Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Equipment

• 03-06-2013 11:13am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,804 ✭✭✭

Where is the best place to buy?

Would be looking for helmet, WR shoulderpads, WR gloves, girdle...think thats it.

Would have no problems with 2nd hand gear either to keep the cost down as it is pretty expensive.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,094 ✭✭✭TO.

http://americansportsireland.com/ <---- Based up North and one of the Coaches of the Trojans

http://www.footballamerica.co.uk

http://www.forelle.com/&#8206;

www.americanfootballuk.net/

http://outlet.dk/en/group/177/football-equipment.aspx

And you will find stuff on Ebay also especially gloves and what not.

Good to see you getting into the game dude. Who you joining?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,804 ✭✭✭Raoul

Dundalk Mavericks. I am not sure yet though, will go to a few training sessions first to see if I will keep it up (and if I am able to with work and whatnot). Just tying to source out how much of an investment I would need to make to start playing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,094 ✭✭✭TO.

Raoul wrote: »
    Dundalk Mavericks. I am not sure yet though, will go to a few training sessions first to see if I will keep it up (and if I am able to with work and whatnot). Just tying to source out how much of an investment I would need to make to start playing.

Sound bunch of lads up there. Yeah the drawback to playing is the cost. But the plus side to the helmet and pads they last many a year. They are truly a long term investment and are easy to sell if you need to offload them ye know. Have you measured sizes yet? Let me know your sizes and I will keep my ear out for second hand stuff being sold.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,804 ✭✭✭Raoul

TO. wrote: »
    Sound bunch of lads up there. Yeah the drawback to playing is the cost. But the plus side to the helmet and pads they last many a year. They are truly a long term investment and are easy to sell if you need to offload them ye know. Have you measured sizes yet? Let me know your sizes and I will keep my ear out for second hand stuff being sold.
    Cheers for the offer.

I think the lads involved is sort of the reason I am excited about it. It was really good craic and everyone was really sound and no judgement about skill level which is good :pac:.

No I haven't yet measured (I would imagine I would be taking a small in most things, 5'9 and 11 stone). I have set myself a time limit of a month before deciding whether to fully commit or not. Then I will start trying to buy gear instead of just flicking through all the different websites. Its at least a 200euro investment so not a decision to be made lightly.