Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Nuns teaching sex education

• 20-06-2013 11:29pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,547 ✭✭✭Foxhound38

Did anyone else get this in primary or early secondary school? There's something very Irish about it, but now that I think about it - being celibate and from an organization with views toward sexuality that are... let's just say out of step with society at large, aren't Nuns the least appropriate people to be talking kids through these issues, as opposed to maybe getting the local GP in to do it or something?

Does it still happen? Who came up with such a bizzare way of dealing with such things in the first place?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,425 ✭✭✭Festy

Sex is naughty,if you do it you will burn in hell.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 31 TheSB

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,646 ✭✭✭✭Sauve

I went to a secondary school run by nuns. I distinctly remember being told (by a lay teacher) that every time you have sex, there's a 1 in 6 chance of getting pregnant. Of course contraception was never discussed.

I've had sex five times so far, I sure as hell won't be risking a sixth! :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,592 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

You don't need to be a sailor to know the sea is wet.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,425 ✭✭✭Festy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 399 ✭✭solas111

Foxhound38 wrote: »
    Did anyone else get this in primary or early secondary school? There's something very Irish about it, but now that I think about it - being celibate and from an organization with views toward sexuality that are... let's just say out of step with society at large, aren't Nuns the least appropriate people to be talking kids through these issues, as opposed to maybe getting the local GP in to do it or something?

Does it still happen? Who came up with such a bizzare way of dealing with such things in the first place?

A lot of people have different views on sex and they may not be talking from experience so I don't see why the nuns should not teach it.

Come to think about it, the thought of a sexy young nun talking about sex....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,089 ✭✭✭✭LizT

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,630 ✭✭✭Zen65

. . . . . aren't Nuns the least appropriate people to be talking kids through these issues. . . ?

Not the least appropriate (that distinction would go to the local pedo) but certainly not the most knowledgeable, nor the most unbiased.

I don't see a problem with nuns giving sex education per se, even though they themselves do not partake in the act of sexual intercourse. After all, we have teachers in secondary school who teach Business Studies despite never having run a business, nor even to have worked in a non-academic business.

I do worry that nuns would give sex education which was not simply based on the scientific facts, but would include Catholic morality interwoven in such a way as to distort the scientific teaching.

I don't have a problem with Catholic schools teaching Catholic morals (though I find many of these "morals" to be abhorrently immoral in nature) provided they do so in "moral education" or "religious education" classes, and not in a science class.

Z

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,429 ✭✭✭Cedrus

The nuns in my school brought in a "good catholic family" (couple) to break the news to our year (5th IIRC) of approx 50% farmers who could hardly not know the mechanics. All I remember now is the horrific slideshow of mutilated foetuses and their embarrassment when they did a kind of "Ask us anything" using anonymous slips of paper (who would have thought that Dineen knew about THAT perversion at our innocent age :D ).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

Our sex ed teacher was a priest, came in the first day and said, 'shure yous know more about it than me', and we spent the rest of the classes watching 'This Morning with Richard and Judy'

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,557 ✭✭✭KeithM89

Its about as useful as driving lessons from Stevie Wonder.

• Registered Users, Subscribers, Registered Users 2 Posts: 47,352 ✭✭✭✭Zaph

solas111 wrote: »

When was the last time you saw a young nun, never mind a sexy young nun? Excluding porn of course.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,681 ✭✭✭ColeTrain

Sauve wrote: »
    I went to a secondary school run by nuns. I distinctly remember being told (by a lay teacher) that every time you have sex, there's a 1 in 6 chance of getting pregnant. Of course contraception was never discussed.

'Ridin Roulette!

Zaph wrote: »
    When was the last time you saw a young nun, never mind a sexy young nun? Excluding porn of course.
    Your wan off the Father Dowling Mysteries. . .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,128 ✭✭✭Engine No.9

That's almost the same as in my school which was run by priests, the one and only physics teacher, and he was a genius at it, was indeed a priest.
    Now fellas here's this dude called God and he created the world. But hold on, wait a minute, you've also got the big bang theory to consider

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,255 ✭✭✭✭Esoteric_

I went to a Catholic school run by nuns, and they showed us a video when we were in fifth year (too feckin' late for most of the girls, considering half of them had kids at that stage!), detailing periods and the basics about sex. They cut the film short because they decided it was against their religious beliefs to teach us about STDs, pregnancy, contraception, how sex worked (bar 'the man enters the woman and lays his seed' :pac: ), etc. I found it pretty funny. I asked were they not going to tell us about STDs and contraception and was told no, because it's wrong to have sex outside of marriage and it's wrong to use contraception. :pac:

Nuns teaching sex ed isn't really a problem. Nuns using religion as a factor in the level of education they offer is a huge problem.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,876 ✭✭✭Scortho

The best sex ed teacher in our school was a priest in his early 40s.
    Why he became a priest was beyond us because he was such a player in his early 20s apparently.
    Absolute hero though to many in our school and gave some excellent life advice.
    If we could have nominated him for pope we would have! :D

Your wan off the Father Dowling Mysteries. . .

