Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

No Show Today

• 05-06-2013 7:46pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 1,430 ✭✭✭

Turned up for a threeball in an Open today with two others who I haven't met before. When I turned up, no sign of them unfortunately!
    Complained to be given a shrug of the shoulders, at which point I asked for their Gui no.s, and that I would be lodging a complaint with same.
    Told that no.s were unavailable(he had let it slip that one was a member) to which I asked his name and that I'd be still lodging a complaint.
    Gave me his name and I left, only to see him approach me in the car park offering a free round. To which I agreed....

It's still stuck in my head but is there any point in reporting them?(have the names), or am I cheaply bought?:o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,317 ✭✭✭big_drive

You could but nothing would happen I'd say. Happens week in week out

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,430 ✭✭✭Ilik Urgee

big_drive wrote: »
    You could but nothing would happen I'd say. Happens week in week out

It's fair maddening though. Clubs need to fine them to cut it out imo.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 812 ✭✭✭For Paws

Did their names magically transfer to another time slot alongside a different third partner ?
    (Time sheet probably still online)

If so, (and I've had this happen to me) they should suffer some penalty.
    It's extremely rude to dis-include someone simply because a more preferred partner signs up late. But that's folks for you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,939 ✭✭✭Russman

Not much point in pushing it any further to be honest. You'd be wasting your own energy on something that's just not worth it.

Its a pain in the a$$, but unfortunately all they've done, at worst, is be incredibly rude and inconsiderate. Wouldn't like to be the club that tried to issue monetary fines on amateur players.

Only way to combat stuff like that is entry fees having to be paid at the time of booking.

For Paws wrote: »
    Did their names magically transfer to another time slot alongside a different third partner ?
    (Time sheet probably still online)

Not that I know of, I was a guest there so had no access to the book.
    Russman wrote: »
    Not much point in pushing it any further to be honest. You'd be wasting your own energy on something that's just not worth it.

Its a pain in the a$$, but unfortunately all they've done, at worst, is be incredibly rude and inconsiderate. Wouldn't like to be the club that tried to issue monetary fines on amateur players.

Only way to combat stuff like that is entry fees having to be paid at the time of booking.

Yeah,that's a better way. These guys are oblivious to what happened today, seeing as I only booked in at 10.00 this morning. If they weren't gonna show, why not take their names down, make a phone call. Ignorant pliks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 668 ✭✭✭Dtoffee

Why not name and shame the club? its no good to us if we dont know where this is going on and can avoid it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,695 ✭✭✭ForeRight

Dtoffee wrote: »
    Why not name and shame the club? its no good to us if we dont know where this is going on and can avoid it.

I'd advise against doing that on here.

Not sure I'm allowed do that. They or the club might see this thread and defend their actions, or attempt to.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 668 ✭✭✭Dtoffee

OK if you cant name them .... then whats the point in complaining? nothing changes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 417 ✭✭Freemount09

Do you reckon, they saw you sign in and decide to hide in the jacks till you went away ???

Seriously though, these people should lose the rights to log onto the timesheet for a month and should have to ring up to make bookings. 2nd offence 3 month ban from the online booking.

Do you reckon, they saw you sign in and decide to hide in the jacks till you went away ???

The difference being, I didn't follow them in;)

Good idea though regards the timesheet banning.
    As another poster asks why I'm whinging if I can't name them-I can't and yes I'm whinging!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 904 ✭✭✭realgolfgeek

Dtoffee wrote: »
    OK if you cant name them .... then whats the point in complaining? nothing changes

You can't name and shame ..
    if you were to do that you'd have every club in the country listed.
    This happens ALOT !!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,003 ✭✭✭Kevinmarkham

Seriously though, these people should lose the rights to log onto the timesheet for a month and should have to ring up to make bookings. 2nd offence 3 month ban from the online booking.

We started doing that at my home club - Greystones - because there were a couple of lads who would get home in a sorry state at 4am on a Saturday morning and either take their name off the time sheet for a 9am tee time or simply didn't show. It was very effective. Plenty of people griped about it, but the tee box was full from then on and a few faces didn't appear for a while.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 7,268 Mod ✭✭✭✭charlieIRL

I'd rather you didn't name and shame if that's ok? Its up to the club to deal with these guys and not us.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,191 ✭✭✭Dr_Colossus

Was it a three ball team competition or an open singles played in three balls? Either way the club should have made every effort to get you out but obviously that would be a lot easier in an open singles where they could split a three ball into two twos.

