Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Women being influenced by their friends

• 23-06-2013 3:39am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 1,425 ✭✭✭

Was out the last night talking away to who I thought was a nice enough girl,was getting on very well with her,but then when of her friends came up and dragged her away,so around a half hour later bumped into her again and she said I'm not interested :confused:

btw I'm not saying this about all women ofc,but has anyone else encountered anything similar like this ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

I was talking to a man tonight about the weather. I seen him later on and he asked me do I cut hay. I said I didn't.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,299 ✭✭✭✭MadsL

Festy wrote: »
    Was out the last night talking away to who I thought was a nice enough girl,was getting on very well with her,but then when of her friends came up and dragged her away,so around a half hour later bumped into her again and she said I'm not interested :confused:

btw I'm not saying this about all women ofc,but has anyone else encountered anything similar like this ?

No. Just you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,425 ✭✭✭Festy

MadsL wrote: »
    No. Just you.

Xod2ubg.png

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,258 ✭✭✭✭Rabies

If the conversation with you was interesting or she liked you, then she would have stayed and chatted.
    Sounds like the initial conversation was just her being nice.

Don't blame her friends for this one.

try this

Rabies wrote: »
    If the conversation with you was interesting or she liked you, then she would have stayed and chatted.
    Sounds like the initial conversation was just her being nice.

Don't blame her friends for this one.

try this

No,we were getting on well tbh,it was definitely one of her friends who put her off me,was probably because I don't drive a Ferrari :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,258 ✭✭✭✭Rabies

Yes, of course thats the reason.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,689 ✭✭✭Karl Stein

You should have said 'excuse me but I spoke to you in good faith of anticipating an adventurous sexual relationship we'd have and you didn't hold up your end of the agreement you'd no idea you entered into'.

You've been cheated out of your dues.

It's a disgrace.

You should have said 'excuse me but I spoke to you in good faith of anticipating an adventurous sexual relationship we'd have and you didn't hold up your end of the agreement you'd no idea you entered into'.

You've been cheated out of your dues.

It's a disgrace.

Thank god for the internet :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 734 ✭✭✭Tom_Cruise

Strong pedo

Tom_Cruise wrote: »
    Strong pedo

Welcome back Tom :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,390 ✭✭✭IM0

Welcome back Tom :)

from the anals of time?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,660 ✭✭✭COYVB

She probably texted her mate on the sly with a quick "get over here and get me away from yer man" so she wouldn't hurt your feelings

Unlucky

COYVB wrote: »
    She probably texted her mate on the sly with a quick "get over here and get me away from yer man" so she wouldn't hurt your feelings

Unlucky

That's hurts man..:(

Let's be honest, it's the most likely scenario

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 58 ✭✭just_be_nice

There are so many possible reasons and few of them, if any, should worry you.

Unless you are Gary Glitter et al., :eek: then don't worry about missing out on a woman who might be so easily swayed by her friends! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,632 ✭✭✭Aint Eazy Being Cheezy

COYVB wrote: »

Unlucky

I also think this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 795 ✭✭✭Lima Golf

If I see one of my friends chatting to a guy who I doubt she'd be interested in. I walk over and tap her on the shoulder she'll turn around and either give me the get me out of here eyes or not. If I do get the help me look I pretend its the first time we met in years and insist I drag her off to the bar for shots. I know loads of girls who do this or a similar version. She gave her friends the get me out of here look and they just obliged. It's just unfortunate you had to run in to her again.

It's easier to walk away than explain to an often drunk guy that you're not interested as just like the op they seem to find it hard to believe and blame it on her friends/not owning a Ferrari.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,497 ✭✭✭jarvis

Don't mind the others OP. her and her friend are quite obviously dirty lesbians. The place is full o them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,668 ✭✭✭Corkbah

she was playing hard to get OP ... go back tonight to the same pub in search of her (she cant be out with her mates every night !!!)

Corkbah wrote: »
    she was playing hard to get OP ... go back tonight to the same pub in search of her (she cant be out with her mates every night !!!)

Nah,if she can't think or decide for herself she's not worth it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,801 ✭✭✭Ruudi_Mentari

I am still chuckling about yer one who is suing for falling on her arse, in coppers when she was doing "dirty dancing" aka backing into some guy's groin :pac:

• Site Banned Posts: 59 ✭✭Lams

Lima Golf wrote: »
    If I see one of my friends chatting to a guy who I doubt she'd be interested in. I walk over and tap her on the shoulder she'll turn around and either give me the get me out of here eyes or not. If I do get the help me look I pretend its the first time we met in years and insist I drag her off to the bar for shots. I know loads of girls who do this or a similar version. She gave her friends the get me out of here look and they just obliged. It's just unfortunate you had to run in to her again.

