Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Opinions on this car?

• 05-06-2013 10:45pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,363 ✭✭✭✭

Guys, a good mate of mine is in the market for one of these and this one caught his eye:

http://www.driving.ie/used-cars/Honda/Accord/2.2-TYPE/33913672308968840/

He hasn't seen it in person yet but it's a UK import, a rare high spec Type S model with 180bhp over the standard 150bhp DTEC and has a similar spec to the higher Exec bar a sunroof, on top of the standard Type S spec. I've no first hand experience of that model Accord but I'm thinking it's a safe bet once it checks out. Hard to judge on price as they are like hen's teeth(the only other one available is similarly priced) but I'm thinking the asking price is a bit heavy given it's 3 years old at this stage but no surprising from a main dealer and given the 2 year warranty.

Any thoughts or comments?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,586 ✭✭✭BohsCeltic

Seems pricey for the mileage in my opinion

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,688 ✭✭✭✭mickdw

I dont know the price of them but I would have thought that it would be worth around that from a main dealer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,236 ✭✭✭Dr. Kenneth Noisewater

Im seriously looking at bringing in the same car only not type s. 2010, EX model, 2.2 iDtec with a bit less mileage, and I reckon I can get here and cleared for around 17k give or take depending on how much revenue decide to go after me for. Is the type s worth an extra 5ish grand because its rare? Up to your mate.

Fantastic looking motor though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,363 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

Yeah the market price is hard to gauge as the only two 2010 180bhp Type S models for sale here are from main dealers. The two year warranty being offered on this one obviously has to be factored into the price too.

Has anyone had any dealings with that garage btw, pm me if you don't want to say anything on thread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,721 ✭✭✭✭CianRyan

Is that lowered?
    It looks really nice.

Apparently the Type S 180bhp has lowered sports suspension, body kit and sits on 18" rims.

Really works for it, probably the nicest version I've seen.

I agree, it does look well.

deccurley wrote: »
    Im seriously looking at bringing in the same car only not type s. 2010, EX model, 2.2 iDtec with a bit less mileage, and I reckon I can get here and cleared for around 17k give or take depending on how much revenue decide to go after me for. Is the type s worth an extra 5ish grand because its rare? Up to your mate.

Fantastic looking motor though.

Id certainly pay more for the Type S then there is the 2 year main dealer warranty. Considering you are talking straight sale prices - buying in from uk, Im sure this one can be bought for significantly less than advertised price for a straight sale so on balance if this nicer model is bought from the dealer for under 20k straight with 2 year main dealer warranty, Id say its a better deal than you are looking at.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,694 ✭✭✭BMJD

bazz26 wrote: »
    Has anyone had any dealings with that garage btw, pm me if you don't want to say anything on thread.

I bought a car from them in 2004 (I think!), no problems at all, nice folks to deal with.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,236 ✭✭✭Dr. Kenneth Noisewater

mickdw wrote: »
    Id certainly pay more for the Type S then there is the 2 year main dealer warranty. Considering you are talking straight sale prices - buying in from uk, Im sure this one can be bought for significantly less than advertised price for a straight sale so on balance if this nicer model is bought from the dealer for under 20k straight with 2 year main dealer warranty, Id say its a better deal than you are looking at.

Not a better deal for me, don't particularly want the Type S.

My point being, is a sports pack and 2 yrs warranty worth an extra 5 grand, considering he's buying for 21750 and not under 20k

Thats asking price and will have money built in for trade ins. No trade in and they will sell that under 20k.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 245 ✭✭BobBobBobBob

I test drove one when I was in London for New Years, great motor! Would love one!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 585 ✭✭✭NobodyImportant

Drove one last year and really liked it. Plenty of poke and they look great.

Just looking at the new prices of these over here. The standard Type S starts at €35k, the Type S 180ps like the one in the advert is €42k. :eek:

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 40,349 Mod ✭✭✭✭Gumbo

deccurley wrote: »
    Not a better deal for me, don't particularly want the Type S.

My point being, is a sports pack and 2 yrs warranty worth an extra 5 grand, considering he's buying for 21750 and not under 20k

Yes, depending on the buyer. Some people want the slower engine, some people want the better performing engine. some people want the standard look, some people want the more aggressive Type S look.

Its like the difference between buying a BMW 318d SE and buying a BMW 320d MSport.

Its worth the extra ll day long.....for me anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 752 ✭✭✭TheBigGreen

Hi OP!

I'm looking to upgrade my motor and was thinking of EX or Type S, I will follow this thread to see how you get on if you buy it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,439 ✭✭✭ando

Seems very expensive for what it is

Hi OP!