I play a good few open competitions on my own although admittedly always in either open singles stableford or stroke competitions and over the past couple of years have to admit I've had very few no shows or late cancellations. On line booking facilities generally always require a telephone number and credit card number and in the case of no shows or cancellations within 24 hrs the terms and conditions state that your card will be charged (a perfectly fair outcome).
    However courses that don't have online booking facilities only require a telephone call where they only require your name. To combat the possibility of inconsiderate and rude golfers clubs also need to start asking for telephone numbers and credit card numbers over the phone to confirm bookings. There's is no better way of ensuring players to turn up especially in inclement conditions that the guarantee that they will still be charged for the round. Plus if players don't show and leave a potential playing partner waiting the club has a contact number to call and enquire/confirm their attendance.

In the above situation I don't think the offer of a free round is a suitable solution, were you expected to return some other day and play the course on your own or was it at least a voucher for a two or fourball? What if you were on holidays and unlikely to be in the area again or had traveled a good distance to play the course on the day in question. Obviously it is better than a kick in the pants as you're left leaving the club with your tail between your legs fully expecting and looking forward to playing golf in pleasant conditions.

The club should have made every effort to contact the two players in question (especially since one of them was a member) and inquire as to there whereabouts and that they had left a fellow competitor waiting. Thereafter I would have hoped they'd try to team you up with two other players and at least get you out if only in a two ball.

I would still complain to the club in question regarding their indifferent handling of the situation and the member (who's name your have) that failed to show without any word of warning. If you don't complain then the situation just gets overlooked and there's no possibility of proper procedures being put in place to try and combat the problem.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 19,478 Mod ✭✭✭✭slave1

Ilik Urgee wrote: »
    Turned up for a threeball in an Open today with two others who I haven't met before. When I turned up, no sign of them unfortunately!
    Complained to be given a shrug of the shoulders, at which point I asked for their Gui no.s, and that I would be lodging a complaint with same.
    Told that no.s were unavailable(he had let it slip that one was a member) to which I asked his name and that I'd be still lodging a complaint.
    Gave me his name and I left, only to see him approach me in the car park offering a free round. To which I agreed....

It's still stuck in my head but is there any point in reporting them?(have the names), or am I cheaply bought?:o

This happens every day, I would not report them, I think that's a step too far, you do not know these individuals nor their personal circumstances that led to no show, maybe they just couldn't be bothered but maybe illness/injury/work leave cancelled/bereavement etc etc etc
    You've been given a free round and vented here, IMHO move on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,080 ✭✭✭bustercherry

Why did you not try and get out in another group? Seems to me you threw the toys outta the pram rather than accept the situation and work with the guys to find another slot.

We started doing that at my home club - Greystones - because there were a couple of lads who would get home in a sorry state at 4am on a Saturday morning and either take their name off the time sheet for a 9am tee time or simply didn't show. It was very effective. Plenty of people griped about it, but the tee box was full from then on and a few faces didn't appear for a while.

Don't disagree with you Kevin, but a lot of clubs will want to hold onto their members and not alienate them to another more lenient club [aware of viscious circle of also alienating members negatively effected by no-shows but just think these guys are less likely to leave]

slave1 wrote: »
    Don't disagree with you Kevin, but a lot of clubs will want to hold onto their members and not alienate them to another more lenient club [aware of viscious circle of also alienating members negatively effected by no-shows but just think these guys are less likely to leave]

Not sure if a policy of no action against members who disregard the rights of other members because it might 'alienate' them is that wise.

It is clearly in their (the no-shows) interest for there to be no penalty.
    Is in the interest of all the members ?

While the point made earlier that the 'no-shows' might have been unavoidably detained, a phone call to cancel their booking should have been made.
    Only in the most extreme of circumstances (eg; being dead) should people not cancel as early as possible.

