Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Advance Pitstop: Interim Car Service With Oil and Filter Change €47

• 27-06-2013 12:16pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 320 ✭✭

Just wondering is this a good deal? Its pretty much just a oil and filter change and a look over other parts of car. Do some Indy garages just do oil and filter change and would it be cheaper than above?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,763 ✭✭✭Muckie

Seems like a good offer, if thats all you need doing on your car.

Just watch out that it doesn't need a "recalibration or tune up of the flux capacitor" before it leaves the shop.

Which will cost more than the deal...;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,042 ✭✭✭Bpmull

I don't see how you would get oil and filter change do e cheaper. I'd struggle to buy a decent oil and oil filter for my car for that never mind the labour. Just make sure they are using the right oil grade. That offer might only be on 10w40 oil as 5w30 is more expensive it really depends on the car too. Also the car look over will probably involve them telling you you need brake pads tyres discs etc regardless of wether you do or not.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,739 ✭✭✭scamalert

To make profit out of it Oil probably will be the lowest quality semi-synthetic.Oil filters are quite cheap,also its always good to change air filter when doing oil as well that's another ~10e.
    But anyway if you only need that done then might as well go with the deal,as most garages charge around 20-40 e for oil change,meaning you supply all the above needed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 320 ✭✭danwhite88

Muckie wrote: »
    Seems like a good offer, if thats all you need doing on your car.

Just watch out that it doesn't need a "recalibration or tune up of the flux capacitor" before it leaves the shop.

Which will cost more than the deal...;)

What exactly is that?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

Ask for what it entails, should be at least oil, oil filter and air filter (mind, you can easily do the air filter yourself).
    Ask what oil they will use and check your manual that it's ok to use that oil in your car.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,042 ✭✭✭Bpmull

biko wrote: »
    Ask for what it entails, should be at least oil, oil filter and air filter.
    Ask what oil they will use and check your manual that it's ok to use that oil in your car.

They can't possibly be doing air filter change too for 47 euro. But as said op make sure they are going to use the right oil. If your car takes 5w30 oil for example and they put in 10w40 that will be very bad for the engine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,237 ✭✭✭✭djimi

It would cost me €50 to buy 4 litres of oil and a filter for my car so thats actually a pretty good offer. Im guessing they get the parts/oil for cheap enough, and what does an oil/filter change take, 5 minutes if you have a ramp?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,525 ✭✭✭ION08

danwhite88 wrote: »
    What exactly is that?

Its a part in your car that allows you to time travel but only if you reach 88mph.

What car do you drive out of curiosity?

€47 seems very cheap for oil, filter and labour...

Id be skeptical of the oil :rolleyes:

For my last service i provided my own Oil (Castrol Edge) which was €47 for the 4litres of oil alone, never mind filters and then labour!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,237 ✭✭✭✭djimi

ION08 wrote: »
    For my last service i provided my own Oil (Castrol Edge) which was €47 for the 4litres of oil alone, never mind filters and then labour!

Something tells me they aint using Castrol Edge, or anything remotely resembling it!

djimi wrote: »
    Something tells me they aint using Castrol Edge, or anything remotely resembling it!

Whaleoil.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

Crisp 'N Dry?

ION08 wrote: »

What car do you drive out of curiosity?

€47 seems very cheap for oil, filter and labour...

Id be skeptical of the oil :rolleyes:

Drive Fiat Punto. Normally have been putting 10W40 oil into the car so if thats the oil they use it should be ok?

10W40 is the most common and basic oil, but is grand for a punto.

They obviously buy large quantities and avail of economies of scale in which case €47 is a very good deal.

Just dont let them swindle you into getting additional work done that may not be neccessary (ie brake pads etc)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,208 ✭✭✭keithclancy

tumblr_mgftpqTRe91s32n64o1_500.png

Nuff said :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,763 ✭✭✭Muckie

What exactly is that?

Its where they find that there is a "problem" with your car.

Which they can fix for more "more monies now" ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,658 ✭✭✭donutheadhomer

Ther FB says "Oil is the single most important item to maintain to ensure you minimise engine damage. By getting a regular oil change you can keep your car in optimum working order for much longer and save significantly on fuel running costs. At Advance Pitstop we fit only the best quality filtration systems such as KNECHT to make sure your vehicle stays in top condition. Learn more here." https://www.facebook.com/AdvancePitstop

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,186 ✭✭✭cletus

Is there a chance that they'll tell you that their interim service is normally €47, but your car needs x filter and y oil, so it actually costs €insert figure.

Is there an astrisk on the ad anywhere giving them this out

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,658 ✭✭✭donutheadhomer

not seeing the ad anymore on their site either

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,964 ✭✭✭Kopparberg Strawberry and Lime

cletus wrote: »
    Is there a chance that they'll tell you that their interim service is normally €47, but your car needs x filter and y oil, so it actually costs €insert figure.

Is there an astrisk on the ad anywhere giving them this out

My dad did this offer a while back.

