Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Thread Knockers

• 20-06-2013 2:20pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,314 ✭✭✭caustic 1

As a newbie I have noticed a lot of thread knockers [no not tits] on boards. Someone takes the time and trouble to open one and a few comments in there is the obligatory "Oh not another topic thread".

Don't read it then so or comment. Problem solved.

I do know I will get slagged for this one also.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,204 ✭✭✭dodderangler

Well in fairness I only opened your thread because of your misleading title

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

What an interesting thread, young man. I would be very interested in hearing the various viewpoints that will be dispensed henceforth, and I tip my hat to you sir, for starting such a fine, sturdy, and worthwhile topic.:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,314 ✭✭✭caustic 1

That was your misleading mind .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,250 ✭✭✭✭Iwasfrozen

Disappointing thread OP.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,045 ✭✭✭✭gramar

There are a few that dedicate a lot of posts to knocking threads started by others. They're like those professional protesters that turn up everywhere to
    protest about anything.

Fcuk the begrudgers.

caustic 1 wrote: »
    As a newbie I have noticed a lot of thread knockers [no not tits] on boards. Someone takes the time and trouble to open one and a few comments in there is the obligatory "Oh not another topic thread".

Don't read it then so or comment. Problem solved.

I do know I will get slagged for this one also.

Don't read their comments or start up a new thread about them so, problem solved

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 774 ✭✭✭daveyeh

This world needs knockers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

You have just made a lot of powerful enemies OP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,332 ✭✭✭Guill

People do it for the thanks. It's become as repetitive and boring as Your Ma and cool story Bro. After Hours is a shadow of it's former self...

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 26,403 Mod ✭✭✭✭Peregrine

Title is misleading!

OP, you should be banned for something that cruel :mad:

But yes, people do do it. It's because after hundreds of Catholic church, dole and scumbag threads..it gets boring!

People do it for the thanks. It's become as repetitive and boring as Your Ma and cool story Bro. After Hours is a shadow of it's former self...

How was it? What is this magical land of boards you speak off?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,987 ✭✭✭Legs.Eleven

Some people start some really fooking atrocious threads though and they deserve to get slagged to the high heavens. Like this one. Fact.

"Your hands smell of poo, OP!"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,012 ✭✭✭Plazaman

No
    /thread

I love knockers...

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,464 ✭✭✭Celly Smunt

I think everybody here (apart from the few) is sick to death of dole,politics,emigration,republican,northern Irish,Catholic church etc. etc. threads.

So it is far easier to de-rail them and have them locked on a forum that is designed to be a tad lighter than the above,than to have them scourge the front page and pick through the threads where people are clearly arguing and talking shite.

Anyway where was I...oh yeah! jam.

How was it? What is this magical land of boards you speak off?

It was a place where every day Knackers and Scangers got knocked to the ground and laughed at. People were openly funny and offered new and insightful opinions. The young were kept in there place by their intelligent peers and the down right funny were raised on a high pedastal.

But now, sadly, it's seemingly all been done before so everyone wanders around cutting each other down for cheap thanks and no praise. :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

Hey, don't knock it
    until you tried it

So then perhaps I should have asked what you all suggest the topics be since you are so bored of the usual mundane threads?

biko wrote: »
    Hey, don't knock it
    until you tried it

ohhh

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,708 ✭✭✭✭Mr. CooL ICE

As a newbie, you have yet to experience the sheer amount of of sh1te that gets churned out almost weekly. For now, threads about the dole, travellers, foreigners, priests etc might seem fresh and new to you, so enjoy it while you can.

The rest of us... well, the phrase "you can't teach an old dog new tricks" spring to mind. And we're so old, we're on the verge of being taken to the vet and put down

So then perhaps I should have asked what you all suggest the topics be since you are so bored of the usual mundane threads?

You just answered your question,everything not usual and mundane.

We're not bored of everything usual and mundane, just overused crap

We're bored of going to AH everyday to find countless threads about priests, the dole, furinnerrs and skangers. It's the same ****e over and over. AH is supposed to be to have a bit of laugh, not to keep bitching and moaning about the same thing over and over.

Post something fun. Have you ever lived in a treehouse? If you did, where did you go to the toilet? That kinda thing.:)

[QUOTEBut now, sadly, it's seemingly all been done before so everyone wanders around cutting each other down for cheap thanks and no praise.][/QUOTE]

Yes sad indeed, although how do you not know that lurking in the background is more intelligent people?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,669 ✭✭✭who_me

I hate thread knockers, so good to have a thread knockers knockers thread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 162 ✭✭puddinboxxx

what would be a good idea for a new thread then??.............

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,460 ✭✭✭Ishmael

Thread requires more Knockers!

who_me wrote: »
    I hate thread knockers, so good to have a thread knockers knockers thread.

True,thread knockers a low.I believe they would even wobble to your toes.

Ishmael wrote: »
    I don't have knockers, just a knob

on my door.:p

what would be a good idea for a new thread then??.............

Do you have a secret safe buried in your house by any chance?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,842 ✭✭✭Floppybits

I thought I was going to see Knockers in this thread. am disappointed now. :(

Ishmael wrote: »

HEY! That should have NSFW tag!!!!

Floppybits wrote: »
    I thought I was going to see Knockers in this thread. am disappointed now. :(

here

I don't have knockers, just a knob

on my door.:p

I just realised that some doors have knockers hanging up high and a knob down below :pac:

Well played, English, well played

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,689 ✭✭✭Tombi!

Another "ooh I'm new thread".
    We all know how they go: someone is knew, asks questions and gets them answered.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,215 ✭✭✭harney

AH, the only place you can go for a daily dose of knockers, it's not like you can see knockers anywhere else on the internet :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,443 ✭✭✭jobeenfitz

Have thread knockers got their nipples pierced?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,390 ✭✭✭IM0

Nimrod 7 wrote: »
    I just realised that some doors have knockers hanging up high and a knob down below :pac:

ah transsexual doors, they are a rare breed indeed