In the OPs situation, an early call to cancel might have provided enough time for the Pro to make up another pairing / 3 ball.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,893 ✭✭✭alxmorgan

This happens every day, I would not report them, I think that's a step too far, you do not know these individuals nor their personal circumstances that led to no show, maybe they just couldn't be bothered but maybe illness/injury/work leave cancelled/bereavement etc etc etc

Have to disagree with you on this one. Of course things can happen. But only in the most serious of circumstances would someone not be able to make a 10 second phone call.

Vast majority of the time its selfishness which is not right. I was down to play an open last week with another guy. Course was wedged and he showed up early so jumped in with another group to try and get around quicker. I was left on my own and no spots behind me so I was left high and dry.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,370 ✭✭✭✭GreeBo

We are bringing in the electronic payment, so once you enter the cash is gone.

Also, there is a "rule" that if you are not giving 2 days notice you have to ring the other guys on the sheet beside you.
    Typically if I am cancelling at the last minute (very rare) I check the waiting list, usually there is someone automatically slotted in so its not an issue.

Yeah I can accept that, anything can happen at any time. All it takes is a phone call is all I'm saying.One was a member,the other a guest. Surely between the two of them a phone call wasn't too much to ask?
    Will I play that course again? No. Why? Because this scenario may happen again.

Was it a three ball team competition or an open singles played in three balls? Either way the club should have made every effort to get you out but obviously that would be a lot easier in an open singles where they could split a three ball into two twos.

I play a good few open competitions on my own although admittedly always in either open singles stableford or stroke competitions and over the past couple of years have to admit I've had very few no shows or late cancellations. On line booking facilities generally always require a telephone number and credit card number and in the case of no shows or cancellations within 24 hrs the terms and conditions state that your card will be charged (a perfectly fair outcome).
    However courses that don't have online booking facilities only require a telephone call where they only require your name. To combat the possibility of inconsiderate and rude golfers clubs also need to start asking for telephone numbers and credit card numbers over the phone to confirm bookings. There's is no better way of ensuring players to turn up especially in inclement conditions that the guarantee that they will still be charged for the round. Plus if players don't show and leave a potential playing partner waiting the club has a contact number to call and enquire/confirm their attendance.

In the above situation I don't think the offer of a free round is a suitable solution, were you expected to return some other day and play the course on your own or was it at least a voucher for a two or fourball? What if you were on holidays and unlikely to be in the area again or had traveled a good distance to play the course on the day in question. Obviously it is better than a kick in the pants as you're left leaving the club with your tail between your legs fully expecting and looking forward to playing golf in pleasant conditions.

The club should have made every effort to contact the two players in question (especially since one of them was a member) and inquire as to there whereabouts and that they had left a fellow competitor waiting. Thereafter I would have hoped they'd try to team you up with two other players and at least get you out if only in a two ball.

I would still complain to the club in question regarding their indifferent handling of the situation and the member (who's name your have) that failed to show without any word of warning. If you don't complain then the situation just gets overlooked and there's no possibility of proper procedures being put in place to try and combat the problem.

Good post.
    I was down to play SS with two other guys. Booked in at about 10 yesterday morning, day was too good not to get out.That slot was for 13.00, after which a society was next out at 13.30 with no other competition slots filled in between.
    Hence I was left high and dry having travelled 50 minutes for a game.

To the bold bit, exactly my thoughts only better put.

Why did you not try and get out in another group? Seems to me you threw the toys outta the pram rather than accept the situation and work with the guys to find another slot.

Is it a case of making an assumption based on having little to no facts regarding this issue? Or just trying to get a rise?

You booked yesterday morning 3 hours in advance not 3 days. Do you know if they even knew they had a third added to the time sheet at such late notice? I've done the same on many occasions and my playing partners hadn't a clue I was on the sheet; despite an online booking system existing.

Also it was an open and whilst some people may not agree; it is not the responsibility of the other guys to ensure you get your game and certainly do not need to justify not turning up to you (Members should justify to the club as they effectively took up a slot possibly generating a green fee. Also most places now require non members to provide CC details and charge the card in the event of not showing up). There was a risk they might cancel (or not show up) and it's unfortunate there was no one else out after but you should dry your eyes and get over it.