I'm looking to upgrade my motor and was thinking of EX or Type S, I will follow this thread to see how you get on if you buy it.

I'm not buying it myself, its a mate and he said he is going to try and view it over the weekend.

ando wrote: »
    Seems very expensive for what it is

you base this on?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 752 ✭✭✭TheBigGreen

I went and test drove the Type S in Tipp today, great car with an the equipment you would want. I'm gonna have a good think about it now!

null_zpse1929a7c.jpg

null_zps56522a35.jpg

null_zpsda5caa5e.jpg

null_zps4719e4f4.jpg

null_zps4bfb934c.jpg

null_zpsb26f22c5.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,305 ✭✭✭Green Hornet

I've bought my last 7 cars from them.....dating back to 1997....all Honda's including my current Accord iDTEC which originated in the UK. They check out the cars that they import thoroughly and they do bring in quite a few, usually Accords and A4's.

Top people to deal with and if you ever do need something checked out, they are extremely obliging and won't screw you over in my experience.

Beautiful car, definitely something to consider down the line.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,302 ✭✭✭Supergurrier

It's no Skoda Superb

<Takes off old man cap>

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 66,122 ✭✭✭✭unkel
    Chauffe, Marcel, chauffe!

Just looking at the new prices of these over here. The standard Type S starts at €35k, the Type S 180ps like the one in the advert is €42k. :eek:

That's BMW 5-series money. Crazy for an Accord...

unkel wrote: »
    That's BMW 5-series money. Crazy for an Accord...

I'd rather the Accord, much better looking car.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,737 ✭✭✭MidlandsM

Apparently the Type S 180bhp has lowered sports suspension, body kit and sits on 18" rims.

not suited for irish roads so, and over priced.

CianRyan wrote: »
    I'd rather the Accord, much better looking car.

Maybe you should buy a brand new Citroen C6? Beats the Accord hands down in massive depreciation and terrible value for money ;)

Looks far better than an Accord too...

Maybe you should buy a brand new Citroen C6? Beats the Accord hands down in massive depreciation and terrible value for money ;)

Looks far better than an Accord too...

I'm a huge fan of the last C6, also a car I'd love.
    I presume by that, you think a base model 520D is excellent value for money, if so why and if not then it would be great if you could clarify what you meant.

If you're simply looking for a raise I'll leave it here.

MidlandsM wrote: »
    not suited for irish roads so, and over priced.

we dont all live in the bogland ;)

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators Posts: 17,858 Mod ✭✭✭✭Henry Ford III

Accord have a odd image in Ireland. They are perceived as an aspirational upmarket car with sporting pretentions.

I'm more inclined to see them as basically a bit of an OAP's car - just as they are in the UK.

you think a base model 520D is excellent value for money, if so why and if not then it would be great if you could clarify what you meant.

I'd say a 520d outsells an Accord S type diesel by at least 100 to 1 in this country. I guess most people agree with me that it is good value for money ;)

Personally I prefer petrol and (a lot more) cylinders over a tiny engined tractor :D

I'd say a 520d outsells an Accord S type diesel by at least 100 to 1 in this country. I guess most people agree with me that it is good value for money ;)

Personally I prefer petrol and (a lot more) cylinders over a tiny engined tractor :D

I whole heartedly agree about the big petrol VS tractor statement. :D

The rest makes no odds though, we know how idiotic Irish driver are with regards to badges. ;)

The rest makes no odds though

Ah come on!

The BMW 520d:

1. less depreciation
    2. full size bigger
    3. more powerful
    4. faster
    5. produces less CO2
    6. uses less fuel
    7. cheaper to tax
    8. probably cheaper to insure (Hondas usually take an extra loading)

The Accord S-type:

1. is better looking according to CianRyan and 2 other people in Ireland :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,417 ✭✭✭The Pontiac

The BMW has better imagine than the Accord.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,575 ✭✭✭166man

Ah come on!

The BMW 520d:

1. less depreciation
    2. full size bigger
    3. more powerful
    4. faster
    5. produces less CO2
    6. uses less fuel
    7. cheaper to tax
    8. probably cheaper to insure (Hondas usually take an extra loading)

The Accord S-type:

1. is better looking according to CianRyan and 2 other people in Ireland :p

It's also as common as muck and has an engine known to sh1t itself with it's timing chain.

In the real world the Honda will be

- as fast
    - as economical
    - Tax roughly the same

Add in the fact that the Honda is the better looking car by some margin and I know what I'd have...and I'm not even much of a Jap Car fan!

The 520d isn't the best car in the world many people make it out to be - oh and it has those sh1tty runflat tyres too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,520 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

€200 tax for the bm vs €390 for the honda, roughly the same!

