Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

what Audax bike ?

• 06-06-2013 10:30pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 2,889 ✭✭✭

FOR all the Audax riders question.i'm strongly thinking of buying an audax bike i have the thorn mk3 in mind but is there a much better bike out there that i can have a look at. actually i'm just after frame and fork.

thanks in advance.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,300 ✭✭✭✭Seaneh

The Specialized roubaix is apparently like riding a sofa for the day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,763 ✭✭✭✭Inquitus

Its a plastic bike, and as such not for audax.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,889 ✭✭✭feck sake lads

SO steel is the prefaired choice for audax.?

(i do have a top end tourer ) ,i like the thorn bikes but i'm trying to find out is there a favourate audax bike among audax riders.
    this bike must be capable of carry rear panniers and barbag i would be using it for touring and day rides.
    the touring bike i have is a Thorn Sherpa bit overkill for my type of touring to be honest fantastic bike but i want a lighter faster bike if you get my meaning.;)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,300 ✭✭✭✭Seaneh

I'll swap you my Specialized Tri-Cross frame for your sherpa :P

not just yet :D

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 15,812 Mod ✭✭✭✭smacl

Kind of been lusting after this one for a while now. Only done the one audax, but do 8-10 hour solo spins often enough. For me, it's about comfort and reliability, and I think you can build up any bike with relaxed geometry to meet these criteria to quite a large extent. You sacrifice a bit of weight and performance as a result.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,860 ✭✭✭TinyExplosions

Buy My Salsa Casseroll from the Adverts part -it'll be perfect for Audax :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,116 ✭✭✭bazermc

Seaneh wrote: »
    The Specialized roubaix is apparently like riding a sofa for the day.

+1 Roubaix is a great bike for long cycles - not exactly like riding a sofa for the day though - I am doing W200 on Sunday for the first time, so will be able to tell you more than.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,013 ✭✭✭Ole Rodrigo

Van Nicholas Yukon

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,457 ✭✭✭ford2600

ror_74 wrote: »
    Van Nicholas Yukon

Now your just teasing.:D
    What a bike

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 25,531 Mod ✭✭✭✭CramCycle

FOR all the Audax riders question.i'm strongly thinking of buying an audax bike i have the thorn mk3 in mind but is there a much better bike out there that i can have a look at. actually i'm just after frame and fork.

thanks in advance.

Whats an approximate budget might be a better question,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,089 ✭✭✭marketty

I'd have the ribble 525, don't know if it has rack mounts though. Or a Planet X Uncle John. Some cyclocross bikes are ideal for audax I reckon if they're set up for comfort

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 50 ✭✭vigorelli

thanks in advance.
    A custom steel frame and fork would be "better", in the sense that it would probably be lighter (depending on the tubing you choose), fit better, and be built to your exact specification and most importantly colour, but it would probably cost twice as much as the thorn.

Dave Yates is a legend in framebuilding and his waiting list is shorter than the more boutique builders.

the bob jackson off the peg frames are worth a look, some of them are priced similar to the thorn.

Closer to home, Kildare to be precise, another custom framebuilder
    http://www.bicycledesigncentre.com/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,604 ✭✭✭petethedrummer

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22 Vino Veritas

very hard to go wrong with a bob jackson , its a long time in the saddle, stick to custom steel (Not plastic) if you can afford it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,763 ✭✭✭✭Inquitus

fecksakelads, audax Ireland has a google mail group - http://groups.google.com/group/audax-ireland

The lads are really helpful and their advice invaluable for all things audax.

my uk friend just bought a bob jackson for his france tour i must ask him what he thinks of it when he geats back.
    so far the Thorn is at the top of my list.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,286 ✭✭✭AmberGold

Those Audax boys like Mercian.

I have a Genesis Equilibrium steel and its a pleasure to ride. I only took the Carbon out in May its that good.

Lads i should have said that my Raleigh 753 would do audax no problem ,but i wanted a bike with full mudguards and a rack on rear that will carry panniers and tent .
    the raleigh wasn't made for such cycling the tubes are to thin it would have been a top of the range road bike in its day.

besides i have the itch to get me a new bike :D:D
    i had my 60th birthday today but still feel like a big feckin kid
    (well most of the time):rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 384 ✭✭ryan0380

I recently got an enigma frame in Reynolds 853 tubing but only got it built up yesterday so I haven't been out on it yet, has mudguard and rack mounts and I am very happy with how it looks. Can report back on how it rides later, I don't ride audax but do a fair few miles, it will mainly be a winter bike. Enigma have lovely ti audax frames too.

Talbot frameworks in London are doing a special at the moment, they are custom building frames in Reynolds 853 for 853 sterling and there frames are stunning.

If money was no object I would get a custom built frame in Reynolds 953 tubing. I was at bespoked in bristol and there were some stunning frames there, the UK is awash with excellent frame builders at the minute.

ryan0380 wrote: »
    I recently got an enigma frame in Reynolds 853 tubing but only got it built up yesterday so I haven't been out on it yet, has mudguard and rack mounts and I am very happy with how it looks. Can report back on how it rides later, I don't ride audax but do a fair few miles, it will mainly be a winter bike. Enigma have lovely ti audax frames too.

Talbot frameworks in London are doing a special at the moment, they are custom building frames in Reynolds 853 for 853 sterling and there frames are stunning.

If money was no object I would get a custom built frame in Reynolds 953 tubing. I was at bespoked in bristol and there were some stunning frames there, the UK is awash with excellent frame builders at the minute.
    Ryan don't suppose you have any photos of the new baby.did you buy frame and fork from enigma.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 384 ✭✭ryan0380

I didn't buy direct from enigma, i bought it 2nd hand but it is immaculate with only tiny mark and it had seen very little mileage, if you pm me an email address I will send you a pic the morning. I have 1 pic now but it just has wheels and guards on it, no groupset. Don't know where you are based but you are welcome to have a look at it if it is possible. Enigmas stand at bespoked was very impressive.

just looked at ther website man those are beautifull bikes but way out of my price range.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,860 ✭✭✭TinyExplosions

And if you were prepared to wait! Seems there's big problems getting hold of 953 stock from Reynolds -Mercian have stopped taking any orders for bikes made from it as they can't guarantee when they'll get it in! :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,408 ✭✭✭studiorat

vigorelli wrote: »
    Closer to home, Kildare to be precise, another custom framebuilder
    http://www.bicycledesigncentre.com/

Good to hear of someone doing this here. I wonder what he'd charge for a nice Reynolds frame? Has anyone been in touch?