Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

price of fr

• 21-06-2013 12:12am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 159 ✭✭

Just wondering lads i have a 4 fr b
    ulls born oct/nov 2012 and 1 lmx bull born oct 12 i cant seem upload pics on phone how much ar they worth reckon ?im hoping to sell them to try en buy a yearling heifer or 2 i will try and upload pics tomorrow

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,786 ✭✭✭✭whelan1

saw january born fr bulls, well turned out making 170:eek: depends on the mart , but there where lovely mox bulls- off meal - unsold at 70 euro, no trade for them at all

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,135 ✭✭✭kowtow

whelan1 wrote: »
    saw january born fr bulls, well turned out making 170:eek: depends on the mart , but there where lovely mox bulls- off meal - unsold at 70 euro, no trade for them at all

You don't recall what sort of weight they were? (the frs, well turned out..)

Trying to work out what to do with these two below, the bigger - top picture - is now 170-180kg. The smaller below has a FRX mother with a good bit of beef in her, to my eye.

8704704572_6f5e8dd43f.jpg

9087108976_a342c469f8.jpg[/url]

i would reckon 250 if you are very lucky, if they where mine i would keep them, or if you just want rid cut your losses and bring to mart

They are no great loss.. they're suckling this year and we have a few heifers as well which will stay on. Ought to wean shortly though to get them all sorted out for the winter, at which point we'll buy in some more in-calf heifers.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 159 ✭✭shy_boy

If there that price ill bloody keep them feck that!!

shy_boy wrote: »
    If there that price ill bloody keep them feck that!!
    was thinking of buying 10 0f them to eat some of my grass, sure you couldnt loose money at that price

Im not in it to break even :)im sure you would relieve me of my troubles if so :p

You can have the one in the photo above, but you'll have to take the child as well, at least until the beginning of the school term.

He eats more than the f***king bull calf

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,716 ✭✭✭1chippy

the thing with friesians are they are that bit longer of a haul to finish. there is no point bringing them to the mart as nobody really wants them, but if you are cute with them there is every bit as much profit with them. shy boy when you buy the yearling heifers what do you intend to do with them?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,949 ✭✭✭delaval

Why don't you buy 10 fr heif calves instead?

delaval wrote: »
    Why don't you buy 10 fr heif calves instead?
    might do, have a load of my own from this year though

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,949 ✭✭✭delaval

might do, have a load of my own from this year though

Couldn't have too many!!!

true but always wary of buying fr heifer calves as they could be free martins at least if you buy calved or in calf you know they have the goods

1chippy wrote: »
    the thing with friesians are they are that bit longer of a haul to finish. there is no point bringing them to the mart as nobody really wants them, but if you are cute with them there is every bit as much profit with them. shy boy when you buy the yearling heifers what do you intend to do with them?

Hoping that i would put them in calf
    With another 3 that i have...started trying to build a herd with the few acres of grass we have instead of renting it...

Ye they be worth a few bob come 2015.. I am trying to convince my father to sow the whole lot in grass and start milking cows come then:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,556 ✭✭✭simx

true but always wary of buying fr heifer calves as they could be free martins at least if you buy calved or in calf you know they have the goods

around here its usually annouced if free martin but im sure theres chancers that keep quite

simx wrote: »
    around here its usually annouced if free martin but im sure theres chancers that keep quite
    i would always announce it but if you are buying off someone you dont know, 15 months down the line is very late to find out she doesnt do what she is supposed to....also heard of a local dealer bought freemartins for small money and sold them for top dollar- bollox

i was in ballybay today and you could buy the majority of the sucklers with calf at foot for less than a grand. you be mad to be buying a heifer put her in calf and then wait nearly years for a return that mightnt even survive.

was there a special suckler sale today? very true about why would you bother buying heifers to bull

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 950 ✭✭✭ellewood

This day of the year tis enough for them, unless they had strong march calves with them

Any calf born now won't be worth much before the winter

was there a special suckler sale today? very true about why would you bother buying heifers to bull
    No special sale, there was probably about 10-15 of them. 1 went 640 with calf at foot, 3 or 4 went 700. 1 1200, 11400 i think and the rest in between.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,313 ✭✭✭✭Sam Kade

ellewood wrote: »
    This day of the year tis enough for them, unless they had strong march calves with them

Any calf born now won't be worth much before the winter
    I heard of a fella a few years ago that reckoned he was making profit out of sucklers with June calving.

No special sale, there was probably about 10-15 of them. 1 went 640 with calf at foot, 3 or 4 went 700. 1 1200, 11400 i think and the rest in between.

would there be a few there every sale chippy? were they oldish?

most were second and third calvers and most of the calves were well on. there is usually a few, but can be hit and miss. any of the suckler boys that were there were all talking of downsizing or getting out altogether.
    could be a good time to upscale in suckling.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 950 ✭✭✭ellewood

Was that 700 for a cow AND calf !!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,313 ✭✭✭✭Sam Kade

Yes

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,701 ✭✭✭moy83

I saw a few cows with calves at foot go for that money thursday in Athenry .
    They werent great cows or calves now but you would imagine at that money they would leave a few pound next spring .
    Its coming into a bad time of the year for selling cows now anyhow , they will be crap prices from now on for awhile Id say

yes. only 1 springer withdrawn at 900, she was a good beast but big bottle spins and calving in the next couple of weeks. he should have taken it.

do they display how many days the owner has had the animal in ballybay? i remember you saying once it was a place for chancers

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,701 ✭✭✭moy83

Sam Kade wrote: »
    I heard of a fella a few years ago that reckoned he was making profit out of sucklers with June calving.
    My aunt loves them calving that time of the year , she would class july/august as the start of their autumn calvers . They seem to get good weight up for selling the following spring .

do they display how many days the owner has had the animal in ballybay? i remember you saying once it was a place for chancers
    They were all local enough sellers. still a good few chancers there though. cows werent anything special in general but if i had brought the trailer i would have brought a few but talked myself out of it. its tightening the calving spread im trying.