Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Late Late Show - 31st May 2013

• 30-05-2013 3:13pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 74,321 ✭✭✭✭Welsh Megaman

We made it, brothers and sisters!

The Last Last Show of the season!

Let's dance...

milli-vanilli-dance-o.gif

joey-o.gif

And by 'let's dance', I mean 'Freak Out' as the legendary Nile Rodgers and Chic will be on the show! Before yiz all say 'well, he's no DJ Jazzy Jeff', check out his insane production and writing credits...

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Nile_Rodgers

Plus Mark 'Marky' Owen from Take That and director Neil Jordan talks about his new vampire film 'Byzantium'. So fire up the cathode-ray televisulator, get your strongest alkyhol refridgerated and report back tomorrow 9.35pm!

Norton Show-crushing updates to follow...stay tooned!

UPDATE: Singer Colm Wilkinson and will we see Tony Fenton tonight?

http://radionation.ie/2013/05/today-fms-tony-thrilled-with-treatment/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,990 ✭✭✭squonk

That's actually not the worst lineup!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,323 ✭✭✭phonypony

squonk wrote: »
    That's actually not the worst lineup!

With so many from which to choose, how can we possibly say which is worst? :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,020 ✭✭✭BlaasForRafa

Niles Rodgers is a bona fide genius. They should just get rid of every other guest and make it a Niles Rodgers special and hire some proper musicians to be his backing band for the night and interview him in-depth during the breaks between music segments.

Of course once I come out of dreamworld I know that won't happen, he'll get a lousy 10 minutes and DLB will ask a bunch of stupid inane insincere questions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,133 ✭✭✭FloatingVoter

DLB : So, Neil - any Irish roots ?
    NJ: I am Irish, you twat.
    DLB: ....moving on..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,718 ✭✭✭✭JonathanAnon

Plus Mark 'Marky' Owen from Take That and director Neil Jordan talks about his new vampire film 'Byzantium'.

Any chance Tubridy will ask Mark Owen about his own covert, nocturnal activities?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,737 ✭✭✭MidlandsM

so the LL is going out on a damp squib again.........shameless to the end.

utter muck

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,930 ✭✭✭COYW

MidlandsM wrote: »
    so the LL is going out on a damp squib again.........shameless to the end.

utter muck

I don't know, last week was horribly bad. I'm still in recovery after it. Between Bella's song, the Irish dancer who couldn't get his timing and the wig slot (minus the first young lady), it was shocker. I still have nightmares about Ray Shah's wig.

COYW wrote: »
    I don't know, last week was horribly bad imo. I'm still in recovery after it.

so last week was the damp squib :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,351 ✭✭✭✭Harry Angstrom

Nile Rodgers is a bona fide genius. They should just get rid of every other guest and make it a Nile Rodgers special and hire some proper musicians to be his backing band for the night and interview him in-depth during the breaks between music segments.

Of course once I come out of dreamworld I know that won't happen, he'll get a lousy 10 minutes and DLB will ask a bunch of stupid inane insincere questions.

He never really got enough credit for coming up with the intro to China Girl.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 89,020 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

Any chance Tubridy will ask Mark Owen about his own covert, nocturnal activities?

Probably will just ask him about Gary on X Factor

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,020 ✭✭✭BlaasForRafa

I don't know, last week was horribly bad. I'm still in recovery after it. Between Bella's song, the Irish dancer who couldn't get his timing and the wig slot (minus the first young lady), it was shocker. I still have nightmares about Ray Shah's wig.

Last weeks LLS was the round-up of waifs and strays from the rte canteen, absolutely diabolical stuff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16 violator

Im still holding out for someone who actually serves the food in the RTE canteen - They must have some 'AmaZing' tales.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25 divot

Unmissable. Genius. As someone else said, Chic and he should get the whole show...

http://youtu.be/pjjDwycSq4k

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,917 ✭✭✭✭GT_TDI_150

Surely there will be a (set of) parent(s) related to the Primetime show on?!?

