Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Is the NSA checking your Status Updates ?

• 07-06-2013 10:59am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 97 ✭✭

NSA taps in to systems of Google, Facebook, Apple and others, secret files reveal

• Top secret PRISM program claims direct access to servers of firms including Google, Facebook and Apple

http://www.guardian.co.uk/world/2013/jun/06/us-tech-giants-nsa-data

Althought they don't meantion boards.ie by name I can only assume they are in league with the NSA !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,295 ✭✭✭✭Duggy747

Jst tuk a big smelly poo, lol!
    4 people like this

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,428 ✭✭✭.jacksparrow.

I think its pretty obvious that governments have access to everything you do on your phone and laptop, be it audio e mails etc.

Surprised its only coming out now, even webcams can be tracked.

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 26,403 Mod ✭✭✭✭Peregrine

limitedIQ wrote: »
    Althought they don't meantion boards.ie by name I can only assume they are in league with the NSA !

Yeah cos the American Security Agency have been worrying themselves sick over what we've been up to in AH

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,390 ✭✭✭IM0

weeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee off to the other thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,041 ✭✭✭Seachmall

Nimrod 7 wrote: »
    Yeah cos the American Security Agency have been worrying themselves sick over what we've been up to in AH

No, but it does appear on their radar.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,639 ✭✭✭✭OldGoat

But OldGoat is not my real name so bwahahahahaha to them, they'll never katch mE!

I'm older than Minecraft goats.

I can't imagine they would ever be that bored.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 230 ✭✭bellylint

The was me thinking this was going to be an informative tutorial on how to stop "no string's attached" incidents turning into stalkers. Boo to you internet

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,569 ✭✭✭Hoop66

Babe caught me plottin downfall of infidel west

still love her though

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,622 ✭✭✭Ruu

Who uses Hotmail??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 305 ✭✭Kichote

bellylint wrote: »
    The was me thinking this was going to be an informative tutorial on how to stop "no string's attached" incidents turning into stalkers. Boo to you internet

You have that problem a lot?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,009 ✭✭✭skimpydoo

Abdul did you get the plans for the Nuclear Reactor yet?.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 9,689 Mod ✭✭✭✭stevenmu

Jack Bauer wrote:
    Dammit Chloe, check boards.ie and find out where the terrorists are NOW!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,103 ✭✭✭mathie

Ruubot2 wrote: »
    Who uses Hotmail??

I do once I finish checking my Bebo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 290 ✭✭Uberbeamerman

Tonight's the night. And it's going to happen again and again. It has to happen

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,336 ✭✭✭wendell borton

They're Watching.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,940 ✭✭✭Corkfeen

I don't think that they'll be that concerned about my statuses.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,797 ✭✭✭KyussBishop

There we go; I'd say most people have already suspected this for a long time, but now it's confirmed.

Who thinks this doesn't go on in Ireland either? It might not be to the same extent, but I would be extremely surprised if similar illegal spying wasn't going on here.

Really glad to see Glenn Greenwald is the one breaking this story too; he's been very eloquently warning people about encroaching surveillance (and civil liberties erosion in general) for more than half a decade now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,908 ✭✭✭zom

They're Watching.

They're LISTEN. It's more interesting. I know from my experience with tracking stolen mobiles using anti-thief apps, that grabbing microphone helps more than grabbing camera video.
    Corkfeen wrote: »
    I don't think that they'll be that concerned about my statuses.

They have incredible storage to keep data about everyone just in case. If you surprisingly start some anti-government movement they will have lot of data to blackmail or put you to shame.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,192 ✭✭✭pharmaton

do they not just compile mountains of topical conversation and subjectsand stuff it into a big machine which predicts or determine future market flow and political trends and that kind of stuff?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 559 ✭✭✭danger mouse

Well I just want to post something about this. I posted a thread on boards a while ago (search my thread history for more info on the contents). The Garda put in a request for my personal information regarding this thread. I had two detectives at my door asking me questions about a thread that I posted in after hours. I feel everyone should be aware of this and know that boards have a legal abligation to pass on your info if the Garda request it. People should know that Big Brother is watching.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,299 ✭✭✭✭MadsL

Nothing to see here, move along, just look at this for a second first.

think everyone here is stoned and just a little bit paranoid about the internet

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,041 ✭✭✭Seachmall

pharmaton wrote: »
    think everyone here is stoned and just a little bit paranoid about the internet

Sounds like something Big Pharma would say, man.

Seachmall wrote: »
    Sounds like something Big Pharma would say, man.
    yeah

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,822 ✭✭✭Mickey H

Hey OP. I wouldn't worry too much about it. I mean, the NSA were looking for Jason Bourne for a while too, but 3 films later, he's still hiding.

In fact, he's so well hidden that they had to use Aaron Cross in the fourth film because they couldn't find him.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,288 ✭✭✭TheUsual

Ruubot2 wrote: »
    Who uses Hotmail??

Me !
    And I yahooooooooooooo, feck google.

USA/UK have been monitoring emails and internet traffic for YEARS now. ( reason is that most EU-USA traffic goes through the UK trans-atlantic optical fibres over to those nice USA people, so they can look at anything they want to without asking).

