Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

CSPE on Monday Providing Help

• 07-06-2013 2:41pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 286 ✭✭

Just finished my HL maths exam.. predictions went well :D anyhow CSPE is one of my favorite subjects :) and if you have any questions regarding the exam or want to ask any question regarding CSPE post it here and I will reply with a good answer :)

So post anything about CSPE itself, here.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,823 ✭✭✭DublinArnie

Just finished my HL maths exam.. predictions went well :D anyhow CSPE is one of my favorite subjects :) and if you have any questions regarding the exam or want to ask any question regarding CSPE post it here and I will reply with a good answer :)

So post anything about CSPE itself, here.
    You had predictions for maths and you didn't even share?! Meanie :(;) Any predictions for Monday? ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 286 ✭✭cfc.forever

Yes I'll start off with Q1, it will either have pictures of ministers and asking you to match there picture with a positition

For example, Alan Shatter's picture might come and you might have four options Minister For Education/Justice Equality and Defense/Envoirnment Heritage and Local Government/Social Protection

Obviouslly he's the minister for Justice Equality and Defense, secondly what might come u is a picture of different places.

White House
    Buckingham Palace
    Dail Eireann
    Aras an Uachtairan or w.e :P forgive me for my Irish

You will most likely have to know these facts for the Short Q'S

The highest court in Ireland is the Supreme Court
    The person with the most authority of law in Ireland is the Attorney General.
    There are 43 constituencies
    The deputy Prime Minister of Ireland is The Tanaiste
    The Ceann Comhaire upholds order in the Dail
    The two political parties that make up our coalition government today are Fine Gael and Labour.
    The Commander in Chief of the Armed Forces in Ireland is The President
    The Irish Constitution can only be changed by the people voting in a Referendum
    The leader of the Irish government is called the Taoiseach
    There are 166 TDs elected to the Dail Eireann.
    The Northern Irish Parliament meet in Stormount Castle
    The voting system in Ireland is known as Proportional Reprensaton

Know these off :)

Next you should know what the dfferent departments do.

Department of Health - This Department is responsible for the development of health policy and the planning of health
    services.

Department of Education and Skills - This Department is responsible for public education at primary and post-primary levels. It also
    manages State support for universities and third-level colleges.

Department of Finance - This Department is responsible for the economic and financial management of the State

Department of Justice and Equality - This Department aims to protect the security of the State, to prevent crime and to protect peoples'
    rights and freedoms. It also deals with immigration

The eight plans made by 192 United Nations member states to end poverty, educate all
    children and to try and solve the problems of the 3rd world countries are called the Milleanium Development Goals

Irish soldiers have been involved in many peacekeeping missions with the United Nations

Ireland currently hold the Presidency of the European Union.

An Ombudsman is a person who investagates complaints by the public against financial bodys and public company's only

Different Ministers and there jobs, know them!

The people in Ireland who keep the peace and enforce the law are called An Gardai Siochanna

The European Parliament meets in two European cities. These are Brussels and Strasbourg

To have a vote in Ireland a person’s name must appear on the Registrar of Electors

The current president of Ireland is Michael D Higgins

Leaders in Political Parities [they don't usually come up I'll put them up just in case)

Enda Kenny - Fine Gael/Taoiseach
    Michael Martin - Fianna Fail [don't want to say the Irish xD]
    Gerry Adams - Sinn Fein
    Eamon Gilmore- Minister for Foreign Affairs and Trade/Tanaiste

Independent TD's [Know a few of them just in case I'l post a few)

Mick Wallace
    Ming Flanagan

Know the countries who are planning on joining the EU for 2013, it would be handy to know that the UK are planning to have a referendum on whether to leave the EU or not.

There is fifty articles in the Irish Constitution

For the rest of the question you will most likely have to answer questions on documents your given or a poster,so they're very unpredictable as they change every year.

If you watch the news on a regular basis and have the so-called "common sense" you will be grand! All of my answers are a combination of answers from my head and the majority of the stuff I posted has came up in previous years. Hopefully they help you, I can't solely predict the whole exam but the short questions are fairly predictable. I done my best.. if you have any questions please do ask! I hope what I've posted is of benefit for the exam to you :) Goodluck! I'm not going to bother predicting the rest of the questions just the short q's.. because the rest change every year :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24 Monaghan hardy lawd

Wow, any predictions for project maths because I don't know a thing about it!

