Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Have you ever won much on a scratch card

• 16-06-2013 10:32pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,068 ✭✭✭

Bought one today for the laugh.got a free ticket...then i got 4quid.I went for two more and got 8 quid

Should have banked it but went to another shop for 4 more and my luck ran out

I got greedy

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,785 ✭✭✭Ihatecuddles-old

I bought 2 €2 ones and won €25 and €4.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 343 ✭✭FreshKnickers

No.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,862 ✭✭✭✭January

Most I've won is €25 on a single card.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,467 ✭✭✭smemon

£50 in old money in the mid 90's

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,718 ✭✭✭johnayo

I got 3 stars once.:mad:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,381 ✭✭✭Doom

Myself and a mate bought 40 tickets one day for the craic....won feck all

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,651 ✭✭✭Captain Slow IRL

€25 was the most.

I was in the Dr.'s surgery waiting room one day when a woman there scratched one and nearly **** herself when she won €500.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,557 ✭✭✭mewe

I think 8 quid was the most i've ever won. Heard somewhere before that people who are addicted to scratch cards get their buzz from the anticipation when scratching not the actual winning.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,199 ✭✭✭hollster2

Found a tenner before walking to the shop when I was broke so bought two €1 tickets won €2 on one and €25 on the other :) happy days!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,147 ✭✭✭PizzamanIRL

No.

I hate scratch cards how they tease you with 2 €10,000 reveals on the first line. Getting your hopes up nice and early.

• Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 12,781 Mod ✭✭✭✭Zascar

http://edition.cnn.com/WORLD/asiapcf/9905/27/fringe/australia.luckiest.man/
    Australian truck driver Bill Morgan's extraordinary string of luck began, strangely enough, when he was crushed in a truck accident and suffered a fatal heart attack.

Clinically dead for more than 14 minutes, Morgan was revived. After 12 days in a coma -- during which time his family was advised to unplug life support -- he awoke with all of his facilities intact. A year after his heart stopped, he proposed to his girlfriend, Lisa Wells. She said yes.

And then two weeks ago, he bought a scratch-off lottery ticket and won a car worth $17,000. A Melbourne TV station was so impressed with his run of luck, it decided to do a story on Morgan and re-enact his scratching of the ticket.

As the cameras rolled, Wells won a jackpot worth $170,000 (250,000 Australia dollars). He plans to use the money to buy a house for his bride.

After such extraordinary luck, Morgan is giving up the scratch cards. He says his only wish now is for continuing health and happiness, a sentiment Wells shares.

"I just hope he hasn't used all his good luck up," she said.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,302 ✭✭✭Garzard

The most I've ever won was €4, when I should have won €500. That's what I despise about them - they can promise you hundreds if not thousands, then snatch it away as soon as you scratch away the last of it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 231 ✭✭willah

€25 on all cash gold.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 122 ✭✭mossy2390

Friend won €20,000 once, got the scratchcard in a good luck card for his leaving cert.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,294 ✭✭✭Jumboman

Gambling is a mugs game.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,047 ✭✭✭Hilly Bill

€25 twice last week on the new €10 cards.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,273 ✭✭✭racso1975

25 a couple of times. that was the most

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,295 ✭✭✭SniperSight

Won €5,000 on a €1 All Cash a few years back....that was a good lunch break!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,377 ✭✭✭zenno

The most i won on a €3 scratch-card was €25

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 196 ✭✭baboo800

€25 was the most.

I was in the Dr.'s surgery waiting room one day when a woman there scratched one and nearly **** herself when she won €500.

She wasn't going to see the doctor with constipation anyway

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 260 ✭✭ilovebiology

Specialun wrote: »
    Bought one today for the laugh.got a free ticket...then i got 4quid.I went for two more and got 8 quid

Should have banked it but went to another shop for 4 more and my luck ran out

I got greedy

I once won E25 on a scratch card. I also won a High Court case though!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,959 ✭✭✭✭scudzilla

Scratchcards are just another way of taxing the poor

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,659 ✭✭✭CrazyRabbit

I 'won' a few hundred by never buying them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,850 ✭✭✭Depp

some people are such spoilsports...just hate to see people having fun...most ive ever won was 500 but id usually buy a good few...if yer in a shop buying something and it comes to around 7-8 euro make it up to the tenner with scratchcards :D
    also, today got the aul lad a one of the new tenner scratchards to add some weight to the aul fathers day card...fecker pulled 5000 out of it...

