Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Need new shower pump - recommendations?

• 25-06-2013 8:58am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,775 ✭✭✭✭

Are Salamander pumps really that unreliable? They seem to get bad reviews online.
    I need a 2.0 - 3.0 bar pump. Minimum 2.0 bar anyway. Whats the best ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,677 ✭✭✭shane0007

Grundfos or Monsoon

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,791 ✭✭✭LIFFY FISHING

Slattsy wrote: »
    Are Salamander pumps really that unreliable? They seem to get bad reviews online.
    I need a 2.0 - 3.0 bar pump. Minimum 2.0 bar anyway. Whats the best ?

Monsoon 3 bar twin ref 44328 3 year warantee.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,775 ✭✭✭✭Slattsy

Cheers lads.

can you recommend a decent outlet in Dublin where i can price a few up?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,791 ✭✭✭LIFFY FISHING

Slattsy wrote: »
    Cheers lads.

can you recommend a decent outlet in Dublin where i can price a few up?

City Building Supplies
    Botanic Building Supplies
    Hevac
    Davies

cheers for that appreciate it.

Finally can i just ask the main difference between plastic and brass ended pumps. Is it longevity?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,565 ✭✭✭K.Flyer

Generally brass bodied pumps are more durable. The other main difference, particularly for Stuart Turner, is that their plastic bodied pumps are intended for a single shower and nothing else from the pump. You can run a full bathroom or two off a brass bodied pump with no problem.

Well it will just be for a shower. Used no more than twice a day.

Should I go with the plastic end considering the usage?
    Or is it still worth getting the brass ended pump?

Few hundred quid in the difference too on the monsoon one's I've my eye on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,965 ✭✭✭gifted

I fitted a gundfoss 2 bar plastic body pump in my house at the weekend and while there's good pressure the down side is the noise...very very loud, even with the flexi pipe that comes with it, i can feel the vibrations going along the copper pipe heading to the bath mixer. Going to change the copper pipe that connects to the bath to flexi pipe this weekend and see does it make a difference.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,565 ✭✭✭K.Flyer

K.Flyer wrote: »
    Generally brass bodied pumps are more durable. The other main difference, particularly for Stuart Turner, is that their plastic bodied pumps are intended for a single shower and nothing else from the pump. You can run a full bathroom or two off a brass bodied pump with no problem.

In addition, as gifted has said above, plastic bodied pumps tend to be more noisey, but vibration can be down to positioning and pipework.

K.Flyer wrote: »
    In addition, as gifted has said above, plastic bodied pumps tend to be more noisey, but vibration can be down to positioning and pipework.

Yep, I've fitted mine next to the cylinder in the hot press on wooden floors, I put 2 garden slabs under it with a tea towel in between them and clipped the copper pipe well but still the noise and vibration is fairly bad, herself just looking at me with one eyebrow raised...code for fix it!!!:rolleyes:

Ah the noise. Never even thought of it!
    Really that bad?

Edit. Just seen above comment. Brass ended pump it is I reckon!

fierce..

gifted wrote: »
    Yep, I've fitted mine next to the cylinder in the hot press on wooden floors, I put 2 garden slabs under it with a tea towel in between them and clipped the copper pipe well but still the noise and vibration is fairly bad, herself just looking at me with one eyebrow raised...code for fix it!!!:rolleyes:
    Garden slabs?
    I would have thought that would make it 10 times worse for hollow vibration noise.
    1" rubber mats from farmers co-op works well.

garden slab or concrete base on wooden floor in hot press?...garden slab won, bloody heavy enough to carry :D, rubber mat seems interesting though, any co-op sell them?

garden slab or concrete base on wooden floor in hot press?...garden slab won, bloody heavy enough to carry
    To me it would be like putting one of those old style alarm clocks, (the ones with the two bells on top) on a plate to make it louder!
    rubber mat seems interesting though, any co-op sell them?
    Yes. Ganbia outlets or farm industrial suppliers or co-ops.
    Some may only have the larger 6ft x 4ft sizes for cattle sheds but smaller are also available.
    The rubber is better than concrete as it will absorb rather than resonate.