The news story in ireland over the last 2/3 days

+

Would he have one of the Garda informers on in relation to the Penalty points row? (heard him on Cooper last night ... sounds like there is more to come out

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

Nile Rodgers

guest of the year

without googling, who the fcuk is Nile Rodgers?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,444 ✭✭✭✭Skid X

the legendary Nile Rodgers and Chic will be on the show! Before yiz all say 'well, he's no DJ Jazzy Jeff', check out his insane production and writing credits...

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Nile_Rodgers

Plus Mark 'Marky' Owen from Take That and director Neil Jordan talks about his new vampire film 'Byzantium'. So fire up the cathode-ray televisulator, get your strongest alkyhol refridgerated and report back tomorrow 9.35pm!

Norton Show-crushing updates to follow...stay tooned!

Good Times!

Nile Rodgers is a musical genius, and you don't get many of them on the LLS.

Fingers crossed he makes it to the starting line, this was on his twitter yesterday ...
    Nile Rodgers ‏@nilerodgers 16h
    I'm so happy to be in Dublin on such an incredibly beautiful day but I can't enjoy it. I'm sick in bed and hope to be better by tomorrow

Half decent line-up, hope you all enjoy it tonight.

I'd suggest you google sir and educate yourself on one hell of a musical great. Had the pleasure of meeting him last year.

squonk wrote: »
    I'd suggest you google sir and educate yourself on one hell of a musical great. Had the pleasure of meeting him last year.

i'v no interest

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,109 ✭✭✭RikkFlair

He plays funky guitar on the latest Daft Punk single that is everywhere at the moment.

Tony Fenton just announced he's on with DLB tonight. Tony had cancer again lately I believe. Looks like the misery slot is sorted now so.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,798 ✭✭✭goose2005

Niles Rodgers is a bona fide genius. They should just get rid of every other guest and make it a Niles Rodgers special and hire some proper musicians to be his backing band for the night and interview him in-depth during the breaks between music segments.

And he was in the Sesame Street band - guarantee that Tubs will ask about that.
    Oh and he had cancer a few years ago.

Okay I want ye all to have this fully practices and ready for 9.30 tonight.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,378 ✭✭✭BuilderPlumber

Not too bad a lineup overall. Nile Rodgers will save it and hope he is allowed play music and the discussion focuses on that and not on did he have any babies and the like !!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,378 ✭✭✭BuilderPlumber

Last week was ok by standards of this season. Does not make last week not bad though. It was poor. But the two weeks before were the worst as were many others of this season. At least, we didn't get to see Ruby Walsh this season unless he is a surprise guest tonight.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,738 ✭✭✭✭Ol' Donie

Last week was ok by standards of this season. Does not make last week not bad though.

:-D

Well put.

Although i disagree, last week was as bad as I've seen.

Looking forward to tonight though! Really!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,804 ✭✭✭delbertgrady

Nile Rodgers

guest of the year

Well, him and Bryan Cranston.
    Obviously.

2024 Gigs and Events: David Suchet, Depeche Mode, Orchestral Manoeuvres in the Dark, The Smile, Pixies, Liam Gallagher John Squire/Jake Bugg, Kacey Musgraves (x2), Olivia Rodrigo, Mitski, Muireann Bradley, Bruce Springsteen and the E Street Band, Eric Clapton, Girls Aloud, Bruce Springsteen and the E Street Band, Rewind Festival, The Smashing Pumpkins/Weezer, Henry Winkler, P!nk, Pearl Jam/Richard Ashcroft, Taylor Swift/Paramore, Suede/Manic Street Preachers, Muireann Bradley, AC/DC, Deacon Blue/Altered Images, The The, blink-182, Coldplay, Gilbert O'Sullivan, Nick Lowe, David Gilmour, ABBA Voyage, St. Vincent, Public Service Broadcasting, Crash Test Dummies, Cassandra Jenkins.

