Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Nelson Mandela and RTEs death watch

• 22-06-2013 11:18am
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,129 ✭✭✭

Breaking news:

Nelson Mandela coughed 8 minutes ago

NM farted last night

NM had cornflakes for breakfast

Must be angling for a Primetime from JBurg

Downright weird listening to Michael Murphy leading our National news with such as... 'Nelson Mandela has just passed a solid stool'

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

my friend wrote: »

'Nelson Mandela has just passed a solid stool'
    You think someone should have let him sit on it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,314 ✭✭✭caustic 1

In your opinion, I've been waiting for that solid stool for days man.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,592 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

They do tend to orgasm a bit when somebody like that dies.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,003 ✭✭✭Busted Flat.

I am sick and tired of listening about that clown, what did he do for his people ?. No one would have known about him only for his wife Winnie, she fought all her life for him, spent years in house arrest, degraded by the press, but fought gallantly for her people, then deserted by that selfish clown.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,438 ✭✭✭✭El Guapo!

To be fair, Neldon Mandela has been trolling the world for years now.
    Every few weeks he goes into hospital and is "at deaths door".
    Then he's back out again fit as a fiddle.

Hmmmm I am thinking someone should google that angel Winnie.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,635 ✭✭✭Pumpkinseeds

Winnie Mandela was no fricking saint, make no mistake about that and her extremism is only one of the reasons he got rid of her. I've no interest in Mandela tbh. It's ironic to see Jacob Zuma taking every opportunity to plonk himself next to Mandela for photo ops. A dictator expoliting a freedom fighter, yet nothing gets mentioned about that.

So the African people were oppressed by the whites now they are oppressed by black despots. Lots of progress there then:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,537 ✭✭✭joseph brand

Winnie Mandela was no fricking saint, make no mistake about that and her extremism is only one of the reasons he got rid of her. I've no interest in Mandela tbh. It's ironic to see Jacob Zuma taking every opportunity to plonk himself next to Mandela for photo ops. A dictator expoliting a freedom fighter, yet nothing gets mentioned about that.

So the African people were oppressed by the whites now they are oppressed by black despots. Lots of progress there then:rolleyes:

She liked a bit of 'necklacing'.
    Necklacing is the practice of summary execution and torture carried out by forcing a rubber tire, filled with petrol, around a victim's chest and arms, and setting it on fire. The victim may take up to 20 minutes to die, suffering severe burns in the process.

That is the legacy the clown left his people. Winnie is no saint, I agree, but what freedom fighter is, saintly freedom fighters are for comics, and the people that read them. Yet the west honors the likes of the mass murders that rule Israel today, some who bombed the $hit out of the brits before murdering thousands in Palestine. They are respected and accepted by the western world today.

There is always one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,801 ✭✭✭Ruudi_Mentari

NM farted last night

21 years in captivity :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 358 ✭✭Weevil

Sounds familiar.

She liked a bit of 'necklacing'.

Every freedom movement in the world had their own way of treating Touts and traitors. Look what they are doing to Bradley Manning, what about water boarding, the torture chambers in Iraq, Afghanistan, and Guantanamo, and the secret jails in Poland and other countries run by the CIA. Get a grip, the world is not a nice colour of black and white.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,537 ✭✭✭joseph brand

Every freedom movement in the world had their own way of treating Touts and traitors. Look what they are doing to Bradley Manning, what about water boarding, the torture chambers in Iraq, Afghanistan, and Guantanamo, and the secret jails in Poland and other countries run by the CIA. Get a grip, the world is not a nice colour of black and white.

I got a grip. Now what?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,398 ✭✭✭✭Turtyturd

Hate touts myself but that's a bit much....sure they'll probably be out in forc buying and selling tickets to the funeral.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,316 ✭✭✭darlett

I am sick and tired of listening about that clown, what did he do for his people ?. No one would have known about him only for his wife Winnie, she fought all her life for him, spent years in house arrest, degraded by the press, but fought gallantly for her people, then deserted by that selfish clown.
    That is the legacy the clown left his people. Winnie is no saint, I agree, but what freedom fighter is, saintly freedom fighters are for comics, and the people that read them. Yet the west honors the likes of the mass murders that rule Israel today, some who bombed the $hit out of the brits before murdering thousands in Palestine. They are respected and accepted by the western world today.

For years before he became a clown, he was like a caged tiger. Winnie is a bit of an elephant. South Africa is like a Big Top tent in which the moral highground of politics has taken an acrobatic U-turn. Zuma is definitely the Ring-Master now. The whole thing is a circus isnt it. No place for a bearded lady though which is a pity cos I'd really like to include one in this paragraph.

darlett wrote: »
    For years before he became a clown, he was like a caged tiger. Winnie is a bit of an elephant. South Africa is like a Big Top tent in which the moral highground of politics has taken an acrobatic U-turn. Zuma is definitely the Ring-Master now. The whole thing is a circus isnt it. No place for a bearded lady though which is a pity cos I'd really like to include one in this paragraph.

