Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Chronic Town Drunk

• 13-06-2013 3:14pm
    Hosted Moderators Posts: 7,486 ✭✭✭

Today I was coming back from the coffee shop, and saw a woman passed out in a side street outside her front door. Handbag beside her and all. I rang 999 and asked for an ambulance, and the paramedic came aid he "knew well who it was". So the dilemma is, did I do the right thing, or did I actually waste the emergency services time? I'm new to the area and haven't got to know the local drunks yet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,204 ✭✭✭dodderangler

Red Alert wrote: »
    I'm new to the area and haven't got to know the local drunks yet.

Get a few bottles and sit with them
    Get t know them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 901 ✭✭✭Vicar in a tutu

Of course you done the right thing, she's still a human being.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

Did you check her handbag for valuables?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 341 ✭✭Hownowcow

Where's Chronic?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,386 ✭✭✭Killer Wench

Today I was coming back from the coffee shop, and saw a woman passed out in a side street outside her front door. Handbag beside her and all. I rang 999 and asked for an ambulance, and the paramedic came aid he "knew well who it was". So the dilemma is, did I do the right thing, or did I actually waste the emergency services time? I'm new to the area and haven't got to know the local drunks yet.

You did the right thing. Even the town drunk can fall down the stairs and break a few bones, or come down with the flu. You saw someone you thought was in need of help so you helped them. Now you know, so I wonder if you saw her passed out again, would you call the emergency line?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,390 ✭✭✭IM0

Hownowcow wrote: »
    Where's Chronic?

I heard they have irrigation there too

• Site Banned Posts: 2 Faresco

Yes you did the right thing. You could well be at rock bottom some day as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 850 ✭✭✭BullBauld

IM0 wrote: »

That would be colonic!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,199 ✭✭✭CardBordWindow

You saw someone who was in trouble, and you helped.

You should be patting yourself on the back, not doubting yourself.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,390 ✭✭✭IM0

BullBauld wrote: »
    That would be colonic!

they sound like a right bunch of arseholes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,592 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

Hownowcow wrote: »
    Where's Chronic?

A town over from Habitual.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 850 ✭✭✭BullBauld

Yup, chronic arseholes.

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 26,403 Mod ✭✭✭✭Peregrine

BullBauld wrote: »
    That would be colonic!

That will be all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,178 ✭✭✭✭NothingMan

Many a time my neighbour was brought home by random strangers from the park or bridge where she was found drunk and crying. I always thought fair play to them because I know most would ignore her as she looks homeless and, to be frank, disgusting. I grew up with her family and know she wasn't always that way and after her daughters moved out and her marriage ended she fell further and further into alcoholism. She is a very kind woman who would talk the ear off you if you let her, even if she talked in circles and I reckon at least once, if not more often, her life was saved by someone helping her when most wouldn't.

Unfortunately I probably have been the ignorer and I'm sure most have but everyone has a back story and no one's ever just "the town drunk" so I guess we should all try be less cynical and help people if we can. My neighbour's in a home now I believe (I don't live there anymore) and I hope she's happier than she has been the last 15 years.

• Site Banned Posts: 280 ✭✭Dr_Brian_Cocks

Good karma.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,336 ✭✭✭wendell borton

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 969 ✭✭✭some random drunk

I'm new to the area and haven't got to know the local drunks yet.

Ah we're a grand bunch, bring down a few cans and I'll introduce you to our group.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,320 ✭✭✭Ace Attorney

you did good OP, i wouldnt feel bad about it, as far as you knew someone was passed out and you didnt know what had happened, So you called for an ambulance out of concern, more or less what anyone else should have done. you did the right thing imo

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,380 ✭✭✭✭Banjo String

you did good OP, i wouldnt feel bad about it, as far as you knew someone was passed out and you didnt know what had happened, So you called for an ambulance out of concern, more or less what anyone else should have done. you did the right thing imo

What a username!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,442 ✭✭✭Sulla Felix

My father was like that before he passed, sad to say. I think he'd have been dead a lot sooner if not for the kindness' of strangers when we weren't around to pick him up.
    So, because I'll never know who helped him and when, I'll thank you now on behalf of that womans family.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,221 ✭✭✭NuckingFacker

Town drunk or not, they're getting about the same amount of space you will OP, ie 6 feet deep. We'll all be there a lot longer than we're here, maybe best not to judge too hard, or look down from too high.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,933 ✭✭✭holystungun9

Oh god, more bloody immigrants

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,121 ✭✭✭ghogie91

And fibre optic broadband

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,643 ✭✭✭worded

Oh god, more bloody immigrants

Comming over here and stealing our wimmins

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,055 ✭✭✭IK09

NothingMan wrote: »
    Many a time my neighbour was brought home by random strangers from the park or bridge where she was found drunk and crying. I always thought fair play to them because I know most would ignore her as she looks homeless and, to be frank, disgusting. I grew up with her family and know she wasn't always that way and after her daughters moved out and her marriage ended she fell further and further into alcoholism. She is a very kind woman who would talk the ear off you if you let her, even if she talked in circles and I reckon at least once, if not more often, her life was saved by someone helping her when most wouldn't.

Unfortunately I probably have been the ignorer and I'm sure most have but everyone has a back story and no one's ever just "the town drunk" so I guess we should all try be less cynical and help people if we can. My neighbour's in a home now I believe (I don't live there anymore) and I hope she's happier than she has been the last 15 years.

Couldnt agree more, we have about 10 competitors for the title in our village. I was talking to one of the lads that knew this one competitor. He said that he used to be the soundest guy around, he was a cattle farmer and had a massive herd. BSE "mad cow disease" wiped out his entire livelihood and he hit the sauce and hasnt been right since. The weird thing is he was a pioneer before it. He just snapped when he lost his cattle.

Slightly of point, but a funny story about another competitor. Our old Basketball coach saw him on the side of the road, keeled over. Said to himself, oh il be a good Samaritan and drop the guy home. The drunk pissed all over the back seat of his car. Lesson : Do the right thing, but dont go the extra mile, you will be blasted with piss for your troubles.