Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Idiots on a plane

• 05-06-2013 9:09am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 4,678 ✭✭✭

http://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-2335936/100-Jewish-students-kicked-AirTran-flight-New-York-refusing-away-phones.html
    A large group of Jewish high school students have been kicked off a flight after some refused to turn off their cell phones for take-off.

The school party of 100 students and eight chaperones were removed from an AirTran flight on its way to Atlanta, Georgia from New York City on Monday around 6 a.m.
    Some have claimed that the airline overreacted to the senior students' actions with one saying that they were targeted for being Jewish.

The group here seem to have been kicked off when they wouldn't comply with basic safety warnings. Their claims of religious prejudice makes a mockery of the genuine suffering of people who are persecuted because of their beliefs, ethnicity, etc.

Aside from that - what's the worst case of plane stupidity you've witnissed on your travels?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,750 ✭✭✭iDave

At least they didnt recline their chair back

*runs and hides*

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

"I'm sick and tired of these motherf*cking idiots on this motherf*cking plane"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,611 ✭✭✭Valetta

Aside from that - what's the worst case of plane stupidity you've witnissed on your travels?

I saw someone buy a sandwich on a Ryanair flight once.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,293 ✭✭✭✭Mint Sauce

iDave wrote: »
    At least they didnt recline their chair back

*runs and hides*

Or people who pick the window seat and get up constantly throughout the flight.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,425 ✭✭✭Festy

At least they weren't kicked off for masterbating.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,711 ✭✭✭keano_afc

Not nearly as bad as appluding when the plane lands.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,012 ✭✭✭Plazaman

One of the chaperones on the flight, Marian Wielgus, said the airlines 'blew it out of proportion.'

'It was a mountain out of a molehill,' said Wielgus. She said some students may have had to be told twice to sit down or turn off their phones, but everyone listened

Tough shít Marian, why didn't they listen the first time? Rules of flying 101, when the plane is taking off and landing turn off your phone. So therefore I'm reading "may have to be told twice" as obnoxious teeny bopper students trying to impress friends and probably text those three feet away, did not do what air stewards told them on numerous occasions - I'm saying numerous as thats what it becomes when you have to tell multiple individuals twice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,812 ✭✭✭✭sbsquarepants

Valetta wrote: »
    I saw someone buy a sandwich on a Ryanair flight once.

That was me, there was a scratchcard involved too. I'm deeply ashamed but in my defence, nurofen had been taken.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,710 ✭✭✭✭Skerries

Festy wrote: »
    At least they weren't kicked off for masterbating.

Cum fly with me!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,678 ✭✭✭I Heart Internet

I think the flight crew's tolerance for zanny antics and such would not have been high at 6am.

Warn them once, warn them twice, then say it to whoever's in charge of them that they'll be kicked off if he can't reign them in. Then kick them off.

Idiots.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,982 ✭✭✭Caliden

Targeted for being mongs more like.

How hard is it to turn off your phone for 20 minutes during landing/take off?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,567 ✭✭✭✭Fratton Fred

Any flight from Dublin to Palma will have a number of genuine bonafide dick heads on it.

Last lot I saw was a group of women who kept drinking their duty free, arguing with cabin crew and cursing loudly for the entire flight. The sad thing was they all had kids with them who will grow up thinking that is acceptable behaviour.

Good to see the head steward keep her promise and have the Spanish police meet them off the plane.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,061 ✭✭✭keith16

I saw two people fighting over a seat on a Ryanair flight at the weekend. Idiots.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,075 ✭✭✭Wattle

I heard about this crazy Frenchman one time who had un petit piss on a flight to Ireland.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,351 ✭✭✭NegativeCreep

Why not just say you turned off your phone and then not do it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,456 ✭✭✭fishy fishy

don't follow the rules...don't start crying when you get kicked off the plane. Simples.

Good to see the head steward keep her promise and have the Spanish police meet them off the plane.

Fair play to her.

No excuse for being an unruly eejit on a flight.

I've seen people have the argument with flight crews about whether they can drink their own alcohol on board. Apparently it is totally against the law....for some reason.

don't follow the rules...don't start crying when you get kicked off the plane. Simples.

The worst thing about all this is they used a very cheap "it's because we're jewish" excuse. Makes a joke of those, including jewish people, suffering for real due to prejudice.

Fair play to her.

No excuse for being an unruly eejit on a flight.

I've seen people have the argument with flight crews about whether they can drink their own alcohol on board. Apparently it is totally against the law....for some reason.

so cabin crew can prevent people getting too drunk.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,448 ✭✭✭crockholm

A modern day Exodus, "Let my people go................to Georgia"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,468 ✭✭✭CruelCoin

Plazaman wrote: »
    Tough shít Marian, why didn't they listen the first time? Rules of flying 101, when the plane is taking off and landing turn off your phone. So therefore I'm reading "may have to be told twice" as obnoxious teeny bopper students trying to impress friends and probably text those three feet away, did not do what air stewards told them on numerous occasions - I'm saying numerous as thats what it becomes when you have to tell multiple individuals twice.

