Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Isn't eternal life just as bad as eternal death?

• 09-06-2013 7:53pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 49

What if there was an afterlife somewhere... maybe it was a peaceful place full of light and joy but... then what?

Would we live and grow old like now or... would we be young and healthy forever without any problems? It sounds great at first but... try to imagine living like that for a million, billion, trillion...

trillion x trillion x trillion x trillion x trillion x trillion x trillion x trillion x trillion x trillion x trillion x trillion x trillion x trillion x trillion x trillion x trillion x trillion x trillion x trillion x trillion x trillion x trillion x trillion x trillion x trillion x trillion x trillion x trillion x trillion x trillion x trillion x trillion x trillion x trillion x trillion x trillion x trillion x trillion x trillion x trillion x trillion x trillion x trillion x trillion x trillion x trillion x trillion x trillion x trillion x trillion x trillion years.

And then after that... living the same number of years after that... forever.

I like life and I don't want to die because I fear it but... I think when I experience something I want an ending even though I am irrational and sometimes want to keep living.

So if there is an afterlife how will life be different than now?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 343 ✭✭FreshKnickers

Yeah but 45 minutes of death is grand. Makes you hungry though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

trillion x trillion x trillion x trillion x trillion x trillion x trillion x trillion x trillion x trillion x trillion x trillion x trillion x trillion x trillion x trillion x trillion x trillion x trillion x trillion x trillion x trillion x trillion x trillion x trillion x trillion x trillion x trillion x trillion x trillion x trillion x trillion x trillion x trillion x trillion x trillion x trillion x trillion x trillion x trillion x trillion x trillion x trillion x trillion x trillion x trillion x trillion x trillion x trillion x trillion x trillion x trillion years.

There's something very mesmerising about this.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,191 ✭✭✭✭Latchy

Ahhh...now that's way to far ahead to be looking at the future .

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,217 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

If there is "something" it might depend on the type of consciousness involved. Some theologies think we return to the universal godhead type vibe, in which case we were and will be eternal, outside time, with this life being a holiday from that, living one day at a time. We think in linear terms and arguably narrow ones at that. If we could be somehow outside time as a concept eternity might take on quite a different hue.

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,590 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

It does become really weird when you think about it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,316 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

How do you know being reincarnated as an animal is not the afterlife?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,788 ✭✭✭✭krudler

Eternal consciousness sounds awful tbh, I much prefer the idea that we become what we were, stardust and energy and nothingness

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,398 ✭✭✭✭Turtyturd

I thought the idea of a new account was to avoid detection?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,573 ✭✭✭pragmatic1

krudler wrote: »
    Eternal consciousness sounds awful tbh, I much prefer the idea that we become what we were, stardust and energy and nothingness
    Yeah. The notion used to terrify me as a kid.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,061 ✭✭✭✭Terry

Wibbs wrote: »
    If there is "something" it might depend on the type of consciousness involved. Some theologies think we return to the universal godhead type vibe, in which case we were and will be eternal, outside time, with this life being a holiday from that, living one day at a time. We think in linear terms and arguably narrow ones at that. If we could be somehow outside time as a concept eternity might take on quite a different hue.
    Feck off, Wibbs.
    When you're dead, you're dead.

A friend flushed a dead goldfish down the jacks today.
    It's dead, and it's not coming back.
    In the grand scheme of things, we're no more special than that goldfish.

Yours,
    God.

Just kidding. I don't exist.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,380 ✭✭✭✭nacho libre

The only thing I fear worse than death, is to live forever- that truly would be hell.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,250 ✭✭✭✭Iwasfrozen

Terry wrote: »
    Feck off, Wibbs.
    When you're dead, you're dead.

A friend flushed a dead goldfish down the jacks today.
    It's dead, and it's not coming back.
    In the grand scheme of things, we're no more special than that goldfish.

Yours,
    God.

Just kidding. I don't exist.
    You can't say with confidence that some form of God does or does not exist.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,930 ✭✭✭Jimoslimos

Jim Jeffries sums up my feelings on the afterlife
    NSFW: Strong Language

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,231 ✭✭✭Hercule Poirot

I think it was Jean-Paul Sartre who said: 'Hell is being trapped for eternity in a room with all your friends'

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,689 ✭✭✭Karl Stein

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,110 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tar.Aldarion

Hmm nope, I'm pretty sure it would be awesome to live forever, explore the expanding universe and watch civilizations rise and fall.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 294 ✭✭JD DABA

Questioning the fundamentals. No up without down, no light without dark, no life without death, that kind of thing - Taoism country.

