Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Eddie Tobin Mem Road Races July 6th

• 29-06-2013 10:20am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 278 ✭✭

Slaney CC are delighted to hold our Eddie Tobin Memorial Road Race on Sunday July 7th 2013. We will also hold youth races for U12/14/16s on our underage circuit at Davidstown on July 6th

This is the 9th edition of the Eddie Tobin races and the event will be held again on the Bunclody. Co Wexford circuit used for the last few years. This is a safe, well surfaced 25km long and deceptively tough course. Lots of short hills and fast descents and a 5km drag to the finish. For the last two years this was held as the Leinster Championships but this year is open to riders from around the country.

080712-031000.jpg
    Super close finish to the 2012 race with Mark Dowling DID winning by millmetres from Slaneys Davy Walsh!

The A1/2 has a great roll of honour
    2005 Ciaran Power
    2006 Morgan Fox
    2007 Brian Kenneally
    2008 Cathal Redmond
    2009 Neill Delahaye
    2010 Conor O'Shea
    2011 Arron Buggle
    2012 Mark Dowling
    2013 ?

080712-021000.jpg

UCDs Eoin Morton had a very impressive A3 win last year

This years A3 race also incorporates a round of the Ladies Classic league and with the Juniors busy elsewhere this is a good point scoring opportunity!

080712-011000.jpg

Last years A4 race was dominated by an American junior team who took 1st & 2nd.

Full details on the Slaney CC website: http://www.slaneycyclingclub.com/?page_id=5

May my Ride of circuit: http://www.mapmyride.com/routes/view/19439822

Last years full results: http://www.slaneycyclingclub.com/?p=4088

Post any queries here and we'll try and respond as soon as we can

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 304 ✭✭leopard trek

King Kelly wrote: »
    Slaney CC are delighted to hold our Eddie Tobin Memorial Road Race on Sunday July 7th 2013. We will also hold youth races for U12/14/16s on our underage circuit at Davidstown on July 6th

This is the 9th edition of the Eddie Tobin races and the event will be held again on the Bunclody. Co Wexford circuit used for the last few years. This is a safe, well surfaced 25km long and deceptively tough course. Lots of short hills and fast descents and a 5km drag to the finish. For the last two years this was held as the Leinster Championships but this year is open to riders from around the country.

080712-031000.jpg
    Super close finish to the 2012 race with Mark Dowling DID winning by millmetres from Slaneys Davy Walsh!

The A1/2 has a great roll of honour
    2005 Ciaran Power
    2006 Morgan Fox
    2007 Brian Kenneally
    2008 Cathal Redmond
    2009 Neill Delahaye
    2010 Conor O'Shea
    2011 Arron Buggle
    2012 Mark Dowling
    2013 ?

080712-021000.jpg

UCDs Eoin Morton had a very impressive A3 win last year

This years A3 race also incorporates a round of the Ladies Classic league and with the Juniors busy elsewhere this is a good point scoring opportunity!

080712-011000.jpg

Last years A4 race was dominated by an American junior team who took 1st & 2nd.

Full details on the Slaney CC website: http://www.slaneycyclingclub.com/?page_id=5

May my Ride of circuit: http://www.mapmyride.com/routes/view/19439822

Last years full results: http://www.slaneycyclingclub.com/?p=4088

Post any queries here and we'll try and respond as soon as we can

What's the distance for u16?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,222 ✭✭✭michael196

looking forward .should be a good one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 604 ✭✭✭Pawlie

Looking forward to it too,gona stay the weekend with the the family in the brother inlaws,might pop over and do a spin on course see whats its like

were u in carrick on sunday ? great circuit

michael196 wrote: »
    were u in carrick on sunday ? great circuit

Sure was great route,race was funny,select few only ones that would try break away or chase breaks,rode strong for 97km but bad positioning ruined any chance of going for line.