I'm guessing you didn't see the documentary where they filled cockpits with dozens of ringing mobiles, only to show 0 interference with equipment?

Being told to turn off something which is harmless is bogus.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,533 ✭✭✭Jester252

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,708 ✭✭✭allybhoy

http://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-2335936/100-Jewish-students-kicked-AirTran-flight-New-York-refusing-away-phones.html

The group here seem to have been kicked off when they wouldn't comply with basic safety warnings. Their claims of religious prejudice makes a mockery of the genuine suffering of people who are persecuted because of their beliefs, ethnicity, etc.

My sister was coming back from Cuba in March and two Italian lads started fighting with each other, they had to be restrained to their seats and the plane had to make an emergency detour to the Azores islands (google them) in the middle of the atlantic ocean where the two passengers where thrown off. Apparently they where hit with the fuel bill (40k plus) and also charged with breach of peace, not to mention they had to figure a way to get off the island

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,993 ✭✭✭Soups123

I thought this was going to be some Ballymun take of 'Snakes on a plane'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,734 ✭✭✭Duckworth_Luas

Wattle wrote: »
    I heard about this crazy Frenchman one time who had un petit piss on a flight to Ireland.
    Oui?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,602 ✭✭✭Funkfield

Oui?

Baddum tish!

ah planes.. the place where knackers and normal people must sit close together in a metal tube hurtling through the air at 450mph.
    a devious social experiment.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,061 ✭✭✭keith16

CruelCoin wrote: »
    I'm guessing you didn't see the documentary where they filled cockpits with dozens of ringing mobiles, only to show 0 interference with equipment?

Ah but they do it for a reason. People need to hear the safety briefing. Can't do that if you headphones on or are distracted in any other way.

Take off and landing are also the potentially most dangerous times on a flight so you don't want 50 people looking around confused because they didn't hear what was going on. Or not knowing what the first thing they need to do is because they weren't listening.

Also, if phones etc. are put away, they have less chance of becoming missiles! But people aren't told any of that cos it's terrifying!

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 7,441 Mod ✭✭✭✭XxMCRxBabyxX

Maybe but it hardly justifies not following a simple request and letting yourself be kicked off a plane. Like someone else said, if they were that determined to keep their phones on, why didn't they just pretend to turn them off?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,089 ✭✭✭✭P. Breathnach

glasso wrote: »
    ah planes.. the place where knackers and normal people must sit close together in a metal tube hurtling through the air at 450mph....
    I thought there was a filtering system in existence: Ryanair.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,195 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

I thought there was a filtering system in existence: Ryanair.

Oh well-hit, that man! :D:D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,456 ✭✭✭fishy fishy

when you purchase your airline ticket you are agreeing to abide by the laws of that plane. When you don't you should get kicked off.

Ranting about "oh its because I'm jewish, irish, black, white or whatever" is just self indulgent nonsense - the result of the overindulged me, me, me society.

You don't abide by the plane rules - you should be kicked off. The end. Very simple.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 657 ✭✭✭irishash

Dumbest thing I ever saw was one woman buying fags on a flight, and after she received them, open up the carton, pull out a lighter and try to smoke one right away. The only reason she did not get to enjoy her purchase was the fact the air steward saw her trying to do this.

What followed was a 15 min argument about the fact that she should/should not be allowed to enjoy whatever she bought on a plane.

She was of no fixed abode....with several others of her ilk

keith16 wrote: »
    Also, if phones etc. are put away, they have less chance of becoming missiles! But people aren't told any of that cos it's terrifying!

If you hit the ground at 500mph, then that seatbelt is going to cut you in half.

There are plenty of pointless/dangerous things, but phones aren't one of them.

Like someone else said, if they were that determined to keep their phones on, why didn't they just pretend to turn them off?
    Beats me, works for me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 355 ✭✭Princess Zelda

Time to unleash my plane story.

Flight to Alicante there was a crowd on the back of the plane who were drinking throughout the flight.

Guy near the top of the plane collapsed and whilst all the air stewardesses were attending to him, the crowd near the back of the plane started to steal the drink out of their trollies.

Then when the plane was descending they all refused to sit despite being requested to a few times.

Crowd of ignorant feckers. The one upside is the Spanish police arrested a few when they were leaving the plane and they don't take any crap. Well that, and they are probably all barred from that airline for life.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,195 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

If you hit the ground at 500mph, then that seatbelt is going to cut you in half...