Talk to DublinArnie, he might be the guy for the old maths predictions :P or go to this thread, she'll be able to help http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2056965559

She? ... :eek::eek::eek::eek:

The thread I linked him too, the girl who started the thread is a girl haha not you :)

Ah, I thought you called me a she *phew* :D.

Well the MR DublinArnie...what will come up? No pressure or anything...but its my future were talkin about here so if you get it wrong........
    Watch RTE news today, tomorrow and on Sunday, then you will do fine for Monday! ;)

You won't forget Alan Shatter anyways, he's being on the news so much and you can't miss Phil Hogan because of the water charges!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24 Monaghan hardy lawd

I'm really not worried about CSPE, it's a little like religion, you can go into the exam and waffle your way to an A!

You can't waffle your way to an A, no way to avoid them short questions man. People think they're going to automatically going to get an A in CSPE well you're not, you have to know your stuff, its pretty easy to get a B but trust me they don't hand out A's like sweets :P

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 27,315 CMod ✭✭✭✭spurious

I'm really not worried about CSPE, it's a little like religion, you can go into the exam and waffle your way to an A!

Tell that to the 70.4% of girls and 85.7% of boys who DIDN'T get an A in CSPE last year.

It is not at all as easy to get an A in as some people think.

You can't waffle your way to an A, no way to avoid them short questions man. People think they're going to automatically going to get an A in CSPE well you're not, you have to know your stuff, its pretty easy to get a B but trust me they don't hand out A's like sweets :P
    Say if you got 55%-60% on your action project, then 70-100% on the written will add up to an A overall? I need to do some maths to figure this out XD. Personally, I think i'm getting 55%+ on my action project because I think I wrote loads with each sentence saying something vital. :rolleyes:

Say you got 55% on your action project and if you got 3/4 of the paper right I'd imagine you'll get an A but I'm not doing the maths! You can do the figures, I'll state the facts :)

I have nothing to worry about then :D.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30 jpr57852

spurious wrote: »
    Tell that to the 70.4% of girls and 85.7% of boys who DIDN'T get an A in CSPE last year.

It is not at all as easy to get an A in as some people think.
    The only thing bringing down marks for me could be the action project. I got 100% in the CSPE mocks, so I'm grand. And I've never looked at the CSPE book.. just sayin...

I never had a CSPE book for the whole three-year course, I just have a flare for the subject, nobody else in my class has an interest, maybe one person. How I study for CSPE is watching the news/watching the oireachtas online and reading newspapers and so on, I've always being interested in politics, I managed to get 93% in my mocks but I think I'll get the full 100 in the actual exam as the answers I got wrong were marked very hard and I should have got the whole 100% and my action project is good, but is it good enough? I hope so, I think my mock exam was too easy, hopefully my Junior Cert is as easy.

If I don't get an A in CSPE.. I'll be very frustrated guys I'm telling you if you watch the news and if you look in your exam papers can't find a question? Ask here.. post a list of questions if you want. I gurantee you if you read the notes I gave, practice the exam papers the night before, you're guaranteed a C maybe a B if you have an interest in it.

Good luck for your exam everyone.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 27,315 CMod ✭✭✭✭spurious

55% on your action project - you mean just over half marks, or 55 out of the available 60% which would be an A?
    Neither added to 75% of the available exam marks would give an A grade.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 390 ✭✭A97

CSPE is 200 marks. 170 is needed for an A. The project is 120 and the paper is 80. If you got full marks in your project, you only need 62.5% in the paper to get an A. Obviously you'll likely need more because full marks in the project is hardly guaranteed. That said, if you put some effort into your project, the A shouldn't be out of reach. The only reason those A figures are so low is because of people not finishing their projects. The first section of the paper is the hardest in the sense it requires some actual knowledge, but it's only worth 9%. You could skip over it entirely and still do well.

