Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

***2013 LC Chemistry Before/After***

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 893 ✭✭✭ray2012

Jaysus I got 138 as well and I was sure I was wrong and thought of changing it..! Glad that other people got the same answer! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,553 ✭✭✭✭Copper_pipe

Well if 2 people got the same then it must be right! Unless we are both wrong :P

Us wrong??? NEVER!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 64 ✭✭ladymacbeth

What about question 1 calculations, part (f)?
    I multiplied the answer by 5 as the water sample was titrated to 200cm3. Hope this was the right move lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 346 ✭✭weirdspider

Well I was crossing off the questions I got right as we were going along and the only ones I were unsure of the answers were the maths ones. And I'm now presuming they are correct since you guys got them answers too so now I am almost certainly in A1 territory :D

Laura229 wrote: »
    What was the reason behing using water as the benzoic solvent?

It is soluble at high temp (removes insoluble impurities such as Carbon) and it is insoluble at low temp (separates it from the soluble impurities)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 439 ✭✭RML

What about question 1 calculations, part (f)?
    I multiplied the answer by 5 as the water sample was titrated to 200cm3. Hope this was the right move lol

Where is the 5 coming from?

As in why:)

I said Cyclohexane. :confused:

Right so
    Kc-138/139
    Fraction of mass left- 1/8
    Ppm O2-7.8(meaning the other calculations were correct)
    pH-11.18 or something?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 59 ✭✭Kingkumar

i said because benzoic acid dissolves in hot water which is important so that we can do filitration and stuff.. and then it's not soluble in cold water so it crystallizes out. i explained it a bit more but thats basically it

Wait guys, what was wrong with the apparatus in q2? I thought it was that one of the nozzles was the wrong way but I just saw a diagram that was an exact replicate of the one on the examination.
    Please don't tell me it was a lack of wire gauze/ tripod?

Delighted when I saw Dissolved Oxygen question as Question 1! But it was tricky enough :P The paper was good but the questions themselves were actually quite tricky

Wait guys, what was wrong with the apparatus in q2? I thought it was that one of the nozzles was the wrong way but I just saw a diagram that was an exact replicate of the one on the examination.

the safety tube wasnt pushed into the water..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166 ✭✭xJEx

what were the differences between chem and nuclear reactions?

Right so
    Kc-138/139
    Fraction of mass left- 1/8
    Ppm O2-7.8(meaning the other calculations were correct)
    pH-11.18 or something?

All match my answers :)
    And for q6, it was a negative in the hundreds is all I remember.

I said no steam trap and to remove the heat source to rectify it :/ was unsure of that one!

I said the Liebeg Condenser was assembled incorrectly. They never include wire gauze etc in their diagrams anyways

xJEx wrote: »

I talked about the toxic waste produced by nuclear reactions and the expense..

I'd say about 10% of candidates attempted 2 and 6

Kingkumar wrote: »
    the safety tube wasnt pushed into the water..

Damn! In all the diagrams I've ever seen, one nozzle of the liebig condenser points down and one points up. I thought that was the wrong set up.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,827 ✭✭✭Prodigious

RML wrote: »

chemical reactions do not affect the nucleus

Huh? I just said changes in nucleus/transmutation in nuclear, not in chemical

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 850 ✭✭✭0mega

That was soooo nice.

I said that mass can change in nuclear.
    And then i said that energy can be converted into mass..
    both were kind of similar reasons actually :/

i said;
    Chem - bonds are broken and new bonds are formed, Only involves electrons so the nucleus stays the same
    Nuclear - nucleus changes, so a new element is formed

Chem reactions:
    1. Involve breaking and forming of bonds
    2. Involve electrons

Nuclear
    1. Don't involve breaking and forming of bonds
    2. Involve the nucleus

Prodigious wrote: »
    chemical reactions do not affect the nucleus
    Huh? I just said changes in nucleus/transmutation in nuclear, not in chemical

Yup yous are right!

Damn! In all the diagrams I've ever seen, one nozzle of the liebig condenser points down and one points up. I thought that was the wrong set up.

It was only worth like 6 marks I think

Did anyone get 8/3 for the oxidation number of iron in one of the equations?
    And was Al the reducing one?

yup was the mass of the aluminium 432g? and aluminium oxide 816?

It was only worth like 6 marks I think

I know :P It just seems so simple that it annoys me that I slipped up.

Yup :)

Kingkumar wrote: »
    yup was the mass of the aluminium 432g? and aluminium oxide 816?

YES :D

Q 11 acid-base 12.05 pH

I know :P It just seems so simple that it annoys me that I slipped up.

Yup :)

No me too :/ like that means straight to an A2 in that question. I finished all 3 experiment questions and the 1st and last went better so hopefully I won't be needing that one!

Well we have a margin of 40 marks to slip up before we lose our A1. And I literally think I got 50/50 in a lot of those questions! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 211 ✭✭_LilyRose_

For Q6, heat change, did anyone get -412.2?

I did! And I was sure it worked out with the equations....! There's hope!

Well we have a margin of 40 marks to slip up before we lose our A1. And I literally think I got 50/50 in a lot of those questions! :D

same but i never know with the marking schemes...i hardly make "mistakes" but sometimes i dont say the thing that the marking scheme requires or i don't say enough to get all the marks just worried that stuff like that will add up lol

Did anyone at all get 3.76 ppm? Everyone seems to be getting 7.5 or something?? :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 145 ✭✭lovelyoner

I said the same. It'll probably be accepted; if the upper nozzle doesn't face upwards then bubbles form in the Liebig condenser and you don't get overall, even cooling. The fact that they noted the whole direction of the water thing as well makes me think it'd be okay?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8 Laura229

Does anyone know why change in pressure had no effect on equilibrium? Was it anything got to do with equilibrium being aqueous?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,553 ✭✭✭✭Copper_pipe

Are there any attempt marks for the titration calculation? I got 15.04 ppm I think?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 161 ✭✭Hamza Malik

_LilyRose_ wrote: »
    Did anyone at all get 3.76 ppm? Everyone seems to be getting 7.5 or something?? :(

I think you forgot to take into account it was in the ratio 2:1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 112 ✭✭comeclosa

I did! And I was sure it worked out with the equations....! There's hope!

I was sure mine worked out with the equations and I got -120 something

this is tense :P

please tell me you're not talking about question 1 part (f)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 80 ✭✭football girl

Does anyone know why change in pressure had no effect on equilibrium? Was it anything got to do with equilibrium being aqueous?

Exactly...only holds for gases

comeclosa wrote: »

it really is :(

comeclosa wrote: »
    I was sure mine worked out with the equations and I got -120 something

the actual heat of reaction is -127.2 so yeah its somewhere in the -120's

I think you forgot to take into account it was in the ratio 2:1

No because definitely divided my answer for the moles of iodine by 2 to get moles of oxygen....Anyway I probably did something else wrong!
    please tell me you're not talking about question 1 part (f)

Yes sorry!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,159 ✭✭✭mrkiscool2

Are there any attempt marks for the titration calculation? I got 15.04 ppm I think?
    Yeah there is, the correct answer is only worth a certain amount of the marks, as long as you can show you know the equation and how it works you get marks for it!

Also, if anyone is thinking of doing Science in Uni, ye did the best subject. People seem to have the hardest time grasping Chem, so congrats lads. Chemistry isn't an easy subject for the LC!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 161 ✭✭Hamza Malik

For rates of reaction people are getting -130 or -412 so.. which one is it?

Wooo congrats :D