Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Deli Counter

• 04-06-2013 11:36am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 461 ✭✭

(Mods feel free to move this if not in right place, did a search no topic raised this year, don't want to bump old threads)

I went to a spar in beside Connolly Station and ordered a Chicken fillet with Cheese, the lady told me it's €3.50, I told her no thanks (won't say what I actually said to her on here lol) I'll get one cheaper else where, to which I did got one in supervalu for €1.99.

Questions is how do these places get away with the over charging? Like shopping around for clothes you now have to shop around for price for a roll or a sambo.

where possible I will only pay max (again on depending on what's on the bread/roll no more than €3.00

Boardies can you tell me where other places charge outrages prices for rolls/sambos etc..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

The key to the answer is in the location

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,252 ✭✭✭FTA69

So you were rude to a deli worker on minimum wage because of a price that she has no control over?

Spot on mate. You should ring Joe Duffy to compound this victory.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,232 ✭✭✭ITS_A_BADGER

Its was a tree fiddy roll?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,460 ✭✭✭DipStick McSwindler

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,785 ✭✭✭Ihatecuddles-old

I pay €3.95 in surerquinn. It's so good though..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 710 ✭✭✭mad turnip

Superquinn in heuston charges 5.60.... Yup try paying that a few times over 6 months when your a hungover student.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,808 ✭✭✭FatherLen

mtjm wrote: »
    (won't say what I actually said to her on here lol)

By that, I assume it was probably rude?

the woman didn't set the prices. Yes, they are a rip off but I am sure she agrees and doesn't need or want someone giving her shit over it.
    lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,178 ✭✭✭✭NothingMan

It was about that time I realised it wasn't a deli counter worker at all but the GOD DAMN Loch Ness Monster!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 189 ✭✭pedanticpat

Because it's convenience food, people tend to not shop around.

Also, €3.50 doesn't sound that bad for that. It would've been about €4.50 a few years ago.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,103 ✭✭✭Tiddlypeeps

Isn't 3.50 a fairly average price for a chicken roll? :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

OP, I'll sell you my house in Donegal for the same price as an identical house in Dublin. How does that deal sound? According to you, both should be the same price.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,407 ✭✭✭lkionm

You are one of those customers everyone hates. All that happens is she goes bitches saying you were a knob and everyone agrees and they get in with their day joking about it for the day.

I was working yesterday and there was a girl on the till an a customer turned to me as I was behind the counter and sad before robbers wore masks, now they have pretty faces. Way to make things awkward and a lack of respect.

You will probably turn up in the cries of retail thread later.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,909 ✭✭✭greenman09

Centra rathfarnham charge around 4.10 for chicken fillets and cheese roll. Usually priced vary everyday as well

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,147 ✭✭✭PizzamanIRL

(Mods feel free to move this if not in right place, did a search no topic raised this year, don't want to bump old threads)

I went to a spar in beside Connolly Station and ordered a Chicken fillet with Cheese, the lady told me it's €3.50, I told her no thanks (won't say what I actually said to her on here lol) I'll get one cheaper else where, to which I did got one in supervalu for €1.99.

Questions is how do these places get away with the over charging? Like shopping around for clothes you now have to shop around for price for a roll or a sambo.

where possible I will only pay max (again on depending on what's on the bread/roll no more than €3.00

Boardies can you tell me where other places charge outrages prices for rolls/sambos etc..

Why were you rude to her? As above, she doesn't set the prices.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,349 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

Oh yeah, you sound like a champ. Abusing minimum wage Spar staff, have you informed the media of your crusade for cheap sandwiches?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,632 ✭✭✭✭Marcusm

Who on earth puts cheese with chicken in a sandwich.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,107 ✭✭✭✭niallo27

Most chicken rolls are about 4 euro these days. 3.50 was alright.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

Grumble grumble
    "wait till the internet hears about THIS!"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,178 ✭✭✭✭NothingMan

Why do we assume this woman was on minimum wage? I haven't worked in Spar but when I worked in McDonalds, Dunnes and Shell I was on more than minimum wage for unskilled work. She's could be a supervisor, assistant manager, manager or even sleeps with the owner for more pay... we just don't know.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 189 ✭✭pedanticpat

NothingMan wrote: »
    Why do we assume this woman was on minimum wage? I haven't worked in Spar but when I worked in McDonalds, Dunnes and Shell I was on more than minimum wage for unskilled work. She's could be a supervisor, assistant manager, manager or even sleeps with the owner for more pay... we just don't know.

She could have been doing it for nothing-man

But seriously, if she's on rolls in Spar, she's not exactly wealthy. Definitely <30k

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 380 ✭✭BGozIE

NothingMan wrote: »

Doesn't matter. She doesn't set the prices therefore really doesn't need/warrant some mongo being rude to her. Whatever about disagreeing with the price...that's totally understandable...you don't need to be rude to the employee however.

PS that "chicken" roll you got for 1.99 in supervalu....ye that's not chicken :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,284 ✭✭✭Chattastrophe!

Could you not have asked the price before you ordered it?

Really don't get the point of being rude to the girl behind the counter. She doesn't set the prices. And €3.50 is hardly extortionate, anyways.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 132 ✭✭BigGrayKettle

In case you haven't noticed, it is a free economy. A shop is a business and can charge whatever they like for a roll, as nobody is going to force you to buy one.

None the less, I would pop into the Garda station and let them know there is a shop in serious breach of the Chicken Roll Pricing (Amendment) Act, 2012.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 404 ✭✭frank reynolds

i know that girl who works in the spar, and she is a very nice and friendly person.

the absolute racist scum that attack the staff in that shop every other day, throwing things in the door at them, smashing up the place and then some tosser walks in and acts rude towards her over her just doing her job?