I fully agree with the responses regarding club competition no-shows though. I think time sheets should be locked 12 hours before tee-off or before the pro-shop closes the previous evening; forcing people to notify a club (that way it may still be possible to move people on the time sheet). Otherwise they should be banned from club comps for a set period of time. It's the same people time and time again taking the most convenient slots and then not showing

alxmorgan wrote: »
    Have to disagree with you on this one. Of course things can happen. But only in the most serious of circumstances would someone not be able to make a 10 second phone call.

Vast majority of the time its selfishness which is not right. I was down to play an open last week with another guy. Course was wedged and he showed up early so jumped in with another group to try and get around quicker. I was left on my own and no spots behind me so I was left high and dry.

I agree with the selfishness being the number one reason, but that quick call is not always possible, I like playing as many courses as possible and the amount of times I have to ring back because folk don't pick up or return calls is unreal [even in today's economic climate], even then I've had to cancel bookings made say on a Tuesday for a Saturday because herself could turn out to be working but unless I've access to a PC I know it's a waste of time because the club will not update the timesheet.
    The context of my reply is that the OP did not know the individuals nor the circumstance of their no show in this particualar example so my response needs to be taken in context.

In general I'd agree with policing of no shows with some sort of follow up, be it a phone call or email in the first instance and then moving onto temporary ban from the timesheet thereafter.
    I'd also like to see timesheets open from much earlier than 8'o clock because I for one would have no problem playing Saturday morning at 7 in this weather but can't take the risk that there will be a line of lads queued up and I'd be standing around.

Good post.
    I was down to play SS with two other guys. Booked in at about 10 yesterday morning, day was too good not to get out.That slot was for 13.00, after which a society was next out at 13.30 with no other competition slots filled in between.

Ah g;sus after travelling nearly an hour to get a game, for this to happen I'd be P**sed too !

If your not going to go back I'd be inclined to send back the voucher they gave you with a note saying thanks for the guesture, but you would rather the took appropriate action against the member in question as the club has lost revenue from your entry yesterday plus any potential future visits which you will not be doing now.

Make sure you include your name and address in case they want to send you out a better voucher !! :D

Actually just to add, I've had this happen to me in the past and the club in question sent the pro-shop assistant out to sign my card. Not sure the assistant was too happy having to listen to me for a few hours but fair play to the club :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,191 ✭✭✭Dr_Colossus

Actually just to add, I've had this happen to me in the past and the club in question sent the pro-shop assistant out to sign my card. Not sure the assistant was too happy having to listen to me for a few hours but fair play to the club :P

Wow, that's above and beyond the call or duty and level required, did the pro-shop assistant at least get to play the round also? Not a bad day's work if so. Surely there's no issues with naming a club that offers outstanding service in rectifying a difficult situation such as this?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 606 ✭✭✭Tin_Cup

In one of the previous courses I worked at we trialed requesting credit card details over the phone for bookings. Was amazing how much the numbers playing dropped (60% one week). Surprising to see how easily guys book with credit card online but very reluctant to give details over the phone for bookings.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,331 ✭✭✭mike12

Good post.

They may not have canceled but though that there was no one playing with them and it wasn't that busy anyhow or you could have gotten out with a different group. If you have been booked in for a few days rather than the morning i would see it as more of an issue.

If you are a no show for a comp you should still have to pay the entry fee before you are allowed to play again.

Mike

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,426 ✭✭✭Miley Byrne

mike12 wrote: »
    They may not have canceled but though that there was no one playing with them and it wasn't that busy anyhow or you could have gotten out with a different group. If you have been booked in for a few days rather than the morning i would see it as more of an issue.

If you are a no show for a comp you should still have to pay the entry fee before you are allowed to play again.

Mike

But if they went to the bother of taking their names off of the timesheet they would have seen the third name on it and provisions could have been made to sort a playing partner through the club or something. They can't just assume nobody will add a name to their line on the sheet. They should assume somebody WILL add their name. I can't see how no-shows can be defended. Especially when two people didn't show.

denisoc16 wrote: »
    But if they went to the bother of taking their names off of the timesheet they would have seen the third name on it and provisions could have been made to sort a playing partner through the club or something. They can't just assume nobody will add a name to their line on the sheet. They should assume somebody WILL add their name. I can't see how no-shows can be defended. Especially when two people didn't show.

maybe they rang up and the pro/whoever cancelled them off?
    It should then be up to that person to inform the person on their own that they dont have opposition.