Odds are we conceive only a tiny part of fundamental reality.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,443 ✭✭✭jobeenfitz

When I was younger I knew it all. I was sure there was no god and no afterlife. Now I'm older and I know that I know fcuk all. I love this subject. Nice to ponder it all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,800 ✭✭✭Lingua Franca

I think it was Jean-Paul Sartre who said: 'Hell is being trapped for eternity in a room with all your friends'

Yeah, but all his mates were French.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,689 ✭✭✭Karl Stein

Hmm nope, I'm pretty sure it would be awesome to live forever, explore the expanding universe and watch civilizations rise and fall.

Travelling by Ryanspace would become tedious.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,376 ✭✭✭✭rossie1977

its one of the many things religious people didn't think through...others include the earth being the centre of the universe, adam and eve, a flood that lasted for 40 days that overflowed the highest mountains by over 20 feet

• Closed Accounts Posts: 205 ✭✭Meritocracy Wins

I applaud this view. I will adopt it as my wish.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,973 ✭✭✭SafeSurfer

The worst afterlife I can imagine is eternal consciousness, but without physical form. It would take a couple of billion years to get your head around that alone.

Multo autem ad rem magis pertinet quallis tibi vide aris quam allis

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,558 ✭✭✭seven_eleven

The idea of living forever seems to be liked by very few. I would absolutely want to live eternally. Death scares me. I dont want it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,269 ✭✭✭3rdDegree

pragmatic1 wrote: »
    Yeah. The notion used to terrify me as a kid.

Terrified me too as a child. I never thought in terms on Heaven or hell. Just the thought of "forever never ending" invoked such a strange and odd sense of terror.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,106 ✭✭✭catallus

JD DABA wrote: »
    Questioning the fundamentals. No up without down, no light without dark, no life without death, that kind of thing - Taoism country.

Odds are we conceive only a tiny part of fundamental reality.[/QUOTE]

This has to be a fact. Just because we don't have the apparatus to detect something doesn't mean it doesn't exist.
    jobeenfitz wrote: »
    When I was younger I knew it all. I was sure there was no god and no afterlife. Now I'm older and I know that I know fcuk all. I love this subject. Nice to ponder it all.

This + 1 trillion. It is a dream to think we know everything. If the writings of the scientists and philosophers tell us anything it is that we are searching in the dark.

The idea of living forever seems to be liked by very few. I would absolutely want to live eternally. Death scares me. I dont want it.

Why though? living forever means seeing everyone around you dying, that'd be awful

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,558 ✭✭✭seven_eleven

Why though? living forever means seeing everyone around you dying, that'd be awful

Nope. Wouldn't phase me a bit. Dying is the number one thing I fear most.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,973 ✭✭✭SafeSurfer

Everyone we ever loved, would die for all eternity. It would surely sour any experience you could ever have with a human being, knowing that your time together was but an instant in your existence. Constantly seeing those you love, grow old and die through the centuries like the changing of the seasons could be hellish.
    Nope. Wouldn't phase me a bit. Dying is the number one thing I fear most.

There must be things you fear more than death. Pain for instance. If you were being tortured and subjected to excruciating pain you may see death as a relief.

Multo autem ad rem magis pertinet quallis tibi vide aris quam allis

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 914 ✭✭✭DarkDusk

What if there was an afterlife somewhere... maybe it was a peaceful place full of light and joy but... then what?

Would we live and grow old like now or... would we be young and healthy forever without any problems? It sounds great at first but... try to imagine living like that for a million, billion, trillion...

And then after that... living the same number of years after that... forever.

I like life and I don't want to die because I fear it but... I think when I experience something I want an ending even though I am irrational and sometimes want to keep living.

Well, first of all, you don't have to fear having to deal with seeing black space for eternity. The reason - you cannot experience nothing. So, if there is nothing on the other side, you will not experience it - EXACTLY like the time before you were born. Do you remember the 1890s? Of course you don't, you can't experience not being alive.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,443 ✭✭✭jobeenfitz

DarkDusk wrote: »
    Well, first of all, you don't have to fear having to deal with seeing black space for eternity. The reason - you cannot experience nothing. So, if there is nothing on the other side, you will not experience it - EXACTLY like the time before you were born. Do you remember the 1890s? Of course you don't, you can't experience not being alive.

Are you sure you cant experience not being alive without remembering? Just asking cos I havn't a clue.

jobeenfitz wrote: »
    Are you sure you cant experience not being alive without remembering? Just asking cos I havn't a clue.

Well, your brain is what holds memories, when you die, your brain loses all function and dies also. So you shouldn't have memory after death then. That's my understanding using simple biology and science.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,061 ✭✭✭✭Terry

Iwasfrozen wrote: »
    You can't say with confidence that some form of God does or does not exist.
    Yes I can.
    There is absolutely no definitive proof of any form of higher being.

