Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Advice?! I need some now!

• 02-06-2013 10:25pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 2,823 ✭✭✭

Right, it's 11.23pm now. The neighbours in my apartment block are having parties EVERY NIGHT for the past 2 weeks or so. Right now, they have one now. The music is so loud .. I hear every single lyric crystal clear .. I hear drunk men and women screaming like someone is being raped ... I was thinking about calling the Garda .. but I don't know. Any advice on how to handle this? Note, i'm under 18. :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 710 ✭✭✭mad turnip

Its time to get drunk for the first time so!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,496 ✭✭✭Boombastic

Right, it's 11.23pm now. The neighbours in my apartment block are having parties EVERY NIGHT for the past 2 weeks or so. Right now, they have one now. The music is so loud .. I hear every single lyric crystal clear .. I hear drunk men and women screaming like someone is being raped ... I was thinking about calling the Garda .. but I don't know. Any advice on how to handle this? Note, i'm under 18. :rolleyes:

What do you think the Gardai will do?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,534 ✭✭✭SV

Go join the party sure and stop giving out

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 967 ✭✭✭highly1111

Don't approach them.

Call the garda and report them. It's noise pollution.

On Tuesday morning get straight onto your management company.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,954 ✭✭✭✭Larianne

Aim some fireworks in their general direction.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,724 ✭✭✭Dilbert75

1) Don't go near them. You don't know what they've taken or how they'll react.
    2) If you can wait the night, contact the management company of the apartment block and complain. They should be able to contact the landlord.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,823 ✭✭✭DublinArnie

Boombastic wrote: »
    Tell them to turn down the music .. I don't know! They sound high and I hear screaming .. so i'm sure more than partying is happening.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,094 ✭✭✭wretcheddomain

SV wrote: »
    Go join the party sure and stop giving out

That's like advising someone to become an alcoholic because they are annoyed with alcoholics drinking next door. What sort of advice is this, especially for an individual under 18? I just hope it was sarcasm.

OP, given they are being persistently and consistently disruptive, contact the relevant authority as their disorderly behaviour, especially late at night, is not acceptable on any level.

Dilbert75 wrote: »
    2) If you can wait the night, contact the management company of the apartment block and complain. They should be able to contact the landlord.
    It's been ages ... and nothing happened to deal with this. The management guy is in his 80s anyway ...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 792 ✭✭✭Ziegfeldgirl27

Call the gardai. It doesn't matter that you are under 18. It is noise pollution.

If you don't call them and want to wait to speak to your management company, maybe try and record some of what you are hearing as evidence.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,825 ✭✭✭Timmyctc

Dilbert75 wrote: »

Jaysis he never said they were yokked off it. OP just go up to them and explain your situation. If I know college students, and I think I do, they will gladly pack up their party and take it elsewhere, Post Haste, with the greatest level of courtesy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 343 ✭✭FreshKnickers

Ring up your local Dominos and have them send round a large pepperoni stuffed crust. Partying is hungry work.

That's like advising someone to become an alcoholic because they are annoyed with alcoholics drinking next door. What sort of advice is this, especially for an individual under 18?

OP, given they are being persistently and consistently disruptive, contact the relevant authority as their disorderly behaviour, especially late at night, is not acceptable on any level.

Alcoholics have a problem.
    The only problem people partying have is that the night doesn't last long enough.

I enjoyed most parties when I was under 18, enjoyed them better when I was allowed to consume alcohol but they're still good craic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,902 ✭✭✭✭mfceiling

Call the gardai. It doesn't matter that you are under 18. It is noise pollution.

This.....i did it recently for idiot neighbours playing music at full blast outside.

They ran like a bunch of pricks when the garda turned up and the music stopped pretty sharp.

Call the garda now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 967 ✭✭✭highly1111

Boombastic wrote: »

they'll call round and *should* put a stop to it - or scare them off a little at least.

Happened us a few years ago and the gardai were great. All depends though - I hope you're as lucky. When we rang the gardai they told us they'd already gotten some calls - so if it's as bad as you say chances are someone else has already picked up the phone. Doesn't mean you shouldn't though also.

If I call the Gardi, would I have to interfere with the situation? Like go to the party with the Gardi and explain my situation etc?

Nope. If the noise is as bad as you say then they'll do all the work.
    Don't worry about it, you won't even have to give your name.

