Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Ever been threatened with a Weapon?

• 15-06-2013 11:25pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,797 ✭✭✭

Well have ya?

Ive had guns pointed at me twice.

As a kid by a farmer after he caught me stealing his silage pit tyres at halloween.

And by an angry security guard in spain when I fell into a hotel pissed,crazy bastard.

Got any syringe,gun,knife,grenade related stories?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,366 ✭✭✭✭Kylo Ren

Well have ya?

Ive had guns pointed at me twice.

As a kid by a farmer after he caught me stealing his silage pit tyres at halloween.

And by an angry security guard in spain when I fell into a hotel pissed,crazy bastard.

Got any syringe,gun,knife,grenade related stories?

Where the fook do you think we live?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,396 ✭✭✭Frosty McSnowballs

Yep

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,903 ✭✭✭frozenfrozen

Pinned down as a 6 year old and a swiss army knife held to my neck by a guy who must have been about 12 as he was in my sisters class in school.. he told me he didn't mean it and said not to tell my parents because he was only joking and I would get in trouble... she probably wouldn't shift him or something

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,933 ✭✭✭smurgen

Got a gun put to my eye in the back of a nightclub in tijuana by a bouncer.I was so drunk it didn't even frighten me all that much.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,299 ✭✭✭✭MadsL

Had a gun pointed at me twice, both in Czech Republic.

Once by a cop who wasn't happy that I was twirling a firestaff in a park on Witches Night - a traditional fire festival (30 April is pálení čarodějnic ("burning of the witches") or čarodějnice ("the witches") in the Czech Republic, the day when winter is ceremonially brought to the end by the burning of rag and straw witches or just broomsticks on bonfires around the country. The festival offers Czechs the chance to eat, drink and be merry around a roaring fire.)

He roared at me - but I didn't speak Czech at the time. I soon stopped when I realised he had a gun levelled at me. Remarkably sobering effect too.

The other one was New Year's Eve where a dick in a BMW tries to drive through a heavy crowd. The crowd banged on the car as he was driving too fast. He jumps out and starts waving a pistol around. I disappeared quick smart.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,116 ✭✭✭starviewadams

Was robbed at knifepoint by two coked up Eastern European lads in the back street behind Clery's on O'Connell Street about 10 years ago,was sure I was going to be stabbed until a council roadsweeper interupted them and they legged it.Was my own fault for walking that way in fairness.

Was held up at syringe and can of petrol point when I used to work in a shop on Amiens Street as a teenager too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,033 ✭✭✭Call me Al

I was mugged by two teenagers at knifepoint at an ATM beside my apartment. They roughed me up and held the knife in full view so that I knew what was coming down the line. What saved me was a stranger coming out of an apartment across the road who heard me screaming for help and scared them off.
    I have relived that experience over and over in my head so many times.
    It didn't happen in Ireland btw.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,145 ✭✭✭LETHAL LADY

When I was twelve a dirty auld perv flashed me at the walkway behind the castle in my hometown. :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,573 ✭✭✭✭kowloon

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,818 ✭✭✭donvito99

Does a mickey count as a weapon?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,992 ✭✭✭Dr Turk Turkelton

Pinned down as a 6 year old and a swiss army knife held to my neck by a guy who must have been about 12 as he was in my sisters class in school.. he told me he didn't mean it and said not to tell my parents because he was only joking and I would get in trouble... she probably wouldn't shift him or something

Knowing your sister that wasn't the reason!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,354 ✭✭✭nocoverart

"As a kid by a farmer after he caught me stealing his silage pit tyres at halloween."

You so Gangsta, bro.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,689 ✭✭✭Karl Stein

I'm highly trained to run away very fast from confrontation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,573 ✭✭✭✭kowloon

Seriously though, I was threatened with a hand grenade once in a stall in the men's restroom of a well known dancing club in Dunshauglin. The proximity made it a bit of an idle threat so we just stared at other awkwardly. Also, our penises were touching.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,622 ✭✭✭Ruu

Does a metal t-square count? The was our technical drawing teacher, lovely man most of the time, other times he is a crazy bastid.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,797 ✭✭✭Sir Osis of Liver.

donvito99 wrote: »
    Does a mickey count as a weapon?
    Its classed as a Smelly Offensive Weapon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,783 ✭✭✭RidleyRider

Was held at knife point when I was 6 when my Mam had gone into a friends house for literally 2 minutes. All the bitch wanted was my mams hand bag. Got to ride about with coppers for a few hours and played with the siren too which is always epic for kids :pac:

Was in the cinema another time taking a slash in the urinals and a dude came up behind me demanding money. I said to him hold on while I finish pissing and proceeded to elbow him in the gut and pin him to the floor. Was thought self defence as an early teen :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,396 ✭✭✭Frosty McSnowballs

Its classed as a Smelly Offensive Weapon.

Or a WMD!

Willy Micky Dick

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,690 ✭✭✭✭Skylinehead

Well, a junkie said he had a knife when he attempted to mug me. He asked me for the time, I said something, he obviously wanted to see my phone instead. Clearly in no state to stab me, so I walked off (still quickly, mind).