Remember her??? She was rapid.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,417 ✭✭✭ToddyDoody

The health board and a 1970s biology video (animated) gave me my sex education. Did you know U can get genital warts in your throat?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,096 ✭✭✭✭the groutch

aren't Nuns the least appropriate people to be talking kids through these issues, as opposed to maybe getting the local GP in to do it or something?

at least it's not the priests teaching it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,547 ✭✭✭Foxhound38

solas111 wrote: »
    A lot of people have different views on sex and they may not be talking from experience so I don't see why the nuns should not teach it.

Yeah, but why SHOULD they specifically be the ones to teach it? I mean, there's no reason why firefighters or gardai COULDN'T do it either, but they would also be bizarre choices wouldn't they?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,089 ✭✭✭✭LizT

I went to a Catholic all girls school, I don't think we ever had sex ed, just an awkward seminar about periods in first year.

pajopearl wrote: »
    Remember her??? She was rapid.
    Just googled her, Tracy Nelson, big advocate of Obamacare now

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,797 ✭✭✭✭hatrickpatrick

Tension in our sex ed mounted (sorry heh) throughout the day until anonymous question time when she took out the first slip and read "Does it shrivel up with age? You know what I'm talking about", cue an eruption of pent up hysterics which people had been making a serious effort to restrain for the entire morning. Pretty sure we the laughter roared on for several minutes.

• Registered Users, Subscribers, Registered Users 2 Posts: 47,352 ✭✭✭✭Zaph

I went to a Christian Brothers school. Sex education consisted of maybe two science classes covering the chapter on the reproductive system in 3rd year. We did all the biology chapters up to that one in 2nd year and spent the rest of that year only doing physics and chemistry.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 399 ✭✭solas111

Yeah, but why SHOULD they specifically be the ones to teach it? I mean, there's no reason why firefighters or gardai COULDN'T do it either, but they would also be bizarre choices wouldn't they?

No. To be fair, a nun would not be the best choice for teaching sex education. Then again, some teachers and parents would make a dick of it too if you will pardon the expression. Maybe it should be left to a trained health worker but then there could be another can of worms about that person's views not being in agreement with the ethos of the school, parents etc. Maybe the bike shed is the best place to learn after all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,201 ✭✭✭languagenerd

LizT wrote: »
    I went to a Catholic all girls school, I don't think we ever had sex ed, just an awkward seminar about periods in first year.

My school was the exact same. The awkward talk in 1st year, and then the Reproductive System chapter in JC Science. We were never given any sort of education about contraception or STDs or pregnancy or anything. Might explain why about a fifth of my classmates had kids by the time they were 20!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,255 ✭✭✭✭Esoteric_

at least it's not the priests teaching it

Sure, that'd be great, give some practical demonstrations and all that! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,800 ✭✭✭Senna

A fairly young female teacher straight out of college tried to teach sex education to my all male class of 15 year olds, she made it about 5 minutes before she started to cry and walked out of the class after 6 minutes.
    The nun would have stood a better chance.

Senna wrote: »
    A fairly young female teacher straight out of college tried to teach sex education to my all male class of 15 year olds, she made it about 5 minutes before she started to cry and walked out of the class after 6 minutes.
    The nun would have stood a better chance.

You from Limerick??? Pretty sure I know who you're talkin about if you are!? That poor woman had a total nervous breakdown afterwards. Didn't even last her first yr out of Maynooth. Terrible story. She's a neighbour now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,800 ✭✭✭Senna

You from Limerick??? Pretty sure I know who you're talkin about if you are!? That poor woman had a total nervous breakdown afterwards. Didn't even last her first yr out of Maynooth. Terrible story. She's a neighbour now.

No different end of the country

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,090 ✭✭✭jill_valentine

I think people who have specifically sworn off ever having sex because they think there's something inherently bad about it are much worse choices than firefighters or gardai, yes.

I would say that literally anybody short of a registered sex offender would be better equipped to teach kids about sex than the religiously celibate. Let's forget for a moment that there's some historical crossover between those two groups.

I think people who have specifically sworn off ever having sex because they think there's something inherently bad about it are much worse choices than firefighters or gardai, yes.

I'm not sure that's why they've sworn off it. Isn't it coz they're married to god and having sex would be adulterous???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,299 ✭✭✭moc moc a moc

kneemos wrote: »
    You don't need to be a sailor to know the sea is wet.

Yeah, but you kind of do if you're supposed to teach someone how to sail.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,117 ✭✭✭Rasheed

I went to a religious school but with the nuns long gone and I don't remember getting any sex ed. We did the scientific stuff in science alright but nothing more. One brother went to the Christian brothers down the road, they never got any sex ed but neither did the brother that went to the community school.

I know we were shown a DVD in abortion by the religion teacher (not a nun). That was about the height of it.

Children get a talk on sex in 6th class now, I think. Great idea IMO.

Yeah, but you kind of do if you're supposed to teach someone how to sail.

Ah come on, it's not that technical! They wouldn't be going through different positions with the class or anything!