What's the bunclody route like :-)

stinger hill on it , if memory works, am sure if u google eddie tobin circuit u will get a hit. will map it out later today if u cannot get a route for it.

neutralised 4 k out to start from bunclody.

stinger hill on it , if memory works, am sure if u google eddie tobin circuit u will get a hit. will map it out later today if u cannot get a route for it.

Thanks,good stuff,really looking forward to it,just seen map,nasty drag for finish :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 872 ✭✭✭smurphy29

Pawlie wrote: »

Right, this looks like a great route. And it finishes at the summit? This should be interesting. Do they make us (A4s) climb the hill twice or three times (Slaney Cycles saying it's two laps plus 6km to get to start/finish of circuit)?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 657 ✭✭✭fondriest

smurphy29 wrote: »
    Right, this looks like a great route. And it finishes at the summit? This should be interesting. Do they make us (A4s) climb the hill twice or three times (Slaney Cycles saying it's two laps plus 6km to get to start/finish of circuit)?

AFAIK the A4s climb it 3 times , finishing at the top the 3rd time up .
    It's a great race and the route is tougher than it looks . There are another couple of drags on it to drain the legs .

fondriest wrote: »
    AFAIK the A4s climb it 3 times , finishing at the top the 3rd time up .
    It's a great race and the route is tougher than it looks . There are another couple of drags on it to drain the legs .
    Yep, that would make sense. Climb looks similar to the Navan climb, a bit of up-flat-up-again, maybe steeper and longer though? And, of course, the fact that the race finishes there adds a whole other dimension. I await this one with eagerness.

i think u arrive at the bottom of the hill, as part of the neutralised section out from bunclody. so u start on the hill, so yes, u go up the hill three times,.

Not long to wait !!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 278 ✭✭King Kelly

What's the distance for u16?

The U16s cover 5 laps of an 7.5km circuit so about 38km

To clarify Youth races are on SATURDAY on the DAVIDSTOWN circuit at 11am : http://www.mapmyride.com/routes/view/16539027

Adult races are on SUNDAY on the BUNCLODY circuit at 12am

To clarify again the neutralised section is only about 500m long from the square in Bunclody to the 50km sign past the FCJ school.

The race starts from the Square in Bunclody NOT from the finish line. Last year some riders confused it with the Wexford County champs which does start on the hilltop at the finish line.

Thats correct. You have a 6km rise to cross the finish line for the first time so you climb three times. The finish is at the summit about 5.35km into the strava link.

http://app.strava.com/segments/1709323

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,200 ✭✭✭manwithaplan

Enjoyed this race last year and have managed to sort out a nice weekend in Wexford with the family around it this time.

I am not one to dispense advice to my betters but I think the break in A1/A2 went in the neutralised section out of Bunclody last year so keep an eye out.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 54 ✭✭danceswithwolf

Would this be a reasonable first road race? Any thoughts?

Years of XC racing experience plus road sportives/ training but no road races. Would like to see what a road race is like.

Thanks!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 885 ✭✭✭ryan_sherlock

Enjoyed this race last year and have managed to sort out a nice weekend in Wexford with the family around it this time.

I am not one to dispense advice to my betters but I think the break in A1/A2 went in the neutralised section out of Bunclody last year so keep an eye out.

Yeah - break went 500m before the neutral ended (a few more got across afterwards) - I was there to ride around the race (was mentally fatigued from a lot of racing, so just wanted to ride around in the group) then climb mount Leinster - I think a few folks thought I would chase :)

Good wee course.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 657 ✭✭✭fondriest

Would this be a reasonable first road race? Any thoughts?

Years of XC racing experience plus road sportives/ training but no road races. Would like to see what a road race is like.

Thanks!

Yep it's as good a place to start as any, not much traffic , good road surface on most of it and a few hills . Plus an uphill finish which is usually safer .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 394 ✭✭MichealD

Yeah - break went 500m before the neutral ended (a few more got across afterwards) - I was there to ride around the race (was mentally fatigued from a lot of racing, so just wanted to ride around in the group) then climb mount Leinster - I think a few folks thought I would chase :)

Good wee course.