That is an insulting comment, about people who are still struggling for their freedom, from the likes of british rule, and the dictators that followed them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,316 ✭✭✭darlett

darlett wrote: »
    That is an insulting comment, about people who are still struggling for their freedom, from the likes of british rule, and the dictators that followed them.

Disappointing response. Not one effort at a circus pun. :mad:

I think.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

Zuma was elected, South Africa is a democracy.

Chip and Shoulder come to mind with this one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 965 ✭✭✭johnr1

In the spirit of "attack the post, not the poster" I want to say that this post is an uniformed idiot.

johnr1 wrote: »
    In the spirit of "attack the post, not the poster" I want to say that this post is an uniformed idiot.

Could you expand please.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,997 ✭✭✭latenia

I don't get the whole 'pray for Mandela' thing-he's 94 FFS; the man probably just wants to go at this stage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,309 ✭✭✭T-K-O

Another BS Ireland is crap thread. Yawn

T-K-O wrote: »
    Another BS Ireland is crap thread. Yawn

Maybe it just a Saturday thing, but are people posting in code.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,129 ✭✭✭my friend

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,298 ✭✭✭Duggys Housemate

Could you expand please.

That post was a very misinformed idiot?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,298 ✭✭✭Duggys Housemate

latenia wrote: »
    I don't get the whole 'pray for Mandela' thing-he's 94 FFS; the man probably just wants to go at this stage.

Nobody wants to go unless life is a total misery. Id say 94 and up they go

"Feck it. Might as well hit the century"

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 17 Archbishop Desmond Tutu

That should be in the next issue of Big Whoop magazine.

Same as the Hard on RTE have for the Kennedys.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,612 ✭✭✭Lelantos

I dunno why RTE seem to think the Irish people give a shíte about Nelson, sure didn't we blow up his column in Dublin ffs

Lelantos wrote: »
    I dunno why RTE seem to think the Irish people give a shíte about Nelson, sure didn't we blow up his column in Dublin ffs

....no wonder the poor fecker left for Africa then so.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,612 ✭✭✭Lelantos

Polish the black armbands lads, we may need them tomorrow.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,219 ✭✭✭woodoo

If his health is that poor than maybe its better for him to move on. I know i would if i was his age and sick all the time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,995 ✭✭✭Dr Turk Turkelton

Lelantos wrote: »

He was brilliant in The Dark Knight Rises though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,734 ✭✭✭Duckworth_Luas

I was big supporter of the anti-apartheid movement back in the 1980s

Still waiting for my free Nelson Mandela though!

:o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,477 ✭✭✭Riddle101

He's 94 years old. That's a long time to be alive.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,221 ✭✭✭NuckingFacker

I'd say there's a few lads from the ANC who are going, ffs, mandela got banged up in the first year, us tools had to campaign against apartheid for years and years while he did laps of Robben Island, then the fecker gets let out and everyone gives him the credit for the work we did. Apart from having a funny accent, what exactly did he do?

In a past life I was a photographer and covered a lot of anti-apartheid demos. I didn't see Nels at any of them.. saw loads of other lads getting the good news from the S.A police though. I'd say they feel much the same about mandela as actual gang-bangers in the U.S feel about Biggie - in it for a week, rapped about it for years, got all the glory, all the spoils, all we got was jail time..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,293 ✭✭✭✭Mint Sauce

Dont think they are covering it much more than any other news platform.

BBC are reporting him again today.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,166 ✭✭✭Fr_Dougal

He was brilliant in Pulp Fiction.

In a past life I was a photographer and covered a lot of anti-apartheid demos. I didn't see Nels at any of them....

......this may have been BECAUSE HE WAS LOCKED THE **** UP.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,184 ✭✭✭✭Lapin

609.png

Today's winner

Lapin wrote: »
    609.png

Today's winner

He posted it yesterday though...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,219 ✭✭✭woodoo

Apart from having a funny accent, what exactly did he do?.

Someone is going to be outraged with you.

Nodin wrote: »
    ......this may have been BECAUSE HE WAS LOCKED THE **** UP.
    Yeah, I know. And when he wasn't, he....... ..........

you fill in the blanks.

woodoo wrote: »
    Someone is going to be outraged with you.
    someone generally is. It's the new normal for me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,710 ✭✭✭flutered

according to breaking news he is rather weak.

flutered wrote: »
    according to breaking news he is rather weak.

I would have thought it was closer to a month.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,208 ✭✭✭T-Maxx

Yeah, I know. And when he wasn't, he....... ..........

you fill in the blanks.

Apartheid ended with Mandela's release. You should know this really.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,710 ✭✭✭flutered

traded her in for a younger model, it happens all the time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,943 ✭✭✭Jacovs

T-Maxx wrote: »
    Apartheid ended