Getting 55/60 or 110/120 and 75% (60 marks) on the paper is 85%.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 144 ✭✭claryfray

Hey thanks for posting those notes :D
    Not too worried about CSPE because it doesn't continue on to the Leaving Cert so I don't see it as that importent,
    However I'll look over your notes before I go in :D
    I worked really hard on the action project and my teacher said it was very good so I am hoping I gained high marks on that...it would be nice to get an A :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 451 ✭✭Stooped

I don't have CSPE notes, exam papers or a book. We never used one in the past three years. I'll just watch the news tonight and look up stuff about the EU because I'm predicting a lot on that will come up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 84 ✭✭S_Barry3011

I'm fine for Maths, it's CSPE I'm worried about.......... said no person ever

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 195 ✭✭onlinenerd

Watch RTE news today, tomorrow and on Sunday, then you will do fine for Monday! ;)

Arnie I would say they hve prepared the questions already and not the day before the exam.:cool:

onlinenerd wrote: »
    Arnie I would say they hve prepared the questions already and not the day before the exam.:cool:
    Now now .. don't get smart you! ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 76 ✭✭Leopard_Star

I got 95% on my mocks and our teacher said she thinks our project is good so im not worried,I don't really know section 1 usually although last years was easy.don't watch the news at all because I don't have cable tv only netflix..cspe doesnt require much general knowledge anyways though.

No it requires common sense if you have common sense and an element of general knowledge you will fly through the exam.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 792 ✭✭✭Cr4pSnip3r

I've done every single CSPE exam paper that was in my exam paper's book. My teacher forced us to do them all.

I dug this up from last year. This is where they get the Irish Minister pictures from:

http://www.taoiseach.gov.ie/eng/Taoiseach_and_Government/List_of_Ministers_Ministers_of_State/

Guys I know we're all hoping for Ministers to come up obviouslly but there is a bit of a problem, I was going through the exam papers and realised that human rights activists may also come up also the CSPE core concepts, heres how the question was phased.

CSPE is based on seven concepts, as listed below. Beside each concept, write down one
    ISSUE or TOPIC that relates to that concept. You may use each issue or topic only ONCE.

The following are the core concepts

Rights and Responsibilities:
    Human Dignity:
    Stewardship:
    Development:
    Democracy:
    Law:
    Interdependence

than a bunch of human rights activists came up

1. The following photographs are of FOUR human rights activists. Using the space provided,
    match the name of each activist with the human rights activity they are involved in.
    You may use each NAME and ACTIVITY only ONCE.
    Aung San Suu Kyi Nelson Mandela Adi Roche Bono
    Protesting peacefully for Civil Rights in Burma Campaigning against World Debt
    Caring for children in Chernobyl Working for democracy in Africa

You should also know the following

Focus Ireland help people that are homeless
    Amnesty International - They help people who face the penalty, usually not people who commited horrific crimes like murder but more people given the death penalty for their political views.
    Irish Refugee Council - Asylum seekers & refugees
    St Vincent De Paul - People in deep poverty who need financial support.
    Poor people - Combat poverty Ireland
    Pavee Point - The travelling community

If you wish you can get there logos!

I don't think they will come up, I do think that either a picture of different buildings or the ministers will come up but yeah.. anything could really come up so you should be prepared for anything, now I think your covered for the CSPE exam :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 121 ✭✭DUBLINHITMAN97

What questions are guaranteed to come up?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 451 ✭✭Stooped

^Stuff on the EU.

Anyone have any tips on how to get full marks for section 3 and your poster?

Q1 will either be pictures of ministers asking you to match it with there shop or a picture of important political locations for e.g buckingham palace, the white house and leinster house etc.. the rest of the paper is unpredictable, but I recommend taking a look at all the notes I've posted so far.

I don't recommend doing the poster Q unless your really good at art, most of the questions are straight forward and require you to be able to copy for the text,

Your action project might also be handy.. because they might ask what commitees would you need for a specific thing.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 210 ✭✭zubikhan

Print this revision sheet and have a quick skim through it before an hour of the cspe exam and you should walk out like a BOSS ;)

The slogan is really important if you do the poster. It's half the marks available.

Very good revision sheet I must say, I recommend looking at it, thanks A97, you're a charm!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 121 ✭✭DUBLINHITMAN97

Q1 will either be pictures of ministers asking you to match it with there shop or a picture of important political locations for e.g buckingham palace, the white house and leinster house etc.. the rest of the paper is unpredictable, but I recommend taking a look at all the notes I've posted so far.

I don't recommend doing the poster Q unless your really good at art, most of the questions are straight forward and require you to be able to copy for the text,

Your action project might also be handy.. because they might ask what commitees would you need for a specific thing.

Thank you!

Not with there shop, with there positition sorry! Idk where shop came from.