How do we know for certain that the OP is not a phat cvnt who wanted double chicken and double cheese in a fancy roll?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,862 ✭✭✭Cushie Butterfield

I told her no thanks (won't say what I actually said to her on here lol)
    You'd never know in years to come you might actually have a daughter yourself, who might get a part-time or weekend job in a Spar when in her teens. How would you like if some jumped up twirp spoke to her like that?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,448 ✭✭✭crockholm

Marcusm wrote: »

I do,the hot chuckee melts the cheese and it is delicious,esp with a little bbq sauce. Have you tried it before? I wouldn't have thought it that unusual:confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

This isn't going so well OP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,386 ✭✭✭✭rubadub

Dunnes charge €2.60 for a cooked breaded fillet on its own, can be €3-4 in a chipper. Many butchers & supermarkets charge over €2 for an uncooked breaded fillet. A baguette will cost a fair amount, and cheese is not that cheap.

A unbreaded fillet for €1 belongs in bargain alerts.

The real question is how the fuck did supervalu make it for €1.99, answer is that its not a chicken fillet.
    irishbuzz wrote: »
    that link is not saying its 51% chicken by the way, its going to be far less and cannot be determined from their dodgy labelling tactics.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,903 ✭✭✭frozenfrozen

When you were making this thread did you actually expect everyone to take your side?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,454 ✭✭✭mloc123

1.99 for a chicken fillet roll? and people were shocked by the **** in the beef/horse scandal a few months back. Chicken fillet? doubtful.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

It's ok folks, it's 1/1000 the OP did just say 'No thanks' but he's going for the ould 'Internet Tough Guy' look here......nice to see it backfiring!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,612 ✭✭✭Lelantos

Anyone with an ounce of cop on knows that rental prices for properties vary throughout the country. High traffic areas command the greatest rents, which in turn means stores have to charge more for their goods. You can be damn sure that there isn't a hell of a lot of profit in a €3.50 roll.
    You approach the worker, you ask the price; if it's not agreeable, you say no thank you, and go elsewhere. No harm, no foul & you wouldn't have come off looking like a dick

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,435 ✭✭✭TiGeR KiNgS

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,006 ✭✭✭✭callaway92

Marcusm wrote: »

Ehm, pretty much everybody

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 69 ✭✭Lome

greenman09 wrote: »
    Centra rathfarnham charge around 4.10 for chicken fillets and cheese roll. Usually priced vary everyday as well

Yea but its in Rathfarnham.... they are probably free range chicken fillets.. roight?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,234 ✭✭✭Thwip!

I would be questioning what's in a chicken fillet roll that's only 1.99 tbh

• Moderators, Music Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,734 Mod ✭✭✭✭Boom_Bap

What type of cheese?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,482 ✭✭✭✭Ush1

Was the roll nice?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,828 ✭✭✭Reamer Fanny

Follows thread, grabs popcorn

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,455 ✭✭✭Felexicon

If you want to pay through the roof prices for a roll go with my "Chicken Fillet Breakfast Roll"

Mayo, Plain Chicken Fillet, Rashers, Eggs, Hash Browns and Stuffing

Prices in the same shop have ranged from €4.99 to €7.00 depending on who is working.

Also OP, if you were abusive to the deli worker I hope the next one you get spits in your roll

• Closed Accounts Posts: 205 ✭✭Meritocracy Wins

I was asked for €3.49 for a cooked chicken breast in a Eurospar. The same shop was selling cooked chickens for €4.99 and 6 fillets for €5. I politely said no thank you I won't pay that and left the shop.

No drama, no need, but how can the pricing be justified? I was going to ask the manager but couldn't be bothered.

I think this thread needs the OP to tell us what exactly he/she said to the girl at the deli counter.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,195 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

...I told her no thanks (won't say what I actually said to her on here lol)...

Good maun yersel', hi. You probably made a great job of that poor child while she slogged her arse off for peanuts. We should send you over to Brussels to tell the Germans to shove bratwurst where the sun don't shine.

Nice hot chicken mini-baguette with cheese and mayo is €3.50 or so everywhere I've seen, from big-ish Centras to little corner mom-and-pop places.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,192 ✭✭✭Dathai

I think this thread needs the OP to tell us what exactly he/she said to the girl at the deli counter.

OP: "Giz a shot?"
    Deli Counter Woman: "No way"
    OP: "**** this. Don't want your bleedin' roll anyway. Feck yiz"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 461 ✭✭mtjm

What I said was "feck off with your fecking price I'll get a fecking cheaper roll, we're in a fecking recession"

ya get the picture. Your right I should have said no thanks and walked away but I refuse to pay for over priced stuff and why should I

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,453 ✭✭✭Shenshen

What I said was "feck off with your fecking price I'll get a fecking cheaper roll, we're in a fecking recession"

ya get the picture. Your right I should have said no thanks and walked away but I refuse to pay for over priced stuff and why should I

As compensation for the innocent girl who had to listen to you swearing at her?

The price isn't set by the girl that was serving you. It is your right to not pay for the roll if you didn't agree with the price. Did she have the roll made up for you before you decided you were being extorted?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,449 ✭✭✭Call Me Jimmy

Recession Warrior!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,204 ✭✭✭dodderangler

mad turnip wrote: »
    Superquinn in heuston charges 5.60.... Yup try paying that a few times over 6 months when your a hungover student.

Should a student not be spending money on books, food or equipment for college instead of pissin it away on drink and a 5.60 roll?

I am sure a drink and a roll is food.