Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Strawberry Jam Cocktail anyone?

• 18-06-2013 4:05am

I was in a restaurant tonight and they had a strawberry jam mojito :D

Quite appropriate for AH I thought!

What's your favourite cocktail? Mine's a classic mojito!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,537 ✭✭✭✭Cookie_Monster

Appletini, easy on the tini

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,299 ✭✭✭✭MadsL

Bourbon. On the rocks. Hold the rocks. Leave the bottle.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,534 ✭✭✭SV

Cocktail doesn't contain actual jam, can't express how disappointed I am

SV wrote: »
    Cocktail doesn't contain actual jam, can't express how disappointed I am

I know :(

I was also disappointed, I didn't have one. I had a 22oz steak so I was kinda full!

Actually.

Lies. I do enjoy a good cocktail.

Here's one I think I invented.

Cherry Whisky Sour

Good double shot rye whiskey. 1/3 glass
    Good quality sour mix 2/3 glass
    Splash of the syrup in the jar of marachino cherries
    Garnish with cherry on cocktail stick.

I also like Pina Coladas (and getting caught in the rain!)

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 17,137 Mod ✭✭✭✭cherryghost

Moar Alcoholz

I know :(

I was also disappointed, I didn't have one. I had a 22oz steak so I was kinda full!

That's a lot of meat. I'm impressed.

but yeah, Sex on the beach is about my favourite cocktail, if it wasn't for it's remarkable ability to remove all memory I have of the nights.

That's a lot of meat. I'm impressed.

I can handle a lot of meat :cool:

Not really, I didn't even make a dent in the flippin thing. I don't really know what possessed me to order it. I hope they had a dog out the back and it didn't go in the bin :(
    but yeah, Sex on the beach is about my favourite cocktail, if it wasn't for it's remarkable ability to remove all memory I have of the nights.

I find them rather sickening.

I can handle a lot of meat :cool:

Not really, I didn't even make a dent in the flippin thing. I don't really know what possessed me to order it. I hope they had a dog out the back and it didn't go in the bin :(

I find them rather sickening.

There's a steak challenge of a 60oz steak in a place in Newbridge, I take it you aren't interested in that then? :p

Funny, Pina Coladas do the same to me..bought it bottled whilst on holiday in Santa Ponsa a few years back (cos of that feckin song) and it's just rotten, tried making it nicer by adding vodka and orange and various other crap to it but to be fair I think it was a lost cause.

edit: then again, they might be nice actually made up properly. We could have been sold gone off milk for all I know

They had one of those challenges in the place I was in, a 50oz porterhouse steak, you got your name on a plaque!

Pre made cocktail stuff is never gonna be good. Proper pina coladas are amazing!

There's a steak challenge of a 60oz steak in a place in Newbridge, I take it you aren't interested in that then? :p

Funny, Pina Coladas do the same to me..bought it bottled whilst on holiday in Santa Ponsa a few years back (cos of that feckin song) and it's just rotten, tried making it nicer by adding vodka and orange and various other crap to it but to be fair I think it was a lost cause.

edit: then again, they might be nice actually made up properly. We could have been sold gone off milk for all I know

Free 72oz steak in Amarillo, Texas if you can finish it.

Meanwhile I recommend the original cocktail; absinthe topped up with champagne, go easy though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,919 ✭✭✭✭Gummy Panda

Forget the cocktails, lets talk about steak.

I like steak.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,959 ✭✭✭✭scudzilla

How long before threads incorporating Jam in the title are worthy of infractions, same as YORE MA and COOL STORY BRO?

How do you like your steak cooked? I had mine medium rare. It was perfick tonight. Some places make it too medium. I like it bloody but slightly warm in the middle.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,639 ✭✭✭✭OldGoat

Martini.

Chill a large cocktail glass.
    Chill all the gin, stir don't shake.
    Add chilled gin to chilled glass.
    Let the gin see a bottle of vermouth way off in the distance.
    Twist of lemon peel.
    /end thread

I'm older than Minecraft goats.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,814 ✭✭✭TPD

Tried a white russian for the first time recently. Think I'll be trying another soon... Once I've found a cocktail bar in Donegal..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,456 ✭✭✭✭Mr Benevolent

Daiquiri or pina colada.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,785 ✭✭✭Ihatecuddles-old

Anything with vodka and grenadine!

I made a lovely one before. Vodka, orange juice, peach shnapps, grenadine, champagne and some coconut stuff I got in America.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,785 ✭✭✭Ihatecuddles-old

Anything with vodka and grenadine!

I made a lovely one before. Vodka, orange juice, peach shnapps, grenadine, champagne and some coconut stuff I got in America.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,178 ✭✭✭✭NothingMan

I honestly couldn't give a shite about cocktails but the steak talk is giving me a semi. Where was this 50 oz porterhouse challenge?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,258 ✭✭✭✭Rabies

Those drinks are a little over priced for what they are.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,374 ✭✭✭Eponymous

I got a taste for caipirinhas when I was at a party in Germany a few years ago. I think it's the drunkest I've ever been in my 40+ years on the planet, but I couldn't stop drinking them.

