Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Are the Irish prudish?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,425 ✭✭✭Festy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,472 ✭✭✭✭Grayson

who the hell stapled dresses to it? had to be her own publicists.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 358 ✭✭Weevil

If only-

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,592 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

Thought it was teenage girls she appealed to,why is she showing off her breasts?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,829 ✭✭✭Nemeses

Maybe its to gain more attention for advertising.....

That's how its done!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,390 ✭✭✭IM0

no, but some biddies clearly are. and gob****es too, it didnt even shown anything. stupid ***** :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 130 ✭✭V123

I wouldn't class myself as prudish but in this situation, I think Rihanna and her team are deliberately doing this as a shock tactic and its pathetic.

Rihanna cant seem to just release a song and let the music speak for itself. The song with Calvin Harris seemed to me to be glorifying drug use. She posts stupid pictures of herself on twitter smoking what looks like cannabis and pics of herself half naked- I personally have no issue with smoking - its just that she is trying to hard and anything to shock people. Lots of people have smoked a bit of cannabis at some stage experimentally or whatever but people don't go round broadcasting it!

Her team know that she caused controversy in the North and they are just trying to do it again to get more publicity- its like the likes of paris Hilton and kim k - they got famous for a sex tape - now a lot of celebs seem to produce a sex tape- some people will be offended by this image plastered on their streets! If we want porn its readily available on the internet so we don't need Rihanna to provide it for us!

Also what kind of image does it portray to young girls? that you cant be successful without taking your top off??

Im sure she has nothing to do with it all anyway - I imagine the people behind her choose her songs, videos, pics and she just agrees to do it so I wouldn't class her as an artist anyhow if art is what shes claiming it is!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 623 ✭✭✭QuiteInterestin

Clever marketing ploy I'd say if its making the news here in Ireland and the UK. No such thing as bad publicity

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 901 ✭✭✭Vicar in a tutu

Don't think it's prudish at all, Rihanna's very vulgar, it's a distasteful billboard, she doesn't need to get her tits out to sell tickets.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,628 ✭✭✭Femme_Fatale

Depends on what a person's definition of prudishness is. A person could be very sexually adventurous but despise tackiness.

A woman could dress like Rihanna yet be sexually conservative.

V123 wrote: »
    I wouldn't class myself as prudish but in this situation, I think Rihanna and her team are deliberately doing this as a shock tactic and its pathetic.

Rihanna cant seem to just release a song and let the music speak for itself. The song with Calvin Harris seemed to me to be glorifying drug use. She posts stupid pictures of herself on twitter smoking what looks like cannabis and pics of herself half naked- I personally have no issue with smoking - its just that she is trying to hard and anything to shock people. Lots of people have smoked a bit of cannabis at some stage experimentally or whatever but people don't go round broadcasting it!

Her team know that she caused controversy in the North and they are just trying to do it again to get more publicity- its like the likes of paris Hilton and kim k - they got famous for a sex tape - now a lot of celebs seem to produce a sex tape- some people will be offended by this image plastered on their streets! If we want porn its readily available on the internet so we don't need Rihanna to provide it for us!

Also what kind of image does it portray to young girls? that you cant be successful without taking your top off??

Im sure she has nothing to do with it all anyway - I imagine the people behind her choose her songs, videos, pics and she just agrees to do it so I wouldn't class her as an artist anyhow if art is what shes claiming it is!

and some people will be offended because she is black too, what doboth of those groups have in common? they are both retards

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 757 ✭✭✭Laneyh

didn't click the link as it's the Daily Mail but I already saw posts about this online.
    I would say in the main Irish people are no longer prudish.

I guess it would be interesting to see the reaction to someone topless sun bathing here but alas the sun has left us again so no way of knowing for now.

The dresses actually look quite fun but I assume it is to raise awareness for a cause related to advertising / women / sexualisation of young girls through pop culture. Or maybe it was just done for the laugh.

Somebody near where I leave continously writes slogans about Bono on any billboards and event posters in the vicinity
    Another person added text to the Robbie Williams poster where he has Love tattoed on his knuckles some smart alec has written I above it and pies below it so it reads 'I love pies'

There were a reasonable number of complaints about the Hunky Dory ads too but I don't think people are prudish in their day to day life.

Several years ago one of my friend's housemates was a buyer for Penneys (Primark) in the UK. She said at the time that they had released a lingerie range in the UK that they thought was too risque for Ireland. They went ahead and released the range about a month later in Ireland and it sold out fairly rapidly. It doesn't sound like the actions of a bunch of prudes unless the bargain was just too tempting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,592 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

Don't get why every female singer has to near naked.

ok IMO ya little troll! calm down!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,301 ✭✭✭Daveysil15

Depends on what a person's definition of prudishness is. A person could be very sexually adventurous but despise tackiness.