Rasheed wrote: »

Yup. Got my talk in 6th class (1992 :O) Introduction on a Monday night and the whole day Tuesday in school. I remember the girls gettin their own special video, whatever that was. I never found out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,090 ✭✭✭jill_valentine

Yup. Got my talk in 6th class (1992 :O) Introduction on a Monday night and the whole day Tuesday in school. I remember the girls gettin their own special video, whatever that was. I never found out.

That would be the traditionally far-too-late chat about periods.

Seriously??? :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,547 ✭✭✭Foxhound38

Rasheed wrote: »
    I went to a religious school but with the nuns long gone and I don't remember getting any sex ed. We did the scientific stuff in science alright but nothing more. One brother went to the Christian brothers down the road, they never got any sex ed but neither did the brother that went to the community school.

I know we were shown a DVD in abortion by the religion teacher (not a nun). That was about the height of it.

We never got any abortion DVD in fairness. Are they allowed to push an agenda on kids in such a way on what is still very much a live topic?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,422 ✭✭✭✭Bruthal

Sauve wrote: »

Sounds like they were qualified at least

We never got any abortion DVD in fairness. Are they allowed to push an agenda on kids in such a way on what is still very much a live topic?

That was 2004 so it wasn't so such a hot topic. It was interesting in fairness, bit scientific to be honest, and the teacher didn't really push any agenda, just let us watch it.

I don't realty know what she was trying to achieve with it but there you go!

I was in sixth class in 2000 and never got a video! Hope I'm doing it right for the last 8 years..........

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,390 ✭✭✭IM0

What should be thought is contraception and how to use it properly the reality that it isnt 100% safe, condoms break, how to avoid this happening ect, the need for foreplay and methods [but keeping it to touching each other EVERYwhere [but not orally theyll learn that themselves later in time through exploration and curiosity/media], and how to get your partner going - afterall this is the whole point of FP] kissing ect, the need for respect for your partner while having sex and finally the REPROCUSSIONS of having a baby so young especially, but what a baby means as parents with a family saying how life changed for them and the necessary sacrifices they had to make in order to properly look after their child once born, how their social life and life was turned upside down ect.

basically give them the realities while at the same time giving them the information in an un biast way. sex after bodily functions is the most natural things you can do, nothing wrong with it - but it needs to be drilled into them that having a child is going to mean freedom taken away and a change in life style needed. basically give them the 'oh **** really?' side of the possible reprocutions of sex, including sti's ect.

there was a really good channel 4 programme for teenagers on sex education
    'sex education for teenagers' I think it was called or something. very good it was.

Also sex ed should start around 10, before puberty hits. instilling respect is the main thing though at that early age. you want to get in there before pron does ;)
    after all the rest has been taught and sunk in over weeks or months, THEN move onto pron possibly and the reality that it is a FANTASY! and it is acting ect. but the issue needs to be addressed for society as a whole. the net has made things so much more accessible now, so sex ed needs to get ahead and head these things off at the pass before porn warps their ideas before they start having sex and they think that thats what its all about. in essence porn is not for young minds pre virginity which most of us know

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,646 ✭✭✭✭qo2cj1dsne8y4k

Ahh yes we got that too, end of 1st year and although our nun was nice it was to tell us we were all too young to have boyfriends

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,417 ✭✭✭WinnyThePoo

I was told in primary school masterbation was selfish...i guess it is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,837 ✭✭✭TheLastMohican

What next? How to free base?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,299 ✭✭✭✭MadsL

IM0 wrote: »
    What should be thought is contraception and how to use it properly the reality that it isnt 100% safe, condoms break, how to avoid this happening ect, the need for foreplay and methods [but keeping it to touching each other EVERYwhere [but not orally theyll learn that themselves later in time through exploration and curiosity/media], and how to get your partner going - afterall this is the whole point of FP] kissing ect, the need for respect for your partner while having sex and finally the REPROCUSSIONS of having a baby so young especially, but what a baby means as parents with a family saying how life changed for them and the necessary sacrifices they had to make in order to properly look after their child once born, how their social life and life was turned upside down ect.

basically give them the realities while at the same time giving them the information in an un biast way. sex after bodily functions is the most natural things you can do, nothing wrong with it - but it needs to be drilled into them that having a child is going to mean freedom taken away and a change in life style needed. basically give them the 'oh **** really?' side of the possible reprocutions of sex, including sti's ect.

there was a really good channel 4 programme for teenagers on sex education
    'sex education for teenagers' I think it was called or something. very good it was.

Also sex ed should start around 10, before puberty hits. instilling respect is the main thing though at that early age. you want to get in there before pron does ;)
    after all the rest has been taught and sunk in over weeks or months, THEN move onto pron possibly and the reality that it is a FANTASY! and it is acting ect. but the issue needs to be addressed for society as a whole. the net has made things so much more accessible now, so sex ed needs to get ahead and head these things off at the pass before porn warps their ideas before they start having sex and they think that thats what its all about. in essence porn is not for young minds pre virginity which most of us know

Ever consider teaching that no means no, and all the other nos that mean no?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,127 ✭✭✭yore

Ain't it hypocriticalist that so many nuns work part-time as strippers. 3m 48s

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,482 ✭✭✭Kidchameleon

News flash: Nuns and priests could have had sex before taking vows