Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Longest out of tax car on the road...

• 22-06-2013 10:36am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,763 ✭✭✭

I'm not a Gard, just going thru my job car park yesterday.

Glanced at a fellow employees car..

Last Taxed 12/11....if he is caught "its go bye, bye.."

Luck only lasts so long....

That said it is a jeep costs over €1500 to tax for a year.

Whats the most out of date you've ever come across.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,718 ✭✭✭Matt Simis

2 years on a car I bought, I then had to wait 3mths to get the "missing" log book sorted. And yes, it was impounded, but it all worked out in the end. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,971 ✭✭✭patrickc

there are 2 cars I pass everyday on my walk and they are been driven also, one had no tax since 2009, and the other since 2010.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,026 ✭✭✭serious3

theres a passat near me out since 02/10...just had a fresh nct on it tho

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 621 ✭✭✭Bebo stunnah

I've seen 2 old VW's parked next to each other, one was last taxed until some time in 09, the other 01/10. Never seen them move, but they're both parked out on the road

• Closed Accounts Posts: 655 ✭✭✭HurtLocker

A teacher living near me tax is out since the 2/2010. Only noticed it when he parked next to me. I've seen a celica with NCT out since 3/2012 as well. I don't really care my eyes just seem to notice :(

A local boy racer's tax and NCT are gone 6-8 months ago. He still takes it out for a spin every weekend. At least he's got insurance, but actually maybe not, is insurance valid when the cars NCT is out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,244 ✭✭✭swarlb

Muckie wrote: »
    I'm not a Gard, just going thru my job car park yesterday.

Glanced at a fellow employees car..

Last Taxed 12/11....if he is caught "its go bye, bye.."

Luck only lasts so long....

That said it is a jeep costs over €1500 to tax for a year.

Whats the most out of date you've ever come across.

I've a car in my workshop, last disc was Sep 1962, tho' I don't think that's quite what you meant !!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,763 ✭✭✭Muckie

If in a accident, think the insurance becomes void, because the car isn't deemed safe/certified to be on the road.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,069 ✭✭✭✭CiniO

HurtLocker wrote: »

A local boy racer's tax and NCT are gone 6-8 months ago. He still takes it out for a spin every weekend. At least he's got insurance, but actually maybe not, is insurance valid when the cars NCT is out.

It is valid in a way that third party which suffers loss will get their claim paid.
    However insurer might (and probably will) ask the policy holder to refund the value of the claim.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 82 ✭✭aman23

swarlb wrote: »
    I've a car in my workshop, last disc was Sep 1962, tho' I don't think that's quite what you meant !!

wow! if you were caught on the road with it, and had to back tax it, you'll need to remortgage the house:P

guy living up the road has a BMW 740 on UK plates, tax and mot out since 2008, since he moved here, drives it everyday, not a bother:mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 84,707 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    M

I see about 20% of cars parked in the city centre untaxed, longest was around 9 months.

The sooner we get ANPR checking tax the better, potential goldmine for government, fairest fine would be double arrears plus the purchase of 1 years tax.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 543 ✭✭✭nightster1

If in a accident, think the insurance becomes void, because the car isn't deemed safe/certified to be on the road.

Can you NCT an untaxed car?

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 40,339 Mod ✭✭✭✭Gumbo

nightster1 wrote: »
    Can you NCT an untaxed car?

Yes. You can NCT an untaxed and uninsured car.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,302 ✭✭✭Supergurrier

This is exactly why motortax on fuel is the future

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 101 ✭✭honestbroker

Yes motor tax on fuel is the only fair way of taxing cars and much more efficient. Great not having to deal with sour spinsters in the council.
    I've heard a guy boast of not paying road tax for 10 + years, always drives an old big engined car (currently a Mercedes) which he buys cheap, never more than €1000."let them lift it, if they stop me, I'll just buy another one and off I go again", insures it 3rd party, never bothers with NCT. His wife (same set up for her) once had a Peugeot 406 clamped in Dublin, he just went back, siphoned the diesel out and took the battery. Left the car there.
    Allowing that he'd have spent at least €1000 to €1200 (more if he drove the cars he currently drives) a year on tax for 2 cars, he's done well over 10 years.

This is exactly why motortax on fuel is the future

No.
    The future is abandoning a stupid idea of taxing a car.
    This idea came in when car was a luxury long time ago.
    In todays world car is a must and shouldn't be unneceserily taxed.

CiniO wrote: »
    No.
    In todays world car is a must and shouldn't be unneceserily taxed.

Well personally its the inconvenience of the whole process. If you must charge then just put it on fuel so you can get 100% compliance and go from thete

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,985 ✭✭✭✭dgt

That f*cking blue yaris. Out since 06 still driving about :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,429 ✭✭✭testicle

No.
    In todays world car is a must and shouldn't be unnecessarily taxed.

How do you propose that the shortfall is then made up?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,786 ✭✭✭slimjimmc

It is valid in a way that third party which suffers loss will get their claim paid.
    However insurer might (and probably will) ask the policy holder to refund the value of the claim.