Obviously for member comps the above doesnt matter.

It may well be that the introduction of online booking has exacerbated this problem. Before online booking you rang up and the Pro or Sec would slot you in. If you we're a single or a two ball he'd fill up a 'line'.
    With online booking the time sheet is no longer anyone's responsibilty and players are unaware or uncaring of other players' position.
    I can clearly recall a couple of times over the years when the Pro rang me to advise me of changes in the time sheet and offer alternate tee times.
    IMO every Club should still be doing that. However I suppose the recession has made that more difficult (no Pro at my Club anymore), but maybe the Committee could look at getting volunteers to monitor the sheet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,939 ✭✭✭Russman

For Paws wrote: »
    It may well be that the introduction of online booking has exacerbated this problem. Before online booking you rang up and the Pro or Sec would slot you in. If you we're a single or a two ball he'd fill up a 'line'.
    With online booking the time sheet is no longer anyone's responsibilty and players are unaware or uncaring of other players' position.
    I can clearly recall a couple of times over the years when the Pro rang me to advise me of changes in the time sheet and offer alternate tee times.
    IMO every Club should still be doing that. However I suppose the recession has made that more difficult (no Pro at my Club anymore), but maybe the Committee could look at getting volunteers to monitor the sheet.

Absolutely 100%.
    While I'm all in favour of "progress" etc etc, it could very easily be argued that online booking on a timesheet is actually a step backwards. I mean, really, how does it help in reality ?
    As you say, nobody has responsibility and its just so easy to just delete your name and be done with it. I know our online sheets close at midnight the night before the comp, but that's neither here nor there to be honest, plenty of lads just don't turn up. To be fair our pro will always ensure everyone gets out and most members are happy enough to accommodate. Personally I actually much preferred the old hard copy timesheet that was in the pro shop or on the noticeboard - issues like you've had Op seemed to be far fewer.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,490 ✭✭✭Almaviva

While I'm all in favour of "progress" etc etc, it could very easily be argued that online booking on a timesheet is actually a step backwards. I mean, really, how does it help in reality ?

It is progress, just not progress properly implemented.

Online booking is fine. BRS (far and awasy the dominant system in Irl) needs a facility added to it (easy for those guys to do) that restricts you from modifying your booking once you have made it. Requiring you to call the pro or club. This would cut out the easy-come-easy-cancel regime that we have in our club. Possible to change if you have a good reason, but 1) forcing you to speak to someone, and 2) notifying them so that they are aware of a line that maybe needs filling to avoid someone being left alone.

At the moment, a comp is either open or closed - allowing everyone to quit out out or slot hop as many times as they like until it is closed to all bookings.

I used to be in touch with BRS, though no longer. They did welcome suggestions, so if someone wants to contact them...

Also it was an open and whilst some people may not agree; it is not the responsibility of the other guys to ensure you get your game and certainly do not need to justify not turning up to you (Members should justify to the club as they effectively took up a slot possibly generating a green fee. Also most places now require non members to provide CC details and charge the card in the event of not showing up).

They did neither in any case.
    The club didn't know anything of their whereabouts 10 minutes after tee-off time.
    I wasn't expecting any justifications from them personally at all. Where did I say that?
    All I wanted was a bit of respect and decency.
    There was a risk they might cancel (or not show up) and it's unfortunate there was no one else out after but you should dry your eyes and get over it.

Of course there's a risk anyone can cancel at any stage. They didn't.They just didn't bother making a phone call nor turn up,which is what most would've done.
    It seems you don't fully understand your duties and obligations when it comes to putting your name on a timesheet.
    Brush up on those before you go using phrases like "dry your eyes" and "get over it".

There seems to be a tendency with some posters here to differentiate between the duties and obligations of members towards fellow members, and between members and 'green fees'.

It has always been my understanding that paying a 'green fee' entitled a player to (playing) membership of that Club for a specific day. Over time Clubs narrowed the entitlement to one round. But the other entitlements of a member, use of the Club facilities, changing rooms, toilets, showers, bar, restaurant, practice facility were deemed to be available to the 'green fee' player.