A woman could dress like Rihanna yet be sexually conservative.

Ahh the mysteries of life. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,320 ✭✭✭Ace Attorney

its 2013 and people are annoyed by some tits on billboard that arent even exposed :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23 rolox

depends on your age group!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,180 ✭✭✭hfallada

It sounds like a celebrity publicity job where they flash their vag "accidently". But its all over the press.

Like a wanna celebrities sex tape is always "stolen" and they become huge over night

ok IMO ya little troll! calm down!

very rich coming from yourself ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,299 ✭✭✭✭MadsL

The UK and Ireland seem very hung up on body issues frankly, even the US with it's right wing Christian tendancies accepts nudism in certain places. I have always found the UK and Ireland to be ridiculously obsessed with covering up.

Ouote:very rich coming from yourself

fair point imo!

Im not really annoyed about the nudity more so that the way its used to sell the music!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,582 ✭✭✭✭kowloon

People here get offended by builders with no tops on or by breast feeding, it doesn't surprise me in the least that people are covering up the posters. I remember the Wonderbra posters causing trouble. We still have censored books ffs.
    kneemos wrote: »
    Don't get why every female singer has to near naked.

Just the ones who feel they can't get by on their music alone.

its 2013 and people are annoyed by some tits on billboard that arent even exposed :rolleyes:

Are they? Whoever pinned the dresses on remains anonymous at the moment so we don't know why they did it.

I doubt many if any people have complained about the implied nudity.
    I think it's more likely people being offended by the crass marketing ploy
    particularly coming from a female pop star who is a role model to a lot of young girls.

I walk past the poster every day and it is in no way remarkable nor is it graphic in content or even shocking.

It is a bit pathetic though, that it's 2013 and all advertising moguls plus music industry promoters can come up with to promote female popstars is a bit of suggested nudity.

One Direction are probably the world's biggest boy band right now and again role models to thousands of kids (mostly young girls) but the only time you see them in any state of undress is in paparazzi pics

Not shocked, offended or massively bothered by it tbh but if I had a daughter who was a Rhianna fan I might be a bit disappointed

Im not really annoyed about the nudity more so that the way its used to sell the music!

sex sells dearie, have you been living under a rock?

Laneyh wrote: »
    Are they? Whoever pinned the dresses on remains anonymous at the moment so we don't know why they did it.

I doubt there are many under middle age who are offended, don't get me wrong, but there are plenty of prudes alive and kicking here. It wasn't that long ago in the grand scheme of things that The Life of Brian was banned in this country. Anyone remember Virgin Megastores getting in trouble for selling evil birth control devices?
    It's all part of an outdated moral code that'll die out with time.

IM0 wrote: »
    no, but some biddies clearly are. and gob****es too, it didnt even shown anything. stupid ***** :rolleyes:

biddies with good taste , those dresses were actually very nice
    If it didn't show anything why are you so wound up that someone covered it up ?

and some people will be offended because she is black too, what doboth of those groups have in common? they are both retards

What a well thought out and reasonable argument you make...oh no wait, you didn't you just referred to some ficticious group of racists as retards.

Good effort

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,554 ✭✭✭Pat Mustard

There's nothing worse than dropping into Tesco and seeing chavs in pyjamas.

Now people are going around topless. What may be suitable for the beach or the pool isn't necessarily suitable for walking down Grafton Street, now is it?

It's high time we had some proper fashion laws in this country.

Things to be outlawed could be:

- Black shoes with white socks.
    - Pyjamas in public.
    - Going around topless in public.
    - Shemagh scarves in non-paramilitary settings.
    - Tracksuits with one leg tucked into a sock.
    - Sheepskin jackets.
    - Boat shoes in non nautical settings.
    - Berets (excepting cast of 'Allo 'Allo.)
    - Stripy leggings.
    - Pyjamas in public.
    - Orange makeup.
    - Hoopy earrings more than 2cm diameter.
    - Collar up on ones shirt.

It might be a bit drastic to actually fine or imprison people, so maybe they could be forced to watch Gok Wan for a first offence, followed by a reduction in dole by 20% for a second offence.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 317 ✭✭d15ude

yes!

folks wearing trunks and bathing suits in the sauna.
    towels and bathrobes in changing rooms.

then again bare chested guys walking everywhere in the summer :eek:

i don't know...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,351 ✭✭✭NegativeCreep

Why should she care? It's not Rihanna's job to set an example for other people's kids.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 518 ✭✭✭otto_26

What about young children walking around the streets looking up at her tits?

