somebody actually reported my post earlier, that's very strange. Why would anybody bother?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,051 ✭✭✭Gaspode

Guys, we wont tolerate any questioning of mod actions - if you have an issue with the mod action do not discuss it on thread. You can pm but keep it civil. If you have an issue with another posters posts, report the posts, do not attack the poster.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,029 ✭✭✭um7y1h83ge06nx

The war is back on, let the senseless slaughter recommence!

Long live Burrito Wars!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31 ian_jen

Had a burrito bowl from Badass this evening. Can't beat Mags' pork and guac. 10/10

Had a burrito bowl from Boojum. Can’t beat their carnitas and beans. Very friendly too.

11/10

Had a burrito bowl from Boojum. Can’t beat their carnitas and beans. Very friendly too.

11/10

Boojum's carnitas is far too salty IMO, have to go with their (pink) chicken instead (9/10 for taste).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,128 ✭✭✭✭aaronjumper

This thread is entertaining madness, I like it. Are they adding too much passion into the food do you think?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,547 ✭✭✭✭banie01

Lads....
    I see Boojum have taken a step towards Armageddon and deployed the Churro!!!
    FFS...
    Churros...
    I'm gonna be fat as fúck come resolution time :pac:

banie01 wrote: »
    Lads....
    I see Boojum have taken a step towards Armageddon and deployed the Churro!!!
    FFS...
    Churros...
    I'm gonna be fat as fúck come resolution time :pac:

The Burrito Doomsday clock is now set at 1 minute to midnight.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,015 ✭✭✭✭Mc Love

They had some cheesy sauce they were adding to the burrito last time i was in and it was fecking incredible!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,547 ✭✭✭✭banie01

The Burrito Doomsday clock is now set at 1 minute to midnight.

I suppose that's as good an excuse as any to stick on the Directors Cut of Watchmen!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 344 ✭✭jamesozzie

Looks like Burrito wars is finally over. No more Badass Burritos. While I'm not a huge fan of Bojum I didn't have a great experience when it came to customer service in Badass Burritos, I felt like I was a real inconvenience to the owner (while she stayed chatting on her Skype while making my burrito). The better burritos won

Had tacos in boojum the other day and they were fresh and delicious

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19 SaulGoodman

what happened badass? building sold???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,540 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

what happened badass? building sold???

Think doing Uber eats is the best of both worlds for the owner, no business premises needed, and no pesky customers talking to you. If this is the direction she’s taking, then fair play to her for adapting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,099 ✭✭✭dominatinMC

colm_mcm wrote:
    Think doing Uber eats is the best of both worlds for the owner, no business premises needed, and no pesky customers talking to you. If this is the direction she’s taking, then fair play to her for adapting.

Does anyone know the prices with Uber Eats? I think a burrito used to be 7 quid in the shop, wonder will it be more expensive now with the delivery charge..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,540 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

Does anyone know the prices with Uber Eats? I think a burrito used to be 7 quid in the shop, wonder will it be more expensive now with the delivery charge..

https://www.ubereats.com/en-IE/limerick/food-delivery/badass-burritos/P7CtRcCsRyWptzn6R1JzuA/

€10

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,099 ✭✭✭dominatinMC

colm_mcm wrote:
    €10

Sound. As I thought, a tenner is a bit on the steep side..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,757 ✭✭✭MyPeopleDrankTheSoup

ubereats takes about 30% according to online reports so works out the same for Mags

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,029 ✭✭✭um7y1h83ge06nx

Steep enough, although it of course includes delivery.

She could always just bomb around in her Honda 50 delivering burritos and a burning anus to all.

Living outside the city I couldn't have a Badarse Burrito now even if I wanted to, looks like Boojum or bust.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,908 ✭✭✭Poxyshamrock

Surprised Uber will allow her to make food in her kitchen (I assume!). If that’s the case, could we all launch a business through UberEats?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 486 ✭✭Treepole

Surprised Uber will allow her to make food in her kitchen (I assume!). If that’s the case, could we all launch a business through UberEats?

