Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

How / Where do you watch the NFL games?

• 17-06-2013 3:47pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,176 ✭✭✭

Long time lurker, first time poster!

Have really taken to American Football and following the NFL in the past year, actually used to hate the stop/start nature but am hooked now. Sleeping pattern destroyed completely but just wanted to get a feel for how people in Ireland watch the games and am i missing a trick somewhere?

BBC Coverage - I usually watch the BBC game (late night, recorded and watch the next day)

SKY - Use my mates SKY Go account and watch whatever game is being shown on Sunday 6pm or 9.30pm

Webstream - Usually a dodgy stream found online with plenty of pop up ads of friendly girls in your neighbourhood!

Outside of these? Are there any other ways i am missing?

I have UPC so getting the SKY red button end zone thingy isn't an option. Is there anything similar to Sky GO but just for NFL?

Thanks in advance! :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,094 ✭✭✭TO.

If you have the cash you should consider getting gamepass. Good thread on it here. Sift through it and you will get some good advice. I have used it myself on and off over the last few years as have many in here and its by far the best coverage out there for the NFL if you have a decent internet connection and cash

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2056691903

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 16,194 Mod ✭✭✭✭adrian522

NFL Gamepass. Every game, live and/or archived for watching the next day, condensed games too for watching if you don't have loads of time, plus NFL Network and all the games from the last 3 years or so.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,176 ✭✭✭BKWDR

Great guys thanks! :)

Had a quick look at the site and it looks great, expensive, but great!

See you can have multiple devices, i wonder can you go halves with a buddy or have they cut that out i wonder? ill have a decent browse of that threat now later!

Outside of the usual bars running superbowl nights are there any bars that show the sunday games / including a late one?

BKWDR wrote: »
    Great guys thanks! :)

Had a quick look at the site and it looks great, expensive, but great!

Well worth it though :)
    See you can have multiple devices, i wonder can you go halves with a buddy or have they cut that out i wonder? ill have a decent browse of that threat now later!

As far as I know if you are on different IP addresses it will cut out one of the feeds. So it stamps out 2 people watching at the same time. Myself and the bro used to it when he was on the southside of the city and me Northside. It worked the first couple of weeks but then one of the feeds would cut out.
    Outside of the usual bars running superbowl nights are there any bars that show the sunday games / including a late one?

The games Sky show on a Sunday are the only ones blacked out.

TO. wrote: »

The games Sky show on a Sunday are the only ones blacked out.

Oh ok? So if i get GamePass the games that Sky Show won't be on GamePass live?

Being able to watch condensed or archived footage would be great too. Although il probably be kicked out by the missus!
    If i have a device can i download the footage instead of stream it? Say on a tablet that only allows wifi connection

Sorry, 101 questions!

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 16,194 Mod ✭✭✭✭adrian522

Oh ok? So if i get GamePass the games that Sky Show won't be on GamePass live?

Being able to watch condensed or archived footage would be great too. Although il probably be kicked out by the missus!
    If i have a device can i download the footage instead of stream it? Say on a tablet that only allows wifi connection

Sorry, 101 questions!

You can't download stuff, you need to stream to your laptop or tablet or whatever. So you will need to be connected to wifi.

Yeah the 2 games sky show at 6pm and 9pm are blacked out, meaning you can't watch them until the next day.

Ah great, thanks :)

Thanks again for your help :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,370 ✭✭✭✭Son Of A Vidic

Long time lurker, first time poster!

Have really taken to American Football and following the NFL in the past year, actually used to hate the stop/start nature but am hooked now. Sleeping pattern destroyed completely but just wanted to get a feel for how people in Ireland watch the games and am i missing a trick somewhere?

I have nothing really to add that the lads haven't said already OP. I just wanted to welcome you to the forum. Have you decided on a team to follow yet?

Cheers CM! Often browsed away on here reading all the threads and clicking the links that people posted!

Kinda got hooked with American Football on a trip to Boston last year so I followed the New England Patriots for the last season but watched most teams last year.

Got tickets for the Steelers / Vikings game in London in September so can't wait for that, just the whole atmosphere!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,370 ✭✭✭✭Son Of A Vidic

Kinda got hooked with American Football on a trip to Boston last year so I followed the New England Patriots for the last season but watched most teams last year.

Ah sure stick with the Pats then :D. Seriously though, we all love the game in here regardless of who's playing. I don't know if you've been to a game before, but I've no duobt you'll love it.

Went to see the Steelers when they played here years ago although i don't remember much of it!
    Can't wait for the London games, actually can't wait for the season to kick off!

More and more i look at that game pass the more i think i should just sign up for it , 150e, sure a couple beers missed out of a month would pay for it a few times over!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,004 ✭✭✭✭Realt Dearg Sec

Went to see the Steelers when they played here years ago although i don't remember much of it!
    Can't wait for the London games, actually can't wait for the season to kick off!