Oh wait silly me it's the 21st century I must get with it.

otto_26 wrote: »
    What about young children walking around the streets looking up at her tits?

Oh wait silly me it's the 21st century I must get with it.

Considering they were probably feeding off some a few short years before I fail to see the problem.

Children don't get offended by these things, it's learned behaviour. The real changes are in how adults are dealing with it.

Laneyh wrote: »

I doubt many if any people have complained about the implied nudity.
    I think it's more likely people being offended by the crass marketing ploy
    particularly coming from a female pop star who is a role model to a lot of young girls.

I walk past the poster every day and it is in no way remarkable nor is it graphic in content or even shocking.

It is a bit pathetic though, that it's 2013 and all advertising moguls plus music industry promoters can come up with to promote female popstars is a bit of suggested nudity.

One Direction are probably the world's biggest boy band right now and again role models to thousands of kids (mostly young girls) but the only time you see them in any state of undress is in paparazzi pics

Not shocked, offended or massively bothered by it tbh but if I had a daughter who was a Rhianna fan I might be a bit disappointed

If the half naked girl thats not showing any bits bothers people so much, one might argue then about the diet coke adverts , the one where the girls throw the diet coke at the guy cutting the lawn and he takes off his top, most diet cokes adverts seem to involve half naked guys bar a few. Topless guys are all over the place too in those calvin klein ads and heat magazine etc so its common place to see both sexes advertised topless, not just female popstars, but male moviestars and footballers etc, its not just confined to woman

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,628 ✭✭✭Femme_Fatale

d15ude wrote: »
    yes!

folks wearing trunks and bathing suits in the sauna.
    towels and bathrobes in changing rooms.

then again bare chested guys walking everywhere in the summer :eek:

i don't know...
    I don't see anything prudish about not wanting to be naked in front of strangers. It's just a personal preference.

I don't think anyone should be expected to do anything they're uncomfortable, like you say, it's personal preference. What I would take issue with is other people imposing their set of rules on others, I would have considered my Grandmother prudish for disapproving of someone on the street for not wearing a frock based on the traditional spud sack design.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,635 ✭✭✭Pumpkinseeds

Sex sells and Rhianna is essentially earning her living based on her looks, fair enough. She only has a limited shelf life before things start to go south so she might as well cash in on it while she can. People probably complained about the 'Hello boys' wonder bra posters back in the day. I remember cringing when I saw that farmer on the news talking about God:o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,076 ✭✭✭✭Czarcasm

Sex sells and Rhianna is essentially earning her living based on her looks, fair enough. She only has a limited shelf life before things start to go south so she might as well cash in on it while she can. People probably complained about the 'Hello boys' wonder bra posters back in the day. I remember cringing when I saw that farmer on the news talking about God:o

I remember that, it was blamed for causing traffic jams and crashes! :pac:

Most iconic billboard advert of all time apparently-

http://m.huffpost.com/us/entry/844105

(I just remember around that time when I took a girl home from the club and feeling cheated when her D cups turned out to be B cups! :pac:)

As for the Rihanna billboards, sure there's every possibility that was just some kids having a laugh and nothing to do with anything prudish whatsoever.

Sure Rihanna isn't doing anything Madonna wasn't doing back in the 80's with lyrics such as "like a virgin, touched for the very first time...", and "Papa don't preach, I'm in trouble now...", a song about teenage pregnancy, not to mention her sex book, appropriately enough titled "Sex", in which she posed semi-nude in all sorts of suggestive sexual positions with various male models.

Rihanna's efforts to appear "edgy" are only kids play tbh compared to what actually WAS edgy 30 years before her, when she wasn't even born yet! :pac:

It's hilarious how the diet coke ad is ALWAYS brought up in every single discussion on this
    That one single ad

Female ad complaint #283702987350957: Yes BUT what about that diet coke ad!

And is it only women who drink Diet Coke?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,299 ✭✭✭✭MadsL

No But I would prefer that I didn't have to inhale your sweaty/chlorinated swimwear if I share a sauna with you. Being naked in a sauna isn't about being 'liberated' it is basic hygiene for the comfort of others.

Go into a sauna in most of Europe in a swimsuit and you will be thrown out quick smart.

bluewolf wrote: »
    It's hilarious how the diet coke ad is ALWAYS brought up in every single discussion on this
    That one single ad

Female ad complaint #283702987350957: Yes BUT what about that diet coke ad!