Funnily enough, he tried the same thing a month later. Probably in a worse state than before.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 810 ✭✭✭fermanagh_man

Guy tried to mug me with a screw driver when i was in uni in Belfast

He didn't know i was a boxer ;)

Really should have mugged him but figured flooring him was enough

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,136 ✭✭✭✭Rayne Wooney

Was held at knife point when I was 6 when my Mam had gone into a friends house for literally 2 minutes. All the bitch wanted was my mams hand bag. Got to ride about in coppers for a few hours and played with the siren too which is always epic for kids :pac:

Was in the cinema another time taking a slash in the urinals and a dude came up behind me demanding money. I said to him hold on while I finish pissing and proceeded to elbow him in the gut and pin him to the floor. Was thought self defence as an early teen :)

Don't we all..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,586 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

You're actually never more than fifteen feet away from a hand grenade.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,148 ✭✭✭MickFleetwood

Had a knife held up against my throat once during a mugging.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 419 ✭✭EireIceMan

MadsL wrote: »
    I disappeared quick smart.
    Awwight Danny Dyer...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

My housemate threatened me with a carving knife one night when we got into a drunken argument. Even in my drunken state I knew he wouldn't use it, he doesn't have it in him. It was a brash foolish statement in an attempt to win a stupid argument. He apologised the next morning and we got on with it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,533 ✭✭✭Jester252

Was talking with some friends when some knacker runs up a pulls a small pen knife on my 5"5' 10 stone friend claim that he was eyeballing him. He never got to finish his reason why he pulled the knife as ny 6"2' 14 stone friend got him into a sleeper hold that would make Ken Shamrock proud.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,479 ✭✭✭Notorious97

Used to work in a shop in jervis shopping centre, i was about 16, junkie had made his way up to the office at the back, grabbed me and tried to stab me, i remember him being stronger than me and i was able to keep it out of me but had impression mark on my stomach when i looked as it was pressing against me.

Anyway he got a good couple of grand as i was preparing the lodgements, some other eejit left the security door open he was able to walk up to where i was!

Anyway he got away, a year later some junkie in shop claiming he had been locked up with some guy who bragged he robbed the shop, we kept a hold of him til gards showed up, took his statement etc, turns out he was right! Talk about weird, but that junkie who robbed the shop, had hep or someting the gard told me, was given less than 6 months to live so i guess karma got him back!

Sorry long winded, just thought id share!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,002 ✭✭✭jay-me

Threatened by a crazy fecker in North Korea who apparently had a nuke.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,116 ✭✭✭starviewadams

Jester252 wrote: »
    Was talking with some friends when some knacker runs up a pulls a small pen knife on my 5"5' 10 stone friend claim that he was eyeballing him. He never got to finish his reason why he pulled the knife as ny 6"2' 14 stone friend got him into a sleeper hold that would make Ken Shamrock proud.

Ken was always more of an ankle lock man!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,377 ✭✭✭zenno

Had a few shotguns pointed at me from some so-called (as they said) Irish republican army guy's that were robbing our warehouse a good few years ago in the north inner city.

While everyone was sitting on the ground as they were told, i was reading the sunday world lying against a work-bench, and one of the guy's said GET DOWN in a northern Irish accent so i did and hit the ground on my belly like i was surfing on a surf-board. The main head of this 5 gang was losing his temper looking for the money and went over to my brother with a handgun and was going to shoot him in the leg unless money was forthcoming, which it did in the end.

That was the last time i was threatened with a weapon.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 941 ✭✭✭Ciderswigger

My housemate threatened me with a carving knife one night when we got into a drunken argument. Even in my drunken state I knew he wouldn't use it, he doesn't have it in him. It was a brash foolish statement in an attempt to win a stupid argument. He apologised the next morning and we got on with it.

Same kinda story. Sorta. This w@nker moved into the spare room in the house I was living in and came after me with a steak knife while off his head on drugs. He followed me down to my room and slowly dragged the blade up and down the door and kept ranting and raving. None of the doors had locks on them (except the bathroom) so I had to wedge the chair under the handle and try not to **** myself. Then there was silence and the next thing I saw was him outside my window with the knife. I legged it outta the house and stayed away till midnight.

I was the worlds worst then when I insisted he move out!:rolleyes:

Same kinda story. Sorta. This w@nker moved into the spare room in the house I was living in and came after me with a steak knife while off his head on drugs. He followed me down to my room and slowly dragged the blade up and down the door and kept ranting and raving. None of the doors had locks on them (except the bathroom) so I had to wedge the chair under the handle and try not to **** myself. Then there was silence and the next thing I saw was him outside my window with the knife. I legged it outta the house and stayed away till midnight.

I was the worlds worst then when I insisted he move out!:rolleyes:
    Did he freeze to death in a hedge maze?
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9CMmwVRAtaI

• Closed Accounts Posts: 539 ✭✭✭iDann

Wooden spoon... dare I say more...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,204 ✭✭✭elfy4eva

A group of young traveler lads mugged me in my local park at knife point when I was 12. Horrible experience.