25 on a 2euro all cash.

The lowest form of gambling

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,635 ✭✭✭dublinman1990

One day a few years ago; I was one amount away of winning either €10k or €100k after buying a Winning Streak Scratch Card from my local filling station.

But I than won about €8 on it for that day, not a cent more. My heart was racing like mad though.

The only ones I would win money are the Winning Streak cards. The rest are fit for the bin.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 262 ✭✭Bench Press

€25 myself, cousin won £1000 in old money years ago

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,073 ✭✭✭gobnaitolunacy

Has anyone ever won anything on the non-Lotto ones I wonder? The ones they sell outside supermarkets for charity.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,822 ✭✭✭sunflower27

€50 last year. I very rarely buy them, maybe one every few months, so it was a nice surprise. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,558 ✭✭✭seven_eleven

I got 21 scratchcards for my 21st birthday

I wont nothing, not even a free.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 478 ✭✭Duvetdays

When I was little me and a friend went to the shop and outside on the ground somebody had thrown away a scratch card that was a £50 winner. The girl in the shop let us cash it. I bought £25 worth of polly pockets, felt like I'd won the lotto.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,199 ✭✭✭hollster2

I bought 2 €1 euro scratch cards yesterday won €8 euro and a free one whoop lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 297 ✭✭RossyG

Yes. In the mid-90's I won a pound. I was thrilled.

Unfortunately, I blew it on another scratch card and lost the lot.

But for a while I felt rich.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,625 ✭✭✭Sofaspud

Garzard wrote: »
    The most I've ever won was €4, when I should have won €500.

Why, did the ticket say you won €500 but they only gave you €4?

Otherwise I don't see how you "should have" won €500

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,110 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tar.Aldarion

never bought any before but did telly bingo once and won a cool 30e or something. Wouldnt mind buying one for the fun some time but never would occur to me really.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,788 ✭✭✭tvnutz

€200 worth of All-for-One vouchers on a Hampers and Roses ticket that my late Granny gave me a few years ago. It was in the form of four €50 vouchers, one of which I used. My Dad bought the other three off of me 'cause he always uses those vouchers in hardware shops. I bought a little present for Gran afterwards, of course. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,874 ✭✭✭rolliepoley

My sister won 5000 when they first came out back in the eighties.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 854 ✭✭✭tacofries

bought 1 today, won 6euro. bought 2 more, won €5 and got 3stars. used the winnings plus a euro to buy 2 more. got another 3 stars on one, and another €5 on another. added a euro again and bought two more. Won €6 on one of them so bought 2 more! Won €5 on one of them so pocketed €2 and bought another one. no luck though! though I am entered into two holiday draws and am sending two tickets off for the big money game show,.. fingers crossed!! Great buzz scratching!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,425 ✭✭✭Festy

I won 3.50 once

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,568 ✭✭✭candy-gal1

Won quite a few times on them, usually just a few quid each time, but still :D

I seemed to get more on the lotto though, but not for a few years at least, I think the most I got was about 50 or so euro which was my dads winning ticket and we shared :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,316 ✭✭✭darlett

Jumboman wrote: »
    Gambling is a mugs game.

Cups is a gambling game.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2 alan_123

"SCRATCH & WIN US$170,000 from our Holiday Travel Sponsors!"

Australians & New Zealanders are falling for Travel Brochures with scratch cards! Everyone who gets the glossy printed brochure (arrives by post) turns out to be a winner of US$170,000! "Second Prize!"

Ugh! No First Prize Winners! The scam is being operated out of Malaysia as reported at: http://www.scamcallfighters.com/blog.html

There are a number of fake holiday travel / resort websites involved in this scratchy scam. Beware of this scam while you plan your Holiday in Malaysia, Singapore or Hong Kong

The travel brochure arrives after you search for resorts in Malaysia and submit your info at one of those scam websites