There are quite a few diet coke adverts to do with guys like these ones:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TdrE1VMxzoE and https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=l0O8t4zXQy8
    so i thought that would be revelent to the discussion, also i thought it is an example everyone would be aware of

MadsL wrote: »
    Go into a sauna in most of Europe in a swimsuit and you will be thrown out quick smart.

Those dirty Europeans. I hear they also like to have sex with the lights on. Feckin mad bastids!

The diet coke ads are tame, and they're very tongue in cheek, there are perfume ads and the likes that are far more sexualised, you tend to see them around Christmas shopping season. I get far more offended by the fact that all the advertising costs more than the actual perfume than the fact that some guy is parading his bare waxed arse around in glorious black and white. You might get lucky and we'll see ladybum on the ads this year.

Daveysil15 wrote: »
    Those dirty Europeans. I hear they also like to have sex with the lights on. Feckin mad bastids!
    I hear they even enjoy sex too, fricking disgusting heathens

Czarcasm wrote: »
    I remember that, it was blamed for causing traffic jams and crashes! :pac:

Most iconic billboard advert of all time apparently-

http://m.huffpost.com/us/entry/844105

(I just remember around that time when I took a girl home from the club and feeling cheated when her D cups turned out to be B cups! :pac:)

As for the Rihanna billboards, sure there's every possibility that was just some kids having a laugh and nothing to do with anything prudish whatsoever.

Sure Rihanna isn't doing anything Madonna wasn't doing back in the 80's with lyrics such as "like a virgin, touched for the very first time...", and "Papa don't preach, I'm in trouble now...", a song about teenage pregnancy, not to mention her sex book, appropriately enough titled "Sex", in which she posed semi-nude in all sorts of suggestive sexual positions with various male models.

Rihanna's efforts to appear "edgy" are only kids play tbh compared to what actually WAS edgy 30 years before her, when she wasn't even born yet! :pac:
    Madonna was far more in your face than Rhianna, not that I'm familliar with Rhianna's ehm, work. I find it funny that society is fine with parents putting their toddlers/very young daughters in bikinis but people get morally outraged when they see a bit of adult boob. Kids tv has a lot more adult content than it did in the 80's. There would've been uproar then about something like Hollyoaks.

Daveysil15 wrote: »
    And is it only women who drink Diet Coke?
    I think it is, is it not compulsory for men to order Coke Zero so they look more manly or something, so they don't feel embarrassed ordering a 'girly' diet drink:confused:

Madonna was far more in your face than Rhianna, not that I'm familliar with Rhianna's ehm, work. I find it funny that society is fine with parents putting their toddlers/very young daughters in bikinis but people get morally outraged when they see a bit of adult boob. Kids tv has a lot more adult content than it did in the 80's. There would've been uproar then about something like Hollyoaks.

Ahh Rihanna thinks she's edgy when she flashes her àrse on twitter, snorts coke off a bald bouncers head, that sort of silly stuff that the paparazzi laps up, her music appeals to "webellious" ten year old girls, she's not much to write home about really tbh, no question she's a good looking girl, but she's a bit of a tit at the same time whose management company have exploited her sexuality to it's full effect.

Me personally I don't think she's anything to get too worked up about. Before her there was Christina Aguilera and after Rihanna there'll be another good looking girl that hasn't a note in her head but looks good on a billboard, and the next generation will say "Are ALL of Ireland prude in 2023?" while they lament "the downfall of society and the dumbing down of humanity"... :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 85 ✭✭Momento Mori

From a non-Irish perspective I think it's different for each generation. How they were raised plays a big part in it.

Generally speaking I would say 50/50

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 518 ✭✭✭otto_26

kowloon wrote: »
    Considering they were probably feeding off some a few short years before I fail to see the problem.

Children don't get offended by these things, it's learned behaviour. The real changes are in how adults are dealing with it.

I really do wonder what goes on in your head and people like you I really do. You think it's suitable to have a half naked women with her tits hanging out on bill boards for 11 year old boys and girls to see? (10 years off breast feeding)

I know they don't get offended. It's just not appropriate.
    All it's doing is sexualising children.

But again I guess it's the 21st century I should get with it.

otto_26 wrote: »
    I really do wonder what goes on in your head and people like you I really do. You think it's suitable to have a half naked women with her tits hanging out on bill boards for 11 year old boys and girls to see? (10 years off breast feeding)

I know they don't get offended. It's just not appropriate.
    All it's doing is sexualising children.

But again I guess it's the 21st century I should get with it.

Except her tits aren't hanging out, are they? It's that sort of exaggeration that nullifies your point.

As for your assertion that it's sexualising children - Rihanna is 25, hardly a child!