More and more i look at that game pass the more i think i should just sign up for it , 150e, sure a couple beers missed out of a month would pay for it a few times over!

yeah thinking getting it myself, if the money is available. As for the blacked out game, you can get around it, its only blacked out in the UK and Ireland.

Ah right, we talkin about in the same sense that you can sign in to Netflix US with a US vpn?

Yup.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,016 ✭✭✭Hulk Hands

€130 I think? If you don't have the cash now, starve yourself for a few weeks. It's epic

Hulk Hands wrote: »
    €130 I think? If you don't have the cash now, starve yourself for a few weeks. It's epic

Ha i could do with losing the occasional meal!

Think it's 129 Sterling, so 150e unless im missing something??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,341 ✭✭✭✭Chucky the tree

Gamepass and Sky. Being able to do both is handy. Would get sky anyway for the rugby and soccer though. Gamepass is essential because I want to watch Raider games every week and they are rarely on tv or even a good stream.

Yeah have decided on the Game Pass and gonna get myself a Nexus10 to watch em on....:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,710 ✭✭✭✭Paully D

Welcome to the forum, BKWDR.

Streams for me this year. I had Game Pass last year but money is a bit tighter at the minute so I can't commit to getting it for the coming season, although if that changes I'll pick it up straight away.

That said, the streaming site I use is perfect. I've watched all the UK football I could possibly watch on it, they show a huge variety of NBA games every night, always have Red Zone and almost always have the Ravens game each week, so I'm fine. For €7 a month, I'm very happy with it.

I'll definitely miss not being able to watch the condensed version of games during the week though. That's what I spent a huge amount of time doing last year and for me, that, along with Red Zone, is where Game Pass is pays for itself. Ravens game / Red Zone / 5 or 6 condensed games summed up my Sunday's and Monday's for most of last year :pac:

As for where I watch games, always at home for me. None of my friends that live close by are into NFL, but I almost prefer watching games at home on my own in peace, discussing them on here and then talking about them with friends that like NFL at the start of the week. I find I'm likely to pick up on and notice a lot more things as I'm able to concentrate better when I watch at home by myself.

There's nothing better than putting your feet up on Sunday with a few beers - Super Sunday in the UK football from 1-6, then straight into the NFL from 6-bed time. Catch up on what has been missed first thing on Monday :)

@Paully_D : Thanks man!

Yeah the thought of watching the condensed games is what im looking forward to, even watching back a recorded game, you're always nearly with one finger on the fast forward button!

Yeah i tend to watch them at home myself but what i miss about watching the games in the US is the banter you have watching with a group of lads, also i find its the only way you really learn about the game is asking someone who knows that bit more about the game.

12 hours non stop of a Sunday, I wouldn't get away with that at all, at all!!! haha

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,017 ✭✭✭Leslie91

Gamepass for me, had the full package last yr they did a decent early bird deal. Don't have Sky and streaming is generally of such inferior quality.

Leslie91 wrote: »
    Gamepass for me, had the full package last yr they did a decent early bird deal. Don't have Sky and streaming is generally of such inferior quality.

Hi Leslie,
    The price is 127GP at the moment, is that early bird or did i miss out? Do you remember how much you paid?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,387 ✭✭✭EKRIUQ

The gamepass is/was free for the Netherlands, New Zealand and one other I think Argentina in 2012-13 and still is as I type this, it was done to promote the NFL sponsored by Visa, they streamed the whole package at no charge, not even a sign in. Now it you lived in any of those countries, thats great, but to move there would be a bit expensive just to watch free NFL games but an alternative is to use a VPN service, completely legal and added security for your connection. Just log in to the Netherland servers and there you can access Gamepass, I pay about €4 for the month but then I can access a host of other sites too.

If someone wants a whole tutorial I can post it if it's allowed.

Hi Leslie,
    The price is 127GP at the moment, is that early bird or did i miss out? Do you remember how much you paid?

I'm almost sure I paid around €120 for it last year and I'm fully sure I purchased around the end of July. That is when current Game Pass subscriptions run out, so they usually throw on some sort of offer to entice people to keep it on.

I'd hold off for another 4 weeks mate. It's not going to go up any more by then and there's a chance it will be reduced a bit.

Paully D wrote: »
    I'm almost sure I paid around €120 for it last year and I'm fully sure I purchased around the end of July. That is when current Game Pass subscriptions run out, so they usually throw on some sort of offer to entice people to keep it on.

I'd hold off for another 4 weeks mate. It's not going to go up any more by then and there's a chance it will be reduced a bit.

Yeah i think i will hold out till closer to pre season so, gives me time to stash some money under the mattress for it!

I just checked mate. It was £99 for just the season or an option of £129 which ran until July 31st so includes the draft. Both those options should be back nearer the end of next month.

A bit strange that the Draft was given free anyway, reckon I'll get the cheaper version this year.

I just checked mate. It was £99 for just the season or an option of £129 which ran until July 31st so includes the draft. Both those options should be back nearer the end of next month.