I remember quite a few guys hanging around your rear wheel waiting for you to launch a chase. Must have got a surprise when you peeled off for the mountain!

Going to be a bit warm on that final drag this Sunday!

failure to launch.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 830 ✭✭✭Slo_Rida

Just got the visa to do this. Very near my homeplace so I kinda know the roads, should be a larf. Great spot to finish a race too. Hard and safe.
    Oh and 25 degrees+......perfect weather for sport.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 62 ✭✭JoeBTheBullet

Anybody heading to this race from Dublin area with a free bike space and seat in the car? I've been trying to organise a lift but nothing has come through. Would greatly appreciate a lift down. I can cycle to meet you and will certainly chip in for petrol/tolls/etc. Would be such a waste not to race in such amazing weather!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 188 ✭✭patrick151

Anybody heading to this race from Dublin area with a free bike space and seat in the car? I've been trying to organise a lift but nothing has come through. Would greatly appreciate a lift down. I can cycle to meet you and will certainly chip in for petrol/tolls/etc. Would be such a waste not to race in such amazing weather!

Yeah, i can give you a lift. Im Paddy from TCD from last weekend. Ill PM you my number when i get home but we'll be heading down about 9:30ish

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 62 ✭✭JoeBTheBullet

Incredibly sound!! Looks like I'll be sharing my wheel with you for the day tomorrow! Thanks a mil!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,907 ✭✭✭pprendeville

Have room if that lift falls through. PM sent.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 394 ✭✭MichealD

Make sure you sign on to the right event in Bunclody!

Sign on for the ET races is at the GAA club from 10am with prize giving at the RiversEdge restaurant a few 100m away.

There is also a MTB race with sign on at the Mill Race hotel in Bunclody.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,604 ✭✭✭petethedrummer

Enjoyed that (A4). Got round in the group which I presume practically everyone did. The pace was harder on the first lap. No legs for the sprint. No tweaks or twinges in the legs till I went to pull my shoes on after. And cramp. ouch.

Fair play to the winner. Over on his holidays from England, found himself way out front and pushed on for the win while we all dilly-dallyed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,505 ✭✭✭colm_gti

It was too hot for a bike race!

Well run event, well done Slaney CC!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 215 ✭✭dermo1990

Thanks Slaney CC, great route and a well marshaled race! Decided to start sprinting in the final 500 metres, but it was not meant to be, ended up blowing up at about 300 metres to go. Was my fifth race, so still learning! Hope the two lads in A4 who went down in the second lap are alright.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,200 ✭✭✭manwithaplan

A late bid for solo glory came up a 100 metres short. Enjoyed racing in the warmth. Thanks to Slaney for a well run show on a good track.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 741 ✭✭✭upthe19th

Well done to all racers today. Hope all fallers are ok tonight.

Very warm out there. I was roasting watching ye and the auld hi vis was not very breathable. Some great racing. Well done.

That was a great circuit. Super hard and very, very warm. Had to keep getting the liquids in.

I was right at the front when the tractor loomed into the horizon on the last drag, so once I got around it I thought my best opportunity was to drop the hammer and hope for a bit of a concertina effect behind me. Not sure if it came to pass, but it sort of came off, because although my legs completely gave out and I lost two places over the final 100m that felt eternal, I got 7th and my first points.

