Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Air traffic controllers strike in France

• 10-06-2013 7:25pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16

Does anyone in the Industry know what's going on with the strike scheduled to start tomorrow?

Is it still going ahead for sure or might it be halted? Read online that Ryanair flights are being cancelled but not heard anything from Aer Fungus.

And what do the Irish do as well at, as the French do Striking? Drinking? Jaywalking? Sun burning? Potato eating? Just a thought

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,380 ✭✭✭derry

Sitting in France looking pretty .Love the french ability too shut the gaff down .Governments in France go hide when strikes are on .Police wont remove the trucks blocking the highways . France is the cross roads of Europe nothing from Spain or Portugal can come up north and nothing from north can go south and best off it really screws up the Brits as they have to detour thousands of miles of course through Holland Belgium Germany to get places like Switzerland or Austria instead of the shorter route through France
    Air strikes are even better with Air traffic in the rest of Europe real chaos ensues the rest of Europe throws up their arms demands the French sort it out and the french government goes into hiding mode cant be found .
    Bit of bitch if your booked a flight to go to France or leave France or your flight through to Switzerland has to go long way around adding hour extra to flight .France air strike is like closing down the M50 in Dublin the Dublin traffic goes to chaos with no M50 and France is the M50 of European air traffic .

The crazy thing is often after the strike that block french ports or air traffic strikes the other competition to France such as UK and Germany lose the contracts they had into France from breach of contract and the French get back lost contracts .

Often the unemployment numbers in Frace will drop a tad from extra new french start ups after a strike so best I can figure the French knows it is to their advantage to throw the EU rule book in the toilet when they lose too much to competition until they see the story come back their way. It a pity we cant get the gombeens in the Leinster house 1926 king George the fifths royal Oireachtas 26 county provisional Irish government to learn to play dirty like the French do with the EU and save a few jobs for the people of Eire .
    No way the gombeens reply to the EU here is the lubrication Greace for free and we gomebeens TD,s and Euro MP,s of Eire bend over so the EU can shaft us all . Our bunch of gombeens only know one solution bend over and take the shafting .The French will give some and then remove the open source of fun for while stop bending over and negotiate a better deal before bending over again to to be shafted so on average the French government gets to shaft more often than they get shafted

Derry
    (eating my cheapo Camembert Cheese in the French paradise of Camembert cheese and not bending over for no body )

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators Posts: 7,396 Mod ✭✭✭✭**Timbuk2**

I'm flying to France Friday afternoon with Ryanair - will I be affected?
    I know it's a planned 3 day strike Tues-Thurs, but could it be extended, or have knock-on delays?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,812 ✭✭✭✭evolving_doors

derry wrote: »
    Sitting in France looking pretty .Love the french ability too shut the gaff down .Governments in France go hide when strikes are on .Police wont remove the trucks blocking the highways . France is the cross roads of Europe nothing from Spain or Portugal can come up north and nothing from north can go south and best off it really screws up the Brits as they have to detour thousands of miles of course through Holland Belgium Germany to get places like Switzerland or Austria instead of the shorter route through France
    Air strikes are even better with Air traffic in the rest of Europe real chaos ensues the rest of Europe throws up their arms demands the French sort it out and the french government goes into hiding mode cant be found .
    Bit of bitch if your booked a flight to go to France or leave France or your flight through to Switzerland has to go long way around adding hour extra to flight .France air strike is like closing down the M50 in Dublin the Dublin traffic goes to chaos with no M50 and France is the M50 of European air traffic .

The crazy thing is often after the strike that block french ports or air traffic strikes the other competition to France such as UK and Germany lose the contracts they had into France from breach of contract and the French get back lost contracts .

Often the unemployment numbers in Frace will drop a tad from extra new french start ups after a strike so best I can figure the French knows it is to their advantage to throw the EU rule book in the toilet when they lose too much to competition until they see the story come back their way. It a pity we cant get the gombeens in the Leinster house 1926 king George the fifths royal Oireachtas 26 county provisional Irish government to learn to play dirty like the French do with the EU and save a few jobs for the people of Eire .
    No way the gombeens reply to the EU here is the lubrication Greace for free and we gomebeens TD,s and Euro MP,s of Eire bend over so the EU can shaft us all . Our bunch of gombeens only know one solution bend over and take the shafting .The French will give some and then remove the open source of fun for while stop bending over and negotiate a better deal before bending over again to to be shafted so on average the French government gets to shaft more often than they get shafted

Derry
    (eating my cheapo Camembert Cheese in the French paradise of Camembert cheese and not bending over for no body )

Go home derry you're drunk...