Yes, that includes you ladies with a few bottles of wine in you, who send some random guy a picture of your boobs.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 892 ✭✭✭opti0nal

Who thinks this doesn't go on in Ireland either? It might not be to the same extent, but I would be extremely surprised if similar illegal spying wasn't going on here..
    There is no illegal spying in Ireland. All spying is perfectly legal....phone companies and ISPs in Ireland are required by law to retain records of your location, calls and Internet access and it can be made available to various government agencies on request, without any warrant.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,747 ✭✭✭mdebets

But you can use this to your advantage.
    The NSA is now my free cloud storage. I write myself a mail with the files attached I want to have archived and add a few lines like 'Death to all the infidels' or 'long live the Taliban' and pronto, these files gets archived for free. If I need them back, I just send the NSA a mail, asking for it. Cheap and I don't have to worry myself with the cloud storage provider going out of service, being hacked or losing the data.

You can also use them for doing a little bit of gardening for you (only works if you are living in a country that licks America's ass). Need a hole dug in your garden for a new swimming pool? Just send yourself a mail like 'The Plutonium is buried in the back garden of <insert your address here>. Please collect it as soon as you can.'. and pronto, the army will show up and dig your hole.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,797 ✭✭✭KyussBishop

From the man himself (the whistleblower Edward Snowden) on why he leaked this stuff, and the significance of it:
    http://cdn.theguardian.tv/mainwebsite/2013/6/9/PRISM%20Whistleblower%20hb_FromGuAmRM-16x9.mp4
    Same video: http://www.guardian.co.uk/world/video/2013/jun/09/nsa-whistleblower-edward-snowden-interview-video

Additional articles:
    http://www.guardian.co.uk/world/2013/jun/09/nsa-whistleblower-edward-snowden-why
    http://www.guardian.co.uk/world/2013/jun/09/edward-snowden-nsa-whistleblower-surveillance

Extremely brave, to come out and openly expose his identity after releasing this information; the guy knows full well it could totally destroy his life, like the US government are trying to do to Bradley Manning (and tried to do with Daniel Ellsberg, among others, before him).

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 93,591 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

What goes on tour stays on tour.

What goes on the internet stays on the internet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,926 ✭✭✭Grab All Association

How long before this man mysteriously disappears?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,491 ✭✭✭looking_around

I just get shocked at the people who are surprised by this.

Like seriously.. If it's going through a server of any sort,then someone has access to it..(other then the original sender/receiver.....for those that need the obvious stated)>.>

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 93,591 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/ECHELON

Just a reminder that ISP's are legally obliged to hold on to data.
    Communications (Retention of Data) Act 2011
    http://www.irishstatutebook.ie/2011/en/act/pub/0003/print.html
    Obligation to retain data.

3.— (1) A service provider shall retain data in the categories specified in Schedule 2 , for a period of 2 years in respect of the data referred to in Part 1 of Schedule 2 and for a period of one year in respect of the data referred to in Part 2 of Schedule 2 .

and if you need loophole abuse try this
    (3) An officer of the Revenue Commissioners not below the rank of principal officer may request a service provider to disclose to that officer data retained by the service provider in accordance with section 3 where that officer is satisfied that the data are required for the prevention, detection, investigation or prosecution of a revenue offence.

(4) A disclosure request shall be made in writing, but in cases of exceptional urgency the request may be made orally (whether by telephone or otherwise) by a person entitled under subsection (1), (2) or (3) to make the request.
    It's plausible that anyone downloading anything from the interweb could potentially be avoiding some tax and so be subject to an investigation.

In the US it's a little different because the service providers charge law enforcement agencies so it's good business to rat on your customers, to the stage that requests were given on post it notes, instead of going though the full procedures.

And that's when they play by the rules.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5 MYDADPULLEDOUT

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,850 ✭✭✭FouxDaFaFa

Chris___ wrote: »
    How long before this man mysteriously disappears?
    This long.

There's probably no cause for alarm but he's gone from his Hong Kong hotel. His whereabouts are currently unknown.

(Hopefully he managed to hop a plane to Iceland or something).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 305 ✭✭Kichote

any newsies on where he's after going now?

Is someone after getting to work on him with a pair of pliers and a blowtorch on a CIA plane?

He's still in Hong Kong afaik, he allegedly chatted with the Guardian a few days ago and said he would not be returning to the US willingly.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 135 ✭✭ThreeBlindMice

Investigative Journalist Michael Hastings from Rolling Stone magazine Dies in Fiery Hollywood Crash - 'It sounded like a bomb went off' - He was currently working On a CIA and NSA story
    I was humming and hawwing about posting this myself. I've never been into conspiracy theories in a big way but the details of his death are so strange.

He was working on a story about the NSA. He mentioned in a Reddit AMA a year ago that he's received credible death threats.
    Every once and awhile, I'll get a death threat from someone--like, "if we don't like what you write, we'll hunt you down and kill you" kind of thing. But there's a more insidious response most of the time when you piss off the powerful. They come after your career, they try to come after your credibility. They do cocktail party whisper campaigns. They try to make you "controversial." Sadly, The Powers That Be are often aided by other journalists. The Pentagon has launched three investigations into stories I've done over the past 18 months under the pretense of finding the wrongdoing we were exposing. But the investigations were really about creating a Pentagon approved official document to criticize journalism they don't like.

He contacts Wikileaks a couple of hours before his death to say he's found out that the FBI are investigating him. He dies in a single vehicle crash on an empty street at 4am, crashing with such force that the engine blew out of its compartment and the entire (new, Mercedes) car exploded and was engulfed in flames.

The realistic part of me thinks this is just a tragic, ill-timed accident but it does have an awful smack of Karen Silkwood about it. Then again, maybe there was a fault with the new car. Maybe he was drinking. Maybe he killed himself, etc.