I think the majority of the country had a weapon put to them in the last while.. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,539 ✭✭✭dobman88

Someone pulled a knife on me outside my house when 4 lads were looking to "get" my brother. My bro was out but a mate had told me these lads were on the way up. And just as I went out to meet them my Dad pulled up. 3 ran off and the one with the knife thought he was very brave, not so much with a 5 iron opening his knee cap :) Nobody else has come to the door for trouble since :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 956 ✭✭✭jamaamaj

Keno 92 wrote: »
    Where the fook do you think we live?

Ireland.
    You think grenade related stories don't happen?
    Can think of a few in Crumlin, Drimnagh, blanchardstown and city centre.

dobman88 wrote: »
    Someone pulled a knife on me outside my house when 4 lads were looking to "get" my brother. My bro was out but a mate had told me these lads were on the way up. And just as I went out to meet them my Dad pulled up. 3 ran off and the one with the knife thought he was very brave, not so much with a 5 iron opening his knee cap :) Nobody else has come to the door for trouble since :)
    Why were they out to get your brother?

Was it golf related?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,085 ✭✭✭meoklmrk91

Not yet thankfully, some scary stories in this thread. We would all like to think we would give as good as we got in such a situation but I don't think anyone knows how they would react until they are put in it.

meoklmrk91 wrote: »
    Not yet thankfully, some scary stories in this thread. We would all like to think we would give as good as we got in such a situation but I don't think anyone knows how they would react until they are put in it.

Life was never non-scary, expect the unexpected :)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 806 ✭✭✭getzls

Had two shots fired at me, another time someone aimed at me but didn't fire.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,085 ✭✭✭meoklmrk91

zenno wrote: »
    Life was never non-scary, expect the unexpected :)

Wise words my friend, wise words. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,518 ✭✭✭stefan idiot jones

meoklmrk91 wrote: »

I think Too Tough To Die would laugh at such insolence.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 341 ✭✭Hownowcow

Threatened with guns a couple of times. Knives a few times, slightly cut. Blunt instruments a bit, marked. All when I was younger.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,739 ✭✭✭✭minidazzler

That's a stupid point of view, you weren't dealing with him, you were dealing with drink...you can turn your back on a person, but you should never turn your back on a drug.

Had a scumbag pull a knife on me when I was working Oxegen 2008, Security were under the nice canopy and saw nothing, I didn't have anything to give him, so he just fcuked off.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,151 ✭✭✭rovoagho

A guy in Mahon in Cork waved a butter knife at me when I was younger, and drove a bit too fast in his estate. It had butter on it.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 17,231 Mod ✭✭✭✭Das Kitty

Some guy pulled a gun on me in Prague. He and his mates were robbing the apartment block we were renting in, walked into our one while we were there, walked back out then 2 minutes later there was a knock on the door.

At that stage I just thought he'd walked in accidentally (been given the wrong key by the letting agency), so I put the chain on the door and opened it a crack. He stuck the gun through the gap and shouted something in Czech. The only Czech I knew was how to say I don't speak it, so he repeated in English "Police, stay in the apartment."

Wasn't going to argue with that!

The real police arrive around an hour later but all the empty apartments had been stripped. All we had of value were our passports. Went to the crowd we booked the holiday from asking WTF (these guys had keys) and I suppose I was a bit niave and didn't demand some sort of remuneration from them.

Nowadays I would have threatened to spread the story on the webternet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,324 ✭✭✭JustAThought

Call me Al wrote: »
    I was mugged by two teenagers at knifepoint at an ATM beside my apartment. They roughed me up and held the knife in full view so that I knew what was coming down the line. What saved me was a stranger coming out of an apartment across the road who heard me screaming for help and scared them off.
    I have relived that experience over and over in my head so many times.
    It didn't happen in Ireland btw.

Had a gun out to my head in a tourist bar in Holland. Offered the guy my wallet but when he saw how little I had in there he didn't take it. As the guy stood there the other one was frisking the tourists for wallets at the other side of the bar. Will never forget how this American guy roared & screamed about not giving his wallet while his friends screamed at him to give it & me standing there with a gun on the side oif my head thinking if this guy freaks out I'm dead. Never been as still or quiet in my life.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,666 ✭✭✭tritium

Had a junkie pull a knife on me when he was trying to rob the shop I was working in a few years back. Was all set to (foolishly) have a go (I was a pretty good martial artist back then) but it never came to that- the owner came out with a hammer in her hands and murder in her eyes! First time I'd ever seen a junkie sh!t themselves and leg it at the same time :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,737 ✭✭✭✭kylith

Had a guy pull a knife at my 17th birthday party. He'd arrived with some friends of mine, but I knew he was a weirdo. The house was full of people including fellas who liked to talk bout how much they worked out and how tough they were and they all left little ol' me to kick a knife wielding nutter out of my gaff. I took some deep breaths, channelled my inner Irish Mammy and roared him out of it. Luckily for me he was so drunk that he reacted on autopilot to an authoritative tone and I got him to leave. He spent the night outside, staring at the house, the ****ing nutbag.