Nope

Alright, it's decided, i'm giving them a call, just to make sure I don't screw up with the phone number, it's 999?

or 112, but don't use that number.
    Call the local station number, that number is for emergencies only.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,076 ✭✭✭✭Czarcasm

Hi OP, we'll be gone in the morning, we're off work tomorrow and you're off school, it's a win win!

ps. Your neighbours are great craic! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,666 ✭✭✭Rosy Posy

Don't ring emergency services for a loud party!!! Look up the number of your local Garda station

SV wrote: »
    or 112, but don't use that number.
    Call the local station number, that number is for emergencies only.
    I don't know the local station number ... i'll ring them when it reaches midnight, hopefully the party is gone or dies down.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,800 ✭✭✭Senna

Ring them now!!! Google your local stations phone number.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,068 ✭✭✭Specialun

What tunes are playing?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,429 ✭✭✭Kenjataimu

Not sure if dumb or trollin'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,094 ✭✭✭wretcheddomain

Proco Jr. wrote: »
    Not sure if dumb or trollin'

Both.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,430 ✭✭✭Ilik Urgee

In bad taste, too much brandy.

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 26,403 Mod ✭✭✭✭Peregrine

I don't know the local station number ... i'll ring them when it reaches midnight, hopefully the party is gone or dies down.

http://www.garda.ie/stations/default.aspx

Select Dublin Metropolitan Region then select your local Garda station and it'll give you the phone number. Ring them now if they're still loud.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,825 ✭✭✭Timmyctc

Ring 999 and SCREAM DOWN THE PHONE THAT NEXT DOOR ARE PARTAYING TOO HARD.then the police will come and say You're under arrest. For HAVING TOO MUCH FUN. And it'll transpire that you actually rang police strippers not actual guards and the party will only get better.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,473 ✭✭✭Wacker The Attacker

There is a very simple and effective solution.

Where there are loud parties and excess alcohol consumption, it is always safe to assume that there are also hangovers. Get up at 6am and blast your radio at full volume for at least an hour.

If these people have no respect then they should reap what they sow.

There is a very simple and effective solution.

Where there are loud parties and excess alcohol consumption, it is always safe to assume that there are also hangovers. Get up at 6am and blast your radio at full volume for at least an hour.

If these people have no respect then they should reap what they sow.

6am is a little mean if there are other people around, but as soon as 8am hits bang them tunes out!

mad turnip wrote: »
    6am is a little mean if there are other people around, but as soon as 8am hits bang them tunes out!

6am makes the payback for the revellers that little bit more of a bitch though. With a bit of luck you may even have projectile vomiting

6am makes the payback for the revellers that little bit more of a bitch though

If they've drank that much they won't wake up, talking from experience here lol.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,204 ✭✭✭Aspiring

Timmyctc wrote: »
    Ring 999 and SCREAM DOWN THE PHONE THAT NEXT DOOR ARE PARTAYING TOO HARD.then the police will come and say You're under arrest. For HAVING TOO MUCH FUN. And it'll transpire that you actually rang police strippers not actual guards and the party will only get better.

Proper loling here. It started the way you said Partaying I imagined an indian man trying to get 10 children to sleep and the laugh was somewhat of a hmm hmm hmm quite laugh and then when I read the full post it just exploded. Anyway OP just ask them to stop, or join them if you're up for the craic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,028 ✭✭✭✭--LOS--

Just call the gardai on them. I've started to notice chung wans using our appartment block garage as a hang out, someone clearly called the gardai on them the other day adn they were moved on straight on, I would have been dubious of them doing anything before but it's certainly what I'm gona do in the future.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,622 ✭✭✭Ruu

011 8999 88199 911 9725 … 3 is the new number for emergency services.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,396 ✭✭✭Frosty McSnowballs

It's times like these when you need a few bottles of well fermented pee pee to pour under and around your neighbours apartment door.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,646 ✭✭✭✭Sauve

Ruubot2 wrote: »

And you change the 9's for 6's if you want the coastguard, right?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,390 ✭✭✭IM0

you should go and find a guy called eddie [this is the name of the ringleader], tell someone you are going to find eddie, when you find him, hang him by his ankle over a cliff with a long way to fall. then later when talking to the person you told you were going to find eddie and he asks what did you do, say you let him go. ooooooor you could just change your username if you dont have the ability to do this.

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 4,621 Mod ✭✭✭✭Mr. G

Ruubot2 wrote: »

Fire brigade no?

You know the it crowd are filming their last eposide.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 294 ✭✭JD DABA

You need to find the local power supply and go into the street circuits to cut the buildings power.
    However, this will cause the backup power to kick in.
    Theres only one way to solve that.....

the circuits that cannot be cut...are cut automatically in reponse to
    a terrorist incident...You ask for miracles, OP...I give you the Garda. Sio. chana.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,078 ✭✭✭John.Icy

You're under 18...do you have parents if you don't mind me asking?...or are you are ridiculously young college student that lives alone?

So how did it work out in the end?

mad turnip wrote: »
    If they've drank that much they won't wake up, talking from experience here lol.

Some things even drunks dont sleep through. Wheel out the big guns as necessary