Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Stupid things your family have done

• 31-05-2013 5:22pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,068 ✭✭✭

My mum was once driving the car,a can of soup fell on the floor and while driving decided to pick it up.Ended up crashing her brand new car

Back in the drink driving days mid 90s my did came home from the local about mile away after a shot of pints...proceeded to park in our neighbours drive,walk in their door and sat down watching tv.....thankfully we have a good relationship with them

My bro had his first car and was wizzing around the country roads..a corsa...proceeded to come around a corner and plough into a herd f cows happy out crossing the road..killed one poor fella and rode off the car.he had to go gack cycling the 15mile trip to his gf place in rain to get the ride

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

Had me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,825 ✭✭✭Timmyctc

That username fairly suits ye OP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,788 ✭✭✭✭krudler

gack cycling? is that like bog snorkeling?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,417 ✭✭✭ToddyDoody

My mother used smoke cigars

• Closed Accounts Posts: 341 ✭✭Hownowcow

Specialun wrote: »
    My bro had his first car and was wizzing around the country roads..a corsa...proceeded to come around a corner and plough into a herd f cows happy out crossing the road..killed one poor fella and rode off the car.he had to go gack cycling the 15mile trip to his gf place in rain to get the ride

What type of car had she got?

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 26,403 Mod ✭✭✭✭Peregrine

You should apply for the Driving Darwin awards as a family

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,828 ✭✭✭Reamer Fanny

My mum was once driving the car,a can of soup fell on the floor and while driving decided to pick it up.Ended up crashing her brand new car

Back in the drink driving days mid 90s my did came home from the local about mile away after a shot of pints...proceeded to park in our neighbours drive,walk in their door and sat down watching tv.....thankfully we have a good relationship with them

I'm seeing a pattern here

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,571 ✭✭✭newmug

ToddyDoody wrote: »
    My mother used smoke cigars

As opposed to using the smokeless type?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,068 ✭✭✭Specialun

Had me.

I agree

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

I agree
    Nice to see we finally agree on something.:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 149 ✭✭Fizgig Bandicoot

Looked out the window to see a huge hole in the pier. Mam shakily opens the door a minute later, white as a sheet. She had meant to put her foot on the brake but put it on the accelerator instead. She then proceeded to give out to my sister and myself and tried to blame us for putting her under pressure even though we weren't in the car with her.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,818 ✭✭✭donvito99

Christmas.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,779 ✭✭✭up for anything

I'm confused. I realise you might be quite young but it was illegal to drink drive even in the prehistoric days of the mid 90s and most right thinking people even way back then disapproved of drink drivers never miind someone who was so pissed he didn't realise he was not in own house! I wouldn't go telling that story and expecting laughs.

Yours truly

A spoilsport

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11 Gandolph Lundgren

Back in the mid 80's my dad owned a Mini van: http://www.smartcarofamerica.com/forums/attachments/f7/4091d1340650400-mini-obscenity-minivan-mini-van-07.jpg

My brothers and me caved the roof in by one day deciding to jump on it. Dad was not a happy pappy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,311 ✭✭✭✭weldoninhio

I'm confused. I realise you might be quite young but it was illegal to drink drive even in the prehistoric days of the mid 90s and most right thinking people even way back then disapproved of drink drivers never miind someone who was so pissed he didn't realise he was not in own house! I wouldn't go telling that story and expecting laughs.

Yours truly

A spoilsport

The OP is a guy who thinks it is ok to punch a guy because the the got annoyed that the OPs dog stole his sliothar.

Classy family.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,725 ✭✭✭charlemont

krudler wrote: »

I'd say its something sexual..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,681 ✭✭✭ColeTrain

My daddy spent years of his free time building a underground basement that nobody knew about. I mean what purpose could that have possibly served? Then he destroyed it when he heard some other man in Austria had already done what he had done. Stupid isn't the word for the oul man.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,571 ✭✭✭newmug

krudler wrote: »

It's something to do with scat, it HAS to be!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 603 ✭✭✭Yellowblackbird

to his gf place in rain to get the ride

at least he scored.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 624 ✭✭✭Crasp

Arts degrees

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,390 ✭✭✭IM0

if it isnt banned any more then 'yore ma' but if it is, then 'your mother'

it was worth it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 310 ✭✭stoeger

My old fella got up on a Sunday morning with a big hagover and drove to the shop
    In his 309 and comes back in a 325i
    Bmw sits down to read the paper and shop owners at the door looking for his car back

Lucky he as sound

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 441 ✭✭thereitisgone

stoeger wrote: »
    My old fella got up on a Sunday morning with a big hagover and drove to the shop
    Bmw sits down to read the paper and shop owners at the door looking for his car back

Lucky he as sound

He was lucky he got it back, bmw 309 very expensive car

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,736 ✭✭✭Irish Guitarist

My mother used to buy Chef ketchup.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,733 ✭✭✭✭osarusan

But at least you got a new thread out of it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,783 ✭✭✭Pj!