It's easier to walk away than explain to an often drunk guy that you're not interested as just like the op they seem to find it hard to believe and blame it on her friends/not owning a Ferrari.

It's the classic "saving your friend move".

OP next time your talking to a girl tell her if she doesn't say something interesting soon you'll give your friend the signal to save you.

And for the craic if you want to annoy the girl who wants to be "saved", say "Hey, introduce me to your friend, it's the polite thing to do".

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,646 ✭✭✭✭qo2cj1dsne8y4k

Yes it's called saving your friend, usually you drag your friend off when she mouths "help me!" Over to you, or if she looks like she wants to get away.

The fact that she wasnt interested had very little to do with her friends most likely

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,389 ✭✭✭mattjack

Lima Golf wrote: »

To combat this behaviour , you need a Wingman of a high calibre. At a preset moment he should rush up to you , saying "lets go,they need us , the orphanage is blazing ".Return to pub later soaking wet and covered in dirt.

She,ll very quickly tell her friends to **** off .

Make sure he varies this tactic , in some parts of the country wimmins like AI men, others like a farmer with
    good road frontage etc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,324 ✭✭✭BillyMitchel

Do you even lift?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 100 ✭✭Singularity 1

It's possible her friend was jealous and didn't want you chatting to her.

No it's not. Let's call a spade a spade here

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 167 ✭✭Boofle

No it's far more likely that the girl just wasn't interested and her friend was just helping her out.. If she was into you she wouldn't let her friend drag her away from you. We do have our own minds you know!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,668 ✭✭✭Corkbah

Do you even lift?

I get this !! ... but not thanking the post because I thought the videos were crap (for those that don't know its a reference to a previous AH thread where a guy would "prank" muscular guys saying they look like they dont even lift weights etc etc)

pretty poor attempt at humour

OP don't let the girl know you are interested in her until you know she is interested in you. To alleviate any worries she may have in the beginning that she'll be stuck with you say you have to leave in a minute so it will buy you some time to make her laugh and become interested.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 699 ✭✭✭Table Top Joe

Was out the last night talking away to who I thought was a nice enough girl,was getting on very well with her,but then when of her friends came up and dragged her away Classic cockblock situation ,so around a half hour later bumped into her again and she said I'm not interested :confused:Oh.......oh I see

Seemed like yer garen variety cockblock but if she says shes not interested then.....shes probably not interested(and yes im aware of the "help me!" thing,i get the call from female friends sometimes)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 92 ✭✭Aced_Up

The other woman is known as a 'cock blocker', you need a wingman!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 100 ✭✭Singularity 1

Boofle wrote: »
    No it's far more likely that the girl just wasn't interested and her friend was just helping her out.. If she was into you she wouldn't let her friend drag her away from you. We do have our own minds you know!

Relax! I said its possible - I didn't say it was a fact.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,349 ✭✭✭✭starlit

Its true it does happen!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,695 ✭✭✭December2012

Women make up their own minds. We don't stop talking to somebody we want to because our friends tell us not to.

the fact you even think this indicates your sexist and derogatory thoughts about women.

Easier to blame the women than to admit to yourself that she just wasn't interested!

No wonder she didn't come back to you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,496 ✭✭✭Boombastic

Did she say anything vaguely like ' it might be nice to meet up sometime', or words to that effect? If so you could try and sue her for breaching a verbal contract....next time get it in writing.

They're are many people out there who can't do anything without checking with their posse. I don't know how many times I've been dragged to accompany people to the toilet or shopping to provide validation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,237 ✭✭✭ceegee

Women make up their own minds. We don't stop talking to somebody we want to because our friends tell us not to.

the fact you even think this indicates your sexist and derogatory thoughts about women.

Easier to blame the women than to admit to yourself that she just wasn't interested!

Its sexist and derogatory to suggest some women cockblock their friends? I find it more derogatory that you feel you can declare what all women do and don't do.

Many groups of friends have one member who gets stroppy and demanding when drinking. It definitely happens that another friend is chatting to a guy, stroppy girl gets jealous and starts complaining and rather than have an argument friend A just placates her.

Ive seen that dynamic in several groups of female friends so it definitely does happen. To declare that all women never do something is just as thick as the guys who claims all women are teases.

Believe me it happens been on both sides so to speak so does happen unfortunately for good reason sometimes.

Might happen sometimes but not all the time but does occur often in all the pubs and clubs.