Well bugger me with a fish-fork, that sounds dangerous!! Last time I wear a seatbelt. ;)

The Catholic captain of the plane said it was procedure to switch off mobile phones upon takeoff, in which he informed his Protestant Stewards to inform the Jewish Students to do so. A Syrian Orthodox passenger witnessed the event and was gobsmacked by the students actions.
    A Muslim spokes person for the school said there was a problem with the language barrier but the school are doing their own internal investigation.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 4,217 Mod ✭✭✭✭Locker10a

It doesn't matter what that documentary said! It was not an official investigation by the relevant aviation authorities who determine the rules surrounding the regulations in the cabin! Besides even if the phones have no affect on the plane, the fact that they ignored crew instructions is enough to kick them off! If people cannot be trusted to follow crew member instructions on the ground re: the rules regarding seat belts, phones, safety demo etc. then it is deemed they would not be likely follow instructions during an emergency. Unruly behavior will not be accepted on planes and rightly so.

jimgoose wrote: »
    Well bugger me with a fish-fork, that sounds dangerous!! Last time I wear a seatbelt. ;)

Last time I hit the ground at 500mph!

actually, the vast majority of injuries on airlines could have been avoided by keeping your seat belt on.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 4,217 Mod ✭✭✭✭Locker10a

If you hit the ground at 500mph, then that seatbelt is going to cut you in half.

Asinine attitude you have there! Every place crash does not result in the plane hitting the ground at 500mph!
    There is a reason for ever safety procedure and piece of equipment on the plane! Look at the likes of Air Canada fligh 797 or British Airtours flight 28M and how safety features were developed as a result of those accidents! ANd neither of them resulted in the plane crashing at 500mph!
    Seatbelts are not just for crashes, they are also for turbulence btw!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,012 ✭✭✭Plazaman

Not the point, it's flight safety regulations worldwide, no point in blaming the poor stewards, they don't make the rules.

I sometimes forget to turn my phone off BTW, but I don't wave it around either as we take off and land (not being a rebel or anything just usually it's in my bag in the overhead compartment). I did get shocked looks come my way once when the phone service in the country I landed in sent a couple of welcome texts and my text alert wasn't that discreet. The new flight mode settings on modern phones cut all that out.

Locker10a wrote: »
    Seatbelts are not just for crashes, they are also for turbulence btw!

I'm a fat bastard, turbulence affects me none.

Gravity ftw.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,172 ✭✭✭Ghost Buster

irishash wrote: »
    Dumbest thing I ever saw was one woman buying fags on a flight, and after she received them, open up the carton, pull out a lighter and try to smoke one right away. The only reason she did not get to enjoy her purchase was the fact the air steward saw her trying to do this.

What followed was a 15 min argument about the fact that she should/should not be allowed to enjoy whatever she bought on a plane.

She was of no fixed abode....with several others of her ilk
    So they sell condoms in Supervalu so you should be able to have a ride there..:rolleyes::rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 605 ✭✭✭vinylbomb

A mate who is a pilot told me that the phones mess with onboard comms, not the navigation systems. They cause a drone or buzz in the headsets they use to talk to each other.

I dunno about you but I kinda like the pilots being able to communicate at the most dangerous phase of the flight so I'm cool with knocking my phone off.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2 Broadsheat

What has the religion / ethnicity of the students got to do with the story? If it's not relevant, why mention it?

Broadsheat wrote: »
    What has the religion / ethnicity of the students got to do with the story? If it's not relevant, why mention it?

Unfortunetly (some of) the group made it an issue. Claimed they were thrown off becasue they were Jewish not because of they were eejits.

Religio-plane equivalent of the "I'm a woman on my own" woman.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,507 ✭✭✭Nino Brown

It doesn't matter why phones are banned. They don't pose a threat to planes, but they are banned for several other reasons. Either way, the fact is they are banned, people can't decide which precautions are necessary and which ones aren't on a plane. When you're on a plane you follow the rules, even if you do happen to think you're smarter than almost every Aviation Authority in the world.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,012 ✭✭✭eamonnq

I recall being told that it has nothing to do with interference, but all electronic equipment was to be turned off so you could not use a scanner type radio to listen to the pilots communications with the control tower etc. probably in case you heard them saying about the bomb in the toilet, as it might cause a bit of a panic.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,507 ✭✭✭Nino Brown

Plus air rage due to people talking sh!te loudly.
    Using phones to detonate a bomb in the hold.
    People missing the safety demo .
    People with earphones missing the brace command and other instructions before an accident.
    And phones used to causing bad interference with comms equipment, remember when you could tell if somebody was about to get a text because the TV/Radio beeped?

But all that being said, regardless of if it's right or wrong. It takes a special type of a$$hole to blatantly ignore a simple instruction. Just stick the f'ing thing on silent and put it in your pocket if you really have to keep it on! It's probably best that those type of people are kicked off, because they're more than likely going to cause problems anyway.