Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Car required ASAP - Mid west region.

• 06-06-2013 10:48am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,329 ✭✭✭

hi lads,
    engine went in my car this morning so have to get a car in the next 2 days.

i've it narrowed down to a 2007 skoda superb 1.9Tdi milage 105,000
    or a Passat 2005 140BHP milage 75,000.

both are going for around the 5000 grand, the passat is through a friend, haven't seen it yet. the superb is through a garage.

any thing i should know between both models that would help me decide.

looking for a similar car in the limerick area so if ye know, please let me know.
    thanks

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,354 ✭✭✭Sobanek

Avoid the 2.0 TDI in the Passat unless it's newer than 2007.
    These are known to be quite unreliable. The 1.9 TDI is the way to go.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,088 ✭✭✭✭_Kaiser_

Sobanek wrote: »

Not so - assuming you're referring to the injector issue. This was covered by a recall so should have been fixed if the car in question was affected.

Having owned a 2.0 TDI version myself, it's a far better fit for the car than the much older 1.9 plant.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,363 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

I'd question the validity of an 8 year old Passat diesel with only 75k miles on the clock.

Kaiser2000 wrote: »
    Not so - assuming you're referring to the injector issue. This was covered by a recall so should have been fixed if the car in question was affected.

Having owned a 2.0 TDI version myself, it's a far better fit for the car than the much older 1.9 plant.

Don't certain versions of that engine have oil pump balance shaft issues also?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,329 ✭✭✭jfh

bazz26 wrote: »
    I'd question the validity of an 8 year old Passat diesel with only 75k miles on the clock.

that did sound a little suspect to me also. there's no way to know if the clock is tampered with?

jfh wrote: »
    that did sound a little suspect to me also. there's no way to know if the clock is tampered with?

Like with buying any second hand car, you need to do some due diligence. Get one of those motor checks done on it, verify the service history and what was done by ringing the garages who stamped the book, look for NCT certs which normally have the mileage printed on them at the time of testing. Anything not adding up or conveniently missing then my gut is to walk away.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,575 ✭✭✭166man

Sobanek wrote: »

A user on here had a 1.9 and it sh1t itself so I wouldn't say either engine are the most reliable thing ever either. Also wouldn't go near a 2.0TDI, it doesn't matter if they recall the injectors, there's plenty of other issues including that stupid electric handbrake and the oil pump is another thing that is affected.

Put simply I'd avoid any Passat with any diesel engine or any Passat full stop from 2005 to 2008 really.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,088 ✭✭✭✭_Kaiser_

166man wrote: »
    A user on here had a 1.9 and it sh1t itself so I wouldn't say either engine are the most reliable thing ever either. Also wouldn't go near a 2.0TDI, it doesn't matter if they recall the injectors, there's plenty of other issues including that stupid electric handbrake and the oil pump is another thing that is affected.

Put simply I'd avoid any Passat with any diesel engine or any Passat full stop from 2005 to 2008 really.

Handbrake can affect any of the modern era Passats, diesel or not.

Oil pump I'm not up to speed on but I can genuinely say with 5 years of owning a 2006 2.0 TDI one with DSG, the only issues I had were:

- Flywheel (but that's common to any modern diesel)
    - injectors (hadn't failed but done as a precaution)
    - Fuel pump went one morning
    - rear brake caliper failed

But to be fair, most of those I'd consider normal on a car that did 200,000 km with me in that time. Yes it cost a bit to service it (on time and with whatever was needed) over that time but against that, the only time it stopped dead was when the pump failed.

That's not too bad I think considering some of the horror stories I've read here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,575 ✭✭✭166man

Handbrake can affect any of the modern era Passats, diesel or not.

Oil pump I'm not up to speed on but I can genuinely say with 5 years of owning a 2006 2.0 TDI one with DSG, the only issues I had were:

- Flywheel (but that's common to any modern diesel)
    - injectors (hadn't failed but done as a precaution)
    - Fuel pump went one morning
    - rear brake caliper failed

But to be fair, most of those I'd consider normal on a car that did 200,000 km with me in that time. Yes it cost a bit to service it (on time and with whatever was needed) over that time but against that, the only time it stopped dead was when the pump failed.

That's not too bad I think considering some of the horror stories I've read here.

Sounds like you got a good one alright so I do see why you'd have no reason to slate them but I have heard wayyyyy too many stories about them and while you may have been lucky the OP may not be. Hardly a risk worth taking on a €5k Passat IMO.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,329 ✭✭✭jfh

one other thing, as i'm not trading in a car, should i pay less?
    and i'll be paying cash, should i be in a position to knock a bit of the price?

sorry new to this car buying business..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,985 ✭✭✭✭dgt

I've harped on before about a good friends 08 passat 2.0 highline that the flywheel let go on then 4 weeks later snapped the crank and now the turbo is nearly fooked.

Better off researching other motors methinks....