Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Do you have an LSD?

• 14-06-2013 6:01pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,792 ✭✭✭

No real reason for this thread other than I'm curious :P:P

I don't have one but over the last few wet days I kinda wish I had :o

So what about you?

Do you have an LSD? 26 votes

Yes
    0%
    No
    100%
    Matt SimisARGINITEalanmcb318ispNeilwkirvingPlugWibbsGary ITRAnan1djimiottostreetFerrisJcDubz4lifes14driftkingtd2008OREGATOCheensboBasil Fawltyants09 26 votes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,072 ✭✭✭keithsfleet

Don't really see the point unless you track your car or drive hard from A to B.
    You might be thinking of traction control when you mentioned wet weather.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 62 ✭✭JcDubz4life

No
    Yep standerd in my car

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,534 ✭✭✭SV

None of your business Garda.
    Watch out for the dragon on your way out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,302 ✭✭✭Supergurrier

Nope

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,876 ✭✭✭Scortho

I don't have central locking or electric windows. So definitely not

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,129 ✭✭✭kirving

No
    The car I'm building has one of these! About 5k or so including driveshafts!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,792 ✭✭✭Ded_Zebra

No I mean an LSD not traction control. Traction control often (not always) has some sort of stability control too which I don't want.

Lol, I'm doing Mechanical engineering in Bolton Street (third year). I'm hoping to do formula student next year :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,987 ✭✭✭ottostreet

No
    Yes, yes I do!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,718 ✭✭✭Matt Simis

No
    LSD's are awesome, electronic TC is $hitty. He mentioned the weather as thats the point of an LSD, to stop the one tyre fire in limited traction situations.. which are exacerbated in rain, snow, gravel, wet grass etc.

Powerful FWD cars are utterly wasted IMO without LSD's and Powerful RWD much safer and more enjoyable with them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,519 ✭✭✭TrailerBob

No
    I have an LSD on the back axle.. But also a locking centre diff, low range and full time 4x4.. So I don't think it's for the same reasons you lads have one!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,999 ✭✭✭68 lost souls

yeah pretty sure I have a Beatles CD in there somewhere

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,069 ✭✭✭✭CiniO

All what came to my mind when I though about LSD was those little paper yokes you put under your tongue...

I never actually though it's mechanical component ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,704 ✭✭✭Cheensbo

No
    Rear lsd on the surf, great job :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,985 ✭✭✭✭dgt

I wish.... The E34 can be a handful if pushed, the 166 can have its asr defeated easily and the 406 is getting closer towards needing one!

Someday....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 715 ✭✭✭ants09

No
    First e30 has
    Second e30 hasnt
    E46 hasnt
    e39 has
    and also a weilded diff but not in a car

No
    I like how the poll results would imply like half of this forum have awesome diff'ed cars.. :pac:

Matt Simis wrote: »
    I like how the poll results would imply like half of this forum have awesome diff'ed cars.. :pac:

Yeah very surprising results! I was expecting about 1 in 5.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,140 ✭✭✭alanmc

No
    I have a viscous (not vicious) LSD I believe.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,801 ✭✭✭✭Gary ITR

No
    I have one made from carbon fibre :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 943 ✭✭✭bbsrs

Scortho wrote: »
    I don't have central locking or electric windows. So definitely not

I don't have central locking or elec windows but I do have an LSD

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,705 ✭✭✭✭Tigger

busa engine ?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 79 ✭✭Photoshop

This conversation actually came up the other day, made an idiot of myself trying to explain it.

Trying to sell it :P

I have a 3 Mps which has a lsd as standard.

Like this one in the video.

What advantage would it give in my car and is it worth bragging about?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,570 ✭✭✭Rovi

bbsrs wrote: »
    I don't have central locking or elec windows but I do have an LSD

One of mine doesn't even have locks or windows (or doors!), but it does have air operated fully locking differentials :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,649 ✭✭✭b318isp

No
    I have in my E30. Easier to get the car sideways, and control it once it is there.

One of the best upgrades I have ever made.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,248 ✭✭✭Plug

No
    My Falcon has one cause it needs it!

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,217 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

No
    Having gone from nearly the same model of car without an LSD to one with, I'd not have a FWD car without one if I had the choice. It's so much more sure footed and safer going into corners and roundabouts, especially in the wet. And that's at normal everyday speeds BTW. I drive like a granny 99% of the time so I'm not talking about racing around.

On a RWD it's definitely a nice extra, but as a granny driver I could live without it, but in FWD it's a game changer IMHO. Again IMHO if they were fitted as standard to all FWD cars they would decrease accidents. In a FWD with any sort of poke under the bonnet it's damn near a requirement. Having had such a car in the past minus the LSD you could easily enough get into trouble in the wet where rosary beads were contemplated.

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,223 ✭✭✭Nissan doctor

I have 2 LSD's in the garage but none fitted to any cars.:o

No
    Photoshop wrote: »
    This conversation actually came up the other day, made an idiot of myself trying to explain it.
    Trying to sell it :P

I have a 3 Mps which has a lsd as standard.

Like this one in the video.

What advantage would it give in my car and is it worth bragging about?

Yes, its worth bragging about. :D
    The Mazda MPS's have a GKN Driveline LSD.
    http://www.gkn.com/driveline/our-solutions/trans-axle-solutions/limited-slip-and-locking-differentials/Documents/datasheets/Super_LSD.pdf

What advantages? Many, just look at the Alfa video I posted! In a nutshell:

- Unlike Traction control, which brakes the spinning wheel, an LSD limits slip by moving the torque away from the free spinning wheel to the wheel with traction.
    - Therefore you get smooth controlled power/progress, not the lurchy "on and off" feeling that TC kicking in does.
    - Pulling away from the side of the road, you dont get the wheel on the gravel / grass spinning away, throwing dirt everywhere and you not moving.
    - Similarly, in theory if one of your front wheels fell off you should still be able to drive/steer on an LSD car (pending the exact type of LSD system, ie not Torsen).
    - Easier to drive in the wet and snow, especially on bends and hard launches.
    - Means you can put down power on a roundabout for instance without torque steering across the other lane.

They are a huge boost to safety and power.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,354 ✭✭✭Sobanek

I don't have an LSD, but I do have some LSD :D