Anyway, seems as if flights are reduced on the aer mingus site so some planes could fly... Check the same day the following week and youll see what's going this week..looks like things are going to be backed up especially i'd you are rescheduling to following day. Depends on where in france your flying to... Perpignan seems unaffected so far !

As regards Ryanair... Their website looks as if they've cancelled everything and gone to bed...

Anyone tried to suss out travel insurance? Went to multi trip.com to check my policy but the site is 'unavailable'....can't remember if I have strike cover..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,657 ✭✭✭brandon_flowers

Yes it is going ahead, the SNCF are on strike in Provences-Alpes-Cote D'Azur also to make everything worse. A quick look at http://www.nice.aeroport.fr/Passagers/VOLS/Informations-vols-en-temps-reel#departContent and everything is disrupted.

On my mobile so can't access the english version of that site..any idea if Perpignan is a go? Just seems like paris and nice are most affected

Perpignan airport website is pretty hopeless, it just says check the Aer Lingus/Ryanair/HOP website.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 624 ✭✭✭boatbuilder

Aer Lingus Perpignan flights are cancelled today... my wife is on her way back from Dublin airport, very disappointed!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,561 ✭✭✭Mizu_Ger

Did this strike come out of the blue? I am travelling through Charles de Gaulle on Friday next week. Is there any mention of more strikes to come?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,921 ✭✭✭munchkin_utd

Aer Lingus Perpignan flights are cancelled today... my wife is on her way back from Dublin airport, very disappointed!
    if she had checked the aerlingus website (front page under flight info) or indeed the fully functional dublin airport website then she no doubt could have saved a spin to the airport.
    The father in law is stuck in Paris (which suits him just grand ! ) and he knew this yesterday evening and it was on the airport website and all that it was cancelled.

Mizu_Ger wrote: »
    Did this strike come out of the blue? I am travelling through Charles de Gaulle on Friday next week. Is there any mention of more strikes to come?

Not out of the blue - they are allowed 48 hours notice. In fact there was a big strike last year here when the French government increased the period of strike notice from 24 hours to 48 hours. A strike because of a striking, only in France.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,297 ✭✭✭joolsveer

I booked to fly to Girona on 12 June by Ryanair. They advised me this afternoon that the flight has been cancelled. The next flight to Girona is on Friday 14 June so I will miss two days holiday and car hire.

Does this delay come within the EU 261 conditions?

Sorry to hear that.. I didn't see any perpignan cancellations on the Aer lingus site yesterday btw folks!

So is she going to wait til friday or what...are they going to put on 3 days of planes on friday?

Any joy with travel insurance or compensation boatbuilder?

Hmm.. is she sure? no mention of any perpignan cancellations on aer lingus website http://www.aerlingus.com/travelinformation/knowbeforeyoufly/flightdisruptioninformation/ for today or tomorrow.. also they don;t say nout about thursday!!

Armelodie wrote: »
    Hmm.. is she sure? no mention of any perpignan cancellations on aer lingus website http://www.aerlingus.com/travelinformation/knowbeforeyoufly/flightdisruptioninformation/ for today or tomorrow.. also they don;t say nout about thursday!!
    The Reference to be aware of is the individual flight lookup (and alway has been during snow, volcano and other disturbances) that is on the front page
    It can sometimes be a little slow in updating (an airport website may occassionally have the cancellation earlier)but for flight 510 to Perpignan it does show a cancellation and has a note about the strike.

The Reference to be aware of is the individual flight lookup (and alway has been during snow, volcano and other disturbances) that is on the front page
    It can sometimes be a little slow in updating (an airport website may occassionally have the cancellation earlier)but for flight 510 to Perpignan it does show a cancellation and has a note about the strike.