Yep that sounds right... 99 quid for the season was unreal value imho. No doubt it'll be similar again this year and no rush. Best to buy right before preseason kicks off. For me I buy to end regular season i.e. a wait and see on if my beloved Bolts make the playoffs.

Edit: Hmmmm I see the deal I like is there now for GBP99. That might come down a bit but not by much.

Leslie91 wrote: »
    Yep that sounds right... 99 quid for the season was unreal value imho. No doubt it'll be similar again this year and no rush. Best to buy right before preseason kicks off. For me I buy to end regular season i.e. a wait and see on if my beloved Bolts make the playoffs.

Edit: Hmmmm I see the deal I like is there now for GBP99. That might come down a bit but not by much.

Am i right in saying the 127GBP price won't go down? Just a wee bit confused. Or will it go down when the end of July passes?

Sidenote: Just as i look at the difference between the 127 & 99 package, i probably will go with the 99...il be watching the Play offs live anyways

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,197 ✭✭✭elvis jones

I've held off gamepass in recent years because i had to be up early on a monday BUT i think i'll go for it this season.

Am i right in saying the 127GBP price won't go down? Just a wee bit confused. Or will it go down when the end of July passes?

Sidenote: Just as i look at the difference between the 127 & 99 package, i probably will go with the 99...il be watching the Play offs live anyways

£99 for the season pass won't go down any more than that IMO. If you're just wanting to get the £99 package for the regular season then I'd go ahead if I was you. The price won't go down and the sooner you get it, the sooner you can start watching the archived games from the last few seasons and documentaries on NFL Network etc.

Yeah i downloaded the app on my S3 and used the 3 minute trial...quality! Im actually gonna buy myself a tablet now to enhance the experience ha so i probably will go with the 99GBP one. Not a huge amount of difference in what you get to be honest considering i will probably watch the playoffs live

Thanks for your reply: )

I just had a look at the monthly charge, is that the season pass cut into 4 payments or is it sept, oct, nov, dec and no play offs ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,746 ✭✭✭taidghbaby

I just had a look at the monthly charge, is that the season pass cut into 4 payments or is it sept, oct, nov, dec and no play offs ?
    Playoffs are extra I think!! I think! But would be blocked live anyway cuz sky are showing them!

I think that GBP99 price won't come down but that is a v good price, cheaper than in previous years. Feck it I went I bought it yesterday at this price... if you are in Ireland be sure to change currency to GBP as the IP will change it to Euro and the price at Euro > GBP price after currency translation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,806 ✭✭✭Raoul

I've held off gamepass in recent years because i had to be up early on a monday BUT i think i'll go for it this season.

More reason to get it so you can watch a condensed replay the next day.

Raoul wrote: »
    More reason to get it so you can watch a condensed replay the next day.

Well said, condensed play could lead to divorce:D

That's me all sorted out now for watching at home and online, gonna get gamepass now in July : )

Part of the original question, I watched the superbowl in the portabello and i know superbowl parties were popping up around Dublin City (paddy kearneys) but where (if anywhere) do people watch the regular season games on a Sunday, what bars / pubs specifically?

I know the Woolshed in Parnell St shows a lot of them but is there anywhere else that advertises them as opposed to having to beg the barman to turn it over at 6.00pm?

That's me all sorted out now for watching at home and online, gonna get gamepass now in July : )

Part of the original question, I watched the superbowl in the portabello and i know superbowl parties were popping up around Dublin City (paddy kearneys) but where (if anywhere) do people watch the regular season games on a Sunday, what bars / pubs specifically?

I know the Woolshed in Parnell St shows a lot of them but is there anywhere else that advertises them as opposed to having to beg the barman to turn it over at 6.00pm?
    Portobello shows regular season games too.

Does there be a crowd watches them week in week out?

It's a far stretch for me over the other side of the city but when reg season kicks off i wouldn't mind catching a game or two , even to drive to a bar if it was decent craic

Woolshed is probably the only place that gets a steady crowd for regular season games.

Does there be a crowd watches them week in week out?

It's a far stretch for me over the other side of the city but when reg season kicks off i wouldn't mind catching a game or two , even to drive to a bar if it was decent craic
    Seemed quiet when I was there but I didn't go regularly tbh. Presumably they have a few in there for them because they advertise their regular nfl coverage pretty prominently.

Yeah the Woolshed seems to be more of an option being it over the Northside.

There was a great buzz in the Portabello for the SuperBowl but lot of people just there for the late bar

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1 Magoo991

Check out greg_punzo on twitter. Streaming links to games posted there every week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,818 ✭✭✭Bateman

Gamepass streamed through Apple TV is savage, watched hours of Fantasy tv programming during draft week there last week, her indoors was only delighted :)

bit annoyed I can't stream Sky Go via Apple TV though :mad:

Paully can you PM me the web address of the streaming site you use for 7 a month for the Premiership etc
    cheers