Lads, the guy is not concerned about image, that's for other people to get over. An F10 is out of his budget and I've steered him clear of any E60 with the N47 engine. He's looking at the A6 also.

colm_mcm wrote: »
    €200 tax for the bm vs €390 for the honda, roughly the same!

Tax on the BM is €200? :eek:

Mother of Lord....:o

166man wrote: »
    has an engine known to sh1t itself with it's timing chain.

2010 means F10 (current model). No issues with the timing chain ;)
    In the real world the Honda will be

- as fast
    - as economical

No it won't. BMW is far more economical and nearly a full second quicker to 100km/h. (Agreed that in the real world the faster top speed doesn't matter). Diesel is new to Honda. They've done a remarkable job on their first ever diesel engine, but they're not quite up there with the likes of BMW yet...

I'm guessing here, but I would bet money that a typical remap of both cars would see the difference in power between them grow bigger, a lot bigger.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,728 ✭✭✭George Dalton

He's looking at the A6 also.

Good call. Get him to look at a nice facelift model A6 and he won't get back into the Honda that is for sure!

Lads, the guy is not concerned about image, that's for other people to get over. An F10 is out of his budget and I've steered him clear of any E60 with the N47 engine. He's looking at the A6 also.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,417 ✭✭✭The Pontiac

That Accord is a gorgeous car. Just saying the 5 series has a better imagine as the thread was turning into versus 5 series.

Hard to gauge the value of that Type S as there's so few around, but I'd drive/own it all day long!

Several posts while I was typing up my previous one :o
    An F10 is out of his budget and I've steered him clear of any E60 with the N47 engine.

Sound advice. I wouldn't touch a N47 E60 myself unless it was already fitted with the upgraded parts.

No it won't. BMW is far more economical and nearly a full second quicker to 100km/h. (Agreed that in the real world the faster top speed doesn't matter). Diesel is new to Honda. They've done a remarkable job on their first ever diesel engine, but they're not quite up there with the likes of BMW yet...

I'm guessing here, but I would bet money that a typical remap of both cars would see the difference in power between them grow bigger, a lot bigger.

Missed the F10 part, thought we were on about the E60.

Far more economical? Both cars would average circa 50mpg in general I'd have thought.

Full second 0-60 makes feck all difference. It's in gear times that count and the BMW is probably quicker but even still, you'd want to be racing it to notice I'd say.

This isn't their first diesel engine either... They had the mightily impressive I-CDTI unit too.

I wouldn't remap either engine tbh, 184bhp is quite alot of a 4 pot. I'd have no interest in putting it under more strain.

Full second 0-60 makes feck all difference.

I beg to differ. Most 520d are now auto and the Accord are probably mostly manual so that will increase the gap to more than 2s easily in real life. Massive difference!
    I wouldn't remap either engine tbh, 184bhp is quite alot of a 4 pot.

Nah, the BMW engine should be able to do up to 250BHP without issues. Not so sure if the Honda engine could do the same! :)

By not quite there yet do you mean diesel engines that ingest swirl flaps, breather filters blocking causing the turbo to pop or timing chains snapping?

BMW are hardly the final say on diesel engine design or reliability to be honest. I'd say there is less chance of that Honda engine snapping it's timing chain than my 3 Series engine, not to mention the genius who designed the timing chain at the rear of the engine up against a bulkhead so the engine/gearbox has to be dropped out to replace a timing chain that is supposed to last the lifetime of the engine.

I beg to differ. Most 520d are now auto and the Accord are probably mostly manual so that will increase the gap to more than 2s easily in real life. Massive difference!

Nah, the BMW engine should be able to do up to 250BHP without issues. Not so sure if the Honda engine could do the same! :)

Hardly fair to compare auto to manual, why not compare the manual in both and see how the residuals of the 520d hold then...;)

As for remapping it...250 brake from a 2.0 4 pot? You crazy? Why do you think the Honda engine couldn't do the same?

the genius who designed the timing chain at the rear of the engine up against a bulkhead so the engine/gearbox has to be dropped out to replace a timing chain that is supposed to last the lifetime of the engine.

Not his fault! Timing chain at the rear is fine, as long as it does last the lifetime of the engine :p

All BMWs have had chains for decades. Never before was there any issue. But now indeed there was an issue in the early years of the N47 engine (note: just one engine).

Major fukc up alright. But in fairness, on cars not too far out of warranty, with no intergalactic miles on them, serviced by BMW, most of the cost is paid for by BMW

Just looking there at carzone.ie and the majority of 2010 F10s for sale are manual. Accord diesel auto was only available since 2010 afaik and they are as rare as hen's teeth.