Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Camping at Silverstone

• 24-06-2013 3:42pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 419 ✭✭

Anyone ever camp at silverstone? What was it like?
    Was it worth the money.
    Thinking of doing it next year so any opinions would be greatly appreciated.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 419 ✭✭EireIceMan

LIGHTNING wrote: »
    I have camped at Silverstone and I thought it was great fun!

I am planning on driving over, and i think the ticket for camping with own tent for3 nights works out at about 150. Is race tickets in that do you know? Couldnt find that out?
    Whats the general behavior like at the site?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,529 ✭✭✭recyclebin

Camping was excellent when I went in 2010. The toilets were clean, the showers were great and you can park your car beside your tent. There was a big screen to watch the world cup in the evening. There was also a stage with some bands playing at night . Eddie Jordan and his band played. Everyone was sound. It was so much better than any of the music festivals I've camped at. Best of all the weather was great.

If the weather is bad I heard it's not as fun! You buy the camping ticket separate to the formula 1 entrance ticket.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,308 ✭✭✭kiddums

EireIceMan wrote: »
    I am planning on driving over, and i think the ticket for camping with own tent for3 nights works out at about 150. Is race tickets in that do you know? Couldnt find that out?
    Whats the general behavior like at the site?
    Thats what I did, 1000mile road trip. I would highly recomend it.Yea, if memory serves if you got the 3 day ticket, that includes camping, parking, grandstand access on the Friday, and non grandstand access on Sat and Sun.
    recyclebin wrote: »
    Camping was excellent when I went in 2010. The toilets were clean, the showers were great and you can park your car beside your tent. There was a big screen to watch the world cup in the evening. There was also a stage with some bands playing at night . Eddie Jordan and his band played. Everyone was sound. It was so much better than any of the music festivals I've camped at. Best of all the weather was great.

If the weather is bad I heard it's not as fun! You buy the camping ticket separate to the formula 1 entrance ticket.
    I was there last year and we had to walk about a mile from our cars to our tents, but I'm not sure if thats a new thing or if that was just because it was one of the wettest weekends on record.
    The facilities were great and the people and atmosphere have to be experienced to be believed. I'd be back this year if I could afford it. Should be back next year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,444 ✭✭✭frostie500

Who all is heading over this weekend? I'll be there the Saturday and Sunday

kiddums wrote: »
    Thats what I did, 1000mile road trip. I would highly recomend it.Yea, if memory serves if you got the 3 day ticket, that includes camping, parking, grandstand access on the Friday, and non grandstand access on Sat and Sun.

I was there last year and we had to walk about a mile from our cars to our tents, but I'm not sure if thats a new thing or if that was just because it was one of the wettest weekends on record.
    The facilities were great and the people and atmosphere have to be experienced to be believed. I'd be back this year if I could afford it. Should be back next year.

Thanks,
    If you dont mind me askin, how much all in did it cost, ferry, juice, camping? Not including food and beer:)

Thanks,
    If you dont mind me askin, how much all in did it cost, ferry, juice, camping? Not including food and beer:)
    I'm not sure off hand, but I think it was €500/600 to get there and back.
    I actually didn't eat that much when I was there, but If you're going on a budget then bring food, it was about £5 for a burger alone.
    I spent a small fortune there, but it was worth every cent to me. I spent pretty much all 3 days with my nose against the fence at Vale corner and didn't miss a single car going round the track.

kiddums wrote: »
    I'm not sure off hand, but I think it was €500/600 to get there and back.
    I actually didn't eat that much when I was there, but If you're going on a budget then bring food, it was about £5 for a burger alone.
    I spent a small fortune there, but it was worth every cent to me. I spent pretty much all 3 days with my nose against the fence at Vale corner and didn't miss a single car going round the track.

mmm, so around the 1k mark for me and herself?
    Was hoping wed both do it for around the 500/600 mark:(
    Might see about getting two of the lads in the car too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,529 ✭✭✭recyclebin

Had a look through my old emails between myself and my friends when we were planning the trip in 2010. We took a car over on the ferry.

Boat at 08:45 am on Thursday 8th of July (€199/4)
    Drive to Silverstone from Holyhead
    General Admission tickets (£130)
    Camping At Silverstone (£35)
    Boat back to Dublin from Holyhead at 17:15 on Monday(€224/5)

Looks like prices have gone up a bit since 2010. GA tickets with camping is now £231.

mmm, so around the 1k mark for me and herself?
    Was hoping wed both do it for around the 500/600 mark:(
    Might see about getting two of the lads in the car too.
    That was my ticket, and then the total costs of getting there and back.
    Depends where you're going from here, I went from belfast as that was nearer, but still a 1000mile round trip. If you're nearer dublin then you should be able to do it for a lot less.
    Just remember that the more you take in the car the more stuff you need, and the less space you have. Depends on how many luxuries you need.
    My car wasn't the greatest on fuel either, €70 of petrol for about 450 miles of driving. If your's is better then more saving for you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,037 ✭✭✭✭PopePalpatine

Bloody hell, £231 for General Admission camping?! I just bought regular General Admission tickets, so I dread the add-on fee of camping. :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,142 ✭✭✭shamwari

Bloody hell, £231 for General Admission camping?! I just bought regular General Admission tickets, so I dread the add-on fee of camping. :eek:

I got a excellent grandstand seat at Hockenheim for less that that.

Silverstone is grand so long as the weather is. When it rains, it become a big bog in no time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 102 ✭✭promises

Has anyone camped in the woodlands campsite, are the facilities any good...particularly the toilets? I can handle roughing it but the thoughts of manky toilets (like you find at most festivals) turns me right off. Also can you park your vehicle beside your tent.
    I am hoping to book the tickets as a x-mas pressie for my OH. Any advise would be really appreciated.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 60 ✭✭neilaccountant

camping at silverstone is fine as long as the weather is fine during the course of the weekend