Yours truly

A spoilsport

Heard a top comedian tell a very amusing account of a similar story and thought maybe the OP had nicked it.

Can imagine the pc brigade would be a whole lot of fun to bring to a comedian...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,903 ✭✭✭Napper Hawkins

That's a great story, basically you're telling us that your family are a shower of dangerous, irresponsible spastics. I wonder how your post reads to someone whose life/family has been destroyed by gob****es such as your lot. This is why I hate this ****ing country.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 49 mangochavez

Not smothered me as a baby.

:(

3 incidents over the OP's lifespan = family a shower of spastics

Right...

Pj! wrote: »
    3 incidents over the OP's lifespan = family a shower of spastics

Right...

Right.

Right.

Go enjoy the sun Napper

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,117 ✭✭✭Rasheed

That's a great story, basically you're telling us that your family are a shower of dangerous, irresponsible spastics. I wonder how your post reads to someone whose life/family has been destroyed by gob****es such as your lot. This is why I hate this ****ing country.

Jesus relax will ya? You hate this country because of a few mistakes some strangers family did?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,269 ✭✭✭3rdDegree

stoeger wrote: »

Lucky he as sound

He left in a Peugeot and came back in a BMW?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,269 ✭✭✭3rdDegree

You need to find your Happy Place and go there now. Aer Lingus do deals.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,147 ✭✭✭PizzamanIRL

IM0 wrote: »
    if it isnt banned any more then 'yore ma' but if it is, then 'your mother'

it was worth it

You ruined it by dragging it out trying not to get an infraction.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,663 ✭✭✭Nolimits

Though very not proud and very against it in later years my Dad like most men at the time used to drink drive a lot.

One time he somehow managed to get all four wheels of the car off the ground with the car sitting on a barrell. He has no idea how it got on there, nor does he have any idea how it got off. He was in work the next morning (bus driver which probably makes it worse) and a few friends went and got it back for him.

He personally stopped when a Garda pulled him over, saw he was wearing his uniform, told him to park the car in a nearby car park and get a taxi home, if he tried to get back in the car he'd arrest him. Think he realised what it could have cost him and never did it again.

For what it's worth, also would like to point out that in 40+ years of driving he never had an accident and that's including when he was working.

Rasheed wrote: »
    Jesus relax will ya? You hate this country because of a few mistakes some strangers family did?

I hate this country because I'm forever hearing of this type of asshattery going on. ****ing place is infested with retards and what's worse is that it's all seen as a big joke.

Telling me to relax, go out in the sun etc. That's exactly the kind of "ah sure it's grand" horse**** that has the country in the toilet.

Have a wonderful day, everyone! :-D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,117 ✭✭✭Rasheed

I hate this country because I'm forever hearing of this type of asshattery going on. ****ing place is infested with retards and what's worse is that it's all seen as a big joke.

Telling me to relax, go out in the sun etc. That's exactly the kind of "ah sure it's grand" horse**** that has the country in the toilet.

Have a wonderful day, everyone! :-D

Ah I didn't mean to be patronising but don't be getting upset about what a few eejits do (no offence to the OP, my own lovely family have done many memorable fcuk ups).

As regards the drink driving, there's no secret that it was rife in years gone by. When we were children in the 90s going to club matches in the county, we stopped in every town, village, country pub on the way home. Then landed back to the local town and were there until closing and everyone drove home. Everybody did it, it was normal at the time. Thankfully it had been tackled and now it's now taboo to do so.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 262 ✭✭knotknowbody

Nolimits wrote: »

One time he somehow managed to get all four wheels of the car off the ground with the car sitting on a barrell. He has no idea how it got on there

in 40+ years of driving he never had an accident and that's including when he was working.

The above two parts of your post directly contradict each other if all four wheels were off the ground and he does not know how then he most likely had an accident.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,798 ✭✭✭goose2005

Looked out the window to see a huge hole in the pier. Mam shakily opens the door a minute later, white as a sheet. She had meant to put her foot on the brake but put it on the accelerator instead. She then proceeded to give out to my sister and myself and tried to blame us for putting her under pressure even though we weren't in the car with her.

It'd be worse if it was the other type of pier.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 310 ✭✭stoeger

3rdDegree wrote: »
    He left in a Peugeot and came back in a BMW?

YA it happend around 15 years ago two cars were same colour very funny story