AXA certainly do not require a current NCT or Motor Tax as a condition of full cover.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 636 ✭✭✭canhefixit

I no a lad his car hasnt been taxed since 08 since he bought it and he has never taxed it, think the test is up from 2010 to, he dosent really care about tax or test and afaik he hasnt been done for either yet!!

One chap i know got pulled fro having his tax out of date for a few months...

Says to the Garda, "i'm just back from Australia"...:pac:

Suppose its all down to enforcement.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 66,118 ✭✭✭✭unkel
    Chauffe, Marcel, chauffe!

Maybe take a pic of the tax disc and car reg and post here? Owners name and address for an extra bonus :D

2013-06-21145026_zpsa2672d97.jpg

There ya go.... out of date insurance and nct too...3 out of 3 :D

testicle wrote: »
    How do you propose that the shortfall is then made up?

Isn't income from motor tax at around 1 billion per year?
    I'm sure they can increase income tax, or corporation tax, or something else to get it. Or maybe lower government spending - f.e. by closing motor tax offices.

I'm sure there are ways to get this money if it's needed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 101 ✭✭honestbroker

Has to be on the fuel, "fair" and won't cost anything extra to collect.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,055 ✭✭✭Mr.Fred

You're still technically insured for any damage you cause but the insurance may not cover your injuries or your cars damage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,829 ✭✭✭Nemeses

Cleanest window in Ireland!

http://i317.photobucket.com/albums/mm373/Murt30/2013-06-21145026_zpsa2672d97.jpg

Is it driven regularly?
    A guard could have a field day but knowing a few guards they probably pretend they didn't see it to avoid the paperwork :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,313 ✭✭✭Mycroft H

2013-06-21145026_zpsa2672d97.jpg

Tweet it to Garda Traffic Watch :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,940 ✭✭✭dingding

00 D 21156
    Reg is visible from Tax Disk.

And a Silver Chrysler also.

LOL if the owner googles the reg :)

It is indexed already :)

http://lmgtfy.com/?q=00+D+21156

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,593 ✭✭✭Northern Monkey

There is an 07 TT in our estate with no NCT or insurance and I think the tax is due to run out next month.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 532 ✭✭✭PurvesGrundy

I have a 1998 2.5 litre petrol car and do 3-4k miles a year. It is not taxed and it never will be until the government either drastically lower the rates or get rid of the system altogether and put it on fuel. It is NCT'd on time every year and insured, but no way am I going to give in to 1k+ tax.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,694 ✭✭✭BMJD

there's a family in my estate who never have a tax or NCT disc displayed, not in the 8 or 9 years I've known them, and they've had several cars in that time without ever having a disc displayed. Always have a valid insurance disc though. :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,478 ✭✭✭vickers209

At €1566 a year or €442 for 3 months be more nowadays any wonder its not taxed!!

Just checked online it now costs €1809 a year or €511 for 3 months!!!
    That's madness for a thirteen year old car

No excuse for no valid insurance or nct tho!!

Just thought of something looking at below table its cheaper to back-tax the car than to pay it before hand if you got away with not taxing for 6 months and then back-taxed it you could save just shy of €100 by paying €904.50 instead of €1003.
    Even do it for 3 months and you would save just shy of €60

Tax Band Annual Half Year Quarter Year Arrears (Per Month)
    3001 - 15000 1809 1003 511 €150.75
    This Country is really backwards!!!

The official government line is.

Shurre what day need all that power for hah.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 66,118 ✭✭✭✭unkel
    Chauffe, Marcel, chauffe!

dingding wrote: »
    00 D 21156
    Reg is visible from Tax Disk.

And a Silver Chrysler also.

LOL if the owner googles the reg :)

It's actually a 4l petrol guzzler Jeep grand cherokee. One of those big fook off 4WD yokes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,143 ✭✭✭Tzetze

On the topic of incorporating motor tax into fuel prices, that would mean we end up paying motor tax for the likes of lawnmowers, strimmers, hedgecutters, camping stoves/lanterns, etc. I'm not sure that very many would find that acceptable.

Tzetze wrote: »
    On the topic of incorporating motor tax into fuel prices, that would mean we end up paying motor tax for the likes of lawnmowers, strimmers, hedgecutters, camping stoves/lanterns, etc. I'm not sure that very many would find that acceptable.

You are already paying 60% tax on fuel I'm sure you would get over and it.

If its used for work I'm sure tax incentives could be made to apply. Overall less paperwork everybody wins

• Closed Accounts Posts: 405 ✭✭00833827

Would shifting motor tax to the price of fuel just fuel (pardon the pun) activities like diesel laundering in border regions?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 84,707 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    M

00833827 wrote: »
    Would shifting motor tax to the price of fuel just fuel (pardon the pun) activities like diesel laundering in border regions?

Not if they got rid of marked diesel and instead gave commercial users tax rebates.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,244 ✭✭✭swarlb

I have a 1998 2.5 litre petrol car and do 3-4k miles a year. It is not taxed and it never will be until the government either drastically lower the rates or get rid of the system altogether and put it on fuel. It is NCT'd on time every year and insured, but no way am I going to give in to 1k+ tax.

