Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Are we soft? Will things ever change?

• 27-06-2013 10:39pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,443 ✭✭✭

Cardinal Sean Brady still primate of all Ireland after sex abuse scandal revelations.

Michael Lowry still a TD after adverse tribunal findings.

Denis O'Brien owns vast amount of Irish media also adverse tribunal findings.

Padric Flynn sailed off with big pension after trousering political donation.

Michael Lynn living it up in Brazil, allegedly after swindling many out of millions.

The rogue bankers present and retired. Seem to be doing fine.

Charley Haughey who trousered millions and even took money from the fund to help Brian Lenihan get a liver transplant. Retired an extremely wealthy man.

Eamonn De Velera and the Irish press.

There are no doubt many more not mentioned have done fine in this land.

It would seem Ireland is a very pleasant country for known white collar criminals and fraudsters.

We the Irish people are great at showing our shock and anger while the media frenzy lasts. Then we forget and nothing really happens.

Are we too soft? Will things ever change.

I believe that the government, if pushed by public opinion may change or tighten the laws but would not put any faith in the laws being enforced. I believe we are doomed to seeing more of the same for decades to come.

Are we doomed?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,186 ✭✭✭BUBBLE WRAP

Yes...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,442 ✭✭✭Sulla Felix

Yes and no.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,443 ✭✭✭jobeenfitz

jesus how do ye reply so quick?

Yes and no.

^ This!...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,404 ✭✭✭✭vicwatson

Roddy Molloy & Patrick Neary deserve a special mention

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

I'm quite hard at the minute actually.:)

Will soon change though.:(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

To be honest, I can't see it happening in my lifetime. That's optimistically another 10-15 years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 349 ✭✭apollo8

Yes no and maybe.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,089 ✭✭✭✭LizT

*insert Viagra joke here*

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,801 ✭✭✭Ruudi_Mentari

We've bn conditioned that way.

I'm not sayin Lets go mental, but yeh - that Nicky Byrne wasn't tiger kidnapped is beyond me.

jobeenfitz wrote: »
    jesus how do ye reply so quick?

Sure I'm able to change water into wine. A fast reply is nothing!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

LizT wrote: »
    *insert Viagra joke here*

I thought you swallowed them. . .

Sure I'm able to change water into wine. A fast reply is nothing!

.....can ye turn into a decent brand of scotch?

vicwatson wrote: »
    Roddy Molloy & Patrick Neary deserve a special mention

Not sure about Patrick Neary because it might be hard to prove him guilty of anything other than extreme stupidity. Although wise enough to get out with a big pay off and a grand little pension.

Nodin wrote: »
    .....can ye turn into a decent brand of scotch?

Ya...

Ya...

Jaysus, you truly are the messiah!!!!!!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,404 ✭✭✭✭vicwatson

Not sure about Patrick Neary because it might be hard to prove him guilty of anything other than extreme stupidity. Although wise enough to get out with a big pay off and a grand little pension.

Extreme stupidity is more than enough

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,567 ✭✭✭Red Pepper

I am glad u put that creep Brady first. That guy should be in prison and the catholics of Ireland should be ashamed to attend mass when he is still leader of the church here. He enabled smyth to abuse 100 plus children after his so called investigatons.

Maybe its still in our collective DNA to accept these things because of our experience of being screwed over for centuries by the British empire. Maybe a couple of more centuries will see this problem resolved.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,362 ✭✭✭Sergeant

Won't be long now until the Young Men of Ireland decide to take up their pitchforks and march on the Dáil. The loss of life will be awful. Blood everywhere. We'll stick up posters of them as fine examples of True Irishmen though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,305 ✭✭✭April O Neill

Cardinal Sean Brady still primate of all Ireland after sex abuse scandal revelations.

Well, for this one, it's probably because people don't care who the leader of a religion they don't respect or follow is.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 322 ✭✭ppshay

Sometimes I half-hope the "impending armageddonists" are right and the whole f-ing sick show would be washed away, sacrificing the good to get rid of the bad.

Only problem is, as the survivors would pull themselves up out of the rubble and dust themselves down, a shout would go up of "follow me boys, we'll get back on our feet together" and off we'd go after the voice lemming-like to make the exact same mistakes all over again.

It's becoming increasingly inevitable that a mob in some country will take to the streets and violently sack a government. They will be put to the sword, of course, but will there be a ripple effect?.

Won't be Ireland though, that's for sure.

Sergeant wrote: »
    Won't be long now until the Young Men of Ireland decide to take up their pitchforks and march on the Dáil. The loss of life will be awful. Blood everywhere. We'll stick up posters of them as fine examples of True Irishmen though.

would you be the company sergeant leading this merry band or would you be the quartermaster sergeant handing out the pitchforks?

Well, for this one, it's probably because people don't care who the leader of a religion they don't respect or follow is.

What about those who do follow and care? I am sure there are many.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 876 ✭✭✭RiverOfLove

I wasn't born, was a kid, then a teenager with no interest in politics when half this sh1t went on. Within the past couple of years I've an interest in politics and learning a lot but have much more to learn to.

I used hate history in school, many years ago but now taking an interest in that.

Corruption has been deep rooted since the foundation of the state and it all goes back to the political field and governance.

Don't know about anyone else but for me I want the current government to disband. Get in new people in. A system of politics. Our current system of pothole voting is going back 90 years and isn't working. Start afresh with a second republic like what Michael D had a speech about.

Otherwise we'll be back to square one in the near future with more scandal and abuse.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,389 ✭✭✭mattjack

I wasn't born, was a kid, then a teenager with no interest in politics when half this sh1t went on. Within the past couple of years I've an interest in politics and learning a lot but have much more to learn to.

I used hate history in school, many years ago but now taking an interest in that.

Corruption has been deep rooted since the foundation of the state and it all goes back to the political field and governance.

Don't know about anyone else but for me I want the current government to disband. Get in new people in. A system of politics. Our current system of pothole voting is going back 90 years and isn't working. Start afresh with a second republic like what Michael D had a speech about.

Otherwise we'll be back to square one in the near future with more scandal and abuse.

I,m lost here , were you born or not ?