While there are posts on this forum which deserve such vitriol I don't think the OP deserves such disdain, he seems like he was simply mistaken.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,987 ✭✭✭Legs.Eleven

No,we were getting on well tbh,it was definitely one of her friends who put her off me,was probably because I don't drive a Ferrari :rolleyes:

Drive a Ferrari? Who drives a feckin' Ferrari in Ireland?

She wasn't interested, OP.

Thats riddiculous a ferrarrai! If you can drive and or have a car does it matter but boy racer no no for me though. I hate the noise of the modified cars even though i tend to rev my car a bit.

Have I ever heard of a woman being influenced by their friends? Sure, any person can be influenced by any other person given the right circumstances. If I'm out shopping with a friend I'll often ask their opinion on things I'm interested in. Politicians often make choices which are influenced by their voter demographic. Boards is full of threads where someone looks for other people's opinions to help influence them.

But as for your situation, I think there might have been a vague clue in between the lines, which I'll tease out for you:
    she said I'm not interested
    I wonder what it could mean??? :eek:

You should have gave her a rendition of the 'Galtee mountain boy'. That would have sealed the deal.

Oh wait......Different Festy :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,035 ✭✭✭goz83

Some women do have a mind of their own, some follow the current, same as men. The fact that some women can't just get themselves out of a situation the OP described shows us why it's MEN HAVE BALLS.

And with December2012 as your tag???? :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,628 ✭✭✭Femme_Fatale

Nah, to be fair to the OP, silly Ferrari comment aside: the girl may have been interested in him and it could have been a case of the friend just not wanting her buddy to go off with someone for the night and leave the friend on her own. That does happen. I remember it being done to me by former friends - granted, when I was only about 18, but I wouldn't be surprised if some folks carried that on into their 20s.

Bit unfair to be adamant the friend wasn't in the wrong - and only helps perpetuate the "them and us" stuff between the genders here!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,056 ✭✭✭Too Tough To Die

Classic case of jealousy/insecurity on her friends behalf. Probably sensed the obvious chemistry between the two of you and had a dishonest word in her ear, sullying your good name, putting her off you.

Keep your head up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 699 ✭✭✭Table Top Joe

the girl may have been interested in him and it could have been a case of the friend just not wanting her buddy to go off with someone for the night and leave the friend on her own. That does happen. I remember it being done to me by former friends - granted, when I was only about 18, but I wouldn't be surprised if some folks carried that on until their 20s.

My friend was seeing a girl last year,she was about 25,26 she admitted doing it and didn't see the problem,she said it was so she wouldn't be bored on her own and wouldn't have to go home alone too.....I know another girl who does it too,only she did it to a girl who doesn't get male attention very often and was happy chatting away but this one didn't like being left out in the cold and so made a nuisance of herself and literally pushed her away from him and moved on

On the other side I was out with 2 girls and a guy one night,mini work thing,the girls got talking to some guys so I said to my mate well let them have their space,i texted them after awhile to say we were in the bar next door just so theyd know.....they turned up 30 mins later bit the head off me for "leaving us stuck with those clowns!":o

Cant win....but theres something very mean spirited about cockblocking

Classic case of jealousy/insecurity on her friends behalf. Probably sensed the obvious chemistry between the two of you and had a dishonest word in her ear, sullying your good name, putting her off you.

Keep your head up.

I wish I was psychic too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 768 ✭✭✭PinkLemonade

goz83 wrote: »
    Some women do have a mind of their own, some follow the current, same as men. The fact that some women can't just get themselves out of a situation the OP described shows us why it's MEN HAVE BALLS.

And with December2012 as your tag???? :rolleyes:

I've gotten very aggressive reactions before when trying to get rid of a guy chatting me up, it's not about being cowardly, it's about avoiding confrontation. to be fair most of the time nobody wants to embarrass the other person, just don't want to stay in the conversation.

The whole cockblocking thing used to be frustrating enough and appeared to be very childish and petty but as time has gone on and ive frequented clubs in a sober state more frequently i can understand now how women have reason to be defensive with the drunken morons of fellas that do go out so i can see both sides of the argument.

To be honest the whole club thing is a bit too instantaneous, unrewarding and over reliant on Dutch courage regardless of how good looking the girl is. I think we've become overly obsessed with sex and superficial attraction towards people but that's only my view. I admire pretty women myself but if they acted like a total bitch it would be an instant turn off.

Id prefer to meet someone i like through a different social medium like a club/society as that way you can build a more meaningful relationship with that person over time and get to know the human being as opposed to just the facade they present.

A few months back i asked a girl out, who i had become friends over the college year. She politely declined because she was seeing someone at the time but i found that experience far more rewarding personally then any night i got 'lucky' in a club with some randomer