Really cool idea, really clever, why on earth didn't the rest of us think of that. :rolleyes:

Wouldn't moving motor tax onto fuel just screw with people who currently do high mileage driving low tax diesels and all rural drivers some more? And completely suit people living in urban areas who decide to buy a big gas guzzler for the weekend drives. Whereas the current scenario screws everyone.

Seeing as this is a motor forum this idea would suit petrolheads more so than the current situation :P

I am all for lowering motor tax and fuel costs but shifting motor tax onto others will never float especially for non-Dublin and to a lesser extent Cork residents who have sh*t access to public transport and need to drive nearly everywhere.

Id rather lower motor tax and bring in green zones to city and town centres similar to germany. Where all cars pay to use city streets. Or maybe move back to the CC structure and have no distinction between diesel and petrol cars. Or average the rates between the both.

The concept that you pay for what you use exists, the more you drive the more fuel you burn and the more fuel tax the gov receives. There is already high enough fuel duty. Its motor tax based on the car itself not road tax based on the road you use.

Id rather dramatically lower costs for everyone not just the petrolheads paying over a grand for tax tbh. Id like a cap.

My cars tax when new was €100 in 2011. I bought it second hand 2 months ago and retaxed it for €200 2 weeks ago. In the uk it would cost me £30 or €35 to tax it. We are all being screwed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 532 ✭✭✭PurvesGrundy

swarlb wrote: »
    Really cool idea, really clever, why on earth didn't the rest of us think of that. :rolleyes:

I was not looking for any praise or gratification; I never even hinted what I was doing was radical in any way. I merely stated that I am one of these people with an out of date tax disc because the system is simply a farce and those other people likely think the same.

I suppose it was inevitable that I would receive such a response as this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,035 ✭✭✭goz83

HurtLocker wrote: »
    Wouldn't moving motor tax onto fuel just screw with people who currently do high mileage driving low tax diesels and all rural drivers some more? And completely suit people living in urban areas who decide to buy a big gas guzzler for the weekend drives. Whereas the current scenario screws everyone.

Seeing as this is a motor forum this idea would suit petrolheads more so than the current situation :P

I am all for lowering motor tax and fuel costs but shifting motor tax onto others will never float especially for non-Dublin and to a lesser extent Cork residents who have sh*t access to public transport and need to drive nearly everywhere.

Id rather lower motor tax and bring in green zones to city and town centres similar to germany. Where all cars pay to use city streets. Or maybe move back to the CC structure and have no distinction between diesel and petrol cars. Or average the rates between the both.

The concept that you pay for what you use exists, the more you drive the more fuel you burn and the more fuel tax the gov receives. There is already high enough fuel duty. Its motor tax based on the car itself not road tax based on the road you use.

Id rather dramatically lower costs for everyone not just the petrolheads paying over a grand for tax tbh. Id like a cap.

My cars tax when new was €100 in 2011. I bought it second hand 2 months ago and retaxed it for €200 2 weeks ago. In the uk it would cost me £30 or €35 to tax it. We are all being screwed.

Of course you pay more if you drive more. Fuel is not free after all. The idea of motor tax in fuel is fair and commercial use could see claimed tax back, so there would be no loss there.

As for your point comparing Dublin to "other" counties, specifying Cork....keep in mind that city driving burns a lot of fuel compared to a straight run in 5th gear, so I don't buy that argument at all.

The UK have higher fuel costs and this allows for lower motor tax, so it probably balances out until you drive anything over 2 litres. I drive very little per year, maybe 3-4k klms and I am still raped for driving a 2 litre car. God forbid I want to get a 2.5L car, or higher.

Cutting out motor tax and putting it into fuel cost is the only thing that makes sense, but it would put some of those arse jockies at the MT offices out of work, or better still, into some actual work.

goz83 wrote: »
    The idea of motor tax in fuel is fair
    The general idea of motortax is not fair, so putting motortax into fuel price, doesn't make it suddenly fair.

The UK have higher fuel costs and this allows for lower motor tax,
    Allows???
    So is there any minimum that every government must steal from it's people??? Or what else do you mean by that?

Why do you compare to UK?
    There is plenty of countries where people dont pay any motortax.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,694 ✭✭✭BMJD

Whatever about how motortax is levied onto motorists, anything over a grand a year is utterly ridiculous

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,035 ✭✭✭goz83

The general idea of motortax is not fair, so putting motortax into fuel price, doesn't make it suddenly fair..

I agree. The general idea is unfair, but if we are going to pay it anyway, it would make it a fair system for it to be priced in fuel, because you pay for how much you drive and essentially for how much fuel you burn, rather than paying hundred per year even if you don't drive the car more than a few miles per year.

Allows???
    So is there any minimum that every government must steal from it's people??? Or what else do you mean by that?.

Allows was the wrong word. I was making the point that the UK have lower motor tax and higher fuel prices, so it probably balances out.

Why do you compare to UK?
    There is plenty of countries where people dont pay any motortax.

Because the post I was responding to specifically referenced the UK.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,730 ✭✭✭✭Fred Swanson

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,751 ✭✭✭✭For Forks Sake

Is is a garda car? :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,730 ✭✭✭✭Fred Swanson