Lots of food businesses operate solely via a delivery platform. The kitchen would have to be certified by the Health Board, same as any other food preparation area.

I'm noticing a lot of store closures in Limerick this month - 3 jewellers too.

I'm glad she is going to continue on Ubereats and I don't think the extra delivery charge will put off her customers.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,174 ✭✭✭RhubarbCrumble

I'm noticing a lot of store closures in Limerick this month - 3 jewellers too.

I know Fines and H Samuel. Where is the third?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,140 ✭✭✭James Bond Junior

I know Fines and H Samuel. Where is the third?

In fairness Fines is a retirement closure.

Forced retirement it would seem. I thought initially they were going to stay on at the location.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,584 ✭✭✭moleyv

I wonder does she have neighbours who will appreciate all the bikes around.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,903 ✭✭✭zulutango

Mc Love wrote: »
    Forced retirement it would seem. I thought initially they were going to stay on at the location.

They were bought out by JP to build the rugby experience.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 425 ✭✭Leonita

Just got a takeaway from Boojum. I have never tasted anything so disgusting in all of my life. To make things worse it was over an hour late and not even an apology. Food was stone cold and was definitely not fresh to begin with. Its the last order from there for me. Usually the food from there is not too bad. I have never before given a poor rating for a restaurant but if I could give -100/10 I certainly would. Disgusting.
    Sorry rant over it has been a long week

leo78 wrote: »
    Just got a takeaway from Boojum. I have never tasted anything so disgusting in all of my life. To make things worse it was over an hour late and not even an apology. Food was stone cold and was definitely not fresh to begin with. Its the last order from there for me. Usually the food from there is not too bad. I have never before given a poor rating for a restaurant but if I could give -100/10 I certainly would. Disgusting.

How about talking to the manager. They are good in there and might give you a fresh one. Not sure they’d eliver so maybe it was an issue with the delivery people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,137 ✭✭✭Anonymagician

leo78 wrote: »

I get Boojum delivered a lot. One day it was not up to standard - late, cold, missing guac... Using the options on the Deliveroo app I got the full cost back in Deliveroo credit immediately, then I emailed them (politely) to say what had happened and they posted me out two vouchers :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 425 ✭✭Leonita

Thanks for the advice folks. I wonder if it is too late now to contact them. Boojum is normally really nice but last nights was such a mega let down.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,502 ✭✭✭JamesBond2010

Here is the famous burrito's thread everyone is on about:cool::cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 462 ✭✭the_blackstuff

So what's our options for burritos now a days?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 616 ✭✭✭BrendanD

My heart literally skipped a beat when I saw this thread updated

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,490 ✭✭✭stefanovich

Anyone got a good burrito recipe?

It's a pity Mags isn't still open. Can imagine she would be doing well with takeaways during the lockdown...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,490 ✭✭✭stefanovich

What happened to the couple with the van?

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators Posts: 24,038 Mod ✭✭✭✭Clareman

Just to throw my memories into this thread and why it was a bit of a cluster**** at the time.

Back when this thread started I think myself, Kess73 and Mr. Magnolia were the mods, Mr. E and Mr. G were helping out as well. There were some posts with unsubstantiated claims, personal attacks and shilling but from a moderation point of view besides a couple of edits or warning there wasn't too much to do, just looking through the lost there were 7 reported posts for the entire thread.

1 of the things to come out of this thread was that the mods here in Limerick agreed to take a bit of a back seat when it came to modding, there had been feedback from posters that mods had been very quick to edit and there was a feeling that things could be clique so by and large since then we've just reacted to reported posts rather than actively modding, clearly this isn't always the case when there's emotive topics but by and large that's what we try to do.

Remember when Burrito wars were a concern. Mother of Jesus.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators Posts: 24,038 Mod ✭✭✭✭Clareman

Remember when Burrito wars were a concern. Mother of Jesus.

Up there with the Cuban missile crisis for stress levels :pac::pac::pac: