Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Hangover 3 RTE Junket Cringe

• 01-06-2013 12:39pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 442 ✭✭

Want to get other peoples views on this. I saw a press junket clip on RTE news channel which made me cringe..and as it's Saturday afternoon and I've sweet feck all to do until the washing is done I though I'd share something.

Someone at RTE gave Laura Delaney a job. "Interview the three actors from the hit movie franchise The Hangover", they said. "Grand" says Laura...(first vid on that page)

http://www.rte.ie/ten/news/2013/0526/452747-watch-hangover-interviews-and-wolfpack-featurette/

Now I'm not a big fan of the Hangover movies but it embarasses me greatly when we send some absolute mong to interview celebrities, in particular some wagon who seems so starstruck that she can't string a proper question together. It makes us look ridiculous. What is it with Irish people and foreign celebrities that makes us turn to hollywood arse licking crack whores? We are so derisive wtih our own celebs I don't understand how we turn to pulp with foreign celebs. Remember Barak? How irritatingly-vomit-inducing was that? Lauding it over him like he was the Messiah. So what I'm trying to point out is...can w not have some class when we present ourselves on the world stage? Can we send someone else besides Laura? Sure she looks like she was making coffee for the producers when she was offered the gig.

So watch the vid...put yourself in the shoes of some Hollywood celebrity who does thousands of these promotion junkets in their career and imagine what your opinion of Ireland would be after meeting Laura.

Laura goes on to tell Bradley Cooper, Zach Galinifikakakkakasis, and Ed Helm thatshe remembers how she was queing outside a niteclub (on Harcourt/Leeson Street) and some of the lad couldn't get in because they were wearing a baby costume which is so funny because...I've already lost the will to live....

Which is exactly what the actors must have been thinking. Why do we do this to ourselves? We have loads of great Irish interviewers

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hdHCL0LIN5w

Why not send them? And why must every interview with someone not from Ireland always have a question about, "What do ye think of the oirish?"

Invariably the answer will be some generic unfunny stereotypical repost like..., "Ah sure we love them...and the Guinness..ahahahah!!"

We learn nothing from this, yet we pay money for it. I just think we should have a bit of class...send out some decent interviewers with knowledge of their subject instead of some jacinta who reads Hello magazine as research.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,518 ✭✭✭stefan idiot jones

I haven't heard the term 'mong' in a good while. Fair play to you OP.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,628 ✭✭✭Ando's Saggy Bottom

Everyone who does those film interviews is a complete moron, not just her. I wouldn't worry about it tbh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,398 ✭✭✭✭Turtyturd

I haven't watched the video but she can't be as bad as that thing from Cork with the blonde hair, and accent that makes you want to stab yourself in the ears, can she?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,293 ✭✭✭1ZRed

Arpa wrote: »
    ....We are so derisive wtih our own celebs...
    This made me cringe.. then laugh

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,472 ✭✭✭✭Grayson

dave fanning wasn't bad. Well, he was a bit of a tosser, but he really knew his sh1t. And I don't think he was ever awestruck by celebrities.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,180 ✭✭✭hfallada

God love her. She did all the things you shouldnt do in an interview in that interview. She did ask any questions that werent googleable.

I think RTE should get Laura Whitmore that was on MTV for a year or two. She is an excellent presenter and interviewer

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

RTE daggins................. ps. Laura, what's a fillum?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,094 ✭✭✭jd007