2025 Gigs and Events: Stuart Murdoch, Lyle Lovett, The Corrs/Imelda May/Natalie Imbruglia, Olivia Rodrigo, Iron Maiden, Dua Lipa, Lana Del Rey, Weezer, Maya Hawke, Billie Eilish (x2), Oasis, Sharon Van Etten, The Human League, Deacon Blue

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,444 ✭✭✭✭Skid X

UPDATE: Singer Colm Wilkinson

and afterwards he is getting straight on the ferry to Holyhead, he wants to discuss your billing of Alfie Boe a while back!
    UPDATE...Jim Breen and Roz Purcell to be interviewed about Cycle Against Suicide, Alfie 'Better Than Colm Wilkinson' Boe, music from Perfect Friction and Gavin James.

I have to see a man about a dog tonight, but enjoy the show and thanks to everyone for all the excellent posts this series. I will catch you all again soon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,738 ✭✭✭✭Ol' Donie

Skid X wrote: »

I have to see a man about a dog tonight, but enjoy the show and thanks to everyone for all the excellent posts this series. I will catch you all again soon.

Jaysis Skid, you've sat through all these shows, with all those awful, awful guests, and there's finally someone good on and you're missing it? Unlucky!

Have a good one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,207 ✭✭✭miralize

If any of you get the chance the BBC had a documentary about Nile a few weeks ago. The Hitmaker I think its called

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,910 ✭✭✭✭RoundyMooney

Evening friends.

After last week's debacle, I'm subjecting myself to this, in the hope that lightning won't strike twice (I know, I know).

The real reason is that I'm in an amiable mood after a few pints in the local beer garden, have a bottle at my elbow, a Chinese banquet in front of me, and the other (downstairs) TV has been commandeered by a couple of nine year olds on a sleepover.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,972 ✭✭✭cofy

Evening All,
    funnyanimalsthankgodits.jpg

Hope you have a great evening Skid, JA I have the fingers burnt practicing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 74,321 ✭✭✭✭Welsh Megaman

I have my drink in for tonight anyway..

7JcYV5.jpg

Evening all. It seems a bit like the last day of school tonight.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,068 ✭✭✭Bodhisopha

I'm still reeling after last week. Feel like i've had the fight beat out of me, but the end is in sight, i'll battle on.

Evening all. It seems a bit like the last day of school tonight.

Dont you start fekn winding me up now!!!! :mad::mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,585 ✭✭✭✭Lady Chatterton

Good Evening All :)

I would love if Tubs announced that he was retiring as LLS host after tonight's show...... two chances of it actually happening though :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 188 ✭✭Rory1

The whole show is just awful. Do you think if RTE replaced that Tubs fellow with someone cheaper, they would still get same (or more) guests? Even when they have good guests, alls I can think of is we (license payers) are paying that lad, "how much"?

That gonna be it?

The best way to interview someone like Nile Rodgers, is to have him on a seat with a guitar, strumming through riffs and telling us about himself.

This is like putting the late great Clarence Clemens on with a Bruce Springsteen cover band. For three and a half minutes.

I was watching the chords on Nile Rodgers but jaysus keeping finding myself distracted by the tights on Mrs Chic Left..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 74,321 ✭✭✭✭Welsh Megaman

That gonna be it?

The best way to interview someone like Nile Rodgers, is to have him on a seat with a guitar, strumming through riffs and telling us about himself.

This is like putting the late great Clarence Clemens on with a Bruce Springsteen cover band. For three and a half minutes.

Tubs said on his show this morning there will be two songs and an interview .

That gonna be it?

Give him time :)

Maybe I was premature, lads.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,362 ✭✭✭Sergeant

Stephen Hawking would dance to that.

I bet somewhere around the country some badly informed viewer is just after saying..

"F**kn hell, Lenny Kravitz has gone to hell"..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,490 ✭✭✭Almaviva

Please try to avoid following the crowd and getting caught up in a slagfest. No out and out nastiness whatsoever, and if you really must make a criticism, be constructive and supportive. See the positive in the show and enjoy it - you will if you try.

And...if you havent anything nice to post, then dont post it. There are real people behind it!

That rights Tubridy, feed the stalkers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,585 ✭✭✭✭Lady Chatterton

Nile Rodgers and Whoopi Goldberg were separated at born :eek:

I was watching the chords on Nile Rodgers but jaysus keeping finding myself distracted by the tights on Mrs Chic Left..

That's probably Mrs Chic's granddaughter by now ;)