Felt I'd been knocking on the door a bit recently, but kept trying to come from too deep and missing out, so I used the 5k draggy finish to put myself on the front and try to hold it this time. Delighted to be up and running.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 165 ✭✭DKO

That tractor and trailler (was there a trailler too or did I imagine it) at the end was unfortunate, I was on the exteme left and could only look on as riders surged up the RHS and then those on the left had to funnel right and come around it, just had to be patient and wait and then try to track down those in front, made good progress but there was some traffic to get through, trying to get around lads and not do anything stupid and cause a crash, just came up short at the end by a place or two from the points, I was surprised really to have got so close, going around the tractor I thought I would'nt even get close. The rest of the race was kind of a non event, hope those lads who crashed was OK, I was in line with them and it looked like it could have been nasty enough... whatever happened.... someone must have just dialled out for a second...
    It was a lovely day, so nice to have the warmth after those cold days of spring and early summer.
    Well Roundwood next weekend I think?

Also, big thanks to Slaney CC for organising a great race, great job!

DKO wrote: »
    That tractor and trailler (was there a trailler too or did I imagine it) at the end was unfortunate, I was on the exteme left and could only look on as riders surged up the RHS and then those on the left had to funnel right and come around it, just had to be patient and wait and then try to track down those in front, made good progress but there was some traffic to get through, trying to get around lads and not do anything stupid and cause a crash, just came up short at the end by a place or two from the points, I was surprised really to have got so close, going around the tractor I thought I would'nt even get close. The rest of the race was kind of a non event, hope those lads who crashed was OK, I was in line with them and it looked like it could have been nasty enough... whatever happened.... someone must have just dialled out for a second...
    It was a lovely day, so nice to have the warmth after those cold days of spring and early summer.
    Well Roundwood next weekend I think?

Was there a trailer... I honestly have no idea!

Yeah, hope the lads who crashed were ok, I was in front of it and just heard that horrible sound of scraping metal... ugh. Crashes are horrible, even when you're not involved, your gut instinct is to stop and see that the guys are ok, but you've to go against it and just peddle on, it's a weird feeling.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,138 ✭✭✭buffalo

Crashes are horrible, even when you're not involved, your gut instinct is to stop and see that the guys are ok, but you've to go against it and just peddle on, it's a weird feeling.

I know this feeling. Earlier in the season I saw a couple of team-mates come down, but I was past them before I even thought about reacting. There's not going to be anything you can do that the guys in the ambulance can't.

buffalo wrote: »
    I know this feeling. Earlier in the season I saw a couple of team-mates come down, but I was past them before I even thought about reacting. There's not going to be anything you can do that the guys in the ambulance can't.

I skidded up behind the guys in the A4 crash yesterday (thankfully wasn't involved) and saw a guy go through the thought process: **** those guys could be hurt I should do something. I said forget about it, there's an ambulance and took off. It doesn't seem right but what can you do.
    Great day out yesterday. Perfect weather, daycent circuit and the perfect finish IMO. Not an alpe but steep enough to take the jokers out of the running.

What about that break at the start of the A4? Some people thought it went in the neutralised zone but I can assure you it didn't. Twas caught at the start of the drag, shame!!

Oh and apologies to the Dan Morrisey guy I snotted on, fierce bad manners, just didn't see him!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,460 ✭✭✭lennymc

Slo_Rida wrote: »
    I skidded up behind the guys in the A4 crash yesterday (thankfully wasn't involved)

you avoided one? Well done. You are improving.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,111 ✭✭✭joker77

Rode the A3 race, thanks to SCC for a well run day.

Came home 8th - attacked a bit too early (before the 500m mark), got a gap but was reeled in.

Can't get over how negative the A3 races are without the Juniors. So many guys are willing to get on the front and ride hard to reel in any attempts at breakaways. And once a break is caught, there's seldom any counter attacks.

And half ar*ed bridging attempts that serve only to drag the whole bunch with them. Sake.

DKO wrote: »
    was there a trailler too or did I imagine it
    Transport Box
    images?q=tbn:ANd9GcTyD_AS7SBXhke5rNbBTFa97fLWZopkh0r33aOmWmp71evjwIQY

Transport Box

Correct and right. And for the bonus points, what make was the tractor? Or am I the only true Culchie in the A4 bunch??????????????

Ferguson, from before Massey Ferguson times?

It was grey, I think.