Normally this was done so as to accommodate members introducing their guests to the Club, perhaps with a view to the guest becoming a member.

Members of other Clubs might also be treated as members for the day through the payment of a green fee. It is still the assumption, though not the practice, of Clubs that 'green fee' players are in fact members of another Club.

On that basis it would seem that the members of a Club have similar, if not the same, duties and obligations towards 'green fees' that they owe fellow members of their own Club.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,426 ✭✭✭Miley Byrne

GreeBo wrote: »
    maybe they rang up and the pro/whoever cancelled them off?
    It should then be up to that person to inform the person on their own that they dont have opposition.

Obviously for member comps the above doesnt matter.

I thought it was clear that they didn't ring up to cancel. The OP made this point.

Actually, that is his entire point...

They did neither in any case.
    The club didn't know anything of their whereabouts 10 minutes after tee-off time.
    I wasn't expecting any justifications from them personally at all. Where did I say that?
    All I wanted was a bit of respect and decency.

As I say they owe you nothing, it could have been simply they forgot it was booked. I've already pointed, as a few other have, booking 3 hours before hand; it's most likely they didn't know a third had joined them on the sheet. You put your name down in an open competition and they didn't show up. It sucks that there was no one else to go out with but like I said it's not their responsibility to turn up just to make sure a strangers card is marked. It's their responsibility to adhere to the time sheets rules set out by the club.
    Of course there's a risk anyone can cancel at any stage. They didn't. They just didn't bother making a phone call nor turn up,which is what most would've done.
    It seems you don't fully understand your duties and obligations when it comes to putting your name on a time sheet.
    Brush up on those before you go using phrases like "dry your eyes" and "get over it".

Wise up :rolleyes:

A players duties and obligations is adhere to the time sheet rules enforced by the club. It's for the club to deal with this matter. There is nothing the club could have done in these circumstances as there was no way of accommodating you on the time sheet to allow you to get your scorecard marked.

Can I also point out, from what I can see there would have been no reason stopping you from playing a round (if it was slow, play 2 balls etc...). Also you could have probably played for free using the clubs offer. You wouldn't been able to submit a score card but at least it wouldn't have been a waste of a journey. Any rational person would have tried to make the most of the situation and understood the club could not do anything about getting you a playing partner. Instead you demanded GUI numbers etc... I get the impression you spat the dummy out and walked off in a huff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 659 ✭✭✭Nemesis

You could still enter the open and ask for a marker appointed by the club's committee.

If they don't get you a marker go find someone willing to walk around with you

• Closed Accounts Posts: 836 ✭✭✭OilBeefHooked2

It's hard to believe the extreme casual attitude some people have to timesheets and timesheet etiquette, how some people think they have no responsibility to others on the same line as them is bizarre to say the least, all you have to do is put yourself in the OPs position and maybe you'll begin to understand how bad form it is.
    If you need the club in question or the the online timesheet operator to inform you of the correct procedure then perhaps you need to check your moral compass and get it fixed.
    IMO there is no excuse for not showing up for a tee time (or at the very least contact the club in question), well maybe there is one excuse, death and that's it.

Edit to say:
    I play about 25 to 30 open comps every year and in the last 4/5 years fortunately I can say I've only had one experience when a player didn't show up and the club in question was in a position to regig a couple of groups to fit everyone in.

denisoc16 wrote: »
    I thought it was clear that they didn't ring up to cancel. The OP made this point.

Actually, that is his entire point...

Its clear they didnt turn up, I dont think you or I know if they rang up to cancel or not, hence my suggestion.

As I say they owe you nothing, it could have been simply they forgot it was booked. I've already pointed, as a few other have, booking 3 hours before hand; it's most likely they didn't know a third had joined them on the sheet. You put your name down in an open competition and they didn't show up. It sucks that there was no one else to go out with but like I said it's not their responsibility to turn up just to make sure a strangers card is marked. It's their responsibility to adhere to the time sheets rules set out by the club.

Wise up :rolleyes:

A players duties and obligations is adhere to the time sheet rules enforced by the club. It's for the club to deal with this matter. There is nothing the club could have done in these circumstances as there was no way of accommodating you on the time sheet to allow you to get your scorecard marked.