Got it done, charged an extra tenner for a filter which they said was specific to a vectra :rolleyes:

Then when he collected the car they had a list of stuff that would fail the nct on him. From 2 tyres being damaged, suspension fail, brake pads badly worn and a steering linkage issue and a cv boot.

I got this report and the car and the only issue was the cv boot being cut. Replace cv boot and straight to the nct and pass .... eh yeah no thanks lads.
    Would rather take my car to a main dealer at a stupid price than this muck.

not seeing the ad anymore on their site either

It's on Groupon. Normal price on their website.

Bought the deal, when I logged into email and email from Groupon with €10 off orders over €20 so used that to get it cheaper again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,929 ✭✭✭beardybrewer

Just dropped my car in this morning.

Some girl, not the mechanic, rang and said I need new front brakes (€260), a timing belt, a fan belt, and 2 new tyres.

When I said I already had the timing belt done she quickly backtracked on it and said oh, he couldn't tell how old it was as it had no markings on it. And 260 for brakes? Pads don't cost that much. She didn't offer any expaination. Annoyed with myself that I let them do the fan belt (€45).

Feckin chancers. Are the mechinics there working on commission?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,652 ✭✭✭Chimaera

€45 for a fan belt? I hope they offered a reacharound for that!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,059 ✭✭✭Kid Nothing

A few points that really bug me about these threads from someone in the trade.

Most of these guys are working on a commission so you should expect a lot of them chancing their arm for extra work.

In most cases they are using the cheapest of the cheap in terms of oil and parts.

There are some fine mechanics in these places but I've also seen some totally unqualified/incompetent lads that I wouldn't let near a lawnmower.

And finally people that come into these threads and things such as 'air filter should only be an extra €10' without even asking what car the OP is talking about are spouting pure nonsense and it really bugs me!!!

Most of these guys are working on a commission so you should expect a lot of them chancing their arm for extra work.

Yeah, the belts was definitely them trying it on. The tyres and brakes (picked up and got an explanation) he said needed new discs/rotors and pads. Will take it to my real mechanic next week and would be highly surprised if anything more than just the pads needs doing. Really don't trust these guys.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,964 ✭✭✭Kopparberg Strawberry and Lime

What do you expect ?

The guys are working on commission, that's enough for them to never ever see my car. How far would they go to get a bonus ? Purposely damaging a car just to get the job while they have you ?

No thanks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,360 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

Lads, do you honestly think these places are going to stay in business by only offering oil and filter changes for €47 or similar? These are standard get you through the door offers and then drum up more business by highlighting other things that they recommend that you buy from them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 866 ✭✭✭renofan

This thread just proves I was right to learn how to maintain a car and do everything myself. No wonder the trade gets a bad name.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,620 ✭✭✭✭dr.fuzzenstein

260336.jpg

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,620 ✭✭✭✭dr.fuzzenstein

newkie wrote: »
    Just dropped my car in this morning.

Some girl, not the mechanic, rang and said I need new front brakes (€260), a timing belt, a fan belt, and 2 new tyres.

When I said I already had the timing belt done she quickly backtracked on it and said oh, he couldn't tell how old it was as it had no markings on it. And 260 for brakes? Pads don't cost that much. She didn't offer any expaination. Annoyed with myself that I let them do the fan belt (€45).

Feckin chancers. Are the mechinics there working on commission?

And that's how that works. Hoik you in with an offer and then dupe you into having loads of expensive and needless work done.
    All works on the principle "It is morally wrong to let a sucker keep his money"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 552 ✭✭✭enumbers

newkie wrote: »
    Yeah, the belts was definitely them trying it on. The tyres and brakes (picked up and got an explanation) he said needed new discs/rotors and pads. Will take it to my real mechanic next week and would be highly surprised if anything more than just the pads needs doing. Really don't trust these guys.

Yet you trust them to replace your oil and filter with the correct spec oil and a quality filter. Would you not of taken your car to your "real mechanic" in the first place. If you trust him should he not have be doing your service work.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,384 ✭✭✭pred racer

And that's how that works. Hoik you in with an offer and then dupe you into having loads of expensive and needless work done.
    All works on the principle "It is morally wrong to let a sucker keep his money"

With a big nod to the principle "A fool and his money are easily parted" ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 525 ✭✭✭JHet

Lads, a word to the wise, a lot of these franchise garages are on the hard sell, pure and simple. If something seems too good to be true it usually is. They give the trade a bad name and are just scumbags to be honest.

I had a similar experience with Atlas Sandyford last year.

enumbers wrote: »
    Yet you trust them to replace your oil and filter with the correct spec oil and a quality filter. Would you not of taken your car to your "real mechanic" in the first place. If you trust him should he not have be doing your service work.

Trust me, it will never happen again. I feel terrible I relented and let them do the fan belt. I thought I could just do an easy oil change before I took the family from Galway to Dublin. I don't know if he greases on the timing belt, loosened something, or some other form of sabotage/incompetence but they completely fooked the car. Suddenly at idle the rpms are jumping about and the power in low gear is gone making me have to rev high to get the car moving. It did not have any problems before dropping it in. So an expensive lesson learnt as now this month's budget is blown repairing what these arseholes did to my car.