Edit, wait no, the box was grey. What colour was the tractor? My vision was a bit blurry buy then.

Ferguson, from before Massey Ferguson times?

It was grey, I think.

Edit, wait no, the box was grey. What colour was the tractor? My vision was a bit blurry buy then.

Anyone else willing to have a go?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,907 ✭✭✭pprendeville

Was disappointed with negativity of this as well although I contributed to it by only trying to get in a break once and in the wrong place. It was a great opportunity to attack on the 2nd last time up the climb but I just sat in. Lesson learned. Would prefer to try and fail than to roll in top 20.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,505 ✭✭✭colm_gti

Don't think the climb was the best place to go really, the descent after it was far too long to have a good chance of staying away. I followed Ben Delaney and a DUCC rider that were setting a hard pace up it the second time round, but by the crest the bunch were back on again.

I tried jumping once or twice, and tried getting across to breaks, all dragged back in by the bunch, very negative as was said previously.

The tight left-hooker towards the end of each lap would have been the best place to go I reckon, I tried it once but nobody came across to me.

I was pooped by the climb to the finish, sat at the back of the bunch when a mate from IRC rolled back and said he'd bet anything there'd be a crash, little bit spooked I dropped off the bunch with him with about 800m to go, and sure enough there was a bit of a pile up right in front of us.....hope the lads that went down were ok.

Should have played the same game as everyone else when I realised no breaks were getting away, sat in and saved everything for the sprint....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 58 ✭✭abc_xyz

Fun race alright in the A4s. Got in a few breaks, one right at the start with five of us. There was a gap to the front four guys behind the car and the group so remembering what someone posted about last years A1 race I joined them and it turned into a break. The five of us worked well together but then the group seemed to suddenly close the gap. Decided to rest in the bunch a bit. Crash guy came down right in front of me. He had his bottle out in his right hand and hit a pot-hole badly. He grabbed at bars, lost grip on bottle, lost grip on bars and then came down nastily. Lucky for me he slid enough for me to go around him. Looked back and saw another bike go straight into/over him. Tried a few more times and then a pair of us got away and were joined by two more and that looked positive but we again got caught about 1-2km before the second time through the finished time. Rested again until I realised someone was away so tried to chase him. Kinda got away with two other guys but didn't get much leeway and caught by the group at the same time we caught "the" rider in front so I sat in again. Turned out the "the" rider wasn't the escapee but an A3. Tried chasing again, but too tired to do so effectively and no real help and blew up a couple of times (sorry for any consternation I caused by going backwards through the group rapidly). Ended up going out the back of the trailing car a couple of times but got back in (just about) and finally couldn't manage the accelerations at the 500m to go mark.

Fun race, nice to see some breaks actually getting a little leeway - especially cause I was in some :) Wrecked after it though. Hope crash victims okay.

abc_xyz wrote: »
    The five of us worked well together but then the group seemed to suddenly close the gap.

We weren't going nearly fast enough to get away. I was trying to get that point across without being a [EMAIL="w@nker...probably"]w@nker...probably[/EMAIL] failed at both points! I was the guy closest to lead out car during neutral section, I didn't attack, I didn't even pedal that hard, I couldn't believe the gap that appeared. It seems the bunch likes to ease into races where I think it should be racing from the gun.
    I remeber when we were caught you seemed the happiest guy in the whole peloton "deadly lads that was my first break" or something along those lines with a beaming smile!!! Great to see in fairness...someone who loves racing for racing!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 165 ✭✭DKO

Fair dues abc for all the efforts, savage work and unlucky not to have stayed away.

abc_xyz wrote: »

Fun race, nice to see some breaks actually getting a little leeway - especially cause I was in some :) Wrecked after it though. Hope crash victims okay.

Judging by all your shinnanigans actually I'd say a hilly-er race would suit you better. You must have attacked a dozen times but if there was one decent hill maybe you'd have got a decent gap and gotten away....