Ya apologies, checked again and found it by entering flight number as you said but no mention of the day im due to fly! Bit sly they don;t print it on their site either!

God such a headwreck!! Scratching head here.. more and more questions with f-all phonelines open or easy to find to answer questions..

Anyone know if you can transfer car hire to other locations/countries (booked through Hertz/Aerlingus which I now realise is impossible to contact anyone by phone!!)

Also whats the story with compensation , is it just money back or an offer of alternative flights?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73 ✭✭Design78

Not sure about the car hire but my mums flight from Perpignan today was cancelled, called the 0818 365044 number and changed her flight to fly out of Barcelona tomorrow, short hop on the train between the two.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 624 ✭✭✭boatbuilder

I was able to rebook the dublin-perpignan flight online for Thursday without any charges. Let's just hope it's not also cancelled. Aer lingus did send a cancellation email at 6am this morning but we never thought to check our emails. If the Thursday one is cancelled then I've no idea what we'll do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,316 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

Will this strike spill over to next week? I know a load of people will be going to Hellfest which is based in Clisson in France, so can see lots of angry metallers if it does!

I was able to rebook the dublin-perpignan flight online for Thursday without any charges. Let's just hope it's not also cancelled. Aer lingus did send a cancellation email at 6am this morning but we never thought to check our emails. If the Thursday one is cancelled then I've no idea what we'll do.

Aye there seems to be still flights on sale for thursday which is unusual enough..you'd think they would hold them back for people left stranded on wednesday and tuesday..

There was report in one online newspaper site (sorry I cant find it again (new jersey news in the states or something like that)) that the thursday strike is called off.

Also rang hertzflydrive and they said they would offer a refund or rebooking if Aer Lingus cancells your flight ....but not if you cancel early without any notification from aer lingus if you know what I mean...Oh yeah got a quote to pick up in barcelona and drop off in perpignan for 850 squid....

Next time i fly to france it's Travel Insurance to the max

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 358 ✭✭red bellied

Whats Ryanairs policy on strikes? Do they charge again for rebooking the flight?

<snip>

Also rang hertzflydrive and they said they would offer a refund or rebooking if Aer Lingus cancells your flight ....but not if you cancel early without any notification from aer lingus if you know what I mean...Oh yeah got a quote to pick up in barcelona and drop off in perpignan for 850 squid....

to be honest that sounds like a fair enough condition, and that they do it at all is good to know and a hidden advantage of booking the car through the airline!

by the way, travel insurance wont pay out for you cancelling a car on the offchance that a flight may not run or may be delayed.
    Insurance companies deal with facts and your opinion that a flight may be delayed is not enough to cause them to owe you hundreds of euros for cancelling a car.
    Fair enough, it'll cover unplanned overnights and expenses related to flights confirmed as being cancelled, but theres a fair bit covered by statutory obglitatons of EU based airlines.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,095 ✭✭✭Louche Lad

Aye there seems to be still flights on sale for thursday which is unusual enough..you'd think they would hold them back for people left stranded on wednesday and tuesday..

There was report in one online newspaper site (sorry I cant find it again (new jersey news in the states or something like that)) that the thursday strike is called off.

Yes, tomorrow's strike day has been called off: http://www.travelweekly.co.uk/Articles/2013/06/12/44353/third+day+of+french+air+traffic+controller+strike+called+off.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 134 ✭✭Hannibal6.0

Girlfriend was scheduled to go out to Murcia yesterday with Ryanair, was cancelled and was told to book again for today which she did. Today's flights have also been cancelled. Website wont let her change flights again so she is off to the airport to try and find someone with some information..

Anyone here had any luck with the getting sorted after a cancellation.

Also flights to Alicante are still going out, curious if anyone knows why they can fly to Alicante but not Murcia, very little difference in distance between the two airports.

Possibly because the aircraft will be stranded at Murcia because its next segment will definitely require flying over France. Don't know what destinations are served from Murcia but I presume Stansted is one. That would make it very messy to get back into London without using French airspace.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 134 ✭✭Hannibal6.0

Possibly because the aircraft will be stranded at Murcia because its next segment will definitely require flying over France. Don't know what destinations are served from Murcia but I presume Stansted is one. That would make it very messy to get back into London without using French airspace.