Show me evidence of any one of the hundreds of supreme beings who supposedly created this place, and I'll completely debunk it.

Show me one of these Gods in person and I'll shake its hand. Or noodly appendage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 402 ✭✭seb65

Yes I can.

Show me evidence of any one of the hundreds of supreme beings who supposedly created this place, and I'll completely debunk it.

Show me one of these Gods in person and I'll shake its hand. Or noodly appendage.

Absence of evidence is not evidence of absence.

Personally, I believe there is much to life that we cannot comprehend within the confines of our limited perspectives. We only know time and space as they are relative to our human existence.

Yes I can.

Exactly.

I think time has moved on. Most young people do not have any interest in religion or believe in god. This is a trend that will continue to become more clear as time moves on. Religion and god are excuse for human ignorance. Centuries ago, humans didn't know how the Sun was formed and how earthquakes were caused. Those people said that "god did it" and left it to the side.

Religion kills curiosity, which is essential for human evolution. Imagine if the first man to discover fire was told not to play with the forces of nature because it goes against god's creation. People need to abandon religion and their belief in god, open their minds and live the way humans were supposed to live - in awe and curiosity of our planet and universe. Religion merely makes you accept god did it and then forget about it.

Appreciate nature, animals, people and the universe - that is my god.

Now this is god: http://2.bp.blogspot.com/-thbwfGLkcO8/TYhKueB-ooI/AAAAAAAAAQM/VNqETBskLCM/s1600/nasa_orion_nebula-other.jpg

seb65 wrote: »

Personally, I believe there is much to life that we cannot comprehend within the confines of our limited perspectives. We only know time and space as they are relative to our human existence.

Are you associated with any religion?

seb65 wrote: »

"Just because you can't see it doesnt mean it isnt there" is a pretty weak argument when it comes to higher powers in fairness. Is the universe, time, reality etc so beyond our understanding that maybe there is a creator some sort of original creator? doubtful but possible, is he someone who doesnt like gay people? not bloody likely.

is he someone who doesnt like gay people? not bloody likely.

Precisely, which is why religion is evil. I'd like anyone to prove me otherwise.

Here they come......

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 122 ✭✭Jimmy 5F

Why do assume you'll have a good view, maybe the rest of the dead people will be blocking it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,073 ✭✭✭gobnaitolunacy

Hell would be trapped in a small room with Jedward, a coffee machine and bags of sweets.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 402 ✭✭seb65

DarkDusk wrote: »
    Are you associated with any religion?

Born into a religion like everyone else, yes.

Worshipper of religious dogma, no. Didn't even get married in a church.

Believer that the truth of the universe is beyond the scope of my mere human mind, yes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,933 ✭✭✭smurgen

I go from being completely relaxed about the notion to sometimes being completely panicked about it.part of me thinks;don't waste time thinking about it,you are already in existence so now you're just along for the ride and don't worry about the inevitable.the other part if me thinks well some day you might know you are going to die,you will feel terror and will go into an isolated state of consciousness by yourself that you cannot get out of forever!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,417 ✭✭✭WinnyThePoo

Jitterbug Perfume.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,462 ✭✭✭✭WoollyRedHat

I obsessed about this **** when I was a kid and got it done with... today I don't think about it, and am better for it... there are some concepts which we will never truly understand, and I'm ok with that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,301 ✭✭✭Daveysil15

Imagine getting 72 virgins when you die. You ride them all but then they wouldn't be virgins anymore. What do you do then?

As Billy Connolly said, "Give me 2 fire breathing whores anyday."

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,943 ✭✭✭smcgiff

The god that took six days to create the earth, took umbrage at someone eating an apple, destroyed Sodom because he didn't like what he created and contrived a situation where his son had to die is such a petty idea when the vastness of the universe is considered.

Thankfully there's zero chance of living forever.

Daveysil15 wrote: »
    Imagine getting 72 virgins when you die. You ride them all but then they wouldn't be virgins anymore. What do you do then?

As Billy Connolly said, "Give me 2 fire breathing whores anyday."

Also, imagine if their periods all aligned... all 72 of them :D

smcgiff wrote: »
    The god that took six days to create the earth, took umbrage at someone eating an apple, destroyed Sodom because he didn't like what he created and contrived a situation where his son had to die is such a petty idea when the vastness of the universe is considered.

Thankfully there's zero chance of living forever.

Don't forget he also created the sun on the fourth day of creation, quite how four days had passed without a sun is beyond me though

I was going to say he can see in the dark. :)

But I get you - as we measure days by reference to the sun the time before the sun would have no reference point, and therefore no meaning.

Word of god? I'd rather take the word of a used car salesman.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,453 ✭✭✭Shenshen

What's bad about eternal death?
    I'm kind of looking forward to that, thank you very much?