Can I also point out, from what I can see there would have been no reason stopping you from playing a round (if it was slow, play 2 balls etc...). Also you could have probably played for free using the clubs offer. You wouldn't been able to submit a score card but at least it wouldn't have been a waste of a journey. Any rational person would have tried to make the most of the situation and understood the club could not do anything about getting you a playing partner. Instead you demanded GUI numbers etc... I get the impression you spat the dummy out and walked off in a huff.

At no stage have you ever checked to see whether youR slot has been filled before you head out the door? That compounds my earlier point as regards your understanding the responsibilities you undertake when you put your name on a timesheet.It is their responsibility to make sure their slot members have been notified of any changes(through the clubhouse) even up to 5 minutes before tee-off.

Where did I say I didn't play the round offered there and then? Another fine assumption on your behalf.
    I played the round on offer, enjoyed it thoroughly despite not being left through when held up(that's another issue).

I didn't storm off in a huff, I politely complained these lads hadn't scratched a left testicle in cancelling their round, after exploring any possibilities as to another slot available.
    Your arguments contribute absolutely zilch until you know the facts, it'd be well to remember this in your future posts should you still feel compelled in displaying more idiocy in the matter.

Nemesis wrote: »
    You could still enter the open and ask for a marker appointed by the club's committee.

If they don't get you a marker go find someone willing to walk around with you

Yeah, I was unlucky tbh, there were absolutely no options available as regards a marker(or none that I'm aware of). Probably a one in a million chance, but it shouldn't have happened imo.

GreeBo wrote: »
    Its clear they didnt turn up, I dont think you or I know if they rang up to cancel or not, hence my suggestion.

Theoretically that is possible. At that stage it'd be up to the club inhouse to know this. The body language of the timekeeper suggested otherwise when he read the name of the no-show member to me.That's my honest observation not just cos it helps my argument here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 639 ✭✭✭Arsenium

At no stage have you ever checked to see whether youR slot has been filled before you head out the door?

I agree here. If playing (in members comps or opens) with people I dont know, I at least try to find out the guys names so I can introduce myself. In fact...a lot of background investigation can sometimes happen to see if I am teeing it up with a scratch golfer :-)))

Anyway, my point is that I would always check the online sheet before heading for the car to go and play. So if someone has removed themselves I'd know it.

The automatic email when the reservation is altered is very useful in this regard...assuming you can access your email via phone etc....

Chocka block timesheet this morning, and two guys from my 4 ball slot didn't turn up ! :mad:

The 2 of us had to head out in a two-ball, meaning a slow round with a lot of waiting around. As it happened there was a 3-ball in front of us as they had 1 no-show too. So 3 players out of 8 didn't turn up at this prime time slot on a savage day !

I was wondering if any other members logged on to see a full timesheet and were not able to get out for a morning tee off.

Said it to a committee member to at the very least throw up a sign in locker room reminding people of their obligations. Something has to be done to punish these no-shows for the good of all the members !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,140 ✭✭✭✭TheDoc

A lot of weird posts here. There is 101 reasons why someone might cancel the morning of an event...or have even cancelled the evening before but can't inform anyone until the next morning when the pro shop opens.

Yeah its rubbish when someone doesn't show with no phone call...but a penalty for simply cancelling ? As some posts here mention.

That's ridiculous....

Granted I have never cancelled because of a hangover I can understand why someone would. I've cancelled the ,morning if a round PLENTY of times even this years if its raining or if I'm not in the mood. I'm not going to walk around in the rain for four hours....or play golf when I don't want to just so I don't inconvenience someone else...**** that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,140 ✭✭✭✭TheDoc

online booking on a timesheet is actually a step backwards. I mean, really, how does it help in reality ?

Are you serious ?

In my club you had to physically go to the club and write names on a sheet. Imagine having to drive ALL the way to your club to out your name down. And how messy it got with people moving and removing names.

Online booking is a massive step forward. I can book my time in minutes through an array of platforms from anywhere. And as someone else said it let's me see whose playing around me or playing with. There is certain players I a simply don't play with and certain four balls I'll make sure not to be behind....