Also a big fan of Margueritas despite not liking tequila and Lynchburg Lemonade despite not liking any kind of whisky.

Oh, and Long Island Iced tea too...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,062 ✭✭✭Uriel.

Alabama Slammer's are mine

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Alabama_Slammer

But when I make it, I treble the Southern Comfort, double the gin and add a dash of red grenadine. Then fall down (after 3 or three). :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,305 ✭✭✭April O Neill

Doggie bag! You could eat the rest today!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,305 ✭✭✭April O Neill

Rabies wrote: »

My big problem with cocktails, and why I rarely drink them. Alcohol is expensive enough in this country!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,772 ✭✭✭byronbay2

Uriel. wrote: »
    Alabama Slammer's are mine

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Alabama_Slammer

But when I make it, I treble the Southern Comfort, double the gin and add a dash of red grenadine. Then fall down (after 3 or three). :)

I'm guessing you might have had a couple (or 2) already today!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,034 ✭✭✭Ficheall

http://img28.imageshack.us/img28/1297/s4b.png
    Surprised me a little when I spotted it out of the corner of my eye after having been working in another tab for a while..

(And aye, I know my version of Ubuntu is about four years out of date.)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 471 ✭✭checkyabadself

AH answer......strawberry jam? I prefer marmalade.

Seriously, I like a Tom Collins from time to time. A little boring but nice for a change.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,676 ✭✭✭✭herisson

Margaritas are my favourite. Nom.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,928 ✭✭✭✭rainbow kirby

Not a cocktail fan in general, I'd prefer a good beer. A standard mojito is quite nice though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,062 ✭✭✭Uriel.

byronbay2 wrote: »
    I'm guessing you might have had a couple (or 2) already today!

Don't even know my thought process at the time.... :eek::pac:

NothingMan wrote: »
    I honestly couldn't give a shite about cocktails but the steak talk is giving me a semi. Where was this 50 oz porterhouse challenge?

'murica
    Rabies wrote: »

They're in dollars so not quite as bad. I had a glass of wine the other evening, got the bill and it was 15.50 :/ was really lovely wine though.

The Mint bar in Dublin is mad money for cocktails, the Morgan is the same but the atmosphere in the place is cracking.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,568 ✭✭✭candy-gal1

Long Island Iced Tea :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,089 ✭✭✭✭LizT

Frozen strawberry daiquiri.... Om nom nom.

When I was in New Orleans I had a cocktail called The Hand Grenade, which is supposedly really strong but I had two and I was grand. Comes in a really cool container though. I want one now :(

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 17,231 Mod ✭✭✭✭Das Kitty

Tom Collins made with a good gin and freshly squeezed lemon juice.

Divine.

TPD wrote: »
    Tried a white russian for the first time recently. Think I'll be trying another soon... Once I've found a cocktail bar in Donegal..

Here's a glass for them
    Eponymous wrote: »
    Also a big fan of Margueritas despite not liking tequila and Lynchburg Lemonade despite not liking any kind of whisky..

The trick with Margaritas is to not let aything made by Jose Cuervo into the glass. With the exception of their Tradicional and Reserva Familia brands, all their tequilas are made with only 51% agave, with the rest being cheap sugar alcohol, basically cheap hooch. That's why people get sick shooting tequila.

I realise that this will be difficult in Ireland but try for a brand with 100% agave, especially if doing shots. Patron is expensive but well worth it, and you won't get sick on it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,754 ✭✭✭Itwasntme.

Margaritas are my favourite. Nom.

You can say that again. Margarita. MARGARITA. Margarita. Absolutely divine especially when I make them myself. Yum.

Good quality tequila. Half a bottle.
    Cointreau. About 2/8ths of the bottle.
    Maybe 10 limes, another 10 or more tangerines (I like it zesty) and a strawberries just to mix it up a little.
    Ice.

Blend and serve. It takes like unicorn pee. Magical.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,814 ✭✭✭TPD

That reminds me - the blended margaritas in Tia Margaritas is San Francisco - delicious. Blender full of ice - shots of tequila poured over this (with the bottle still pouring while each measure is being tipped in), triple sec added (same deal with the generous measures), a ****load of limes squeezed in. Turn it on, pour it out, get fecking hammered after two. No salt for me though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,349 ✭✭✭✭starlit

Without the jam yes please! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,258 ✭✭✭✭Rabies

candy-gal1 wrote: »
    Long Island Iced Tea :D

Is almost as over rated as a Cosmopolitan

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,364 ✭✭✭washiskin

Alabama Slammer - especially the one in Captain America's.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,391 ✭✭✭Mysteriouschic

Appletini or sex on the beach

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,349 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

Elderflower Collins for drinking, Long Island Iced Tea to go from zero to party in five minutes.