Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

JFK WTF????

• 22-06-2013 9:34pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,286 ✭✭✭

Ex president's grandchildren visit Ireland. Leads the Irish news? Firelighter brought on plane met by member of government?

Are we for real????? Ok, JFK was an Irish president, but haven't they all been since? How does even vaguely count as newsworthy? This country's ability to embarrass itself never ceases to amaze me :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,219 ✭✭✭woodoo

Come on Clare give it a rest

• Closed Accounts Posts: 365 ✭✭Israeli Superiority

ankles wrote: »
    Ex president's grandchildren visit Ireland. Leads the Irish news? Firelighter brought on plane met by member of government?

Are we for real????? Ok, JFK was an Irish president, but haven't they all been since? How does even vaguely count as newsworthy? This country's ability to embarrass itself never ceases to amaze me :(

George Bush was an Irish President?

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 10,446 Mod ✭✭✭✭xzanti

Your avatar looks like a uterus.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 266 ✭✭kilkenny12

It's been 50 years since his visit.

CNN and Sky were all around Ross for the day so it was a fairly big deal to people. Not really an embarassment tbh, we've done worse things.

A grand story. What would you like to see on the news?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,396 ✭✭✭Frosty McSnowballs

xzanti wrote: »

Ooooooooooh, that's why I have a boner!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 558 ✭✭✭Etc

Totally agree...........we're being turning into caricatures

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,349 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

Did she drink a pint of Guinness though?

DID SHE DRINK A PINT OF GUINNESS?!?!?!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,940 ✭✭✭✭Rothko

It's a celebration of the 50th anniversary of JFK's visit to Ireland. I don't see how that's embarrassing. :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

JFK would approve.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 960 ✭✭✭cletus van damme

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 26,403 Mod ✭✭✭✭Peregrine

I propose we create a subforum for moaning about stuff that makes the news. It seems really popular these days.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 687 ✭✭✭WhatNowForUs?

Its a push for the entry of the kids into politics. Great stratagy by the Kennedys but it is cringy how we're fauning over everything foreign.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,003 ✭✭✭Busted Flat.

Anyone remember this. http://www.flickr.com/photos/34297429@N02/4123606876/in/photostream/

No wonder we were fooked by the establishment. It is time people woke up.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,221 ✭✭✭NuckingFacker

Were the Kennedys not Prohibition era bootleggers who turned their ill-gotten gains into political gains, were allegedly involved in seriously dodgy dealings(Monroe, Mafia vote rigging, dodgy haircuts, body-builders) and are now Oirishamerican Royalty? If they were running naked around the front garden, I'd draw the curtains.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,547 ✭✭✭Agricola

If it was the nation fawning over a bunch of people who were completely indifferent towards Ireland then it might be cringey, but JFK really seems to have had a deep rooted affection for the country and people. Theres been plenty of stuff mentioned during the week which would indicate his visit was a lot more than a pure publicity stunt / vote getter ala Obama in Moneygall. I think its right that the people of Ross get to celebrate an event that is a very big deal in the history of the town. It's not their fault if Enda et al want to jump on the bandwagon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,591 ✭✭✭✭Aidric

If they were running naked around the front garden, I'd draw the curtains.

You would in your hoop. You'd be pulling the wire off yourself to Eunice.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,284 ✭✭✭StewartGriffin

JFK made a lot of good speeches, screwed a lot of good women, and died in spectacularly well filmed fashion.

A bit of a show off really.

I suspect if the same man had become leader of Ireland and followed the same trajectory as above, he wouldn't be remembered half as fondly by the Irish masses.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,970 ✭✭✭Lenin Skynard

kilkenny12 wrote: »
    A grand story. What would you like to see on the news?

What's happening in Syria, Turkey, Brazil and the numerous other extremely important things happening in the world. It seems like RTE news these days is just a constant carousel of silly paddywhackery.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,286 ✭✭✭ankles

Its the Phoenix from Battle of the Planets. Seriously did you not have a childhood?

Anyhoo, if I've hopelessly mis-read the mood of the people, in this case I am happy to do so. Our desperate need to milk anything vaguely connected to the US is frankly embarrassing. And I say that as a person who genuinely likes America, (for the most part). If I were a Kennedy I would have been embarrassed by the attention, except of course the Kennedy clan have proven several times over that embarrassment does not exist as a concept in that family.

What's happening in Syria, Turkey, Brazil and the numerous other extremely important things happening in the world. It seems like RTE news these days is just a constant carousel of silly paddywhackery.

Better than I could have said it. Some awful crimes in this country very recently, hugely important foreign news. Does anyone here care that GCHQ is monitoring all our internet usage? (I'll probably be lifted tomorrow). But shure and begorrah ye can't beat a bang of the bodhran for the Kennedys.

Leading the news, I still can't believe it. I mean where else...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,067 ✭✭✭✭fryup

JFK made a lot of good speeches, screwed a lot of good women, and died in spectacularly well filmed fashion.

amongst them marilyn monroe:), so you have to have a grudging respect for the man

come to think of it ..i wonder did he screw around when he was in ireland:confused:

fryup wrote: »
    amongst them marilyn monroe:), so you have to have a grudging respect for the man

come to think of it ..i wonder did he screw around when he was in ireland:confused:

At a risk of being banned - dare I say it - YORE MA

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,204 ✭✭✭dodderangler

There is a lot of ugly people in Ireland
    Few of them bound to have a resemblance to jfk

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,067 ✭✭✭✭fryup

jayus lads did you have to quote the video as well:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,308 ✭✭✭downonthefarm

took the headshot like a boss tbh

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,987 ✭✭✭mikeym

Im sick of hearing about the usual ****e on rte news.

Aidric wrote: »
    You would in your hoop. You'd be pulling the wire off yourself to Eunice.
    Nah, no idea who or what a eunice is and don't care to get edujamacarted. To me, it's like John Gilligans kids getting into politics and becoming famous. Still skobies. Skobies with dosh, but skobies none the less.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,140 ✭✭✭✭expectationlost

Agricola wrote: »
    If it was the nation fawning over a bunch of people who were completely indifferent towards Ireland then it might be cringey, but JFK really seems to have had a deep rooted affection for the country and people. Theres been plenty of stuff mentioned during the week which would indicate his visit was a lot more than a pure publicity stunt / vote getter ala Obama in Moneygall. I think its right that the people of Ross get to celebrate an event that is a very big deal in the history of the town. It's not their fault if Enda et al want to jump on the bandwagon.

isn't jfk as much a war criminal as obama?

Naaaah. He was a man of peace. Both of them.

taking the peace, mostly..

Questions could be asked about both Vietnam and Cuba.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,310 ✭✭✭✭Grandeeod

Thelma Mansfield.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 516 ✭✭✭pabloh999

Ireland was a very different place back when JFK visited.
    The fact that perhaps your sons son could become the most powerful man in the free world was pretty inspiring and uplifting.

pabloh999 wrote: »
    Ireland was a very different place back when JFK visited.
    The fact that perhaps your sons son could become the most powerful man in the free world was pretty inspiring and uplifting.

.... 50 years ago... "Dead president's grandchildren visit Ireland on holiday"