Cheers, update for anyone interested is that there are no available flights into Murcia until at least Sunday. They have had to book a flight into Reus up near Barcelona for tomorrow and they plan on driving down now. Reus was the nearest airport, when they were at the desk literally all flights were being snapped up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 998 ✭✭✭gabbo is coming

Supposed to be on the 1310 to Bordeaux today with AL

They said they'd update people at 1410

Anyone know the chances?

to be honest that sounds like a fair enough condition, and that they do it at all is good to know and a hidden advantage of booking the car through the airline! .

Ya although I didn;t know for sure if it was I booked through the airline,,, just checked carhire3000 and they offer a 48 hr free cancellation on some of their cars (and car companies)... something to watch out for next time... ESPECIALLY FRANCE you ********** controllers
    by the way, travel insurance wont pay out for you cancelling a car on the offchance that a flight may not run or may be delayed.
    Insurance companies deal with facts and your opinion that a flight may be delayed is not enough to cause them to owe you hundreds of euros for cancelling a car.
    Fair enough, it'll cover unplanned overnights and expenses related to flights confirmed as being cancelled, but theres a fair bit covered by statutory obglitatons of EU based airlines.

Ya I think the deal is to ring them as soon as you've 'missed' your flight time (providing of course that the car company offers refund/transfers.
    but theres a fair bit covered by statutory obglitatons of EU based airlines.
    Would that cover the cost of rebooking a car aswell as accommodation?

Supposed to be on the 1310 to Bordeaux today with AL

They said they'd update people at 1410

Anyone know the chances?

Any update? Perpignan EI510 is a go for tomorrow going by the AL website

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2 Beeps09

Anyone got info on compensation entitlements etc. I can't make head or tail of the small print. I don't trust Ryanairs regulations so am wondering about the EU regulation requirements.
    I got stranded with 2 young children in Girona last Wednesday, only checked my email last minute by chance as wasn't online during the (super) holiday and they had only cancelled it at midnight. They couldn't offer me alternative until Sunday and when I tried later on until Tuesday. I paid a fortune on my mobile to their various contact no.s, was told I'd have to print out boarding cards etc if I did get to an airport and they wouldn't be able to do this for me even though I had no access to the internet or printer. I had to send my partner on himself and he paid for last minute British Airways flight to London as he had a job interview on the Thursday. I was left traveling by myself with 2 young children by bus and 2 trains to BCN airport where I caught an Aer Lingus flight scheduled 10.35 the Thursday night but which actually left at 1am. So I had to pay for an extra nights accommodation at the campsite plus the extra British Airways and Aer Lingus flights, never mind food, the transport from Girona to Barcelona etc (not to mention stress of 21 hrs travel with a 1 and a 3 yr old by myself with no Spanish).
    Ryanair say I'm entitled to nothing except the accommodation and food refund (I didn't think to ask for receipts at shops) as they would have rescheduled me...but that would have been to the Sunday and surely that would have cost them more accommodation. They could give me no food vouchers or refreshments during the 10 hrs I spent waiting at the airport. Told me best to book with another airline but wouldn't even direct me to where that desk might be (Barcelona has more than 1 terminal)...they were rubbish and no reimbursement for the hours I was on hold to them on my mobile trying to rebook or find out what was going on.
    Surely we should be entitled to some refund of our flight or compensation without receipts for the expense of staying on??!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2 Beeps09

By the way I don't trust Ryanair. After a long queue at the airport desk it took the lady all of 2 minutes to tell me there were no seats available until Tuesday. It had been Sunday on the phone a few hrs earlier.
    I tried to book online just to see, after I got home and was offered seats on flights for Saturday, Sunday and Monday. This was hours after I had been told they were all booked up until Tuesday. They said no compensation for the Aer Lingus flight I had to purchase as they offered a free rebooking for the Tuesday, this would have been 6 days after I was scheduled to fly home. And I don't believe that they were booked up as why would there be so many seats available now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,297 ✭✭✭joolsveer

Has anyone here got an update on the outcome of this strike? Have Ryanair or any other airline paid compensation for cancelling flights?